Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Lupin III (2015)


Alternative Titles

English: Lupin the Third
Synonyms: Lupin III: Part IV, Lupin III: L'avventura italiana, Lupin Sansei
Japanese: ルパン三世

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2015 to Mar 18, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:29 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Discotek Media
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 5,302 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5772
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2256
Members: 21,627
Favorites: 123

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 1, 2015
lelouch1512 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well maybe i'm to early for everyone here. It's my first review on myanimelist and i know i'm not got at it. Well As you know the airing of Lupin III (2015) or as the italian title states:Lupin III: L' Avventura italiana started airing on Italian TV called Italia 1 only 4 weeks ago and it's currently on the 14 episodes. I can say that The begining was for like wait What ?

Well the story centers Italy as the state of love and art that's what all of the anime is about. Well in this season they added a character to the crew well read more
Mar 10, 2016
ChubbyGoat (All reviews)
Honestly I have never seen any of the previous Lupin the thirds, but I can tell you this anime is absolutely stunning. Something I looked forward to every week, when it was airing.

Story: 9
The anime jumps from its one episode driven story to its overarching italian dream story. I enjoyed every single solo episode, thrilling, exciting, and overall masterpieces for style and the audacity Lupin brings to the table. When Lupin wasn't present, the characters still shined with their own unique personalities. Each episode had a small storyline or mystery to solve, and Lupin pretty much owned the stage every episode he was in. The read more
May 7, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Lupin is like a goldmine of potential when you’re fanatic of adventure. Taking place in the country of Italy with a diverse cultural background, the series invites anyone who is interested in a journey filled with daring risks. I’d like to see this series not just as a revisit of the franchise but also a show that recreates adventure as a whole. Lupin III (also known as Lupin the Third) is a series that is easily recommendable for anyone but those who is interested in adventure will be in for a big treat.

It’s truly like a miracle. The show takes place in the refreshing country read more
Dec 20, 2015
momiji-no-kimi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Currently on ep 12 so this might be considered an early review. As a casual watcher type, I'm very picky with what to waste my time on. I only watch if it's popular enough to catch some hype, but I only keep watching if it's interesting regardless of how hyped it is. But it didn't even get the hype I was expecting of a classic. And I wasn't interested since I thought it belonged in my childhood and my childhood alone as I completely forgot everything about it. So now I come to this with a fresh perspective.

The reason I picked it up was because read more
Mar 18, 2016
Bleep_Bloop (All reviews)
It looks like I'm one of the first to get a review out of the finished series, which I am very pleased about. I want people to be able to read about the wonderful experience I had with this show first.

If you're already a fan of the Lupin series, then this should be nothing new for you. Jumping back in to the fun and colourful world of Lupin and his gang, along with the new additions, is easy. For first time Lupin viewers, I would recommend you start with a couple of Lupin specials and movies before you go into this, just to get a read more
Apr 4, 2017
Romi_1432 (All reviews)
Well, where do we start off? Let me just write as much as I can about this gorgeous series. Just before I begin rambling about why this anime is absolutely amazing, I would like to state that I may be a bit bias as this is one of my, if not, favourite anime series.

First of all, comes the story. Its plot being led by Lupin and his team is very unique. It focuses on one main arch, in this case, it'll be Italy. Between each episode is a completely different, new, unique story, while also being linked to the main arch. Furthermore, the mystery read more
Oct 7, 2016
Lancehot (All reviews)
TL;DR – As good as any entry point into the sprawling Lupin franchise, the fourth TV series should appeal to old fans & new audiences alike. It's not without flaws, but is a lot of fun.

Few characters from what some consider the golden period of children's TV anime (1960s – 1980s) have maintained a presence in pop-culture like Lupin III. Despite this being the first full TV series in over thirty years, a steady stream of films, specials, crossovers & marketing tie-ins have helped keep the world's greatest master thief in the popular conscience.

But while many may know of Lupin & his gang, this latest read more
May 14, 2016
Jttyzzle (All reviews)
Lupin III is an overall outstanding, incredible ride but falters around the occasional 'Dream of Italy' story episode. Quick Video Review! (Script Below)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tingGt3a9zs

Somewhat Close Script (I know I changed a bit from this, like in Sound I talk a little more, for example.)

