Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gake no Ue no Ponyo


Alternative Titles

English: Ponyo
Synonyms: Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea
Japanese: 崖の上のポニョ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 19, 2008
Producers: Dentsu, d-rights, Toho
Licensors: Walt Disney Studios
Studios: Studio Ghibli
Source: Original
Genres: Adventure, Fantasy
Duration: 1 hr. 41 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.931 (scored by 146,352 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #388
Members: 224,016
Favorites: 1,135

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 23, 2008
aranelcharis (All reviews)
3 words describe this movie: Death By Cuteness [Note: This review is based off of the Japanese version, not the Disney dubbed one!]

If you thought Totoro was cute, you ain't seen nothing yet. Ponyo is the cutest little...fish-girl ever. The movie is loosely based on "The Little Mermaid," but don't think Disney. Think instead of when you were a kid, and the world was brighter, magical, full of wonder and delight. Those are the feelings which describe what happens when you enter the world of Miyazaki.

Story - Although there's more story to Ponyo than your average Miyazaki film (eg: Totoro again), the film is geared read more
Aug 16, 2009
Redward (All reviews)
Miyazaki. What comes to mind when you hear that name? Cute characters? Great movies? Remarkable talent? Any of these would be normal and deserved. There isn't a person in their right mind whose heart didn't warm itself while watching Tortoro, or fluttered with excitement in Sprirted Away. Which is why when Ponyo was announced, their was born an anticipation. An anticipation for the same Miyazaki magic that has touched us time and time again.

And it is also why the disappointment was so great.

Ponyo was bad. The plot had holes large enough to happily sail through and the characters were about as two-dimensional as you read more
Aug 18, 2009
Venneh (All reviews)
TITLE: Ponyo (on the Cliff by the Sea)

ANIME: Ponyo is the eighth animated feature done by Studio Ghibli (well-known for other films such as Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke) and the tenth animated feature for Hayao Miyazaki as a director (well-known for his directorial work on My Neighbor Totoro and Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind). Ponyo was released in Japanese theatres on July 19th, 2008, and won Best Anime of the Year at the Tokyo Anime Awards and the Japanese Academy Prize for Best Animation of the Year. It was released dubbed in Stateside theatres just this last weekend, on August read more
Jan 27, 2010
seekster (All reviews)
Let me preface by noting that I am a Miyazaki fan that consider Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke (in that order) the best animated films ever to come out of Japan (or possibly anywhere). Spirited Away in particular had it all, a good story, memorable music, incredible visuals, and likable characters that grew as the story progressed. I also saw Howl's Moving Castle and while I thought it was good it wasnt up to the same quality as Spirited Away or Mononoke (still maybe about the level of Kiki though).

Now I also admit that I saw the dubbed version of Ponyo featuring a cast read more
Aug 16, 2009
Tsumayouji (All reviews)
May I just start by saying that I am a big time Miyazaki fan. I loved Totoro, Howl's Moving Castle, Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke, and Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (haven't as of yet seen his other ones). So, for someone who very much enjoys previous Miyazaki endeavors, Ponyo in a word is: disappointing. Yes, it's obviously for little kids (why Miyazaki couldn't make another family film that we could all enjoy is a bafflement to me), but even for children, it'd be boring.

~Story~

So a little fish girl endowed with magical powers wants to become human to stay with a little boy she read more
Mar 18, 2011
8thSin (All reviews)
'Gake no Ue no Ponyo' had been lying in my hard disk drive for over a year before I finally got to seeing it. I somehow knew I would not like this film, and have been putting it off until now. It could've been because this movie seemed so childish from clips I saw in variety shows, the obnoxious little girl singing its theme song, and the surprising amount of marketing campaign for an animated film. However, being somewhat of an anime fan, and an avid Japanese movie fan, this is a film that I had to watch. My hunches are wrong sometimes, but unfortunately, read more
Feb 7, 2019
Skana (All reviews)
Hand drawn poetry

Written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki, "Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea" is a 2008 feature produced by Studio Ghibli. Tells about the little marine creature who abandons her world to go back from the depths of the abyss and, riding a jellyfish, set out to discover the human world. When she meets Sousuke, a child who lives in a house overlooking the sea, a sincere and profound bond will arise, which will challenge the laws of nature and change their existence.

