Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tokyo Ghoul √A


Alternative Titles

English: Tokyo Ghoul √A
Synonyms: Tokyo Ghoul Root A, Tokyo Ghoul 2nd Season, Tokyo Ghoul Second Season
Japanese: 東京喰種√A

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2015 to Mar 27, 2015
Premiered: Winter 2015
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Marvelous AQL, Shueisha
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.411 (scored by 487,517 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #41
Members: 735,135
Favorites: 8,367

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2015
Tsuzanagi (All reviews)
The first season of Tokyo Ghoul, while certainly not reaching the heights as the manga, was an enjoyable exposition to the series that was able lead newcomers like me to binge read the entire 143 chapter manga in two days. As a stand alone show, ignoring the quality of the manga, it was pretty good.

Root A, however, is trash from an anime-viewer-only perspective and worse than trash if you've read the manga. It is a mess of unexplained plot points that insult the complexity of the source material it was adapted from. For all the hype generated by Sui Ishida creating an original plot line read more
Apr 1, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Something that is inherent in all people is the need to protect the things you love. Doing whatever it takes to keep the stuff around you safe. Either by fighting or sacrificing, as long as what truly matters to you is unharmed, the rest doesn't matter. It might be family, friends, or your dearest of objects; it's not so much what it is but the act of protecting it that matters. But there are those times when, despite how hard one tries, such protection just isn't possible. Such is the idea that Tokyo Ghoul Root A read more
Mar 26, 2015
Comic_Sans (All reviews)
“I laughed...
I cried...
I experienced something that changed my life...”
- LemonLyme about Tokyo Ghoul √A, 2015

Tokyo Ghoul √A is one of the most brilliant and intriguing anime I’ve ever had the pleasure to watch. With a breathtaking plot, well-developed characters and wonderful animation that leaves me speechless beyond measure it is definitely one of the greatest, if not THE greatest, anime that has been, and will ever be, made.

The story centers around all of the many wonderful characters that appear in Tokyo Ghoul; Ken Kaneki (his hair is completely white now by the way. That’s badass!), the Anteiku ghouls and the not-so-evil police force that tries read more
Mar 26, 2015
henyome (All reviews)
This series is essentially what you would expect to be the end product of 12 directors and script writers playing telephone together with each episode, which would mean no overarching consistency, lack of cohesion and continuity between episodes, little to no character development, and a poor narrative. Alas, although it has turned out like a poorly written fanfiction, Tokyo Ghoul √A does not suffer from its staff playing games in its production. It's just a lackluster adaptation on all fronts, even without comparisons to its source material.

The plot is the biggest pitfall here, due to lack of clear direction and explanation. Even ignoring that read more
Mar 30, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
To save you the trouble, Short Review: Wasted potential

Now if you'll like to get more insight into where this show could of excelled and what it ultimately opt out for instead then continue on, as we place Tokyo Ghoul √A under a analytical microscope for closer inspection. A show that had the opportunity to be more but ultimately became yet another "schlock" level blood bath.

Social discrimination and persecution is an issue that has plagued mankind for as long as we know it, dating back to the oldest historical texts and manuscripts. Whenever a societal group feels threatened or simply don't comprehend another group's social read more
Jul 6, 2015
InfiniteZero (All reviews)
Tokyo Ghoul has an interesting concept, humans kills ghouls as they eat humans, ghouls kills humans to eat them as it i their primary food source. The question of who is right and wrong is not easy to answer as they have their reasons on what they do.
Interesting? For me, this was what pulled me into watching this series. So as I finished season 1, I started to read the manga and it was great.

I liked the manga (so I'm writing in the perspective of a manga reader), so when Studio Pierrot announced a season 2 (root A) I was kinda excited and looked read more
Mar 28, 2015
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

The first season of Tokyo Ghoul had three major problems: A plot that went absolutely nowhere, a lack of any real character development, and a plethora of impossible-to-take-seriously, one-dimmensional characters that completely ruined the tone and broke any immersion that might have been occurring. When it was announced that season two was going to break away from the inevitable dead-end that is the fate of an incomplete manga adaptation in favor of being based around an original story, there was widespread hope that the show would be able to correct these issues. Well, now season two is complete, and not only were the read more
Mar 26, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Described by some as horror, some as a character story, and some as a hellish battle zone that erupted from the events of season 1, Tokyo Ghoul Root A is a series that got quite a lot of people talking. Written by Ishida Sui (the brainchild of the manga), this sequel isn’t just a continuation but serves as another work in the universe of TG. However, it does directly correlate with the first season so by all means, do yourself a favor and finish the first season or otherwise, this is going to be one hell of a confusing ride. Nonetheless, Tokyo Ghoul Root A read more
Feb 6, 2015
Netherlicht (All reviews)
Preliminary
Recently watched the latest episode "5" Firstly: Censoring, it´s insulting to the ones that even remotley liked the show, GORE is that animes biggest forte and censoring it takes away from enjoyment, this isn´t watched by 10yearold to begin with. I can´t speak for what time of day TG airs in Japan though so that´s enough said about that.

Slow story, usually i don´t have a problem with that but already 5episodes in and i have no idéa what the hell is going on, the focus on the maincharacter is at a bare minium and that wouldn´t be a problem if the sidecharacters didn´t have cliffhanger read more
Apr 8, 2015
JamestheReviewer (All reviews)
A review of *Tokyo Ghoul √A*, a disappointing second season to an already disappointing anime.

