Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Koutetsujou no Kabaneri


Alternative Titles

English: Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress
Japanese: 甲鉄城のカバネリ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 8, 2016 to Jul 1, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: Crunchyroll
Studios: Wit Studio
Source: Original
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.341 (scored by 169,024 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #131
Members: 319,934
Favorites: 1,695

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 30, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
If you've spent enough time familiarizing yourself with the anime community, you'll come to realize that we're a demanding bunch. That should go without saying, given just how much anime tend to diverge from most mainstream trends. Because of this, we're always on the lookout for the next best thing. Constantly asking for something innovative. Captivating. Unique. Competent. Something to not only entertain but also to satisfy on some intellectual level. In a way, we're spoiled, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. We push for more because we've seen the medium deliver time and time again. Anime isn't afraid of addressing social taboos, nor read more
Jun 30, 2016
Captain220 (All reviews)
If you happen to be someone who has a steady job within the anime industry, what is the best possible way to earn some decent $$$ when making an original anime? Is it to try and come up with the best and most original setting that comes to mind? To create characters with seemingly limitless potential? A thought-provoking story? If you think it's any of the above, you may as well be delusional. Wit Studio has it all figured out. Sadly, after milking the dried up and shriveled old cow that is Attack on Titan for a solid three years now, I think they may read more
Jun 30, 2016
Nervin (All reviews)
A society in the middle of an industrial revolution. Gigantic steampunk-iron fortresses protecting its citizens. Zombies that terrorizes the lands, where large tank-like trains are the only means of transport and communication with the different fortifications. Such is the setting of Koutesujou no Kabaneri: mankind's struggle to survive the everluring doors of death and despair. Zombies threatening mankind is nothing new, yet is arguably oddly entertaining - when it is done right that is. What could have been a simple story about humankind's struggle for survival, sadly turned out into a petty revenge story: despite its flaws, an enjoyable first part, but with a very read more
May 19, 2016
Dude_Perfect (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of the worst anime that has been gaining too much hype this season.

Overall - 5
The anime has a mildly interesting storyline spoiled by generic characters. As far as the episodes that have come out, the anime has no purpose whatsoever other than fulfilling its quota of okayish action sequences with moderate amounts of gore and no horror whatsoever. The only reason you should watch this anime is if you were fooled into watching it by the amount of hype that built up to its release or you are simply into shitty action anime with retarded characters.

Story - 3
A generic dystopian future read more
Jul 1, 2016
pole70 (All reviews)
Why are people comparing this anime to shingeki no kyojin? I mean, this anime by itself is already very good. I dont really understand why people are starting to rate Koutetsujou no Kabaneri lower now that they've watched the last episode. Overall, the last episode wasnt even that bad. IN FACT, it kind of gives way to saying the the story isnt really finished yet, which then leads to a hint that there could even be a second season. If people want to rate this anime, they should at least try not to be as biased as possible. Anyways, Hiroyuki Sawano, as usual, created an read more
Jul 1, 2016
XHellScytheX (All reviews)
Koutetsujou no Kabaneri was the show that I was the most excited for this anime season. Sure, it seemed like a lot of the ideas were borrowed from Wit studio's other anime, the widely known and critically acclaimed Attack on Titan, but I was willing to overlook that and view Kabaneri as its own, separate anime. I was initially impressed by the first two episodes, however the hype train slowly ran out of steam as the anime progressed. It was truly heading down the right track, but the anime simply derailed itself when it failed to expand its plot beyond generic characters fighting mindless zombies. read more
Jun 30, 2016
whatchamini (All reviews)
What an amazing, exciting, and shockingly original anime! Well rounded and done extremely well, I highly recommend Koutetsujou no Kabaneri for anyone who is a fan of zombies and thrillers.

Story: 9
As I said, this was a very original anime, especially the story. We don't see many zombie anime's, and the ones we do see tend to be slice-of-life or, oddly, romantic. I can only think of 1 or 2 other zombie anime, and neither one even came close to this. Exciting and adrenaline-pumping action, you really feel invested in the story and the characters.

