Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

K: Return of Kings


Alternative Titles

English: K: Return of Kings
Synonyms: K-Project Sequel, K 2nd Season
Japanese: K RETURN OF KINGS

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2015 to Dec 26, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:55 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: GoHands
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 66,374 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8882
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #464
Members: 148,539
Favorites: 859

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 24, 2015
Sorainnosia (All reviews)
Superpower anime has been the main solution to attract many people in order to keep the Anime industry in balance. Since the success of such famous anime like the big three (Naruto, One Piece, and Bleach), there are dozens anime that uses the super power as an appeal and works as a direct jump to make profits. One of them are the K - project franchise, which has been ongoing since 2012. K Return of Kings is the 3rd project that exists in K Franchise. As the series go, K really didn't maximize any potential that it have.

The 1st season started the story while read more
Dec 7, 2015
whorifying (All reviews)
**UPDATED** Added a paragraph with my thoughts on the ending.

Honestly, I can't believe the negative reviews!

This anime is a rarity in my opinion. The first season of K was more of a mystery, trying to figure out who Shiro really was, this time it's about keeping the peace. It's focused on all of the groups as a whole rather than individually and explores a goal that all three kings share.

The animation is spectacular and far surpasses AoT, I particularly like the animation in scenes with Misaki on his skateboard, there has clearly been extra care into those types of scenes. There has been no read more
Dec 26, 2015
Childly (All reviews)
To all the people who says this show is just too mysterious with it's plot and you can't understand it, therefore giving it a bad score, ohmygoodness, if you just paid a LITTLE more attention like maybe reading the story and actually TRY to understand it, then you'll get it.

Now first i'll say the cons, this show woulve got a 10 from me if some scenes were better, here's some parts: 1: If Nagare died first from losing power from the slates, how does the girl bring Fushimi back up the surface, she woulve lost read more
Oct 25, 2015
Mata1ch1 (All reviews)
Mod Edit: Review may contain spoilers.
--

Currently on episode 13/13

I don't think this anime can be properly appreciated with out watching K: Missing Kings Movie between episodes 1 and 2. Because there are huge bits of info "missing" between the first 2 episodes. The movie isn't a prequel. It fits directly in between episodes 1 and 2 and explains what happens Mikoto and how Anna becomes the new Red King. What happened to the Gold King and the Gold clan members. As well as other pieces of key information related to the events leading up to the 4 episode.

I love everything about this series so far. read more
Feb 4, 2016
karlstein12 (All reviews)
Too much style, less to none substance. That is how I see K: Return of Kings.
Continuing from the events roughly after a year that occured in the first season and the movie, K: Return of Kings is a continuation of the series as it exposes the mysteries behind the seven kings and the Dresden Slate that was the cause of it all.

Frankly talking, the story makes sense as all of the questions that were left behind in K is being answered but the narrative itself is very weak. What made K a successful anime was because it literally didn't care about anything. You read more
Dec 25, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching K: Return of Kings is like running inside walls of a labyrinth, trying to find a way out. The confusion sinks in more and more and by the time you reach exit, it’ll be a relief. No, I don’t mean that the second season of K takes place inside a labyrinth. That would just be plain weird. What I mean is that K: Return of Kings lacks entertainment when it comes to storytelling. Each episode progressively makes the show more and more mind boggling. For a show that makes its big return, it’s also a big disappointment.

As the direct sequel of the movie, K: read more
Dec 25, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
The first thing I could say is that this anime is K. Oh my, what a bad pun. Anyway, moving on to the review, K - Return of Kings is the long-awaited sequel to the original series for the ones who enjoyed the first season, whereas for the viewers who didn't might as well skip it, as it was more of the same. Audiences are presented once again with fantastic animation and sound, in addition to its interesting premise as well as its colourful cast; however, story and character development remain lacking as well.

The story of K - Return of Kings focuses on what the read more
Nov 8, 2015
RegulusNorth (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm basing this on the first five episodes of the anime, as the rest have not been released yet. Given the chance, I'll update this review with more information as it's received.

Story: 7/10

While K's story is not bad, it's a lot of the same stuff we've seen before with a different flavor. We've got some conflicting factions of superpowered individuals based solely in Japan fighting over basically nothing other than the right to exist independently of the other clans. The first season was rife with flashbacks and infodumping in order to catch viewers up with the setting, which put a lot of people off as read more
Dec 12, 2015
Melvin117 (All reviews)
Preliminary
As bad as the first season will be the simple conclusion for Return of Kings except the absence of Angela's OP.
No story indeed, Please help me to find one.
And the lines are keep repeating because there are too few lines and the plot is too thin.
K is still very beautiful and holds a lot of production value on it's own. The artstyle is distinctive yet pretty, the backgrounds are truly amazing.
No doubt its the best looking anime of the season(Winter 15).
The OP is terrible. They switched Angela out and used the seiyuu of Anna. What a mess. The ending is quite bland but manageable.
Soundtracks used read more
Dec 31, 2015
One (All reviews)
WARNING: The following review contains some spoilers, please read further at your own risk.

Let me start by taking some of the negative reviews into account. I do not understand what there is not to understand in this anime. What part of it can possibly be so confusing? It’s just plain simple, it expands to all the kings in this sequel, does not involve any mystery which was there in K (Which was the rather “confusing” bit).

