Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yakitate!! Japan


Alternative Titles

English: Yakitate!! Japan
Synonyms: Freshly Baked!! Ja-pan!
Japanese: 焼きたて!! ジャぱん

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 69
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 12, 2004 to Mar 14, 2006
Premiered: Fall 2004
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Genres: Comedy, Shounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.011 (scored by 28,160 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5762
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1416
Members: 67,813
Favorites: 792

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 25, 2007
lowell (All reviews)
It's an anime about bread-making. It's utterly ridiculous sounding. And, to be honest, in practice, it's utterly ridiculous. But I really really enjoyed it. It puts a goofy smile on my face because it is SO over the top, SO campy, SO cheesy... I just have to laugh. It's an innocent, sweet and silly sort of anime. It's not realistic, it isn't serious or dark or sarcastic... it's just simply entertaining. Which, you know, is kind of refreshing.

The story's your basis shounen plotline: rise to the challenge, succeed, face the next challenge.. but all in the confines of read more
Jul 12, 2008
Ranivus (All reviews)


::QUICK REVIEW::
Story: 9 (no story but excellent comedy segments)
Art: 6 (unimpressive art style but not bad either)
Sound: 8 (good comedy cant work without good sound)
Character: 7 (cliche characters but classic situations)
Enjoyment: 10 (never laughed so much in 50 episodes)
Overall: 40/50 = 8.0 (i love food i love comedy, instant classic)




::FULL REVIEW::
Yakitate Japan is a PERFECT example of anything can be made in to a good shounen anime just as long it has the three key ingredients: chemistry, direction, and anticipation. This show turns a somewhat lame idea of an emerging baker and turns it to nonstop laughs and 'suspense'.

You're probably thinking, how can a baking read more
Nov 8, 2008
Hayamin (All reviews)
Story: The story is focused on baking. It sounds like an odd thing to base an Anime upon but it's one of the reasons this series is great. This is quite a unique and very enjoyable take on a show. I really liked the way it was going from the beginning. It had great potential with hilarious jokes, weird but clever puns and great (For the most part) characters, but then it started to get boring. Each new arc kept getting dryer and dryer because it's just bread-making tournament after bread-making tournament with several re-used jokes that aren't funny. Then again, I don't know where read more
Nov 15, 2006
AngelIvory (All reviews)
Love bread? Ever wondered how they make it? An anime about bread is the best way to learn! Education and entertainment rolled into one, you hardly see it happening… So watch it while it’s still hot!

Ok if you ignore the cheesy introduction, this anime is pretty unbelievable! The storyline may not sound so exciting, but believe me it is more entertaining than watching bread rise! Boy I’ve got to stop with these cheesiness ~_~ gomen.

What I liked about the storyline is that it manages to make bread very fun to watch, maybe because the characters are very funny. Bread read more
Nov 12, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
With Shokugeki no Soma recently finished airing, viewers may want to watch a similar type of anime, and indeed, the joy of cooking is upon us with Yakitate!! Japan, which main focus lies on the creation of bread. Now some may wonder if it is worthy of their time, and it this case it is, but to a certain extent, as the anime falls apart later on.

~Story~

The premise of Yakitate!! Japan is of simple nature, Azuma Kazuma a young boy in his quest to make the best bread that identifies with Japan and is able to compete at an international level, called "japan". Throughout the read more
Dec 21, 2014
Ryugen (All reviews)
Yakitate!! Japan is about a young boy named Azuma who goes out to make a name for himself in the bread baking industry and to invent a bread that Japan can be proud of. It's essentially a shounen anime with a lot of comedy, but the story is so much more than that. This anime is filled with innocence, ambition, and the joy of being able to do something you love. And while the main goal is to entertain you with it's hilarious antics, the story does a great job at getting you attached to the plot, making the next episode something to look forward read more
Aug 3, 2014
m-i-c-h-a-e-l (All reviews)
Yakitate!! Japan: the only anime you will ever watch that is solely based on... BREAD. That's right. Bread. The only show out there where the making of bread is so over-glorified. The only show you will see with a protagonist whose only purpose is to be a beast at making bread. It is difficult to describe just how outstanding Yakitate!! Japan really is.

Yakitate has got to be the funnest show I've seen. Just as the title suggests, the show is loaded down with tons of puns, some stretched further than others. Not only that, but the also frequently include references to other well-known anime, or read more
Mar 14, 2013
maddynamite (All reviews)
If you like shonen, parodies of shonen or extremely bizarre shows, you might like Yakitate!! Japan.

Story: A young man fights for his dream of baking Japan's first "national bread". He has a talent for baking due to his "Solar Hands", and he has lots of determination. Weekly baking competitions are the name of this game, but the story has different ways of keeping you watching.

At first, I didn't realize it would be so...typical-shonen. I almost gave it up, but then I got to the REACTIONS. Easily the best part of the whole show is watching peoples' reactions to the breads. Touching and absurd, heartwarming read more
May 30, 2009
js930 (All reviews)
Fights with battle auras and magical hands? Sure thing, every animator does that nowadays. But combining these two into an anime about baking bread!? It sounds ridiculous. In fact: it is ridiculous. References to well-known anime and Japanese products are accompanied by a hurricane of puns while everyone happily breaks the fourth wall. Was there even one to begin with..