Art: 9
Weirdly, this anime has a sort read more
Jun 30, 2016
Cynthesizer (All reviews)
Survival is a theme that is touched upon quite a lot, and not only when it comes to the anime medium. Most of these kinds of series tend to engage this rather generic theme with interesting and good-looking fights, completely ignoring the plot's development and the characters' growth on the audience, instead adding a lot of gore which apparently triggers the "feels" of ignorant masses because, you know, losing someone precious is hard. There are many ways to strike a certain series despite the generic concept, instead of doing that you might as well develop some characters hence making it feel not as retarded. Kabaneri read more
Jun 30, 2016
Vaenny (All reviews)
This show reminded me that one can immerse in the anime world just by simply watching it. With its breathtaking visuals and compelling story, I was taken into the world of Koutetusjou no Kabaneri.

Now a lot of people will say it's a rip-off of the mainstream anime, Shingeki no Kyojin. Well, I digress. This show actually offers more than suspense and action. For one, not everyone in this show is powerless. The characters are actually able to fight back from the monsters easily. Not everyone is at harm because the threat wasn't that big (no pun intended). The real problem lies outside the walls, but read more
Jun 30, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Koutetsujou no Kabaneri (also known as Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress) is honestly one of those series that almost wants to make you rip your hair out. By first impressions, the show seemed to be on the right track. Dubbed by some as a generic clone of “Attack on Titan” or the next “big thing”, this series is one that is filled with controversy.

As an original anime by Wit Studio, Koutetsujou no Kabaneri seems to be inspired by a lot of generic concepts taken from the dark fantasy genre. These concepts ranges in variety from survival horror, revenge, tragic past, monster invasion, betrayal, experimentation, you read more
Jun 30, 2016
lawlmartz (All reviews)
BOKU WA KABANERI DA!!!!!!!!!!!1!!!one!!!oneoneshiftone!!!!eleven!!!

<insert your favorite cliche, corny phrase from the show here>

Kabaneri. What happened? This show was supposed to be the Attack on Titan that everyone wanted. All the pieces were there to get everything on track- Tetsuro Araki as the CONDUCTOR, Wit Studio in the boiler room, and my main man Hiroyuki Sawano handling the harmonic balancing in the CABOOSE. With these three wheels churning, Kabaneri should have been a hit. But oh man... did it ever DERAIL itself about halfway through.

They say that monorails make for a good one liner, but Kabaneri really RAILROADS you through the story. There's something to read more
Jul 1, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
Remember the last time an anime truly gripped you, a show that you couldn't put down and was complex and intellectual? If you're looking for something like that, Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress is not the anime for you. Plagued by vanilla characters and repetitious fight scenes, Kabaneri was the disappointment of the season for me. How could something combining zombies, samurai and steam punk be bad? Please allow me to explain ...

Long, long ago in a galaxy far, far away there exists a populace chronically threatened by incessant hordes of zombies called Kabane. Most of the world's people are confined to living in tight read more
Jul 2, 2016
AlreadyNight (All reviews)
No matter who the enemy might seem to be (zombies, titans, mutant bees, flying pigs), the real enemy for humans will always be humanity itself. I believe kabane were only a tool meant to emphasize that. I'm not gonna lie, I'm not very bright and this review's not gonna be the most intelligent thing for you to read. Just a humble review for humble people interested in giving Koutetsujou no Kabaneri a shot.

Story
6/10

Really messy, but somehow its mediocrity made it seem like a piece of reality adjusted to fit a steampunk puzzle. Real world is filled with people who make bad decisions, kill (apparently) read more
Jun 30, 2016
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
Dammit, Kabaneri! You had it! You were good! But then you just had to had to make things human, didn’t you? You couldn’t just stick to what you were actually good at, no; in fact, you’ve completely forgotten what made you great in the first place!

