Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch R2


Alternative Titles

English: Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion R2
Synonyms: Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch 2nd Season, Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch Second Season
Japanese: コードギアス 反逆のルルーシュ 続編

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2008 to Sep 28, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:00 (JST)
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.941 (scored by 632,983 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #182
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #26
Members: 943,023
Favorites: 50,941

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 26, 2008
ummyeah (All reviews)
Preliminary
Code Geass is a complex anime about an anti-hero, Lelouch. His intelligence is beyond compare, and he hopes to take over a country he is actually a prince of, Britannia. It's essentially about him starting a terrorist organization with a group of Japanese (or Elevens, as the Britannians call them). He goes by the name Zero, wearing a mask and cloak to shield his identity. Lelouch is actually a student--vice president of the student council at his school (lots of adventures come out of that, too).

We last left off in the first season with him being almost overthrown by the people he was fighting to read more
Jul 2, 2009
alex264 (All reviews)
I actually finished Code Geass - Hangyaku no Lelouch R2 only a few days after reviewing the first season. To be blunt, at that time I was under so much rage and bitterness caused by the first season that I was in no state to review again without unjustifiably dumping all over R2. But here I am, perhaps to fulfill my ocd to review the second half of a series or perhaps to be less biased than last time, but its most likely because I have to let others know why this series is far from a masterpiece. It feels funny actually saying that. "Masterpiece", read more
Mar 23, 2013
apatch3 (All reviews)
I recently revisited this series, it has been many years since I last saw it and so refreshing my memory of it has brought with it a number of revelations. NOTE - THIS IS A SPOILERIFIC REVIEW DO NOT PROCEED IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN BOTH SEASONS.

Okay, so what is Code Geass? Code Geass as you're all aware is a story about one man's struggle against an empire. It's also a combination of Gundam and Deathnote (unashamed melange) with elements of mindfuck Eva thrown in at the end, oh and not to forget the whole high school atmosphere that is so woefully and forcefully maintained read more
Jun 2, 2008
13ismitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before reading this review take into account that this reviewer has not seen the entirety of series and that the series could possibly be completely different as a finished project than what it is at the time of the review.

Overview:

After seeing Code Geass R2 #2 on the top anime page I felt it necessary to put my word in as I cannot understand this series being even in the top 10. Yes, the first season of Code Geass was possibly one of the best animes of all time and would probably be one of the first that I would recommend. However, I feel that read more
Oct 1, 2008
sunflex (All reviews)
The real world has to be clarfied: ridiculous plot,unsustainable
characterization,self-contradiction theme,added with the so-called humanity,even the most chaos and meaningless animes I saw before cannot contain these four "charming" elements in one episode while the most audiences still applaud this a miraculous epic ending(絶妙である).

These rapturous audiences' brains have been kidnapped by their unlimited hormone.The tragedy is not that they overrate one anime but their concept about estimateing the value of a anime has been totally destroyed by the recent brainless fashion.so as I recommend,what you guys really need is these splendid masterpieces bellow
(search 世界☆官能映画祭 in AMAZON please)

STORY
The whole serial,both CG and R2,made the same read more
May 26, 2009
game8910 (All reviews)
What do you know, yet another review for the sequel of what is arguably one of the most popular anime of this decade. Code Geass R2 had an INCREDIBLY big shoe to fill after an very impressive first season. Did the show live up to its own hype? If you are already scrolling over the 'not helpful' button because of my overall score, I recommend you read the review fully.

Story:
+ Fast paced and full of mecha action
+ Plot twists and unexpected events is this anime's favourite thing
+ Very intriguing concepts are revealed regarding the power of the Geass which was left a mystery on season read more
Jun 21, 2008
monkat (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off, take note that I have not seen the entire series at the point of writing the review.

Story: If you haven't seen Code Geass the original, there is really no point in you being on this page, and if you have seen it...it's almost exactly the same.

Art: Average for the time. It is good, probably the best point in the series, but it's average.

Sound: I like the VAs (Voice Actors), and the songs were OK, but nothing really wow-ed me.

Characters: I do say, Lelouche is a very good character, but he becomes predictable, and that kills his only good point - the rest of read more
Jul 31, 2017
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
Well, folks, it has been a short time but I am now ready to take a look at one of the most notorious anime of all time Code Geass R2.
Code Geass R2 come out at 2008 and ever since it finished airing anime fans were heavily divided on R2.
There are people who called it a masterpiece and saying it's one of the best anime of all time people despising it with a burning passion and calling it a train-wreck or people who thought it was okay.
What boat am I in?
For a long, while I use to be a boat where I thought Code Geass R2 read more
Sep 29, 2008
carbonicer (All reviews)
..I just don't know how to write this down. It's probably one of those anime series which have affected me after watching the whole series. One of the few which are worthy of high praise from my view.

The story and character development were great, even though there might of been some totally unrelated episodes, this was to give the audience a break from all the fighting and the major politics which are happening in the background.

Each character had done their part extremely well, I felt as though the characters had just the perfect amount of screen time, though me being a C.C fan I did read more
Jul 16, 2008
Zerou-sama (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ah, Code Geass. I had never seen a more splendid anime in my life. The only thing that comes close is Death Note, but Code Geass was on a whole other level. When I heard that another season was coming out.... there were no words that could describe how I felt. If I ever recommend an anime to anyone, THIS is it. I'm yet to meet anyone who doesn't love it.
Anyway, Code Geass R2 has surpassed Season 1 in every way. Every episode ends with a cliffhanger, but it never gets old.
Hm... I'm no good at writing reviews, but I thought that R2 deserved all read more
Oct 5, 2008
danceljoy (All reviews)
Finally, the Code Geass saga has come into an end. All hail Code Geass!You are one of the most successful anime this decade (both in fanbase and business)

Let me introduce first why Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion R2 certainly leaves us heated debates: The magnificent season 1 ended with an excruciating cliffhanger but had confirmed itself a sequel. Why was this sequel made?