- Story 7/10
The story in K: Return of Kings is just an extension to the story in K. It further adds 2 kings and removes 2. Which again sums up read more
Dec 19, 2015
Shiiiru (All reviews)
Preliminary
K is a beautiful anime, the animation quality is top-notch. The soundtrack is wonderful and amazing. The second season does start off fairly slow, despite being a 13 episode anime, but it does get a lot better as it progresses. There's more focus on fights this time around compared to the first season which the main focus was the mystery. The cast is great but is quite large so don't expect too much development. Overall, the concept is interesting and one of the better animes this season. Definitely check it out if you've seen prequel, and if you haven't already, go check it out. Don't read more
Dec 4, 2015
FurankuSan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show isn't o-K (ba dum tsss... okay onto the review....)

I usually don't drop anime when it is boring. Despite how boring it is, I still continue because maybe the hype is still there. This anime is an exception. For the first time in my life, I drop an anime that is so boring. I have only watched until 6 episodes and I cannot watch further. Oh, and the 10th episode came out today. Wew. I don't know if I still can catch up.

I have indeed watch the first K, and my overall thought of it is that the story has so much potential, but read more
Dec 27, 2015
higekiri (All reviews)
I waited long for the sequel of K and I'm very disappointed to see how GoRa and the writers themselves messed the second season of my favorite Anime up.
I set high hopes in 'Return of Kings' but I'm angry, somehow, how the story took it's course.
The show started with a nice flashback but after that - nothing.
I don't want to spoiler because it's unfair for anyone who hasn't seen the second season yet, but in my opinion there would have been many other ways, better ways to let it end.
The biggest bother for me were the repeating scenes (for example scenes with Anna read more
Dec 26, 2015
La_Matona301 (All reviews)
My K: Return of Kings review, No Blood, No Bone, No Ash!!!!

Ratings: Story: Good 7.
Art: Fair 6.
Sound: Good 7.
Character: Mediocre 5.
Enjoyment: Good 7.
Overall: Very Good 8.

Ok, so I guess it is safe to say that this series has now been put to an end by authors GoRA ( whoever she/he is) and Furuhashi Hedeyuki, and quite frnakly it has been a good sequel, considering all the flare that this anime has. so:

Story (up)

Well, IMO it deserves a "Good" score since the plot really did played out well, since the story is about Kings who engages each other like a gang. So, the 1st read more
Oct 17, 2016
PurePlotArmour (All reviews)
This was a great anime. I say that but of course there is still room to improve. Such as an improvement on the storyline so that those who couldn't keep up with it can understand it. But mostly that's down to the reviewers who didn't fully understand the story because after watching it myself it all made sense.
The main reason i recommend watching it is the artwork and lovable characters. Have you ever wondered what would happen if you turned beautiful anime fan art into a animation? Well the K series is the answer. K return of kings just shows off with its stunning lighting read more
Jan 24, 2016
luciferthesecond (All reviews)
Despite having few releases overall, GoHands has produced a few successful series, one of which is the K, or K project series. I first discovered K back in 2013 a year after its release, without any expectation of what I was in for. At the time I was already a fan of one of GoHands’ other releases, Seitokai Yakuindomo, but even without watching K, it was clear that the two releases were of completely different genres.

I immediately became a fan upon watching the first season. So when I discovered that not only was there a movie release one year later, but also a sequel read more
Dec 12, 2016
AbbyYata (All reviews)
Well, this is my first review so I decided to write about the second season of this fantastic anime that is K Project.

To start, I am going to talk about the story. I think that the way that the story is developed is much better than in the first season, being more complex and introducing us differents new characters. It keeps you waiting for more everytime you end an episode and you are always asking yourself what's going to happen next. About the end of the anime, I feel like they could had finished it in a better way, but they explain everything very well read more
Dec 27, 2015
Dalek_of_Skaro (All reviews)
So this season of K does most of the things that the previous season did. I loved the previous season of K. So why didn't I like this season nearly as much??

Well there are 3 reasons:
1) The HUGE addition to Fan-Service. The first season had it and it was enjoyable. it added to the atmosphere and made some moments quite humorous. However, in Return of Kings, you can be in the middle of watching the most intense fight scene ever and suddenly you have breasts jiggling in your face. I'm talk about Dead or Alive Extreme Beach Volleyball level of jiggle physics
2) The animators tried read more
Dec 26, 2015
mrtaxi (All reviews)
first things first, if you don't want to read the rest of this review, and if you thought S1 had an awful plot, I suggest you give S2 another shot because I really found it a ton better than before. In every aspect.

A rare gem- even more surprising considering how awful season one of K was. I'll be the first to admit that I didn't enjoy the first season one one whit despite the brilliant animation because of how awfully vague the storyline was. I went into S2 expecting something similar, and despite being lured in yet again by the animation quality, I was fully read more
Oct 25, 2015
VanAlex (All reviews)
Preliminary
K: Return of Kings or an anime with colorful animation.

This one is really popular, since it has a decent and at the same time, not your average anime, but this season is still right off the track.

Story and Characters: 5
Ok this anime is an Action, Super Power, Supernatural, like Durarara

The Action is the best thing you can have, it's great for the eyes, but at the same time, it makes me dizzy @_@

Super Power, well it's just like durarara. I mean the setting was set on the city, with group wars and each individuals on that group does have a power, but unlike durarara which read more