Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri


Alternative Titles

English: GATE
Synonyms: Gate: Thus the JSDF Fought There!
Japanese: GATE(ゲート)自衛隊 彼の地にて、斯く戦えり

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2015 to Sep 19, 2015
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.861 (scored by 254,515 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #141
Members: 458,764
Favorites: 4,564

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 7, 2015
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
A gate to a medieval fantasy land opens up in Japan, and this can only mean one thing: sword-wielding troops get mowed down by the glorious Japanese military in their attack copters with Wagner playing. And I mean that in-universe; the soldiers are literally playing a CD of Wagner in their copters.

Why, you ask? Because Japan needs more technology and minerals and such because nationalism says so. Oh, and some humanitarian reasons, but those aren't as important.

The plot kicks off when out of nowhere a gate appears and from it come a bunch of orcs and medieval troops that indiscriminately kill civilians, wreck the read more
Oct 15, 2015
End (All reviews)
Two worlds, different dimensions, one is fantasy and the other one are reality. If these two existences merge with one gate, what will the future hold for both worlds?

Gate: jieitai kanochi nite kaku tatakaeri or also known as Gate start the show with a bit unique performance and leave the viewers speechless while trying to grasp the situation. I'll admit, on the surface this series doesn't sound like it would make a good series. Add more with the main lead Youji Itami who’s already aged 33 years old. One of the most courageous steps I’ve ever seen. Anime industries have laid teenagers as the read more
Sep 18, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
GATE, a simple 4 letter word that can release so much potential with its premise. The idea behind GATE is that of a series about modernized humans clashing with fantasy (warriors wielding ancient armor, elves, dwarves, dragons, etc). By clashing, it doesn’t entirely mean a total war between the two sides. After a while, both sides begins to establish a diplomatic relationship with one another. Sounds strange right? It also kind of goes in a two-fold. Fantasy enters reality and reality enters fantasy. Both worlds are separated by a gate and at the center of it, there’s a man named Youji Itami.

Gate - Jieitai read more
Nov 17, 2015
Markezzo (All reviews)
GATE is a story about the pursuit of peace, a brave tale about setting our differences aside and to work for the common good. That common good is the Japanese military and cute girls, which are the greatest pillars of holiness that humanity has to offer. By pitting modern day Japan against a medieval fantasy-setting, GATE manages to contrast two incredibly different worlds with each other, showing how peace can be achieved by ignoring all complex questions. Just relax, turn off your brain, and worship the power of cute girls.

SPOILERS

Let’s compare how religion works in the two worlds. The god(s) that we know are usually read more
Oct 25, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
The show opens with some loser otaku in his twenties named Itami doing his loser otaku things before a mysterious portal opens in the middle of the city, causing a bunch of fantasy soldiers to enter the real world and slaughter everyone in sight because they’re dirty racist foreigners who hate Japanese despite having just met them or something. No really, that’s it. We never get an explanation for why this portal even exists, let alone why these soldiers have a beef with Japan other than “because there’d be no story otherwise”. Also because they wanted to show that nerdy losers can kick ass too, read more
Apr 16, 2016
Sara_Isayama (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of the worst anime I've ever seen.
(And I've seen a lot)

If this was some cheap production, with recycled scenes, it'd be easy to see why it's bad. After all, "look! They reused the same animation for the umpteenth time!"

But that's not why GATE is bad. Gate is bad because of really, really terrible story. The plot is horrible and the characters worse.

The plot is essentially: A stargate like portal to another world opens in downtown Tokyo. A hoard of a marauding medieval army and monsters comes out and starts attacking civilians.

But! The Japanese Self Defense Force steps in to read more
Sep 30, 2015
Protoz (All reviews)
This show has so much potential, so while I did enjoy it (perhaps simply because there are not much similarly-themed anime to compare with) don't expect too much from this harem comedy anime. Quick review below:

STORY = 6/10

While having so much to offer, sadly GATE resorts to generic comedy harem theme every time it hints serious development to the main plot. I mean, we rarely have a chance to explore a situation where modern world clashes with fantasy world, and everytime I expect a progress after those "serious scene", all i get are filler-like episodes that took main plot almost nowhere. By the time I read more
May 23, 2016
lolaf (All reviews)
Gate is propaganda, and based on how high it scores here it's damn effective but as an anime series it fails on the most basic of principles and just isn't any good once you realize it was built solely around being pro-military media fodder.

So let's break this down into the grading criteria itself:

Story: 3/10

Gate's surprisingly strong opening and base concept is the only reason I didn't rate it any lower as in the right hands they could have been the building blocks for a genuinely good show.

Shortly after the JSDF enters the titular gate things take a turn for the worse read more
Sep 19, 2015
simbee (All reviews)
----------SPOILER FREE--------------
TL;DR below for the lazy ones ;)

Ever wondered what's it like when an ancient army clashes with modern military? GATE is unique in the way that it presents to us a variety of idea; the clash of armies, the blending of cultures, the true melting pot of Anime.

Do you love Fantasy? Action? Captivating music? Well-crafted and diverse characters?

If you said "Yes" to any of these questions, this gem of an anime is one that you should DEFINITELY catch. (If you said yes to all, you won't fail to orgasm every episode)

Moving on~

Story: 9
The potential in the concept itself already warrants an 8.
However, potential alone read more
Sep 20, 2015
ap1001 (All reviews)
Preliminary
To sum up Gate you only need one phrase, DAMN that was a lot of wasted potential! Godfricking DAMMIT, get your shit together Japan!

On the other hand it was totally expected.

