Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri


Alternative Titles

English: GATE
Synonyms: Gate: Thus the JSDF Fought There!
Japanese: GATE(ゲート)自衛隊 彼の地にて、斯く戦えり

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2015 to Sep 19, 2015
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.851 (scored by 257,112 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8182
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #140
Members: 463,069
Favorites: 4,570

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 16, 2015
Rajaganja (All reviews)
Me: Hey, hey bro lemme ask you something. . .
Brosef: Wha?
Me: Have you ever wondered what it be like to go back in time to like, . . . the middle ages with our tech and show off our progress as humans?
Brosef: huh? . . ahhh. . . na not really. . .
Me: ye. . . me neither . . .

Intrigued, and thinking i could be doing something better with my time, is the essence of G.A.T.E....

Takumi Yanai is the novelist who brought gate to us by way of novel. His work got adapted to manga in 2011 with illustrations by Satoru read more
Jan 3, 2016
ellorium (All reviews)
What started off as a decent show quickly degraded into an obnoxious promotion of Japanese superiority with a harem thrown in.
Originally centered around cultural and military exchanges between the Japanese and creatures of a different universe, GATE wasted no time in shoving various forms of extreme nationalism into the viewer's face while completely abandoning all hope of a meaningful plot. The battlefield transforms into a foot tour of Japan and a very in-depth analysis of the perfect Japanese culture, leaving the main conflict to collect dust. By the time you've finished the first season, you'll wonder how exactly you went from read more
Oct 9, 2015
Isueu7 (All reviews)
This is perhaps one of the most realism anime about how military works when their dealing with foreign presence or (unknown presence). This also features element of what the world would respond because as you watch you find that Japan must face two decision however since i can't put spoiler i won't say it. Also i find that Gate is very interesting as it takes the aspect of monster coming out of the "gate". Instead of fighting and getting rid of the "monster" then proceeding to close the gate, they instead enter the other dimension and proceed to somewhat occupied it. As you watch read more
May 8, 2016
TheJohn (All reviews)
If you ever wanted to see how an ancient or medieval army would last against a modern army with guns then GATE might be just the thing you wanted. Unlike other anime's that have teenagers as the main protagonist this one has a 20-30 yrs old Army Lieutenant, who turns out to be an otaku. The art style is damn good, the details on the tanks, planes, helicopters, guns and uniform are quite well detailed. Story-wise, there may be something lacking here and there but overall if you are fond of military weapons and tactics, fantasy, history or you just want to watch some action read more
Oct 17, 2015
Tomcat2011 (All reviews)
*Spoiler Free Review*

Another exposition and trope free review from yours truly here. I'm just going to give a short but concise review of this show where I express my reasons for rating it as I have.

*Disclaimer* I'm not really plugged into the "hype culture" so my review will be completely unaffected by it.

Story: 8/10

If you're interested in a recap read the synopsis section of the anime list; i'm not going to bore you with another summary here. Overall the story isn't all that original, a gateway to another world, magic, knights, etc. however the manner in which they tell the story is very read more
Oct 17, 2015
reiynii (All reviews)
Now this is going to be a quick review, for those who don't like reading a lot. I'm going to assume you've read the plot (or watched the anime) so you know mostly what should be going on.

Here's a short spoiler free summary tho: (you can skip this)
After a gate appears in Ginza and causes some ruckus, Itami Youji, a 33 year old otaku, along with other soldiers is sent through it to see what's on the other side. As the story progresses 4 main girls are introduced; Pina Co Lada, Rory Mercury, Tuka Luna Marceau and Lelei La Lalena. They go through some events read more
Mar 25, 2016
EternalAnimeGuru (All reviews)
I can't get enough of this. I have to say that this is by far the best anime collision of Fantasy and RL I've ever see so far.

First off Itami, this Otaku of otaku's, this guy who acts as the single largest blight on society; who's only care is his single passion in the world, his absolute adoration of all things anime. This guy somehow ends up becoming the biggest hero in all of Japan for single handedly turning the tide of what starts out as a complete disaster into a well maintained defense in the center of Tokyo by an invasion from read more
Nov 14, 2015
kiska-barviska (All reviews)
The anime starts with showing to us a simple day of otaku - Itami. Few minutes later we see that Tokyo was attacked by ancient forces and the otaku helped people like every otaku will do. Fine. Interesting first episode as much as all others.
Art: picture is fine, like all nowadays anime has. But one feature: rory's lips so hot. 8
Sound: opening song is great, it remembers me op of HOTD, sometimes crazy, nice vocal. ED song and other OSTs are fine. 9
Characters: an otaku, gothic lolita, mahou shoujo, elf - sick combo, like it. Characters seiyus, fuku make them nice. 9
Very fun, enjoyable.
But
Story is read more
Mar 4, 2016
cesars (All reviews)
DISCLAIMER: this review contains spoilers for the first 2 episodes and is for the whole season (MAL has wrongly broken it into 2 parts)
One of my favourite Video essayists once said, “Art is all about pushing your buttons”
And I tend to agree with him on that statement, but what does this have to do with Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri (GATE for short)?
Everything, and during this review I am going to tell you why.
GATE is a 24-part Web-Novel /Manga adaptation by A-1 pictures, a studio that has often been the centre of controversy and producer of some of the most polarising shows read more
Mar 11, 2016
Biogundam (All reviews)
Warning This review may contain spoilers.

First impressions, so we got modern Japan meets fantasty world with the help of an magic inter dimensional gate that appears out of nowhere sounds interesting enough.

Story, 4/10

When a magic inter dimensional portel opens up in Japan.

