Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Death Parade


Alternative Titles

English: Death Parade
Japanese: デス・パレード

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2015 to Mar 28, 2015
Premiered: Winter 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:58 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.291 (scored by 313,514 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2392
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #51
Members: 543,154
Favorites: 11,158

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 27, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Unlike death, Death Parade is no ordinary show. It’s rather extraordinary with an emphasis on the concept of death and expanding it into a game style format. But it’s more than also just simply playing a game because we see the ins and outs of what the players/characters are like. To put it figuratively, it’s more like playing life and death itself. The way the show operates is different than the usual survival game. This is because the characters are already dead. So what does Death Parade offer in its own little world?

The show is produced by Madhouse that runs for 1-cour. But more read more
Mar 30, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
YES... WE GET IT... THE OPENING IS NICE... Now let's talk about the show.

If there was ever an undeniable truth it will be that death is inevitable. And it shouldn't be a surprise that a great deal of shows, in one way or another, touch upon that subject. But very few anime titles take the route of having the entirety of their content centered around it. As few as those numbers may be it's still been done before, but what Death Parade does differently is not the subject of the afterlife itself, but rather the judgement of the people that enter it. It's a show read more
Mar 29, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"People do not live just so that they can someday die. It is because they are alive that they someday die." -Decim

Overview:

"Welcome to Quindecim", an ominous and deep voice states as the hiss of hydraulics release pressure and allow the cold steel doors to open. Two people step out. "Please, come have a seat here." The people have no memory of why or how they've come to be at the Quindecim. "One, I cannot explain where you are, or how you came to be here. Two, we will now have you play a game. Three, we will have you select a game by roulette. read more
Mar 28, 2015
Satire (All reviews)
Morality is, and always will be, a perpetual grey area; it is akin to something like a no man's land. It's a subject that brings about wonder, bewilderment, and also hostility. Are human beings innately morally good or are human beings naturally inclined to be morally evil? What is considered morally good and what is considered morally evil? What draws the line between the two, and how does this get decided? There is no real, correct answer. As a follow up to the very controversial Death Billiards, Death Parade arrives and elevates these inquiries. As a viewer, you will venture into Quindecim with many questions. read more
Mar 27, 2015
karlstein12 (All reviews)
"One: Arbiters cannot quit making judgments, for that is the reason they exist.
Two: Arbiters cannot experience death, for that would bring them being too close to human.
Three: Arbiters cannot feel emotions, for they are mere dummies."

Death Parade is a very special and a unique showpiece. It's synopsis itself is very catchy and fascinating and the show as well does not disappoint the viewer. Each and every episode is well-written and has its own charm. Most of the episodes have a separate storyline which gives a sense of completeness when you finish it and after watching it you feel as if you won't have to wait read more
Mar 28, 2015
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

WooooOOOOAAAaaHHHHHH (*Trumpets blare)

From the moment that OP first began playing, the anime world fell in love with Death Parade. Based on the OVA Death Billiards, another Madhouse production made for the animator training project “Anime Mirai 2013”, Death Parade sticks out as a very unique concept in a medium that frequently recycles ideas. People desperately wanted this show to be good simply because there was so much to like about it, but unfortunately, the favorable reviews this anime has been receiving are the result of people tricking themselves into believing that this show worked when it really, honestly did not at all. It read more
May 21, 2016
FukushuL_Seijin (All reviews)
This anime saved my life from suicide.
My life is so depressing that I just want it to end but then I found this anime. Every episodes of Death Parade really made me want to value my life even more especially the last few episodes, I'm crying like a bitch because it really define my life condition. Now I swear I will live my life to the fullest and valuing every second of it, even with the pain.
The music really perfect.. The ending song depressingly beautiful, very suitable for the series.

So if you want to die, watch this first and cry till you want to live.
Jun 2, 2015
Blazestar (All reviews)
Edit: This review contains many more negative comments than positive ones, but the scores are intended with comprehensive consideration.

Death Parade. A show that makes death feel boring.

Keep in mind this review does not concern YOUR personal enjoyment. Constructive Criticism is welcomed and highly appreciated via PM and comments.

What makes a good episodic show? It takes a few central characters to be in EVERY episodes in order to carry the stories out as an continuous series. The episodic characters need to attach to the main ones as well. It also needs a big variety of story to make every episode interesting.

So how does read more
May 14, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

What does it mean to live? It’s a peculiar question because we all seemingly know the answer. For me, it’s hanging out with my family, writing anime reviews, and going to work. When it’s deconstructed into its base parts, my life really does sound “simple.” But in actuality, it’s complex, filled with events and happenings that shaped the very course I took. And it’s not just my life or anyone else’s, but the people within it that are complex, too. We’re an amalgamation of various emotions, ideals, and feelings that cannot be explained so easily. Death read more
Jun 3, 2015
JKinky88 (All reviews)
No one likes death. Death is well, dark. This show discover that idea, how death is well shit. There's probably things you regret or not, some life choices may affect your death. It shows how far human emotions can go.