Otaku pandering powerfantasy #militarypropaganda/brainwashing - Gate

Story, Character - 3, 2 (potential 7, 7)
Worlds and culture collide isn't a new idea, disney did it, James Cameron did it, warhammer did it, toaru did it. So really Gate isn't that original on this front, no matter how many times it is done, it is still interesting. A clash of technology and magic, two different worlds, guns vs magic, it makes my inner 10 year old very excited. read more
Dec 2, 2015
agentwash6 (All reviews)
I, for one, was drawn into the intriguing world that Gate drops us in, but the real question is what else does Gate manage to do besides having an interesting premise?

The premise and the mystery surrounding the so called "Special Realm" are the strongest points of the show by far, however the execution felt a little lacking in the story department. The battle scenes show how ridiculously one sided this war is between the two realms, which detracts from the suspense of the story as the outcome of any battle is never in doubt. Coupled by the fact that one of the protagonist is literary read more
Dec 1, 2015
KuroeUsagi (All reviews)
To start off... I really enjoyed this anime.

Story:
i always wanted to see a story like this whether it be anime or not. a story where a medieval time like world comes across the present time in war. The story is very straight forward. It's no the same as Oda Nobuna no Yabou or Outbreak Company, but if you enjoyed either of them you will find this one interesting.

Character:
I really like how the characters are presented. Simply said all the main characters are badass in their own way.

Sound:
The SFX is good. i actually found this anime while listening to one of favorite read more
Nov 12, 2015
JohnTittor (All reviews)
When I was young(er), my favorite day dream was time travel. The exploits of my journey are outlined as follows: A) Time travel to a feudal era of crude weaponry. B) Bring automatic weapons/explosives. C) Wipe out a nation's army. D) Plunder hot women and treasures.

C’mon guys, don’t act like this dream hasn’t crossed your minds?! ARMY OF DARKNESS –movie plug! If this scenario tickles your fancy/fetish, then GATE just might be the anime for you.

Story: 7. Perhaps imaginative is singularly the best word to describe GATE. The story is basically about a time/space traveling gate that links two worlds together – a fantastical read more
Sep 28, 2015
HakuZhou (All reviews)
Modern VS Ancient Fantasy warfare? I don't know about you but that sounded mighty appealing to me. So I was delighted the moment my friend recommended Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri.

Story: Clashing modern warfare vs an ancient one (with bits of fantasy elements in them) is the main point of this anime. Modern Japan being attacked by all sort of monsters and magicked creatures form another realm was what they first presented. One would expect a very long and bloody back and forth rally between the two factions as most war related titles are, but how this anime deviated from that cliche is read more
Oct 4, 2015
DarkGabo (All reviews)
I am in the Spanish army, also I have been on mission abroad with the United Nations. Many are very detailed modern approaches to how to act in foreign territory, local our mutual cooperation, the escalating use of force, all these details are present in the anime.

Also at the level of use of military material is very detailed, always wearing a bulletproof vest with collars (It seems silly, but they are very unpleasant to wear), including the disposition of weapon down during transport (avoid damage to the face in an accident) not using night vision goggles for day to avoid damaging them, the elastic strap read more
Oct 9, 2015
jc9622 (All reviews)
Finally! An anime series with modern military that I can actually call good because it is very hard to find a great modern military anime this days. Plus, it's a modern military vs medieval army so that's an added bonus considering the fact that I'm a fan of both sides.


[Story]: (8/10)
In August of 20XX, a portal to a parallel world, known as the "Gate" suddenly appeared in Ginza, Tokyo. Monsters and troops poured out of the portal, turning the shopping district into a bloody inferno. The JGSDF (Japan Ground-Self Defence Force) took action and pushed back the creatures into the Gate. The JGSDF has read more
Sep 19, 2015
StigmataSasha (All reviews)
GATE, I could've sworn I saw this at 24 episodes and when I finished the 12th episode I could not believe what I saw. I was really let down by that, but onto the review. And I can't stress this enough, if you're an anime apologist, don't even bother reading this review or any of my reviews. If you're open minded, welcome.

A gate appears OUTTA NOWHERE, and came rushing the empire's army, indiscriminately slaughtering the citizens of Japan. And now, our otaku military genius protagonist, Itami, swoops in and saves the day and meets cute fantasy girls that any anime/manga fan dreams of. There, begins read more
Feb 28, 2019
Otorez (All reviews)
In france, where I live, if you ask someone to describe Japan, he or she will usually answer the following sentence : "A country mixing tradition and modernity".

Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri tends to perfectly fit to this description. Indeed, it brings a contemporary Japan with all its armament, to travel a Gate leading to another world. As you can guess, this world is based on a fantasy Middle-age (even Antiquity I think) with a bit of magic. And the whole show was either directed by Michael Bay or written under LSD.

The whole point of this anime appears - at first - to be read more
Aug 28, 2016
Awesomelawlz (All reviews)
Gate is a failed attempt at an anime that supposed to show how our work would react if we found a different magical dimension that we could travel to.

Story: The story of Gate is 4 so I consider it decent, I find it pretty cool they show how the army would react and how a magic world would react to our worlds tech and military artillery I have to say the way they portray the magic world is awful because the only thing we know about it is how the military work and how the army works. They don't spend enough time on the read more
Dec 31, 2015
Chinomi-san (All reviews)
While it isn't unheard of to mix fantasy with reality, the concept of integrating two different worlds together is something entirely new. I wasn't sure what to expect of GATE given its lengthy synopsis, but it certainly delivered satisfying entertainment. The plot pays much attention the detail of military and political problems between two nations while giving the audience glimpses of life from the other world, one filled with elves, fairies, demigods, and magic. It's intriguing to observe the interaction between two different cultures that both want to know what lies on the other side of the gate. We get to see the inner workings read more