I heard the Lupin III opening in a thread about good anime openings and thought: "Yes, this is a show I need to watch". The show is as excellent as the catchy opening is, and even as a newcomer I was very impressed and it hooked me on the franchise.

STORY Lupin III, the master thief, and his gang of friends read more
Oct 30, 2016
Daddy-O (All reviews)
The Birth of Cool may have occurred with Miles Davis, but in the realm of anime and manga we owe it to Monkey Punch and his bizarre tales of Lupin the Third for the foundation of Cool.

I don’t know what it is about recent Lupin III specials and shows, but there’s a strange tendency for the writers to attempt a complex, philosophical, and abstract plot that feels very out of place with the classic cast of characters that make up the Lupin III franchise. Thinking about it, even decades ago we had plots like this, many specials attempting to delve into the supernatural or sci-fi read more
Jul 19, 2017
Ketamigo (All reviews)
This rendition of Lupin III is the quintessential version of Lupin; its fresh faced, awe inspiring and nostalgic at the same damn time.

It's a perfect version of everything that has come before it, and it's a perfect way for the newcomer to get into the world of Lupin and Co.

At the risk of committing high-treason, I'd say that this is the best Lupin III EVER. Not since "The Count of Cagliostro" has Lupin looked, sounded, and flowed so masterfully.

The choice of soundtrack here is as perfect as Cowboy Bebop; it's epic, sly and sexy, and totally purposeful, and never ventures read more
Feb 16, 2017
Gentleman_Snark (All reviews)
http://www.nerdent.net/2016/12/31/lupin-blue-jacket-series/ for more. With 26 episodes, it is expected that not every episode will lead to the big over arching plot. However, even the stand alone episodes have their own charm to them, with mini character arcs. From Lupin helping a popular football player, Jigen taking on a gang of thugs without his magnum and wins, Goemon saving a child soldier, and lastly Fujiko, well doing what Fujiko does best. The main story get’s pretty ridiculous, but in a good way. Lupin the 3rd is a classic within the anime world and that isn’t likely to change anytime soon. The anime did a good job read more
Dec 4, 2016
Haneken2086 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Lupin III, the cops-and-robbers saga that began in the late 1960s, has gone through several iterations in its long history. This new series is the most contemporary one to date, with the ambition of using past iterations of the saga (notably combining anti-heroic and chivalrous Lupin) in a new format to provide a blend of new thrills and old favourites.


The show is fully set in the land of Italy, which has a unique culture (from the seedy Mafioso to the glorious Renaissance) that makes it a great setting for the Lupin cast to caper about. The show also presents two new characters: the thrill-seeking read more
Jun 2, 2017
CascaCoffee (All reviews)
Lupin III never leaves me feeling unsatisfied. The absolute pandemonium Lupin’s arrangement of characters leave in the wake of their adventures is very enjoyable. It is, I believe, Lupin III (2015)’s lovable cast of characters (new and old) that really brings the show to life, imbuing each episode with such a fun and jazzy atmosphere throughout.

It is because of the chemistry Lupin has with all the characters that gives the show its flare but Lupin is an old franchise, these relationships have been well trodden. This is why the involvement of the new character Rebecca Rossellini and the other additional cast is such a breath read more
Apr 18, 2017
ThisNameIsNotOk (All reviews)
Like always Lupin has a new jacket color, this time he is donning the color blue. Up until watching this series I never really though that any of the jackets worked well other than green. The red looked kind of weird and the pink was an absolute monstrosity, but the blue really fits.

All of your favorite Lupin characters have returned for this series. Like always Zenigata is absolutely hilarious, but we also get a taste of the rarely seen serious Zenigata, which is always amazing (although it was only in one episode). Lupin is just as great as ever, chasing Fujiko and stealing treasure. But read more
Mar 31, 2017
Inuyoujo (All reviews)
To open up, this is very different from any other Lupin thing you'll see. I mean that in more bad ways, than good.

They turned Lupin into a know it all that never messes up and can save everyone. There's an unneeded love story with the overblown side character, that doesn't even get that much explained development. She gets some development but there's too much of her that's let in absurdity at the end for it to make sense. She didn't really get any better but it's like she acted like some of the stuff was ok.

Lupin out-shined the other characters, for the most part. Everything read more