Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fire Emblem


Alternative Titles

English: Fire Emblem
Japanese: ファイアーエムブレム

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 2
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 26, 1996 to Apr 26, 1996
Producers: KSS
Licensors: ADV Films
Studios: Studio Fantasia
Source: Game
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy, MagicMagic, ShounenShounen
Duration: 27 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.731 (scored by 42584,258 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #92952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4560
Members: 9,069
Favorites: 40

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 22, 2009
Anomalous (All reviews)
With the recent release of Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon in English, this OVA is perhaps more relevant than it has been in over a decade. Some quick backstory: in 1990, the first Fire Emblem game was released for the Famicom (and was remade for the Super Famicom in 1994). Since games back then had simpler stories and characters, extra care was taken by Fire Emblem’s creators to make supplemental media to flesh out the game. This OVA wasn’t meant to stand alone or take the place of the game, but to help players understand a little more about what was going on. I’m sure it read more
Aug 27, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Fire Emblem was a game franchise virtually unknown outside of Japan until Super Smash Brothers Melee came out. That game featured two Fire Emblem characters, Marth and Roy, as playable fighters. Creating an interest in the franchise that was great enough to get the seventh title, Blazing Sword, and most subsequent titles released internationally.

So, why was the franchise only released outside of Japan at that point? My theory is that the games were simply considered too difficult. Yes, Nintendo had a lot of really hard games, some unfairly so. But Fire Emblem is the most difficult franchise developed by Nintendo itself. The games feature read more
May 25, 2015
Little_Red_Rogue (All reviews)
I'm a big fan of the Fire Emblem games, so when I heard that there was an anime about Marth, I dropped everything and went to watch it.
I then noticed it was a two episode OVA and I was pretty disappointed, but I'd still watch it for my love of the series.
The anime even tells things that Shadow Dragon, (The DS remake of FE1,) didn't. Like the possibly non-canon fact that Marth's hairband is his sister's crown.

The OVA follows Marth, the prince of Altea, as he tries to retake his home from the forces of Dolhr.
Just like in read more
Dec 10, 2009
sylvanelite (All reviews)
This OVA tells the story of the very first Fire Emblem game, and features Marth (Mars in the OVA) as the main character. From Super Smash Bros. fame, Marth's game was not released outside of Japan, that was until 2008/9, where a remake was made for DS, which saw international release. This OVA, strangely, was dubbed into English before Math made his maiden appearance in Super Smash Bros. Melee. Ironically, his name was translated as "Mars" in this release. The final thing to note, before I start fully reviewing the OVA, is that it only lasts 2 episodes. It was cancelled before any additional episodes read more
Mar 11, 2017
SolidBren (All reviews)
Not bad at all. Go watch it together with your friends that also happen to be fans of the Fire Emblem video game series!

===Pros===
Great '90s style artwork and very nice orchestrated music based on the music from the game. The animation itself looked fairly smooth at times as well. I personally really enjoyed the voice acting, but I can see where people may think otherwise. It is delightfully cheesy.

===Cons===
While the story sets up a solid premise that follows the video game, it doesn't get to go very far due to this series never surpassing two episodes of length. The same issue can be said read more
Mar 9, 2017
fluff_punkz (All reviews)
Now, since this is my first review, it will be rather brief and of poor quality, so I apologize in advance. I will do my best to be as unbiased as possible because I am a big fan of the Fire Emblem series.

STORY: 7/10
At the moment I am writing this, I have not played the original game of Fire Emblem or it's remakes, so I'm going to assume that the plot of the OVA closely follows the plot of the actual games, or at least the beginning of them. I personally find the deep lore surrounding the world quite intriguing. It's just a shame read more
May 9, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
But MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARS

As an avid player of Fire Emblem Heroes and that mobile game being the gateway for LA into the Fire Emblem franchise, LA was curious if there was any Fire Emblem animes out there to satiate LA's curiosity of the Fire Emblem franchise and this anime.....isn't the best foray into the games out there.

Fire Emblem's OVA tells the prologue and one isolated event of the Mystery of the Emblem game for what this adaptation is trying to do and by all intents this OVA is nothing but exposition and setting the game proper with a bit of characterization towards one or two characters but read more
Sep 27, 2015
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
I admit it, I was pleasantly surprised at how much better the Fire Emblem anime was than what I was expecting. Short OVA adaptations of existing franchises usually tend to be heavily abridged and amount to little more than a special trailer for the source material. And when the source material comes from Fire Emblem, specifically one of the earliest, simplest games in a series where the storylines are just amusing at best, you would naturally expect no different.

But in a twist, that's not the case. This OVA's creators actually did honor to their source material, adhering to the original storyline while using the new read more
Jun 7, 2012
xXSlick_JimmyXx (All reviews)
This is an interesting set of OVAs, though I can only recommend them if you're a fan of the game series, and if you know about the first, third, and/or eleventh games. Even then, I get this vibe that it's one of those animes where you will either like it or hate it, mainly due to translations, contradictions with Shadow Dragon, and what it added to the plot.
The story remains the same medieval conflict as the games, though with some more filler in between the battles. I personally liked that, because it gave the characters more personality (although not a lot), which I though was read more
Dec 6, 2016
HolyBritianian (All reviews)
im a big fan of the SRPG Nintendo series;Honestly though it was quite enjoyable in my opinion; sure the story is about as generic as you can get, but that's fire emblem in a nutshell a story of a Medieval Young Lord-ling that must take back the land the was either conquered from his father,and goes around the country building up his army while having skirmishes with the opposing army. I am not very fond of Marth as it is; hence he really is the most bland of The Lords in the fire emblem series;coupled with the fact this series has fodder villains in read more