Grisaia no Rakuen
The Eden of Grisaia
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: The Eden of Grisaia
Synonyms: Le Eden de la Grisaia
Japanese: グリザイアの楽園

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 19, 2015 to Jun 21, 2015
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: 8bit
Source: Visual novel
Genres: DramaDrama, HaremHarem, PsychologicalPsychological, RomanceRomance
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 133464133,464 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #424
Members: 245,609
Favorites: 1,737

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 21, 2015
ScottyKilmer (All reviews)
Let me explain something to you guys, before I get on with this actual review.

Is Grisaia no Rakuen (also known as The Eden of Grisaia) an anime that is necessarily an "amazing" one, at least to the eyes of most critical anime fans? And what I mean by that is this; does Grisaia no Rakuen have everything needed for a series to be amazing in the eyes of most anime fans, and use those things well? Things like; serious/deep/though provoking themes, elements of suspense used correctly without deus ex machina, a fluid and linear story, psychological/dark plot lines, well-characterized and developed characters, all bundled together read more
Jun 21, 2015
peacefulkorean (All reviews)
“Rushed”. “Butchered”. “Unintentional comedy”. “Inevitably lacking development”. “Extremely poor adaption”. Even as an anime-only watcher of this franchise, I could not disagree with the heavy bombardment of VN readers’ harsh criticism and saltiness as Grisaia no Kajitsu emerged as yet another victim in the modern anime industry of being a one cour anime, instead of two. Despite the redemption given by Angelic Howl and personally enjoying Kajitsu a lot myself overall, the fact remains the first half of Grisaia no Kajitsu has deterred the anime-only watchers by portraying itself as a mediocre harem , and to put it mildly, not meeting the bare minimum standard read more
Jun 21, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Grisaia no Rakuen can basically be summarized like this:
Does it make any sense? Not really.
Does it matter? No, because you're having way too much fun watching it to really give a damn.

Although the anime version of Grisaia no Kajitsu remains one of the worst adaptations I've ever seen in my life, Rakuen on the other hand is one of the very best ones. The difference in level of faithfulness to their respective visual novels is so unbelievably big that I don't even know how to put it into words. The pacing is solid, the production value is great and very little noteworthy content is left read more
Jun 21, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
By this point, any of fan of the Grisaia should know firsthand the thrill of the experience. Unlike most harems, Grisaia focuses a bit more on story elements rather than just purely to get into the main guy’s pants. As the third and final season of the Grisaia trilogy, it’s important to understand how this series operates. Grisaia no Rakuen is meant to be completed after the first season (Grisaia no Kaijutsu) and the 1-hour special feature, Grisaia no Meikyuu. From those episodes, you will learn much more about the characters as well as our main lead man, Yuuji Kazami. The catch now is that read more
Jul 12, 2015
CecaniahCorabele (All reviews)
8bit, the studio who half-assed Grisaia no Kajitsu into a 13 episodes. The good news is they do not repeat the same mistakes. In 10 episodes they turn it into diamond, shining and bright. Everyone rejoice! Because this sequel would really change your mind about this series. It's exceeded all estimate that exist.

The sequel of Grisaia no Kajitsu started right after Grisaia no Meikyuu, one of the best thing that Rakuen ever offer it's the main character development.
At the early episode we can see that the protagonist's past described very well, the feeling and the drama tension can feel deep into your bones. read more
Jun 21, 2015
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Grisaia as a series has an interesting tone going for it. Placed in a rather unusual setting for a harem anime with a very different kind of protagonist in comparison to the generic harem MC's that we are all aware of, Grisaia managed to pull off a somewhat negligible adaptation for its first season which as a result got some mixed feedback. So, as the second season, Grisaia no Rakuen, what kind of story awaits us here?

Story (7.00/10): Continuing off of Meikyuu, the 1 hour OVA that came after the first season Kajitsu, we return back to the world of Grisaia back to read more
Jun 3, 2016
thumpz99 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay... I really liked the first series far more than this. I tried, repeatedly, to get through episode 5 but just couldn't complete it.

I'm sorry - but my opinion is different from a good number of solid anime fans - I just did not like this anime.

So many cliches, annoying over acting loli with a lisp, and a secondary story about how they are going to fund the place which makes absolutely zero sense.

To me the storyline seemed to slip considerably, in belief and narrative, from the first season.

The Art is Very Good. I have no complaints here.

I also read more
Nov 12, 2015
Zaku88 (All reviews)
The Fruit of Grisaia was not your run of the mill harem, and The Eden of Grisaia continues that proud tradition. Whereas the Fruit of Grisaia focused on how our Sagara Sousuke clone saves a bunch of girls with unique (and sometimes horrific) pasts, the second installment continues from the OVA (The Labyrinth of Grisaia) and explores Yuuji's past and motivations, and perhaps finally brings some closure to the series.

With the exception of a very few parts, this second installment is much more action-oriented than the previous series. Remember how the first season broke from harem-mode to spend almost three complete episodes on Amane's past? read more
Jun 22, 2015
BaptizED (All reviews)
Take note that I haven't read the visual novels yet, but I do enjoy the adaptations of Kajitsu and Rakuen. After the so called trainwreck adaptation of Kajitsu, which questions has been cleared after the sequel Grisaia no Meikyuu, this time Rakuen is much easier to follow. With more on buildup the anime has a big

The story is probably above average, this season we get more on the character's stories and flashbacks, more on tension and plot buildup but is paid by thrilling scenes and the way of storytelling is very good, I must say that I'm impressed that 8bit puts effort in adapting read more
Jul 14, 2016
Magister_Jakene (All reviews)
After finishing the Grisaia series i wanted more. Kinda like that fat kid at the birthday party that always asks for more cake, but then is told, "No, you already ate half of it" and then not given the cake and then they whine like a baby until they get what they want. That is how i feel about this show. Why is it so good? Hm. I don't know. Probably because of the harem king who stars in the show (Kazami Yuuji) and the plot development along with the opening and ending. This is one of my ideal animes that i like to watch. read more
Jun 21, 2015
Somebody101 (All reviews)
Well it's an improvement from the first series I'll give it that, but it could still use improvement.

