Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Heavy Object


Alternative Titles

English: Heavy Object
Japanese: ヘヴィーオブジェクト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2015 to Mar 26, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:30 (JST)
Studios: J.C.Staff, SANZIGEN
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.401 (scored by 28,989 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19662
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #864
Members: 77,177
Favorites: 294

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2016
kittycats468 (All reviews)
I completely got the wrong idea when I read the synopsis probably because I read it wrong so I'll write a mini one of my own. Basically there are giant balls that can kick ass and have a bunch of cannons and can withstand atomic bombs. Then there's Qwenther and Havia who outsmart them and become famous and the whole story is just them figuring out the weaknesses and beating everyone else. Of course you have to have the teenagers be the ones beating everyone up though because that's the law of mecha. Even the commander is only 18 -_- not saying there's anything wrong read more
Mar 25, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
It’s a bird, it’s a plane, no it’s an Object! When you throw an armored machine with unimaginable technology into war, these bad boys are supposed to be the ultimate ace in the hole. They can apparently turn tides in modern warfare. Objects are supposed to revered and feared on the battlefield. Then, we are introduced to two boys - Qwenthur and Havia. These two are able to actually defeat a heavy object with their reckless strategies and thus their daily military misadventure begins in this unorthodox sci-fi show.

Adapted from the light novel of the same name, some viewers may be familiar with the origins read more
Mar 27, 2016
Tevens (All reviews)
Heavy Object. Almost looked like an Apocalypse show to me, but not really. The concept of the action is "Object". Now, what is Object. Object is an Amazing weapon which people use in War. So let me fix it again, The concept of the action is War, Strategy and Object. Why is Object considered as Amazing Weapon even Nuclear bomb can't even destroyed it ? Object looks like a Ball. A big ball with a high quality of Steel as it's Skin. and it's not only 1 layer of steel. 10 or more layers if i'm not wrong. Because of Object, Now people made a read more
Mar 25, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
LA at first was excited at this anime, being a light novel adaptation by Kazuma Kamachi (the creator of the To Aru Index franchise), however from the first impressions of this anime, it gave off a huge amount of exposition about the world of Objects and that was about it for about 3 episodes or so, it wasn't until it got to it's episodic arcs where it really got interesting.

The episodic arcs from episode 4 onwards changed as the arcs showed us not only world building of the world of Objects but through how the Objects are used by differing nations either wanting materials to read more
Mar 25, 2016
KaoruMatsuoka (All reviews)
Quiz time! What's the most important element of a good war story?
a) The gripping character drama as relatable characters are forced into dangerous situations
b) The moral ambiguity of the conflict (good people having to do bad things)
c) The themes of loss, both of life and of innocence, on the battlefield
d) The tits and ass of the 14 year-old mecha pilot

If you answered D, congratulations! You might be a future light novel writer.

Every season of anime has one show that is so awful it can't even be enjoyed for its failings anymore. This season, one of the candidates for that prestigious wooden spoon read more
Apr 24, 2016
Flawfinder (All reviews)
I know we’ve all made fun of light novel names over the years, but I don’t think anyone could have figured that one of the very few short ones would end up being the most reliable goldmine in terms of naming humor in quite a while. Within an hour of its airing, most people I pay attention to kept making hilari-dumb tweets such as “dropping Heavy Object because I don’t even lift” and “not even bothering to pick Heavy Object up because it looks too big for me”, and it never ceased to be funny. One wonders why we didn’t come up with this joke read more
Sep 20, 2016
Bvarnell89 (All reviews)
In a world where the various nations have been fractured by war, a new power comes into play, one that has changed the very face of war. Objects. Mechanized monstrosities that look a lot like a Death Star with a shit ton of guns attached to their hull. These Objects have become synonymous with war, changing the rules of engagement, turning what had once been a serious and deadly affair into something more closely resembling a board game. This is one of the most serious, thrilling, and brutal anime ever.

I'm being serious here.

I'm serious, damn it!

Joking aside, this series does have some intense moments. It's read more
May 7, 2016
jc9622 (All reviews)
I have a deep hatred towards mechas. They're as generic as a light novel anime adaptations out there with a protagonist who's OP as hell and gets all the girls he wants with ease. When J.C Staff announced this anime, I avoided this at first but I decided to just go and give it a try. Surprisingly, Heavy Object is one of my guilty pleasures. One of the reasons why I enjoyed it is because Heavy Object isn't your usual flying robots mecha anime.


[Story]: (3/10)
In the distant future, a massive, spherical tanks called "Objects"; armed with a very powerful cannon and equipped with read more
Sep 3, 2016
Maimark5 (All reviews)
I started watching this and finished it in one day!
I founded this on a Top Anime list and so, I decided to watch it since it keeps on showing up.
The Anime world seems to be fading for me, I watched too much good anime that there was no more to be find for me.
When my Anime feelings was being killed from the inside, I found this Anime and almost recovered fully!
For me, an Anime like this is a rare counter.
And so, I will be doing my first review for my life on this Anime, since it gave me my the joy I needed.

Most people will read more
Apr 19, 2016
easilypleased23 (All reviews)
Heavy Object takes place in a distant future where the world has stopped using typical ways to fight wars. The weapons of choice in all combat are called Objects. Objects are machines of destruction that cannot be destroyed by military weaponry.