It’s not every day that I get to say an anime was not only the most surprisingly good show of the season, but also the most disappointingly bad. With a strong start, a shaky midsection, and a complete disaster of an endgame, the anime had gone completely off the rails. Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress truly is a trainwreck.

There, you read more
Jun 30, 2016
Adi (All reviews)
Ahh, a show about humanity being pushed to the brink of extinction due to a sudden appearance of man-eating monsters who are overwhelmingly powerful. Wait, doesn’t that sound familiar? If you say yes, it’s Attack on Titan, then you’re absolutely right. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with an AoT clone if it improves on AoT, but somehow Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress manages to do everything worse, spiralling down into a ludicrous mess of melodramatic, illogical plot elements and a villain so poorly founded and comically evil that it is laughable. Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress (especially the latter half) can only be best described as read more
Jun 30, 2016
dhiyauddinzidane (All reviews)
“THE APOCLAYPSE STARTER PACK”
Whatever disaster happen in this world. Absolutely, we can’t predicted about that. That’s why we must make preparations and brainstorm our mind to address this problem. You’d better prepare your transportation, shelter and food for emergency. Sometimes, natural disaster occurs in the several country and there’s a lot of cost to recover all this things. In fact, this is just information of the catastrophe. Henceforth, our discussion is about the theme of post-apocalyptic & you know? “weapon & suit & tank is the paramount things in the battle against zombie, right?” In the year 2016, the WIT Studio launched their new read more
Jun 30, 2016
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*SPOILERS FOR KOUTETSUJOU NO KABANERI aka KABANERI OF THE IRON FORTRESS. OH, AND TO ANY OF YOU WHO CLAIM THIS TO BE AN ATTACK ON TITAN RIPOFF JUST BECAUSE IT HAS A BUNCH OF MINDLESS CREATURES PUSHING HUMANITY TO THE BRINK, I SHAKE MY HEAD AT THEE. IT'S LIKE YOU NEVER HEARD OF ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE SERIES BEFORE*

I'm sure you've heard this question before: What do you prefer? Starting off strong but ending weaker, or starting of weak, but ending strongly? Personally, I'd choose the latter, and I know a few shows that DID the latter, like Macross F. Unfortunately, this show falls into the former, read more
Jun 30, 2016
jdam5798 (All reviews)
Story: 7/10
Although the story is unoriginal, I'm a sucker for zombie anime because there haven't been a plethora of them and even then, some of them weren't as good as this one.
Art: 7/10
The art was good for the most part, but there was no need for CGI. For example, it was obvious the Black Smoke monster was used with CGI and sometimes, when they showed a zoomed out action scene, they used CGI for the characters.
Sound: 10/10
Just go listen to the OST. Words can't describe how amazing it is.
Character: 4/10
I have to be honest: I hated most, if not all of the characters. They get read more
Jul 6, 2016
Hanso (All reviews)
**SPOILER REVIEW**

If I had to describe iron fortress in a word it would be... generic. Now you don’t have to tell me how overused and pretentious that word is, because I’m very well aware of that. But I suppose it’s the most appropriate word to use for this anime because that’s exactly what it is. This is indisputably one of the most generic anime I’ve seen in a long time. The biggest problem with this iron fortress is that the vast majority of it is so standardized and uninspired. It's a show you've probably seen many times in the past and probably more read more
Jul 2, 2016
gabrieuTG (All reviews)
Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress, or Disappointment of the Iron Fortress, you choose the best title for this.

SPOILERS AHEAD

The show started very well. Despite of the amount of people comparing it with AoT, the first seemed that this show would be a blast, and also would be nothing like AoT. However, after 3 episodes, this show became a trainwreck.

The plot is almost nonsensical. Kabaneris wear tight necklaces that for some reason don't asphyxiate them, Mumei gets transformed to Kabaneri by Biba just because of silly reasons, Biba wants to transform everybody into Kabane because of silly reasons etc.

Furthermore, there are disturbing plot holes. Katanas, that read more