Story: 7
The story in the start and going on was good, and definitely a whole lot better paced then the last season was. However near the end, and especially the last episode, it seemed like the writers tried to cram a whole 2 episodes worth into 12 minutes. Yeah, not a really pretty sight to see. However, they decided to still go with the 10 episodes instead of 12 episodes which would have allowed for a lot better of a transition in the story.

Art: 8
The art, like last read more
Mar 14, 2016
21choices (All reviews)
Enjoyment 6/10
I think that Grisaia no Rakuen is a good sequel to the first season i think that it has incredible art good story and antagonist well written characters and great action scenes.... but i just couldn't enjoy this season as much as the first one because of 2 characters - JB, Asako
those 2 completely ruined a lot of Yuuiji's past for me with completely unnecessary sexual relationships with him
i mean (very minor Spoilers) Asako just decides to have sex with him when he was 16 as a present and she is like 30 years old and JB was even worse... so much worse read more
Jun 24, 2015
SevenKnights (All reviews)
When I first watched the First Season, I honestly thought I was getting a "Shuffle" kind of thing.

Numerous girls with different routes, different stories and different outcomes.

Boy was I wrong. This series is honestly amazing. It follows the life of a man looking to escape his past. A man looking for redemption. A man looking for peace.

Each of the girls have their own story, their own past and their own will to survive.

I think those elements are great. The background of Yuuji, JB and Asako is so powerful. These 3 had such a powerful history that one without the other leaves a huge hole in read more
Aug 27, 2017
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.
------

Hmm.. I think here I'll first comment the whole franchise and then move onto this season specific.

So the plot is pretty much odd people in odd school with odd background living an odd life. As well pimp of a main guy, that's one hell of a harem he has, womanizer to the core. I won't go into detail, but I'm going to mention mixed feelings this franchise gives me. It is somewhat of "fck yea, Murica" anime with odd Japanese touch. By that I mean the read more
Jun 29, 2015
Badass_Hole (All reviews)
I really enjoy this anime lol. not much i can said in this review, this anime is indeed a good psychological anime, the past of each character is really sad, especially Yuuji and Amane (my opinion though).
The art improved a lot since the first season, especially that 3DCG part when they are being chased by a helicopter. 10/10 for me.
OP and ED is nice, i really like the background music they put in each scene.
10/10 for me.
Character development is very good despite this season only have 10 episode.
I really enjoy this season, and overall i gave this anime a perfect score.
If you like an read more
Jul 19, 2015
Ever2014 (All reviews)
It is a sequel of Grisaia no Meikyuu and Grisaia no Kajitsu, so watch them before it to understand the storyline.

Characters:
There were added some new secondary characters, like Yuuji's military friends and a girl who raised him (although, the first time she appeared in special), however the main characters are still the same - professional hitman and his harem.

Story:
It starts with a story of main character's childhood and then he's fighting with bad guys. Unlike the first season, it had more action and less drama. Even sometimes it looks like a western action movie of the 90s.

Art and sound:
Art and background music style are still read more
Jan 6, 2018
xre (All reviews)
You are in a running race. As you approach the finish line you are in first, far ahead of your competitors. But right before you get to the finish line you trip. Your victory and your new record is a goner.

This is basically the feeling Eden of Grisaia left me with. A would-be masterpiece that just ruins it at the very end just like Charlotte. Just when I first thought I found a masterpiece in a genre called "Harem", a genre often filled with mediocre stories, the ending just had to ruin it all. And it did it not only once, but twice: at the read more
Jun 30, 2015
johnbradshaw (All reviews)
"The reason a woman takes up arms has always been obvious, to protect her beloved family and to protect the home to which her belove will return" - Makina Irisu.

Such loving words from such a little girl.

Grisaia no Rakuen or The Eden of Grisaia is exactly what you get when combining the traditional harem anime with Hollywood action movie and my god, it's awesome and that's just an understatement.

You can consider this show is the continuos story picking up immediately after the events of Grisaia no Meikyuu, with Kazami Yuuji- our MC- having been detained for suspected involvement with an international terrorist organization. Why? Go read more
Jun 11, 2016
ueno_station54 (All reviews)
Grisaia became somewhat disappointingly self-aware and therefor much less ridiculous (though still completely ridiculous) but to its credit it also became a technically better series. What it does really well is that it starts playing with your expectations of the hot garbage that Grisaia is and uses it to create some genuinely clever and humorous moments mostly by really leaning into the silly Grisaia stuff early on just so they can circumvent their own tropes later on. In fact, even the serious moments go over a bit better this time around. They provided enough of the Grisaia bs I know and love while both acknowledging read more
Apr 7, 2018
AmericanSomnium (All reviews)
If you watched the first season and the special for this show and think you know what you're in for, think again. This show is balls to the wall insane at this point, but I loved every moment of it. From spending half the season in flashbacks to create a second harem, to coming back to the modern day where it's up to 8 women who are interested in him at one time. You have a 12 year old with a Baretta .50 cal, a maid who makes bombs, and robotic AI trying to control the world. This show just keeps on giving with insane read more