Akane Maniax

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Kimi ga Nozomu Eien Gaiden, The Eternity You Desire Gaiden
Japanese: アカネマニアックス

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 3
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 25, 2004 to Aug 26, 2005
Producers: Lantis, Age
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Silver
Source: Visual novel
Genres: ComedyComedy, MechaMecha, RomanceRomance
Duration: 27 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.741 (scored by 87108,710 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #90432
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3949
Members: 17,152
Favorites: 14
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 19, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
OK, what was that? It’s either a big “so what?” or a big mistake. Either is just fine.

What an absurd storyline. It was worlds away from what Rumbling Hearts was. It went from drama to stupid in a snap. I mean, what’s with the mecha? I’m pretty sure this is the OVA for Rumbling Hearts, so where the heck did the mecha come from? I did say that I like Akane, in fact she was probably the only thing that was OK about this OVA, but even her presence wasn’t enough to catch my attention.

There were new characters (that teacher named Kouzuki, wasn’t that the read more
Feb 19, 2007
zanmato666 (All reviews)
Story:

The overall story is pretty good. I really liked all the obstacles the main character had to overcome just to get accepted. However, the ending was a little disappointing but at the same time reasonable as well as weird and funny. Also, this OVA is really funny at times especially all of the mecha parodies introduced into the story line.

Animation:

Not much to say here, but clean, crisp animation expected out of an OVA. Especially, the comedic scenes.

Sound:

There's not much of a soundtrack to this OVA, just your typical instrumental background music. You don't really notice it at all. It really doesn't make much of an read more
Jul 19, 2011
natsukage (All reviews)
OK this will be my first review so please spare me.

First of all I'll have to say that this review is extremely biased in a way. This anime makes countless references to Muv-Luv, a Visual Novel by Àge. Having played that game, this anime brings back memories, so like I said biased...

Story: 6
The story-line was not the best out there. Overused scenarios everywhere. The story about a guy who gets transferred and meets the girl of his dreams, and so on. Overused, but well brought and expanded, for a short three episode OVA show. It was good enough to prevent loss of interest, read more
Apr 15, 2008
Guess (All reviews)
Akane Maniax, almost to be considered a "sort of " sequel to the Kimi Ga Nozomu Eien (Rumbling Hearts) anime. Of course, this is only for recognition and this OVA is to be treated as an OVA and nothing else - it is only a spinoff.

I'd be happy to consider if I'm being biased towards my opinion on this show, since I have afterall watched Kimi Ga Nozomu Eien earlier and grown accustomed to the characters; coincidentally, in particular Akane Suzumiya. With that said, it should not come in the way of judging this anime objectively, since it is rather hard not to treat it read more
Dec 14, 2009
AuroraFlame (All reviews)
Spoilers for Kimi ga Nozomu Eien, beware.

I found this to be an interesting and likable OVA to one of my favorite anime drama series. There is a huge shift in the tone of the series, which explains the polarizing views of this mini-series. While the original Kimi ga Nozomu Eien was a very tragic affair, Akane Maniax turns into a parody of old big robot series from the past few decades, complete with a slapstick new character serving as the primary focus.

I can't say much for this OVA in terms of its technical aspects. It was fairly hard for me to track down a read more
Mar 14, 2010
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
Probably in an attempt to cash in on the success of KGNE ("Kimi ga Nozomu Eien"), this spin off was made. Not only was it sub par, but it was bad enough to pollute my fond memories of KGNE. It's an OVA that focuses on Akane's side story that runs in parallel to part of the KGNE main storyline. Cast your mind back to the first couple of episodes of KGNE: until the big twist of events at the end of episode 2, KGNE was pretty poor right? Well, even those two episodes pales in comparison to the pile of sh*te that is "Akane Maniax". read more
Feb 15, 2013
SnowxFlower (All reviews)
I really disliked this ova. Maybe it's because I did not watch the original series, who knows? But, this ova was dreadful. I dropped it on the first episode because it kept jumping around all over the place. (If you watch it, you'll know what I mean). The only decent thing about the show was Akane. The main character annoyed me, and he was drawn badly, in my opinion. Avoid watching if you can.
Mar 15, 2009
BatriX (All reviews)
A short unsatisfying anime to be blunt about a really stupid chick , and incredibly stupid guy people really need to stop making anime characters so dense id rather watch hamtaro
Nov 17, 2009
PerlaNemesis (All reviews)
I watched this OVA only because of Akane. Gouda (or whatever his name is) is really stupid idiot. I hate him. Usually I don't hate comic characters, but this one... He annoys me to no end! I ended up skipping most of the mecha scenes. >.> I hate both teachers as well. the only good thing about this OVA is Akane. Her feelings were shown very well. It was hinted in KGNE that she loves Takayuki and OVA confirmed that. Also, I like both opening and ending songs. Opening video is alright, but without beach ecchi and mecha would great.
I'm glad that at the end read more
Aug 31, 2018
OhsnapitsDavid (All reviews)
AKANE MANIAX is a short OVA from the main series [Kimi ga Nozomu Eien ].

To be honest, it's been years since I've seen this OVA, and the drama still hovers in my head. This show is just in that category that is rarely touched upon.
If you've found this OVA, you should be here because you've seen Kimi ga Nozomu Eien.
That being said, this OVA deals during the hospitalization days, if I remember.

The main character this time is Akane, the sister. A minor character, from school notices her and immediately falls in love. This drama is truly sincere in showing the struggle between a real read more
Nov 1, 2015
Zaku88 (All reviews)
This OVA is about Akane and how she deals with her memories of Takayuki after the end of the KGNE story. Obviously this won't make sense unless you've watched Kimi Ga Nozomu Eien. Akane is apparently still distressed and does not trust boys. Enter Goda, a completely stubborn and egocentric transfer student who immediately falls in love with Akane. This story tells their developing so called relationship.

There is a lot of parody between Goda and Takayuki from KGNE. The anime also seems to randomly throw in mechs, with Goda (and Takayuki) as pilots. Goda's clothing and the fact that he pilots a mech parodies G read more
Feb 18, 2021
GCNessIsAWeeb (All reviews)
LET'S FUCKING GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
I love this series so much it's unreal. I'm insanely biased because Muv-Luv is like my favorite thing ever, but honestly what is the point of making a review if I have to be unbiased and "objective?"
But yeah, it's hilarious and great. It gives some great development to Akane and all the Muv-Luv cameos make me so happy. It's plot is a parody of like 5 things at once and I love it so much. Gohda is the ideal protagonist in my opinion, and I wish he was real so I could date him.
Even though it's mostly comedy, it has some read more