Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sengoku Musou


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Samurai Warriors
Japanese: 戦国無双

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2015 to Mar 30, 2015
Premiered: Winter 2015
Broadcast: Mondays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: TYO Animations
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.641 (scored by 5,436 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #53262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3221
Members: 17,563
Favorites: 33

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2015
Lancehot (All reviews)
TL;DR: A dumb but fun dramatization of a period of history that pretty much writes itself.

The Warring States period is probably the first taste many of us outside of Japan have of Japanese history, & not just because of the Total War games. With it's long list of factions, battles, & heroic individuals; the period has been a rich vein for story tellers that has been tapped often, some might say to exhaustion, over the years. Samurai Warriors is hardly a contender for being one of the better works of fiction to come out of this tradition, but it turned out to be a read more
Jun 28, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

My younger brother is a pretty cool guy. Funny, too. But obviously not as awesome or hilarious as I am – it’s the “Law of Older Brothers” or something like that. Being brothers, we understand each other pretty well due to the unique relationship that we share. We agree on subjects, but we also bicker and quarrel whenever we see fit. Yet, at the end of the day, despite the arguments that we might have, I know that we are always looking out for one another. Because he’s not just my family but my baby read more
Mar 30, 2015
8Dataman8 (All reviews)
Sengoku Musou is a historical fiction of japanese time period, Sengoku Jidai. This anime is based on a fighting game, and those animes have a negative stigma attached to them. This series shows that there is a very good reason.

When I watched this, I got a strange feeling that it was terrible. For some time, I was unable to really point out what was the reason, but then I realized. Remember that war sequence you saw in that action series you watched?
By war sequence, I mean that episode where someone narrates long-panning shots with still people with war sounds, strategic screens that show the army read more
Apr 11, 2015
IAloneSurvive (All reviews)
It is highly unlikely that this will be completely spoiler free so if you really want to watch this don't read on after this.
Having been able to play one of the earlier games for a bit while at a relatives house a few years ago I have occasionally looked back but often found the games to expensive. So when an anime came out for them whoo I might actually be able to enjoy this without paying a ridiculous amount. I was also interested because rather recently my interest had been sparked by this period of history.

The first episode didn't really grab me, there was read more
Jan 24, 2017
Matsukazes (All reviews)
I really enjoyed this since I love the games it's based on, and I wish I'd watched it sooner. However while I liked it a lot, I do see why someone who hasn't played the games or isn't familiar with the time period in general probably won't like it. There are lots of secondary characters and just not enough screen time for all of them, so if you don't know them and their stories beforehand you probably won't be able to feel as much for them as you can when you already know them. The show was probably made for fans of the game series, read more
Mar 27, 2016
HanbeiCat (All reviews)
Ah yes, Sengoku Musou: The ever-lovable hack-n'-slash series known as Samurai Warriors in the west. This anime takes everything that I love about the characters in this series, animates them in eye-catching 3D, only to disappoint me with the lack of effort put into the characters and story.

The events are loosely based on the Sengoku era, and I felt that they stayed in their comfort zone a bit too much. They didn't really add anything new to the story or develop the characters at all. In fact, I felt that they just wanted to have cameos of their "top" characters, such as Mitsunari instead read more
Jun 12, 2017
nexu101 (All reviews)
Let me preface what I write by saying this: if you're a fan of the Warring States period but are not very familiar with the Samurai Warriors/Sengoku Musou series, you may not necessarily enjoy this anime very much because I think it is very tailored to the fans. And that's not a bad thing because Koei-Tecmo has spent years fleshing out the possible idiosyncrasies of historical figures in their games. With this being the case, as a fan of the series desperate to consume new content of my favorite heroes, I enjoyed this anime. But let's just go ahead and dive on in.

STORY
Because Sengoku Warriors read more