Humans who go up against objects are seen as suicide missions. That's exactly what Havia and Qwenthur are forced to do. Qwentur a student who wishes to be a designer of Objects and Havia a rich noble who just happens to be in the service. They are put to the test.

The story itself is just one major battle after another to fight for read more
Mar 29, 2016
Ictorus (All reviews)
First off, it's my first review ever, so I decided to write one, because of the average score of this anime (at the beginning it was under 7), which really hit me hard as it's a new title that is surely worth watching.
Heavy Object is a 2015 Fall anime, which definitely caught my eye from the very first episode. Innovative in storyline, great in 3DCG, and most of all, enjoyable. Every episode was either funny, thrilling or maybe even sad at times. But the whole idea is the same - the whole series was extremely enjoyable for me as it wasn't that stiff - every read more
Feb 24, 2017
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

The heaviest item I have ever picked up was a giant television in my parents’ basement.

Though, at the time, it felt like I was carrying a medium-sized engine rather than a piece of technology that I once played all of my video games on. I distinctly remember picking it up, but, I had so much trouble, my father had to help out. Even then, when it finally got stashed away, the muscles in my arms convulsed from the strain.

That either says a lot about the TV or a lot about me. Probably both.

Regardless, it weighs read more
Mar 25, 2016
YEROCKY (All reviews)
"Like seriously; why is there so much talk of boobs in an anime that's a futuristic sci-fi, military action show?"

On the surface, Heavy Object is an anime that had potential to be a very engaging action military anime that could have won people over. Heavy Object was one of the few anime of the Fall 2015 season that didn't have an otaku pandering high school setting; however, the reasons behind how this anime was poorly received was because the anime focused too much on forced fan service and pointless character interactions, rather than building a compelling world along with an engaging story. While I didn't read more
May 10, 2016
Rickcir (All reviews)
The plot is original, and although many characters are cookie-cutter, they were still engaging. Super-mega-gigantic-BDO's fight battles instead of armies. But who's behind the scenes? What's the real reason? There's political intrigue, the usual light sexual humor, plenty of explosions and lots of fun to be had.

When our daring duo of Object killers dialogue, it reminds me of Spice and Wolf. The technology is futuristic, but not too much - it's all very believable.

The world is made up of four super powers, all with objects. There are also fractures among the powers that be, so civil war and even corporate infighting using objects occurs. read more
Mar 25, 2016
PyraXadon (All reviews)
War. When it comes to war, the general idea that comes to mind is two opposing sides battling each other for domination in some way shape or form. Many forms of media and real life have bounced off this idea with things like psychological war, cold war, and just straight up war. And so, with JC staff's 2-cour adaptation of Heavy Object, we have war between gigantic balls with guns attached to them. Oh boy...

Side Note: If I misspell the names, don't flame me. Kamachi has weird names, and there're different spellings everywhere. Funimation spells it one way, read more
Nov 16, 2016
BlueBlur2000 (All reviews)
A couple of weeks ago I started watching all of the 2016 anime that I either missed or put on hold directly after I watched the first episode. So I decided to watch some of the Fall 2015 leftovers that finished in 2016 and Heavy Object was the only one that I haven’t already seen or was a sequel (apart from Brave Beats). I finished it recently so I decided I should review it. So, let’s get to it.

Story:
Story wise Heavy Object is pretty bare bones. The main premise is somewhat unique since instead of focusing on Object battles it instead focuses on the read more
Mar 9, 2017
Lord_Rutsah (All reviews)
You know, in my country we have a word, "stratokavlos", roughly translating to "army-d!cked". Boy does it fit here.

In the future, giant robots handle warfare in place of human soldiers. They're incredible exterior armors make them immune to nearly every conventional weapon, so basically the only way to kill these "objects" is with an object of your own.

Qwenthur and Havia, a military engineer and a soldier respectively (whose royalty background you'd swear they swapped by mistake), don't have that luxury. While the "Princess", the female lead, handles riding their nation's Object, they are pretty much errant boys, assisting in maintainance and being looked down read more
Jun 14, 2016
3Rton (All reviews)
To put it bluntly Heavy object is scattered.

The story in itself, character design, mood, art etc all isn't that bad alone but overall it just doesn't feel whole. This is strongly emphasized by the setting of military states battling each other with massive "object" war machines that require crews of hundred people to maintain, large home bases to set up and billions of units of cash to create then being contrasted with a duo being assigned time and time again to work together (this should never happen), single pilot being assigned to this war machine (common mecha trope, but makes even less sense in read more
Apr 1, 2016
F4nz (All reviews)
heavy object is a tactical action war between a smart lucky normal human being vs a highly modern advance giant tank that keep you entertain with the way the main mc(a normal enginere student) fight (most of the time is being forced) a giant advance tank(that can easily wipe entire army) with his partners( a same normal human being soldier and an old gen heavy object with cute girl as the pilot)

each episode delivered with a nice story progress and good character progress, each protagonist character has it's own purpose and not being a hinder to other protagonist progress and each developed in good way, read more
Mar 30, 2017
Harizak (All reviews)
Watch it 10/10 my favorite anime since its launch. Watched it many times over. The only thing is I like the music but I wish it was a lot mor intense like Aldnoah.Zero's music. However it suits it well. If you like a main character that outwits his opposite in cleaver ways and never actual stupid decisions you will like this anime. I know, everyone acts like certain anime's like Death note or Code Geass have super smart main characters but I do not think so. They think to much in the box for having those kinds of power read more