This is truly a must-see for everyone who loves parodies.
Nov 19, 2008
songochang (All reviews)
"come on, watch Yakitate!" "Whats this Anime about?" "Bread backing" "..."
That was my firt reaction when i heard of Yakitate! Japan, thats the common reaction when i recommend this anime.

"OMG!!!! This ANIME IS awsome!!"
That was my reaction after watching an few episods and the common reaction of people i know who watched it.

Its hard to start to watch the anime, thats why i will list the most reasone why most of you are afraid of this topic, backing bread, because that were the reseaon why i was afraid or not really interested into yakitate.

1. Its a shounen-Manga based Anime, which means, it will be an read more
Oct 6, 2008
Reizhan (All reviews)
Not even in my wildest imagination could I ever imagine that an anime about bread could be so incredibly good. The concept for me just screams fail, but it's executed so perfectly well you can't help but love it.

It's a masterpiece, but it has its flaws. The animation isn't exactly top notch, the music could have been better, but the endings and openings are always solid and makes up a bit for it.

It's packed with interesting characters from the main characters to the bread judges. Especially Kuroyanagi stands out with some outstanding and hilarious reactions which is a big part of making Yakitate as read more
Jul 25, 2009
rizbar15 (All reviews)
Story: I won't give anything away. It's about BREAD. It's very very creative, which is one of the main reasons I enjoyed it so much.

Art: It's really nothing special. It's certainly not bad, but it's not particularly outstanding.

Sound: haha I really loved the soundtrack. And I thought each voice really did a good job of matching up with the different personalities.

Character: This is one of the places where the anime really stands out. Each character has a unique personality, and the various characters interact with each other in hilarious ways. Their personalities develop logically as the show progresses, read more
Dec 2, 2008
sabgian (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime kept me hooked. You really have no choice but to continue with the next episode to find out what's going to develop next in the story.

There''s no boring filler (so far anyway) and before you know it, one episode it's over! That's how good it is. You will not find it draggy at all. There's always new challenges and it's amazing how the creator can come up with so many more new items.

It's never boring cause there's so many different aspect of it that is shown with each new challenge. The emotional value attached to the compeittion, the people involved are read more
Jul 29, 2008
hola170 (All reviews)
Well it sounds crazy but Yakitate!! Japan is an anime about baking bread. You can learn how to make bread along the way too if you are intrested. If you like comedy and you want to learn on how to bake bread then this is the anime for you but if you just want to watch it for the entertainment then that 's ok too. Along the way you might laugh your guts out because of all the stupid yet extremly funny jokes. I just love this show because of all it's great jokes but the one that makes most of them is my favorite read more
Dec 20, 2011
ariffmontel (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yakitate Japan is story about azuma kazuma who is a pure genius in making bread + having the 'solar hands' which is a natural helper in making bread making it more delicious. he keeps on making bread through the years after becoming interested in bread and wishes to create the ultimate bread and call it 'Japan'. i'll just get to the point here.

Story:
read more
Jun 17, 2008
xvielle (All reviews)
the show is worth watching over &over again. cos its has a weird sense of humor in a good way..maybe its because its the first anime that ive completed watching all episodes that i gave it a 10 but maybe if i watch other anime i would still give Yakitate Japan a 10 because of the very wacky characters.
Apr 8, 2015
LovingTheFeels (All reviews)
'I have a dream, to make a bread worthy to be called Japan's, the Ja-Pan!'

For those that are not well versed with nihon-go, Ja-Pan is actually a sort of pun that suggests that it is a japanese-styled or created bread. The series tells the tale of the protagonist and his quest to make the ultimate japanese bread(Ja-Pan) and how he faces of with many different types of bakers, not only among the japanese but also among other countries at a point

This series can be considered a legend in the genre of cooking manga as they truly focus on how the full potential of bread can read more
Dec 17, 2008
psygol (All reviews)
"A story of bakers? What can be so funny?" These are the first words you say about this series. Then you watch a few episodes and then you can't stop laughing.

The best and clasics moments of Yakitate Japan comes when the judges eat the bread and then they have to score it. This moments are really amusement and some times you have to turn off the tv if you don't want to die of laughter.

It has a lot of healthy humor for all people and you learn about gastronomy too. Correct art, funny and catchy music, adorable characters and many parodies of other known series read more
Aug 1, 2014
Hakase-dono (All reviews)
Yakitate!! Japan is the lyrical ballad of Azuma Kazuma as he attempts to champion the world of bread through power of his own hands. Bread, you say? That's right. Bread. Yakitate!! Japan gives light to the merciless stage of baking wrought with hate, love, jealousy, and incidental comedy. It is unlikely that viewers can comprehend the deep nature of baking, fused with technique, skill and inborn talent. Yaktiate!! Japan begs the question, "how many breads have you eaten in your life?"

The story of Yakitate!! Japan is wonderfully refreshing as it parodies the battle/fighting genre in the whackiest manner. Certain scenes go as far as borrowing read more
Feb 17, 2016
Fork (All reviews)
I did not expect much of this show at first, but my, was I surprised!

To begin with, Yakitate!! Japen started off rather slowly as to explain the overall setting.
But once events start happening, what opens up is a thoroughly entertaining show with a great athmosphere, hilariously questionable logic and a sense of humour and self-irony which makes the unexpected happen. And, of course, bread.

Having watched several other shows about food, it did make sense to me that Yakitate!! Japan also managed to keep me watching - there's just something about these food competitions that really motivates you to go on.
And even if you know that read more