From the beginning, Tokyo Ghoul √A was advertised as an anime original story by the of Tokyo Ghoul manga, Sui Ishida, and this idea is an exciting one to me as an anime-only-watcher. With so many fans complaining about how the anime butchered the manga, creating an alternate story by the mangaka himself should be an interesting way to appeal to both the manga and anime fans, right? Well, not if the story itself is more disjointed than Kaneki’s fingers at the end of the first season....

Just like the first read more
Feb 21, 2015
iloveasparagus (All reviews)
Preliminary
While I really like Tokyo Ghoul as a manga, saying its anime counterpart is a letdown is a huge understatement. The ridiculous censoring for a series that has so much gore in it makes little sense. The first season sucked because they cut out a bunch of character development to squeeze around the first 60 chapters into 12 episodes. While I'm not gonna bitch about it being an alternate ending from the manga, it still sucks. If I hadn't read the manga before watching it, I would have no understanding of it whatsoever. There are random flashbacks all over the place, and there hasn't really read more
Mar 26, 2015
wittleusagi (All reviews)
This season was such a huge disappoint. I would not recommend this anime to anyone. I kept waiting for it to get good, but that just did not happen. This season was like a prime rib...without any of the seasoning: fell way below my expectations. I am throughly sad I wasted my time on this piece of trash.

Story: This plot was so flawed I'm not even sure where to start. I have not read the manga so this is me speaking from watching the series only perspective. After every episode I wanted an analysis for what happened. None of it made much sense. The read more
Jun 12, 2015
Animex95 (All reviews)
Since this is my first time writing a review, i would keep this as simple as possible. Another reason i decided to write a review for this Tokyo Ghoul is because i felt the need to point out the problems in this season. Also, this whole review is written entirely in an anime viewers perspective only.

Story:3

In the first season, the story pacing was quite well as we see new characters being introduced gradually and given enough screen time to actually give viewers the idea of their backstory. I was expecting somewhat the same thing for season 2 but i was wrong. More and more new read more
Apr 30, 2015
Trunks159 (All reviews)
(THERE ARE NO SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW)
As a manga reader of Tokyo Ghoul, this was obviously a disappointment. I won't get into the thick of it but to summarize most people's complaints:

Cons
1. Stupid bad animation for a show with this much fighting.
2. Poor time management. There was a lot of just nothing happening on the screen with just walking or something. The problem with this is:
3. About 50% of what happened in the manga was skipped, whether it was personal internal monologues, or simply arcs. Its almost as if they simply ripped pages out of a book. My complaint is: read more
Apr 12, 2015
Markezzo (All reviews)
While the first season of Tokyo Ghoul wasn’t perfect, with underdeveloped villains, censoring, and leaving things about the setting unexplained, it still had entertaining elements and an ending that delivered some hard hitting truths. I had high hopes for what was to come, considering how much more interesting the main character and his conflict had become. You’ll find that the second season doesn’t deliver on the promises that were set up. Instead it leaves you disconnected from the main character, making him barely even appear on screen for most of the show. Instead we focus on the minor characters, something that I did appreciate, yet read more
Jun 12, 2015
NelsonFerreira19 (All reviews)
As a Tokyo Ghoul manga fan, is disappointment and desmotivating to see this.

Don´t get me wrong, i am not a hater but if you´re a manga reader you´ll be angry while you´re watching this. Tokyo Ghoul season 1 was already a poor adaptation and they removed IMPORTANT content that they didn´t realise in the moment that was important. lol. so, tokyo ghoul season 2, was IMPOSSIBLE to perform after that season 1 adaptation, but they forced it just beucase the SALES, and they decided to make a 80-70% anime original (with ishida´s help) with just 20-30% manga content and it made this Tokyo Ghoul √A.
Root read more
Mar 26, 2015
mercury1980 (All reviews)
A continuation of the first season of Tokyo Ghoul.

STORY (4):

The story continues where season 1 left off. Kaneki Ken became more badass when his hair turns white and he has his mask in place. And now he has to fight evil.

The story at least explored about how ghouls were originated and this season they made Kaneki become more badass. However, does that excuse the rest of this season with problems, of course not. The story was boring. Although there were few sad moments, there are more boring moments than sad moments.

The final fight scene where Ken Kaneki fights Amon was so intense, however, the read more
Jul 31, 2015
_Megami (All reviews)
Everybody is probably used to the fantasy logic "humans treated as livestock or inferior beings by someone supposed superior", that's pretty much what half the theme in Tokyo Ghoul is about. Initially, it begins as something utterly empty, using a vague example of the nature "there are two sides in each coin". That there are both good and bad ghouls, both well-natured and evil humans, and slowly that meaning breaks the story from the boundaries of being just an anime. As a result, you end up wondering, why from the moment that there are so many sources to absorb intellectual information from, anime which are read more
Mar 26, 2015
Pr1nc3 (All reviews)
After the end of season 1, many people were wondering about its sequel and how it would be executed especially because Ishida Sui, the mangaka, was involved on it since he decided to write the draft of the second season, and that looked like a sign of hope and possibly an improvement in the middle of a controversial first season with so many mixed opinions.

I must say, even when there were announcements of an "anime original route" for Tokyo Ghoul, I was looking forward to it and I wanted to see what Ishida would bring to us, especially when it was revealed the name read more
May 19, 2018
ayew (All reviews)
No it doesn't get better. You might of thought that despite the first season being pretty medicore, there was some promising ideas and themes there to build on, and the character development was starting to show up. You might think that Root A has the opportunity to take the good ideas of the badly exectued season 1 and make a actually really good and interesting show. After all, the world and themes Season 1 promised under the hood seemed pretty decent, right?. You may have watched this because you saw re: coming out. You may have kept watching, thinking the garbled mess of the read more