Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Himouto! Umaru-chan


Alternative Titles

English: Himouto! Umaru-chan
Synonyms: My Two-Faced Little Sister
Japanese: 干物妹!うまるちゃん

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2015 to Sep 24, 2015
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Thursdays at 02:14 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.371 (scored by 161,765 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #247
Members: 298,871
Favorites: 2,947

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 26, 2015
Waltz- (All reviews)
I don't recommend this anime. Things included in this show are unlikable characters, terrible comedy, and essentially everything you've already seen before. I get it, the chibi form of the main character is cute and marketable, it's being used on banners and logos and whatnot, but it's all just a ruse.

Now let me make this clear. I love slice of life anime. I loved Nichijou, Barakamon and the list goes on. However this particular anime has a few breaking flaws. First off, the main character is a bratty teenager who basically gets whatever she wants and if she doesn't, read more
Sep 2, 2015
BoredOfYou (All reviews)
Preliminary
Here's my thoughts on the show summarized in one sentence:

Himouto brings a fun style of comedy to the viewer for the first few episodes, and then recycles those same jokes over and over until you're sick of them.



As for the more technical side of things:

Story- Umaru is a practically perfect girl while with her friends, but a little lazy weeaboo shit when at home with her brother. You'd think I was oversimplifying it, but I'm really not. The plot is rather stagnant and doesn't change much throughout the show (this isn't necessarily a bad thing)

Art-
So average that it's bad. Let me expound on that sentence: read more
Sep 23, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
I’m not going to lie. Watching Himouto! Umaru-chan (My Two-Faced Little Sister) makes me feel like a kid all over again. Each week, each episode is like an indoor and outdoor adventure of its own. Titular character Umaru Doma is the class superstar as well as the model that almost everyone looks up to. Her brother, Taihei Doma, is kind of like the sidekick providing her shelter, food, and a sense of comfort for her when she’s living at home. Really though, this series took me by surprise like an unexpected storm. And I’m talking about the type of otaku storm where you have to read more
Nov 26, 2015
seola (All reviews)
This is the anime you probably see all over Tumblr with funny and relatable screencaps. You'd think "Wow, this anime must be really funny!". Well, it is; In the first three episodes at least.

Basically, Umaru is a high school student who's admired by everyone because of her kind personality, looks, and brains. But once she's at home, she's a lazy weeb who bosses her brother around 25/8 to do shit for her. The art is decent, I guess, but the main point is suppose to be Umaru's personality, or at least I think it is.

There's some side characters, but they don't do much. The anime read more
Sep 23, 2015
Zee530 (All reviews)
A very peculiar creature is living among us, elusive for so many years due to its ability to perfectly imitate a human being. First discovered by SankakuHead in 2013, but his findings are in a language known only to few, but thanks to the hard work of cryptologists at Dogakobo they have provided us with SankakuHead's findings in a format we can make sense of and I am writing this report after going through their findings.

Though without a botanical name as yet, but persons around it refer to the creature as 'Umaru', so we shall refer to it as such within the course of this read more
Dec 30, 2016
LIQfilms (All reviews)
If my sister acted the way the main character does in this show I think I'd take her round the back and shoot her.

Wow, that was quite the dark opening, wasn't it? Let's...Let's try that again (cough cough).

This show makes me want to find the nearest kitchen utensil and then locate the nearest plug socket so that I will never have to look at this orange football ever again...(that's better!)

If you can't yet tell from my terrible jokes I really do not like this show. What started off a harmless comedy with some fun little jokes stays as such throughout the entire show with no read more
Sep 30, 2015
Natsuaki (All reviews)
This anime went from being horrible to somewhat decent to horrible again.

This is my first review and I plan to write more in the future, so I hope I can explain well why I hate this show so damn much.

First things first: The story.
There is none.
Umaru, while being popular at school and great in every subject, just turns into a lazy otaku at home, doing nothing but gaming, watching anime, reading Manga and having her older brother she lives with do even the smallest things for her.
That's it.
There is no plot progression - aside from some season-related episodes - there is no character development, read more
Sep 24, 2015
malikkkk27_ (All reviews)
“All I want for Christmas 2015 is Ebina Nana-chan. ^^”

I first known about Himouto! Umaru-chan after searching what anime I should watch after finishing spring season. Honestly, I consider this as my main priority to watch for Summer 2015, but after watching Gakkou Gurashi! (Considered as my highest priority for SM 2015) I still make Himouto! Umaru chan as my second highest priority to watch in 2015, so no hard feelings for Himouto lovers. :D

And I’m really glad I watch Himouto Umaru-chan, one of the best combination of comedy and slice of life anime in my life, I don’t know for others but it read more
Sep 23, 2015
vegetablespirit (All reviews)
Most of the humour and appeal of Himouto! Umaru-chan comes from the protagonist being strikingly similar to its target audience; a lazy, entitled otaku teenager who always gets what they want. You're meant to identify with this cola-obsessed girl to the point of empathizing with her every move, and that obviously worked. Within days of the first episode airing, the show became a meme. It was (and at the time of writing, still is) hard to enter an anime discussion without catching a stray gif or picture showing Umaru in her chibi form, because people loved that they saw themselves or their behaviour in this read more
Oct 24, 2015
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Do you want to watch something that will put a smile on your face regardless of what mood you are in? Specifically, an anime that has one particular character that has the charisma and charm to make an entire series into a glorious package of fun and cuteness all by herself? If you do, oh boy, do I have an anime for you.