The simple and linear plot re-elaborates in a modern and original key "The Little Mermaid" with the personal touch of Miyazaki, read more
Aug 18, 2009
rabbitpoets (All reviews)
Note: This review is based on a fansub and not the Disney dubbed version. Although I do want to check out the Disney dub, because Disney’s Ghibli adaptations are the rare movies where I think the voice dubs are really well done.

The story:
Ponyo is a simple love story at it’s heart. And I say "love" in its purest sense, because it’s not quite familial love, but it’s not quite romantic love as well. The relationship between the two kids is unique and full of life. If Sosuke is a bit disturbed by Ponyo’s fish roots, or her tendency to look like a chicken when she’s read more
Sep 4, 2009
Scallion (All reviews)
Too Long, Didn't Read Version: Really, really pretty. Buy the Blu-Ray and some controlled substances made illegal under state, federal,and international law when it hits stores. This kicks the Little Mermaid's ass, Sebastion de Stereotype be damned, mon.
~~
When was the last time watching a movie left you feeling physically weak?
As the sing-a-long ending credits for Ponyo bubbled forth from the theatre speakers, I got up and started to ehad for the door...only to have my knees literally buckle underneath me. I felt light-headed, woozy, and couldn't maintain an erection for several days after. I'd suffered a diabetic coma by way of cuteness.

After manning the fuck read more
Aug 29, 2009
Naiika (All reviews)
Hayao Miyazaki's work is and always will be outstanding. Although some may complain because Ponyo wasn't up to par with some of his more serious work, we do have to keep in mind that Ponyo is geared to small children. With this knowledge on hand, it's a heart warming movie that is meant to showcase the innocence and purity of a child's heart. At least that's what I gathered from it. I've seen the Japanese version and not the Disney dub. These are my own opinions after all, sorry if they disagree with anyone's. Enjoy!

Story:

The story itself is kind of like a loose interpretation of read more
Jun 2, 2011
ProfessorGinkgo (All reviews)
This movie was not exactly my favorite to watch, especially considering it was directed by Hayao Miyazaki. Ponyo had his artistic style, but my reaction was not at all similar to that of other works of his. I expected a story that had me thinking about anything ranging from questioning humanity or questioning what it means to love another. Ponyo's themes were more family-oriented, but it did not capture the same emotions and mindsets that previous Hayao Miyazaki films had.

Nonetheless, it's a good family film; but if you're a Hayao Miyazaki fan, it's not my favorite pick.
Dec 3, 2008
kawaiisammy (All reviews)
Very adorable movie. This is possibly one of the cutest animes I have seen in a while.

Story - The story definetly wasn't what made this a good movie. While it was a good story, I felt that it went by too slow. That and the fact the subs that were released obviously weren't made by someone fluent with the english language. I guess it's kind of soon to be jumping into rating the story as the real english version might make it a little more tolerable.
Other than that, this is definitely a children's movie, thus the story wasn't too deep. Think Totoro with a tad read more
Jan 8, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Ponyo is a Studio Ghibli film from 2008. Like Nausicaa, it was written and directed by Miyazaki Hayao. Although, in this case, it's loosely based on the legend of the little mermaid rather than an entirely original work. Let's see how that turned out.