The story revolves around two people who die at the same time, they both appear in a mysterious bar and are guided by an arbiter named Decim who has a co-partner by the name of Kurokami and fight to the death in a game. Based on what the contestants do, one could go to hell (The Void) or heaven (Reincarnation) and sometimes both could be reincarnated. read more
Mar 27, 2015
Inori101 (All reviews)
Death Parade lived up to it's hype and I am so glad it did. It is without a doubt the shining star of the winter season! My spoiler free review:

Story: 9.

Death Parade was incredibly original and it was a breath of fresh air because of it. The storyline was well paced, perfectly unfolded and well written. It was very entertaining and VERY emotional and it left me with so much to think about - and those are the types of stories I love. They stick with you because they had something to say and they said it well and that is very true of Death read more
Jul 24, 2015
AmbiguousMonster (All reviews)
Death Parade is an inventive and experimental anime that deserves praise for creativity alone, but its inability to function as an effective psychological thriller and minimalistic world building and flow prevent it from being much more than a passable series. This review may contain minor spoilers.

The story of Death Parade takes place in a bar called the “Quindecim”, in which an intimidating white-haired man named Decim and his associate, the mysterious “dark haired woman”, determine the fates of the deceased, in groups of two, who arrive at the bar simultaneously. The series alternates between focussing on a progressive overlaying plot involving those who work at read more
Aug 5, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Death Parade aired from January to March of this year. It was created, written and directed by Tachikawa Yuzuru and based off of his short 2013 film, Death Billiards. Both the film and series were brought to us by Madhouse, which makes it difficult to predict anything on the quality since they've made some of the worst and best anime I've seen plus everything in between. I can't judge it based on him being the director either. He directed Arata Naru Sekai: World's Start/ Load/ End, which I haven't seen and some assorted episodes of various series, usually an episode or two here and there. read more
Mar 27, 2015
chito895 (All reviews)
When I first heard of Death Parade, I thought it was one of those fancy, dark anime about some guys who are dead and want to live again.

I was right, but instead of fancy and dark I would now say amazing and thought-provoking. Those guys who are dead and want to live again are the "tools" used to let our REAL main characters grow and develop.

Our two main characters, Decim and "mysterious brunette girl" are (TO ME) two of the best of the season. Both are well written, loveable, and their relationship feels natural. They both help each other, grow together, and their scenes, especially read more
Mar 27, 2015
AbsarNaeem (All reviews)
Well, I've never seen an anime like this before. From my rating, it may seem I don't know what I'm talking about but I can assure you, I thought long and hard about what to rate this anime and I can't find anything other than a 10/10 for it. That's my biased opinion, I'll get to a fair review so you can judge for yourself what to expect from Death Parade.

Story 9/10:
When a person dies, their soul either goes to hell or heaven. When two people die at the same time, they come to a place where Arbiters (judges) judge their souls and send them read more
Mar 29, 2015
mercury1980 (All reviews)
"Life is full of unfairness" - Decim

That is true. Death Parade is produced by Madhouse. The same studio behind Kiseijuu & No Game No Life.

STORY (6):

The concept follows humans where there are sent to the void or reincarnated. After they died, they are thrown into Quindecim where they bump into Decim, a mysterious white-haired guy, who challenged them to the Death Game. The Death Game is used to reveal their true nature. Decim, is the one who decides who will be sent to the void or be reincarnated.

The concept reminded me of Liar Game with Jigoku Shoujo. Jigoku Shoujo is about judgement where read more
Jun 1, 2015
myronator (All reviews)
Death Parade, based on the animated short "Death Billiards", is a show set in purgatory. Not the usual type of purgatory though. Instead this show is set in a bar called the QuinDecim, where the dead come in pairs to be judged by the bartender/arbiter, Decim, who decides whether they go to the void or are reincarnated. But there is a twist; the participants have no memories of their death and they are pushed into a game which will place them in extreme circumstances.

Initially this sets up a thriller with each episode as it becomes a guessing game as to which participant is lying, who read more
May 12, 2015
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
There are times when surprises happen to you when you are not prepared for them. The reality is that they do not happen frequently, at least when it comes to anime shows that have no hype behind them but somehow have a huge following when word of mouth spreads around. Often than not, these surprises turn out to be positive outcomes when finished from beginning to end. Death Parade is one particular surprise from 2015 that will surely reign among the greats in this particular year.

Death Parade starts off as an episodic anime that shows the life of a purgatory that hosts a game that read more
May 22, 2015
guywholikesanime (All reviews)
NOTE: I ain't no english speaker.

When you doing something you gotta put your heart in it. You gotta give your soul and your body to it, specially when you want to be "original" or when you want to do something else than just picking a profit. This is particularly true in anime. If you, as an "anime maker" want to just make money or make something that sells because you do need money to live that's fine, and you pick the easy way by doing a shonentard, moeshit or simple pandering. But once in a while I think that every "anime maker" thinks "I want read more
Aug 13, 2015
Hexh (All reviews)
If there is some judgement that goes on in the afterlife, should our great judge use human emotions while judging us? This anime is very very enjoyable and is definitely worth the watch. The theme is very likable and different from any other show that I have seen.

Story:

There are many theories as to what happens after one dies, however, in this anime those who die at the same time as others are sent to one of many Arbiters, who judge whether they are reincarnated or go to the void. The memories of their death, and their life, are wiped so that the arbiters can get read more