Hordes of Fantasy Warriors and monsters poor out and Attck the people of Japan.
With one man standing in there way.
A Japanese soldier named Itami who manages to lead a counter defense in order to push the intruders back.
Which actually works even though any one with half a brain could have come up with it.

Some time after the attack he is apparently a hero now read more
Feb 18, 2016
Brightning (All reviews)
Hey kids, have you ever wanted to live in a fantasy anime with dragons, elves, nekomimis, and complete other bullcrap? Me neither! Don't worry though, because this anime called Gate does just that for you, except not quite as you'd think. Alright folks, let's HACK INTO THE GATE!

(My god, did I just say that? I just said that...)

Let's add a synopsis, because no bad review ever has a synopsis in it!

SYNOPSIS:
In August of 20XX, a portal to a parallel world, known as the "Gate," suddenly appeared in Ginza, Tokyo. Monsters and troops poured out of the portal, turning the shopping district into a bloody inferno.

The read more
Jan 31, 2016
hkk91 (All reviews)
Fun anime to watch unless you hate new Japanese policy or the Japanese army for any reason because the anime is obliviously such a clear propaganda for the Japanese army and for the nationalist right wing there,
if you are interested in the Japanese politics now with the new constitutional changes and their impact on the people there you will find this anime interesting to watch accordingly.
another good aspect of the anime is the way they presented the colonial expanding , although they tried hard to make it look nice and just in childish way , it was good to see how some wings read more
Sep 28, 2015
Meowsorz (All reviews)
Gate in a Nutshell:
Overhyped military anime with anime tropes thrown in. Starts off epic and interesting but later devolves into some rather uninteresting story points. Some of the focus isn't where it needed to be. Kind of lost itself to the anime tropes later on, focusing less on the military side. Has art that gets the job done, a couple memorable moments, characters that are kind of forgettable, and a "meh" soundtrack.

Should you Watch?
Depends. If you like anime, go for it. If you want something epic, don't. If you want something to watch when you're bored this is perfect.
Jan 23, 2016
711nono (All reviews)
The blending of two completely different genres can be something completely genius when executed correctly. However when done wrong it can doom an entire anime. Gate falls into the prior with a creative narrative that is far from typical. As a fan of high fantasy stories, I was pleasantly suprised but the blend of military warfare and mythical fantasy proves to be a surprisingly great relationship.

So what is Gate? Gate: Thus the JSDF fought there is the summer 2015 anime based off the light novel of the same name. The narrative follows a 33 year old otaku who is a struggling lieutenant read more
Sep 20, 2015
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Throughout history, the concept of discovering new lands has ended with one of two possibilities. One, the invaders take over the natives and make the lands for themselves, or two, the natives push back the invaders and keep the lands for themselves. So, with Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri, or Gate: and so the JSDF fought there, alluding to that concept with Japan and another world, what are we to expect from this story?

Story: Yoji Itami is your everyday average Otaku. He likes Doujinshi, he has his own personal fetishes, and he likes online novels. On the way to go read more
Oct 14, 2015
DamnToasty (All reviews)
GATE is a story that, however extremely enjoyable in some areas, is seriously lacking in others. This show presents a setting that is not by any means original. In fact, one such example of a similar series which kept popping into my head would be the 90's movie and television series, "Stargate". Which shares aspects such as a paranormal "wormhole" to another world, as well as modern military power interacting with a primitive civilization. These aspects have become very well known and popular within the sci-fi community, to the point of almost being considered cliched. Although, GATE is a show that adds just enough to read more
Sep 25, 2015
YouAreWrong (All reviews)
25.09.2015

THIS IS NOT THE FINAL REVIEW! AS I CONTINUE WATCHING THE SERIES THIS REVIEW WILL CHANGE - It only shows my impressions so far. I will rework it after I finished the Anime

First review by the way. Epicness = Extra Points (Obviously I am joking, with those points, usually there are other smaller elements, or just a feeling that make me increase the points - Kidding about that last thing here)

Well, lets start with the story. By the way. I watched the show with German Subs.

-Story-
I was really excited when I first read the description of the Anime. 21 century meets medieval age. The idea read more
Oct 10, 2015
ShipwreckSailor (All reviews)
So much about this anime was superb, so why did I put it as a 5? Imagine Star Wars. Now imagine the Death Star's super weapon could only dent an A-Wing. That's what's wrong with this anime.

The story did a great job sharing what would happen if medieval weaponry met current weaponry, but that very creativity is the story's downfall. My only enjoyment in this came from the fact that there were elves, gods and magic in a medieval setting coupled with the idea that I could imagine myself there fairly easily, that aside it was dreadfully boring. Even when they went into politics read more
Jan 15, 2016
Robert_321 (All reviews)
Quite enjoyable military fantasy.

All too often we have some dragon popup and the military ends up completely powerless only to have some teenager with a magic sword solve the worlds problems. This basically reverses that type of plot and instead we see with some degree of realism the amount of firepower that modern(ish) military weapons have. We also have a MC who is 33 and already a member of the JSDF (albeit known as a slacker) when the story starts.

We do get a bit of a pseudo-harem with the MC being surrounded by several attractive females from the fantasy world, but read more
Oct 17, 2015
Cosmicblaze454 (All reviews)
Gate is interesting because of the fusion of modern world and fantasy/Roman/medieval world. I always like seeing guns and missiles rekt knights and traditional tactics and weapons and these makes Gate satisfying because it’s done right and we can see the difference between two world and unsatisfying because I still got to wait next year.

Gate’s cast isn’t anything special but at least the MC is kind of likable and most of the characters have different traits, personality and characteristics. Rory as a yandere, Lelei as the curious, cute mage, Tuka as you know…. I don’t know, traumatized because her father is dead? Then we got read more