Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Argento Soma


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: AΠHENTO ΣOMA
Japanese: アルジェント ソーマ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2000 to Mar 22, 2001
Premiered: Fall 2000
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:15 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.861 (scored by 4,944 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #42852
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3172
Members: 18,760
Favorites: 60

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 3, 2009
shellshock (All reviews)
The anime was fantastic, yes the main character may might have been a bit villainous, but he shows his true self in the end. The anime is very mysterious, and it does have its fun moments, but it is a serious type of anime. I personally thought this was a masterpiece, and beats all the junk. Yes it was a bit repetitive in the middle, but it was all in the plot.

Overall 10/10 and it is a must watch, if you think the main character is too "emo" like the other review, then DON'T EVEN bother watching this.
Mar 15, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
When a show is described as a "hidden gem" it immediately calls into mind something that you've stumbled upon by happenstance with no prior expectations. These are the titles that come in and out of focus partially thanks to the presence of much more all-encompassing works made around the same time period. It's a common occurrence that spans across every medium but perhaps most notable in anime, where only a handful of shows per year are thrust into the limelight, while the rest are left to gather up dust and become yet another mortared in brick to support the weight of the juggernauts resting on read more
Dec 6, 2007
twillit (All reviews)
This Anime was almost dropped. There are some problems with this show and they mostly revolve around the primary character Ryu .... err sorry Takuto is his name in the beging and this guy is an exreteme emo! He is a victim and he wallows in it. I won't go into his reasons for victim hood, but I will say that he starts as a emo and ends as one and I get the feeling he would be a wife beater. Needless to say, I greatly dislike Ryu. Fortunately, he is not the only character, more on that later.

Aside from Ryu, there is another annoying read more
May 15, 2016
Otaking09 (All reviews)
Upon finishing Argento Soma, I finally understood why mecha+philosophy anime fans don't talk about this show often beyond them many simply assuming it would be another Eva-clone. Once you understand the core premise, see the introductory episodes and realize what the show wants you focus on, it's clear that, for better or worse, Argento Soma is actually a rather humble endeavor.

The Premise's Promise:

You wouldn't think so at first. In reality, Argento has one of the more gripping opening episodes I've seen in the post-Eva mecha genre. It has all the right ingredients to be spellbinding: Our main character, Ryu Soma, who already struggles to understand read more
Nov 16, 2017
DarkRavie (All reviews)
Argento Soma is about Takuto Kenishiro, a young man who is offered a chance to get his vengeance on the monster he blames for destroying everything and everyone that he cared for. To get this revenge he is reborn as Ryu Soma and joins Funeral, a military organization that deals with the aliens that attack the earth.

My thoughts:
At first, I didn't think I would like the anime but it was surprisingly good. The animation was superb, the characters were likeable and the ending was surprising as well. It wasn't expected at all. This is an anime I would recommend watching.
Jan 30, 2013
Sexyjutsu (All reviews)
Fairly droll for the first dozen of so episodes by at around episode 18 it starts to move, emotions set in and things go somewhere.. worth watching, don't let the lack of action and fairy land stuff put you off, it's a short series, stick with it.
May 28, 2014
jyagan0 (All reviews)
Some anime fans have condemned Argentosoma as another "Neon Genesis Evangelion clone." It does bear some similarites, especially when it comes to the mechas and the secret that lies beneath their armor. Otherwise, they're two different concepts. The scenes and dialogues in Argentosoma are much more serious, while in Evangelion they are often sprinkled with comic relief (like those funny faces) and "fan service." The actions scenes in Argentosoma are often much more intense than those in Evangelion. My favorite aspect of Argentosoma is the character design. It is less "kiddie" and the protagonist, Ryu Soma, is probably the coolest and sharpest looking anime character read more
Aug 29, 2017
UnfortunateEvent (All reviews)
First of all, DO NOT start watching because you liked the promo photo. The protagonist in the anime has very little to do with this intriguing and mysterious guy. He is, in fact, a whiny child with no goals and no basic thinking abilities. Someone ready to panic for no reason whatsoever to the point of being ridiculous.

Honestly, I am not sure what was worse in this anime - the Swiss-cheese-like plotholes or the mostly-abysmal characters, who acted with no reasoning, so let's say both.

I am still struggling to understand what this was all about - was it love or was it aliens? read more
Dec 27, 2016
jpmc (All reviews)
I Won't write a long review. Argento Soma it's said to be slow. Well, honestly, i didn't care, and i didnt notice until the half way. The construction and the interior drama are outstanding, each character has its own complexity of motives, truly remarkable.
The fights are pretty good. The art has some problems that, i think, come from the character design(too slender and read more
Jan 4, 2010
Uthred (All reviews)
Not really sure what to make of this. It seems to change a lot over the course of the series and nothing ever really becomes that clear. It also has a main protagonist who is very hard to like, but unlike other such dislikeable leads (Guts from Berserk, Sunabozu from same, etc.) has nothing which really redeems him in terms of interest (other than his snazzy hair cut). I think it’s the murkiness of the plot that leaves me with a general sense of dislike for the series. While the major plot points are addressed (or thrown away in PLOT TWISTS!!) there is a veritable read more
Feb 15, 2014
LadyJenna (All reviews)
This is a wonderful anime. It is NOT like EVA. Keep reading and I'll tell you that this anime is not just entertaining, but full of amazing human relationships, and has a beautiful, satisfying ending. Yes, it takes some time to get to the "serious" action, but the character development is wonderful. Like one reviewer said, don't let the "fairyland stuff" turn you off--it's not what you think.

Most of the reviews for this anime (and there aren't many) are not complete or are incredibly unfair in how they portray the story. I have a feeling they watched this show with only one eye open read more
May 12, 2013
BurntJelly (All reviews)
At first I thought this was going to be an EVA clone, but it isn't really. I had actually dropped it after the first 2 episodes. I picked it back up and finished it a couple years later.

The majority of the episodes consist of the para-military organization "Funeral" defending earth from alien invaders with their mecha. Meanwhile the understory consists of Takuto's desire for revenge against Frank (the monster/hero created from the parts of defeated aliens). Things get quite a bit better once you find out "why" all the aliens are trying to reach the same location on earth.

The storytelling itself read more