Himouto Umaru-chan is one experience that still perplexes me as I am writing this. Not just because of how much I loved it, but also how something like this could exist. It is essentially a gag comedy anime with the most generic formula read more
Nov 4, 2015
QuentinHahn (All reviews)
By day she is known as the famous perfect girl with princess like qualities: Umaru-sama, but by night she transforms into the fridge raiding, cola drinking, snack munching, and brother mongering girl known as: Umaru-chan. She is the epitome of cute and fun characters; she gives off the kind of aura that makes you want to forgive her for even her biggest grievances. She is adorable, she is malicious, she is conniving, and all the while still manages to be sweet. She is the kind of character who will make you froth at the mouth with anger, and then seconds later offer you her favorite read more
Nov 23, 2017
DrSawbone (All reviews)
OH MAN OH BOY

Story-When weaboos watch this anime for the first time they usually think"Well this is some generic waste of budget that is made for the kids with autism"BUT(there is always some BUT).This anime perfectly embodies Freudian theory of Id and Ego.Main character, Umaru, is in constant struggle to balance her wild,lazy and otaku life style(this is her Id,the beast inside of her if you like) with her Ms. Perfect persona(her Ego-struggle for perfection).Here we see how public opinion affects human mind, his soul,his sanity. Umaru tries to hide her true self(otaku) because she fears how will her family,friends and peers react if they read more
Mar 1, 2018
staenkwaenk (All reviews)
Preliminary
The only thing this anime is good for is the smug screencap reaction images. Literally nothing else.

It's not funny. Umaru is the most annoying, whiny, unlikable character. The jokes are mostly the "oh look at me i'm so lazy and quirky and *relatable*"-type and that just gets redundant. The episodes are very repetitive, and not much happens other than Umaru bossing her brother around and being an absolute pig. At least the art is tight, but a turd is still a turd no matter how much glitter you throw on it.

I hate this show so much. I cant stop talking about how much i read more
Oct 11, 2015
AroundRamirez (All reviews)
Himouto! Umaru-chan is a funny anime, does that you see them just for having a good time and laugh about the things that happens. Very short if you don´t like extended anime. Very interesting the fact that the main character have a split personality.

Story : 10/10.
Very short story, but funny. A lot of references of things, if you know things from Actual Japanese Culture, you´ll have a lot of fun finding them.

Art: 10/10
Lovely drawing style, the difference from the normal drawing and the chibi is amazing. Characters are cute.

Sound: 10/10.

Character: 10/10
Lovely characters. Great develop of the characters, and very interesting the way characters react read more
Sep 28, 2015
-Alians- (All reviews)
This anime was recommended to me by one of my friends. I'm just gonna point this out now but this is pretty much your average comedy slice of life anime with cliches all over the place. If you're looking for a great story then this is not for you. Also if you dislike this '' annoying '' imouto type who forces her onii-chan to do everything you'll seriously hate this.


Story 5/10 :

As i've stated before, this doesn't have a good storyline. It's pretty much how the main characters spend their days. What i do like is however that they try to hint alot of read more
Apr 11, 2016
flex_ (All reviews)
the only difference between watamote and himouto umaru chan is that watamote main character is an ugly piece of shit. himouto umaru chan is the same as watamote the only difference is that umaru chan is attractive. but wait what about the plot dude? the plot is about a brother and sister complex bullshit if i were to have the same sister as umaru i would be completely depressed and have nothing to do in my life other than crying and praying that she grows up someday. umaru does nothing in her life her brother gets her stuff all she does all day eat food read more
Oct 22, 2017
PianimeMan (All reviews)
Preliminary
SPOILER ALERT EVEN THOUGH THIS SERIES HAS NO PLOT

This is bar none, the worst anime I have ever seen. That's right. "Mars of Destruction," "Eiken," and "Pupa," can safely be considered masterpieces compared to this cancerous monstrosity of an anime. Allow me to elaborate upon my position...

I love slice of life anime, and have always been a big fan of series' that deal with everyday people doing everyday things. The simplicity of a slice of life concept allows for us as viewers to relate to any given character, and really get to know them, since the entirety of a series hinges on them and read more
Mar 14, 2016
danny_dominguez (All reviews)
Preliminary
Discussions of this anime online caught my attention and made me want to check it out. From the start I thought that it looked like an interesting series: it had good looking animation, the kind of story line that I like, and some unique looking characters.

Things did not go the way that I expected, and after only three episodes I had to stop watching this series. The major flaw here was with the characters and the fact that they all sucked too much, each in their own unique way.

Umaru's character simply was not believable and her character was ultimately boring anyway because she's already read more
Feb 17, 2017
Soda-Stroyed (All reviews)
THIS MAY CONTAIN A SPOILER, I SAY MAY BECAUSE I DON'T REVEAL THE STORY, HOWEVER MY CRITICISMS INVOLVE THE ARC OF THE STORY, SO I GUESS TAKE IT AS YOU MAY.

It sucks you can't give a negative number on the enjoyment scale, because I would... I would. First off, let me explain that I have no problems with you liking this show, I guess I can see why someone would like it, and I also urge you to form your own opinions on it by going and watching it yourself. That being said, let me tell you why I hate this show with a passion. read more
Aug 27, 2017
DarthOtakuUMR (All reviews)
Story: The series follows Umaru Doma, who lives with her older brother Taihei Doma. Outdoors, Umaru seems like the perfect high school girl with beauty, intelligence, athleticism, and talent. But once indoors in her brother's apartment, she lazes around, playing video games, and constantly nagging her brother to buy her what she desires. As the series continues, you see the adventures Umaru goes on as her different personalities help her make different classmate friends.

Art: Decent artwork, cute character design, and lots of pop culture references/parodies.

Sound: Nice and catchy OP

Character: Every character has a wonderful unique personality.
Umaru is overachieving on the outside but a lazy read more