Gintama°
Gintama Season 4
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Gintama Season 4
Synonyms: Gintama' (2015)
Japanese: 銀魂°

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 51
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 8, 2015 to Mar 30, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 18:00 (JST)
Producers: TV Tokyo, Aniplex, Dentsu
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, HistoricalHistorical, ParodyParody, SamuraiSamurai, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 9.111 (scored by 102828102,828 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #42
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #344
Members: 288,989
Favorites: 7,790

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2016
Tyrel (All reviews)
Have you ever wanted to laugh so hard that it feels like you're dying? Well, then this season is no different from any of its predecessors. The season dives straight into its main focus which is comedy and gives us all sorts of parodies and laughs that viewers can relate to other shows, which is what makes it so great. However, this season is not all laughs. As with this season, the show moves into some of the more serious arcs—a must see for any fan of Gintama.

Besides starting out with heavy action, comedy is one of the best ways to make people continue watching read more
Mar 30, 2016
arisa89 (All reviews)
Finally the season has ended and phew, what a journey it was. This season is the first one where I watched it as it aired. I used to be one of those people who were pissed off because Gintama took too many spots on MAL's top anime page but never actually tried to understand why people liked it. I had always been hesitant to start because the premise didn't seem interesting at all but hey, it only took me 2 months to finish all the available episodes back in 2014 because once I started, I just can't stop. That's just how good this series read more
Apr 1, 2016
Markezzo (All reviews)
EDIT: This was a review written for April Fools. I wish to thank everyone for brightening my day with all the positive feedback and reactions, it really shows that Gintama has taught us to enjoy a good laugh. The review will stay as is, since my opinions can still be found in it, just written in a backwards kinda way.

~

Ladies and gentlemen, feast your eyes upon the most overhyped anime of all time! Watch as our main protagonist uses his wooden sword of sentimentality, cutting into the bleeding hearts of all you emotional thinkers, corrupting your rotten brains with the stench of intellectual destitution!

In read more
Mar 30, 2016
Nervin (All reviews)
When it comes to sequels, It is often unclear whether it will live up to the quality of its previous installments, and in the case of the fourth season of Gintama fans can be assured: it maintains its defining traits. There continues to be a great variety in the comedy offered, as well as its share of arguably one of the best consequent "serious" arcs in the entire series so far, expanding greatly upon the setting itself, as well as its cast of characters. However, it must be mentioned that it comes with a slight controversy amongst the fans, the main concern being the inevitable read more
Apr 4, 2016
Bryce-kun (All reviews)
Gintama is a hot mess. OH PLEASE

Avoid this anime at all cost! I can't even fathom why people like this so much.

Plot:

Was too complicated. I expected Gintoki and the gang to go on adventures/ arcs and save helpless people who didn't have the power to save themselves. I was waiting for the moment when Gintoki beats the final boss of the arc in fact the main villain never showed up! Instead I got unexpected twist, turns and heartbreak. At one point I had to snatch my sisters weave to slap my computer screen!!!! Why Sorachi?!! WHY!!!

Characters:

Too unusual and weird. Antagonists such as like Shinsuke read more
Mar 30, 2016
TheHomie (All reviews)
NOTE: Due to the nature of this sequel it is inevitable that there will be spoilers for those who haven't seen it though i have tried my level best to keep them to a minimum. I urge you to watch all the prequels before beginning Gintama (2015).

I began Gintama about 3 months back, wondering what it was that captured the hearts of so many people, after all its sequels dominated MAL's top 10 and it had spawned countless memes on the internet. It didn't really pique my interest in terms of its storyline or animation at the beginning but i decided to keep watching because read more
Mar 30, 2016
YanderesAreBest (All reviews)
Mini-disclaimer: I wasn't planning to write a review so soon but since Gintama has gotten top spot on MAL many people it seems are leaving negative reviews in an attempt to bring it back down. Please don't encourage those people in when it comes to any type of anime. So sorry if this was a bit rushed.

Gintama is just a giant cluster-f-word that even questions itself. When a fan asked the Gintama staff what the anime was trying achieve they answered with they don't know either. An anime like that probably wouldn't deserve top spot on MAL(Gintama is number 1 at the time of writing read more
Jan 5, 2019
AnimeBW (All reviews)
*The following review contains major spoilers. Proceed at your own risk.*

316 episodes. 17 OPs. 21 ED. Over a decade on the air. The journey of Gintama is a truly massive one, starting from humble beginnings but growing in leaps and bounds, surpassing its limits with every confident shattering of its modus operandi, blowing my expectations out of the water time and time again until it becomes almost comical to look back on my earlier posts and realize just how completely unprepared I was for the gargantuan… thing this story would become. Ideas and histories hinted at back in the very first cours will grow and read more
Aug 30, 2017
Kyarai (All reviews)
I don't do very long reviews so I'll be mildly brief while trying to express my thoughts. There should be no spoilers except if you consider the names of the Arcs themselves to be spoilers.

Comedy:

Comedy is one of the main aspects of Gintama and it does an okay job this season, however it does not reach the heights that previous seasons had and I don't think there are any truly hilarious episodes this time around. While I feel the main series ranges from very amusing to "miss" this one more ranges from "meh" to miss. It's amusing as a timesink but not much aside from read more
Apr 5, 2016
moemoe28 (All reviews)
I am a big Gintama fan and I was sad and crying when it finished. Gintama is a very different, one-of-a-kind anime that will always keep you laughing and entertained. Gintama is not like most anime's out there and I think that's why it's so good.

