Hibike! Euphonium


Sound! Euphonium

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Sound! Euphonium
Synonyms: Hibike! Euphonium
Japanese: 響け!ユーフォニアム

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 8, 2015 to Jul 1, 2015
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Ponycan USA
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Novel
Genres: MusicMusic, SchoolSchool, DramaDrama
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.991 (scored by 152370152,370 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5592
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #433
Members: 364,078
Favorites: 5,714

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 30, 2015
Glacialis (All reviews)
This is it, their grand return. While the past number of shows they’ve animated may not have quite hit the mark in terms of greatness, KyoAni has captured the magic of what made me fall in love with the studio in the first place with their newest work, Sound! Euphonium. What many brushed off as just a K-On! 2.0, Sound! Euphonium is one of the best anime that I have seen in a long time.

Sound! Euphonium follows the Kitauji High School Concert Band, a group that sounds fairly mediocre, and follows their journey as they grow both as musicians and as people in their read more
Jul 2, 2015
Divin3Wind_ (All reviews)
This will be a very long review (I dare to call it an essay!), and while it may not exactly contain spoilers, I have included 'hints' which one may wish to look out for in watching this anime.

Personally, out of all the other studios, I find myself following and noticing trends in Kyoani's releases the most. After all, while the moe wave was not (exactly) started by them, K-On contributed hugely to it, and from there, I found myself observing how Kyoani seems to have very acute marketing tendencies - they would just somehow hit the demographics right, appealing to various clusters of viewers while read more
Jun 30, 2015
MangakaNotlora (All reviews)
Kyoto Animation has relationship with the viewer that I find to often be a complicated waltz between fame and infamy. Being so renowned, the line between these two traits is very thin, and often it is easier for the studio to be criticized rather than applauded; it is a much more popular option to join in on a cynical crowd mentality rather than to accept an achievement for what it is--and I believe Hibike! Euphonium is one of Kyoto Animation's achievements, a wonderful comeback from material that pushes the studio over to the infamous side of the line.

Because of the cynicism that often surrounds the read more
Jun 30, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
I’d like to think of music as a form of art. It’s a vocal expression by taking the form of instrumental emotion. And by talent, we see the beauty of it. What does that mean for a show like Hibike Euphonium? A lot. To me, this series is a musical adventure. If you’re interested in a series about following dreams, building strong friendships, and exploring youth with an unforgettable experience, then you’re in the right place.

What is Hibike! Euphonium? (Sound! Euphonium) It’s an anime adaptation of a Japanese novel written by Ayano Takeda. Taking place in Kyoto, the series has its focus on a read more
Jun 30, 2015
vegetablespirit (All reviews)
Kyoto Animation's success with K-On gave a new face to the genre of music anime—a face that focused on the activities of cute girls in a group, and to a lesser extent, their relationships. Hibike Euphonium is more or less the same formula, but on a much larger scale; a school band of boys and girls alike. Said school band is aiming for a mere shot at the nationals with the help of an instructor much stricter than they'd prefer. It's by no means an original concept, but it would be acceptable if it showcased the trials a band faces in an admirable fashion; instead, read more
May 9, 2015
Ajoura (All reviews)
Preliminary
There are three main types of "specific interest" story. When author knows and wants to submerge its viewer (or reader) into the world of interest; when author finds something unusual and shiny, googles about it and decides to make a story about it; and something inbetween.

What you have here - is the story inbetween. Author knows about it, but puts it as unusual and shiny.
It is called "Hibike! Euphonium", and it is about big beautiful brass that shines, but does not breathe.

Most of plots in modern anime about music tend to look like this: protagonist making or taking part in a band or orchestra, grinding read more
Jun 9, 2015
FurankuSan (All reviews)
EDIT: Now that the series has finished, here are my thoughts of the series.

I am sick and tired of seeing people saying that this is just another show like "K-ON!". Because it's KyoAni, people will think that this show is less on music and more on moe blobs.

Seriously? It isn't.

The story is really simple and I like it because it stays that way. It doesn't go overboard and it doesn't even complicate stuff. The story is about a struggle of one band trying to get in the Nationals and take home the gold. And guess what? They portray the story realistically. It portrays so much read more
Jul 31, 2015
lollith (All reviews)
As a person who has had his fair share of pointless Moe blob shows I admit that my initial impression of Sound! Euphonium wasn't the best. In all honesty, The moment I saw the cover of the show I dismissed it as another Moe blob show and skipped it without much thought, and It was only through high ratings and numerous recommendations that I decided I would give it a chance. But even then I wasn't convinced. I went into the first episode with a face of disdain. Only to watch further and further until I realized how terribly wrong I was. Sound! Euphonium gave read more
Jun 13, 2020
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
There is a sense of wonder and grandeur that hit upon witnessing the first episode of Hibike Euphonium. Perhaps it was due to the outstanding score or the sheer glow the characters had. Perhaps it was how its main character, Kumiko, was immediately presented. It’s hard to quantify such a feeling, but it’s an undoubtedly great feeling as you discover that you’re going to fall in love with a show that is confident in its own greatness.