Our story opens underwater where undersea David Bowie is moving around in his magical submarine spawning jellyfish. Yes, I know that isn't his actual name, but he looks kind of like David Bowie, so that's what I'm going to call him. Anyway, one of his young fish daughters escapes the submarine and makes her way to the surface where she's found read more
Sep 9, 2009
ace52387 (All reviews)
The spectacle that is Ponyo is every bit as magnificent as any of Miyazaki`s works, or perhaps any animated work ever. There are memorable sequences abound, and in typical Miyazaki style, they may be notable as wildly imaginative or as heartwarmingly human. Anything in the underwater world would fall into the former category, while the affection between the two main characters is so lifelike that it may cause you to up and grab the nearest person and give him/her a nice squeeze. Ponyo is just about the sweetest thing that exists, and it`s not only because of the cute quasi-romance between the two 5 year-olds. read more
May 21, 2011
Moudaijoubu (All reviews)
Ah, Ponyo. I remember watching the very early commercials for this movie. I absolutely couldn't wait for it to come out on DVD. I stopped by Walmart every day until I finally got my hands on yet another one of Hayao Miyazaki's films. My reaction after sitting through almost two hours of the film is a bit difficult to explain.

I do believe that any anime's quality is based really on characters. You can have a freakin' awful storyline, but the cast of characters can be so funny, original and entertaining that it doesn't even matter. I can't quite say that Ponyo's characters reached that read more
May 22, 2009
dbaranyi (All reviews)
I usually don't care for stories that have pre-school protagonists, but Hayao Miyazaki easily made me forget that as he wove his magic once again in "Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea". This is a beautifully simple story that wonderfully demonstrates all of Miyazaki's strengths as a director and writer. It also demonstrates some of Miyazaki's weaknesses as a director and writer, but those only add to the overwhelming charm of the movie.

What we have here is a thoroughly modern movie that at the same time captures all the timelessness of great story telling. Ponyo is a dauntless heroine and Sousuke is her perfect read more
Aug 17, 2009
JTurner (All reviews)
It has been widely agreed that Hayao Miyazaki is a master at his craft when it comes to combining rich animation with thoughtful storylines and similarly imaginative characters. His movies, from Nausicaa, My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki's Delivery Service, Castle in the Sky, and Princess Mononoke to the recent Howl's Moving Castle are all not only gorgeously rendered in terms of art, but in terms of moviemaking as well. Can this man do no wrong? Not really, but it is impossible to expect everyone of his movies to always be five star marvels. His newest film, Ponyo, an unashamedly family-friendly tale of read more
Feb 16, 2018
attempt1 (All reviews)
This is a very fun and cute movie.

This is a very entertaining movie, I was pretty much smiling the whole time watching it. All the characters are very likeable from the five year old boy Sosuke and his mum Lisa, and even the minor characters like the residents of the rest home. The movie is well paced with a strong eco friendly theme throughout shown through many amazing shots of underwater scenes, and them being destroyed by man. The importance of love and being together is also emphasised in the movie, shown really well with Ponyo, Sosuke and their families.

Constructive feedback is appreciated :)
Dec 13, 2017
Luqueasaur (All reviews)
Ponyo is just like infancy. Cute, genuine, fantastic, carefree, heartwarming, when everything is blossoming with colors, is cheerful, when everyone is friendly and well-spirited, even if their actions seem initially a little shady. Nothing bad ever happens, everything ends well, there's absolutely nothing to worry about at any moment.

A movie without conflict might seem, initially, pretty shallow, but if anything Ponyo ends up being more of a slice of life type of thing than a movie as we know of it. So much so the attention to details is painstaking - the characters' movements are genuine, realistic and offer extreme continuity. If Ponyo is holding read more
Mar 4, 2013
jonathanlane (All reviews)
Miyazaki has been a favorite of mine for many years. If there is one artist I can say has never let me down, it is Miyazaki (well, him and Tolkien, so you see how highly I regard his work). Every one of his movies are amazing, from his epic masterpieces Princess Mononoke and Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, to his more down to earth family affairs such as Spirited Away and My Neighbor Totoro. So how does Ponyo stack up against the other films in Miyazaki's arsenal?

Well, not as well as I was hoping, though far from bad.

Ponyo is something different read more