Story - 10:
I give the story a 10/10 because even though it doesn't have much of a story line, each episode has it's own little arcs and story about Gin or the Shinsengumi or Hasegawa. Each episode is extremely random and hilarious. But not all episodes are all about comedy. There are also serious and epic arcs that showcase read more
Mar 19, 2019
soulstyce (All reviews)
This will be my second review of the Gintama series and I will definitely get around to reviewing the other seasons of Gintama momentarily. Spoiler free!
~~
Before I start this...
Are you looking to start Gintama? Or maybe you're new to watching anime and came to check out the top anime; saw Gintama's substantially catchy cover art?
!! Do NOT start with this season. Make sure you start at season 1 episode 3 (first two episodes are specials) to get the most out of this masterclass anime !!

And for those who are under the impression that Gintama is just a gag or a parody: remove those expectations and read more
Apr 1, 2016
jayvwrites27 (All reviews)
Crazy as it might seem, I knew from the moment that Gintama came back last year, that I would be floored by the amazingness. Not just because I read the manga but because of the stunning way it was adapted. Here's a more detailed review.

Story (10): No matter how stupid or crazy or just plain random Gintama is, the story of each arc is a masterpiece. It's riveting, it's engaging, it's emotional. It's every indescribable feeling I had while I was watching each episode. I loved that the characters would make you laugh like you're gonna pop your head off then afterwards make you cry read more
May 13, 2016
kingfroggy (All reviews)
'The night is darkest just before the dawn. But keep your eyes open.
If you avert your eyes from the dark, you'll be blind to the rays of a new day. So keep your eyes open, no matter how dark the night ahead may be.'

Gintama has finally, or rather, unfortunately, rolled up the sleeves and laid the foundations for its final showdown. What our Gin-san doesn't know is that the night could be darker than he thought. All the unresolved questions, all the open wounds will be figured out in the second half of the season, leading us to an end which will completely satisfy read more
May 4, 2016
Djengo (All reviews)
Note this review covers all of Gintama up until the end of 2015 since I don't like having to rate seasons of the same show. I have watched a lot of long running anime and I don't think I have enjoyed a long show more than Gintama. While it is primarily a comedy (probably the funniest comedy I have ever watched) Gintama also covers many genres including action, tragedy, and most others to some degree. None of these sub genres are half assed either Gintama knows when to alter its tone from its predominantly silly style to other style to fit their stories beautifully. Its read more
Mar 30, 2016
VanAlex (All reviews)
Gintama, known for gag series full of parodies that breaks the copyright law and some of them are taboo like politics as its reference, breaking the 4th wall with a wild abandon, and bodily crude punchlines. That's the Overall Image of Gintama.
Nevertheless, the series have been overshadowed by serious stories at the later part of the show. I'm probably wondering what happened to Sorachi-sensei, I don't know how many more characters Gori-Sensei intends to kill off, he turned the Comedic Gintama into Tragic Gintama and even in the on-going manga, though he killed many characters before, even in the very first anime series of read more
May 5, 2019
HudsonEmerald (All reviews)
Gintama anime is one of the best comedy show ever made.It has all the combination of action,parody,drama,adventure,slice of life,historical,etc.Every episode have their own message and many different genre.That's why i love this anime.In this 2015 continuation the story takes a darker turn.Everything became so dramatic and the mood changed at the end.But that's fine i still want to rewatch everything.This anime has a big replay value.At the first cour you will laugh until you got sick.At the end you'll know that this is not a normal anime you ever watch.I will say one thing "JUST WATCH THIS ANIME" you don't need to watch previous season read more
Dec 1, 2016
peanutbutters (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gintama is like a toilet seat.

(I don't know if this applies to women.... please tell me...)

When you want to take a dump, where do you want to do it?
Most likely at home right? Where your ass is already used to the shape of the toilet seat and it just... you can't explain it but.....
it just feels right.

I mean, when you use the schools toilet or anyone else's toilet, it just feels weird and even uncomfortable.

When you get used to the toilet seat though(most likely not because you aren't going to be shitting that much) it's going to feel great.
Like your home toilet read more
Apr 5, 2016
ThatRayGuy_ (All reviews)
Ah, this is my first review in a while, but I thought I might as well do a review of the #1 spot on MAL. My last review was probably some time last year, I don't remember doing one at all this year. Enough about my life, that's too boring, so let's get to the review.

Gintama is an anime that I stopped at episode 12 once because... well, uhm, I didn't want to watch a 300+ episode series on a small as hell screen aka my laptop. The site now continues to lie to me, and says it took me 119 days to complete it, read more
Apr 3, 2016
zhrid (All reviews)
after finishing all the episodes... i can say for me this was a masterpiece. i mean... you have to watch the two last arcs!! 'Shogun assassination Arc and the Shinsengumi Farewell Arc are 100% a masterpiece. every episode, every minute, even second i was like ''omg what is going to happen next?''- so many surprises.. yes at the beginning of the anime there is a lot of comedy but after that the serious Arcs are amazing- and also the fights are great! i have never watched this good fights in an anime. so gintama has paused now and it will return soon. i am very read more
Apr 21, 2016
random0taku (All reviews)
I dropped the anime at first however I decided to come back to it one day and man I sure do love this anime was probably one of the few anime that really drew me into it and made me really just love it to the most even though some episodes were like really nigga wow. So if yall ever plan on ever watching this anime I highly recommend it, even though at first the show might seem awkward and weird since it takes that different route compare to other anime where the characters are always training or doing something productive, Gintama spends its episode read more