Perhaps the most immediate aspect to hit me was the soundtrack composed by Akito Matsuda. Several of the show’s background pieces convey a sense of tenderness and swelling emotion read more
Jun 30, 2015
Tozzy (All reviews)
Watching a Kyoto Animation anime is like being served up a delicious cake. It’s the same cake every time but you know what to expect. There’s icing on top, being the pretty visuals and animation, but usually plays it safe with a ‘vanilla’ group of characters. It’s easy to digest. Hibike! Euphonium however wants to be different. Not only does it comes with sprinkles of substance but it has layers to it, different flavours working in harmony. They aren’t the most incredible flavours you’ve ever tasted but they are still enough to put a smile on your dial. This high school, musical showpiece took me read more
Jun 10, 2015
johnbradshaw (All reviews)
Preliminary
My god, just 10 eps so far and i guarantee you that this anime is easily the best show that KyoAni has ever produced.

Band club? What do you think when you hear it? K-On? No, no, no its nothing like it and it will never be. This show is a very deep-detailed and thoughtful story about brass band club. Where many people with many kind of brass intruments try to come together and perform a track in the most perfect way possible. One ep by one ep, the story just continue to flow like a song with worries, exciment and love from the MC to read more
Jul 1, 2015
Neetfriek (All reviews)
I really don’t know about this series. I know for sure that it WAS NOT good, but I don’t really know what to think about it and what exactly I liked and disliked about the series. I know that it looked really pretty and there were some beautiful moments, but many of these key scenes didn’t have a purpose that was fulfilled by how they looked. Its as if the show wanted to look nice just to look nice and the images didn’t enhance the plot as much as they should have.

Speaking of the plot, it was mostly hit or miss with both the read more
Jun 30, 2015
Tavinreyes257 (All reviews)
Hibike! Euphonium was absolutely gorgeous and blew away my expectations in every field. Kyoto Animation at their best what I mean by that is their ability to make the viewer fully engaged into a slice of life anime. Throughout my extensive catalog of anime I have had my fair share of the slice of life genre and I can say with the utmost confidence that Euphonium is definitely one to check out. I started watching the anime on the pretext of a group of people saying it may be the anime of the season. Upon hearing that statement from my high horse I decided that read more
Jul 15, 2015
AmbiguousMonster (All reviews)
Hibike! Euphonium is a curios production that in narrative, visuals and music has moments where it truly shines, but sadly they are diluted by mediocre plot points, unnecessary characters and unusual story structure, taking what could have been a strong and emotionally resonant series down to a pleasant, but ultimately scarcely memorable watch.

The story, centered around Kumiko Oumae and her music class companions as they try to get to the nationals, is very inconsistent in terms of emotional intensity, pacing and enjoyment. Throughout the early episodes, the story is focussed on introducing Kumiko and her friends, Midori and Hazuki, to the audience, however this is read more
Jul 1, 2015
ChrissyKay (All reviews)
I'm a music person. I've always been one, though at the beginning it was in heart alone. In middle school I played violin, trumpet and sang in the choir, and I was told promptly and I quote that I sounded like "a cat being run over by a lawnmower". This didn't get me down though (for some reason,) in fact I saw my apparent absolute lack of any talent whatsoever to be a sign that I was meant to pursue music. I continued to practice much to the suffering of everyone around me, and though I experienced harsh criticism along the way I'm now in read more
Jul 4, 2015
codydang (All reviews)
"Music is nice. You can't lie. You can only admit when something sounds good."

Isn't that so true? Whether or not you like Kyoto Animation, it's hard to deny that Hibike Euphonium sounds amazing.

Hibike sounds alive. I don't know how they pulled it off, but the show sounds so human. You hear as students warm up and tune their instruments together, you hear when the trombone players goof up, you hear the protagonist's tone change as she develops her skills, and when the whole band plays together, it's a real treat. This is great sound design--this is music anime done read more
Oct 23, 2015
BuncyTheFrog (All reviews)
Hibike! Euphonium is a wasted opportunity. It has great attention to detail in both art and sound design when it comes to the instruments, but falls flat on its face in almost every other aspect. Having just come off of Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso/Your Lie in April, which has two great musical sequences in the first two episodes, the fact that it took until episode 3 for any real music to pop up in this series frustrated me too much than it should have. That frustration followed me throughout the series.

The series seems to at times WANT to be about music, but is dragged read more
Jun 30, 2015
Reinhath (All reviews)
Hibike! Euphonium is like a symphony. It starts off slow and mellow, then comes at you full force, not letting you go until the very end.

Story: Being that it's a KyoAni work, many people deemed the show "K-On in Concert Band" without further thought. From the first two episodes, the show seemed to just be a simplistic slice-of-life, albeit a cute and fun one. However, the plot picks up surprisingly quickly from the show's brilliant third episode. From that point on, Hibike! Euphonium becomes a terrific coming-of-age story, that roused feelings of nostalgia from my very core. The storyline is paced wonderfully, never going read more
Sep 24, 2015
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Kyoto animation is often described by many people as the studio in which they keep producing the exact same shows endlessly, that show being cute girls in a school type setting. While it is true that many, if not all do feature some kind of cute girl in high school, each one of Kyoto's works carries its own distinct flavour and personality that sets it apart from the others shows they have made. Hibike Euphonium is the latest anime by Kyoto and perfectly presents the reason why I fell in love with this studio in the first place. Furthermore, while this anime can be read more
Jul 2, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
You know, the circumstances surrounding Sound Euphonium are more interesting to me than the show itself. With the moe trend all but dead because “light-novel fad” didn’t want to play nice and share - and KyoAni proving said fad had a point when their attempts to jump in on its territory whilst still maintaining a commitment to cute were about as well-received as second-degree sunburns in the middle of the North Pole - their fall from grace in terms of the public was pre-determined the moment K-On became so big. Word of advice: nothing ages faster than an anime that tries to cash in on read more