1. To feed the gluttonous fanbase
2. To earn more cash

Moreover, the director, story writer and the production staff was pressured to make Code Geass R2...

1. "A lot better than season 1"
2. Satisfy enthusiasts by bringing a nice end
3. Still must have read more
Sep 27, 2008
neorogue (All reviews)
Preliminary
When i saw the first series of Code Geass I was captured by it. The story, the characters, the intense plot. Even the same opening song "Colors" by Flow i keep listening it. I waited so much the beginning of the new season, the R2, to see how the story will end. But every episodes i seeing, the more insensed the story became. Lelouch/Zero that start as an hero and an extraordinary strategist acting like a crazy man, his enemies became his allies too often. The story give us many example of stupid situations like tha knight of Cornelia that continue to call Lelouch read more
Apr 21, 2009
evileye (All reviews)
Code Geass R2 seems to be the most serious pretender to the throne of the most overrated series ever. This anime is nothing but watchable and does not deserve any remarkable praise. For me it is hard to understand why this series is so highly acclaimed.

Story (1/10)

Certainly, the screenplay is the weakest part of R2. What is most evident is the complete lack of any general idea for the series. Events usually happen at random. Lelouch simply causes stir somewhere and hopes everything will turn out the way he wishes. People change sides for no clear reason (and if the reason is specified, it is read more
Mar 7, 2015
fuzokyu13 (All reviews)
"The world cannot be changed with pretty words alone." -Lelouch

A story about trust and betrayal, truth and lies, bonds and hatred, justice and inequality, command and conquer, vengeance and redemption. This anime is simply amazing. It leveled up greatly from season one to this masterpiece. The openings and endings are great. There are characters that you will love and also characters that you will hate. I can also say that you will love the characters that you hated in season 1 and vice versa. You will see how each character will leave an impact to you. The art improved from the first season. The story read more
Mar 20, 2009
FarewellToWords (All reviews)
I wonder just how many times R2 jumped the shark, because I lost count at around 50 or so. Everything that was great about the first season of Code Geass was absent in R2. Every character became annoying, the plot twists were idiotic at best and character alliances changed like the freaking wind. It almost seems the target audience R2 was aimed at are 14 year old brats with extreme cases of A.D.D. By the end of R2 I stopped caring who won, and who died... I in fact wanted everyone to die. No plot twist, no matter how clever could have saved R2 from read more
May 17, 2008
Aerts (All reviews)
Preliminary
Code Geass Round 2 is off to a good but confusing start that definitely leads you to want more, but is it enough? What we were left with in Season 1 was a sloppy story that degenerated into almost nothing. Round 2 attempts to pick up the pieces and put them together, but the first six episodes are seemingly just as confusing.

This is a temporary review, I will review it more later as the episodes come out.

So far though, the show seems to take a less serious approach than the first round. We are left with episodes that don't really progress the story as read more
Mar 12, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"Life without change might be called anything except life, it's nothing more than experience. ... Yes, Emperor Charles sought the past, you seek the present, but I seek the future." -Lelouch

Preface:
This review is a continuation of the review for part 1, where I'll detail the differences, and many improvements of R2 upon its predecessor. The assumption that the reader has seen Code Geass stands, so do with that as you will. Please message me if you have comments or questions- I'll be happy to address any concerns or views expressed herein.

Overview:
Picking up where we left off, Lelouch continues his personal war against his read more
Oct 15, 2012
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
What should've been a well-written, expertly-paced thrill ride, Code Geass R2 failed in every aspect. Most of the time I thought, "What the hell were the writers thinking?" But nevertheless, it won't fail to entertain you. I know most people will get the pitchforks out for me not endlessly praising Code Geass, but whatever. I don't find my gripes with the show to be completely unreasonable.

Code Geass R2 basically starts out with a 'reset,' of sorts. Lelouch Lamperouge, aka Zero, gets his memory wiped and has a normal life with his little brother, Rollo. It is soon after we are re-introduced to the main cast read more
Jul 11, 2008
webkid94 (All reviews)
**Review Edited, Completed Series - DO NOT READ MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.* (Last review, i admit, i let my love for Geass conflict my review into being bias. Things have changed)

Story - 8.0/10 (B-)
Well, it takes place after the failed Black Rebellion. Zero has been supposedly killed, Suzaku becomes a member of the Knight of Rounds, and Kallen still is loyal to her Zero. The first episode feels like the first episode of the first season, dunno if it's good or bad however the introduction of Rolo, Lelouch's brother, brings some needed drama into the show. Afterwards, after all the corruption, conspiracies, read more
Mar 10, 2015
Urbanophiler (All reviews)
**As this is the sequel to the first season of Code Geass, let me tell you that the review is for both seasons. I'd rate them the same and enjoyed them in a same way.

Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch / Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion /コードギアス 反逆のルルーシュ ; 2 x 25 episodes a 20minutes ; aired from April to September 2008 ; Action, Mecha, Super Power, Military ; licensed by FUNimation and Bandai Entertainment

Code Geass is a classic, a must watch. The story very much follows a general idea often seen in books, movies and series: a normal human obtains a power to then read more