Plastic Memories

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Plastic Memories
Synonyms: Plamemo
Japanese: プラスティック・メモリーズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2015 to Jun 28, 2015
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: Original
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.931 (scored by 344575344,575 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #6292
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #154
Members: 701,758
Favorites: 9,989
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 27, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
When I first started watching Plastic Memories back in April I was immediately very impressed by it because the first episode was simply amazing. It forecasted an original anime with beautiful artwork, an ambient atmosphere, likeable characters and a lot of tragic drama. At the time, I really thought that it would become the next hidden gem, and the biggest surprise of the season.

As it turned out however, Plastic Memories instead ended up being one of the most misleading anime I've seen in quite some time. Unlike what the opening seemed to imply, in reality the show is mostly a cute and light-hearted slice of read more
Jul 5, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Human/technology integration has always been a fascinating topic to me. Just thinking of humanity's next leap towards further development being aided by biomechanical intervention could cause even the cynical-minded to wax philosophical. It's a topic that's inspired countless debate and discussion for many; redefining the idea of what it means to be human with the continuously blurred line between man and machine. And what better way to view this delicate balancing act than by seeing it unfold through the guise of a romance. It's an interesting "what if" scenario, that, to those who share my fascination with the subject, could find many interesting facets on read more
Jun 28, 2015
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

While Plastic Memories had the potential to be a unique and intelligent show, it instead managed to encompass all of the things that ruin dramas and cause them to fail every time. Forced plot devices that make no sense? Check. Inopportune comedy that ruins the show’s tone? Check. Shallow characters defined entirely by their archetypes or tragic backstories? Check. While this anime showed flashes of good ideas and has its moments, its poor execution dooms it to be lost among the sea of poorly written, mediocre emotion porn.

Synopsis: In the near future, technology has allowed for the invention humanoid-like robots known as “giftias”, read more
Jul 3, 2015
KumaKing (All reviews)
The story written by the author who made Steins;Gate, but if you were expecting a well written story look elsewhere. Conversely, if you’re a fan of forced melodrama and rapid tone changing, or enjoy unoriginal characters and are interested in seeing another Kanade clone feel free to waste your time on this.

STORY
‘Plastic Memories’ takes place in the future where technology has advanced to the point where androids labeled as ‘Giftias’ exist and are capable of implementing human thought, emotion and memories. These exist for the purpose of human interaction and wish fulfillment, targeting those in need of company of some sort. After around 9 years, read more
Jul 19, 2015
HarunaYuu (All reviews)
Plastic memories will leave you crying like a baby, questioning your very existence. You ask yourself "How will I go on after watching this?", The answer is.. you don't. Just hide out in your pillow fort and wait for the day Giftia's are invented. Oh you came here for Action and Blood? This isn't Attack on Titan, but we'll let these feels kick you straight in the face. Watch Plastic Memories and cry your little heart out. Just when you think you are safe, BAM, the feels got you. Throw aside your happy tissues and bust out the Sad Tissues. The feels dont care about read more
Aug 9, 2015
ArcLeak (All reviews)
If the memories you made while living faded after death, would you rather have not lived at all? Or would you cherish those memories to the very end?
Plastic Memories is a show that, while looking mediocre and somewhat generic on the surface, is willing to tackle some pretty heavy themes.

WARNING: This review will contain minor spoilers. Please keep in mind that it is difficult to write a wholesome review without revealing some of what happens.

Story- 9
The story can be considered as something that you're going to end up seeing a lot. Set in the future, Plastic Memories follows the protagonist, Tsukasa Mizugaki, who, read more
Jun 27, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching Plastic Memories is like taking a science class. I don’t why but my professor used to assign these experiments for us to do and when we finish, he always asked what we learned. Plastic Memories has this experimental feel when it takes its story in a sci-fi direction with a utopia-like setting. In a place (I assume a fictional alternate Japan) where robotics has made advancements to a point where we humans rely on them, there’s all sorts of possibilities.

Directed by Yoshiyuki Fujiwara with Naotaka Hayashi writing the script, Plastic Memories is an original anime not based off any material. There’s a plus read more
Jun 29, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Have you ever seen an anime with a premise so uninspired and lacking in imagination that you know it's doomed for failure before it even gets a chance to show off? However, because you're an anime fan who finds it pointless to just watch stuff you like, you continue on out of sheer curiosity regarding how badly it'll be handled, only to realize you underestimated the depths a man can take to stretch said weak premise out in order to fit a full-series length? That's pretty much how I watch practically 90% of the anime I keep up with on a regular basis, and Plastic read more
Jul 7, 2015
MiRaD (All reviews)
Ok, this is my very first review so do not expect too much of it.
Plastic Memories is a Drama, Comedy, Romance and Sci-fi style of anime.
Basically, there are robots named "giftias" that helps people domestically, or for others reasons. They have an operating period and as soon as this deadline ends, they start loosing its memory and end up becoming threats to people, so they have to be collected, but this time is about of nine years, more than enough time to develop a good relationship with your giftia, and that's the main purpose of the anime.

On the issue of drama, it can be a read more
Jul 6, 2015
jumpy (All reviews)
So now that Spring season basically ended, it's time to review anime. Plastic Memories is an anime by Aniplex about this Corporation that is known for taking back these robots with human emotions called "Giftia" once it is time to take them back.

Before we get right into Plastic Memories, I would like point out something about Aniplex.
Aniplex is known for working on Angels Beats and Anohana. Just by me mentioning those two, you pretty much know what to expect from Plastic Memories.
I thought Angel Beats was alright, but it's praised for having such a sad ending and many tragic moments. I found the read more
May 10, 2018
noasty (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

Plastic Memories is a show that very few people will be able to fully understand, emphasize with, and appreciate. It is a story about love, family, memories, loss, but most of all, it is a story about smiling through pain and understanding yourself.

The story is nothing amazing, as this is very much a character focused sci-fi love story with some light comedy touches. Many have complained about how the comedy takes away from the tone of the series, and while I can see that, you do have to appreciate how through the comedy, you see more about the characters than ever before. For example, read more
Jun 29, 2015
LoveNectar123 (All reviews)
Okay, so is the genre ever going to be updated or what?

I'm going to tell you what you're getting here, since MAL just decided to leave the genre as sci-fi and call it a day.
Actual Genres (From most common to least): Romance, Drama, Comedy, Sci-fi
You're welcome.
This show is a romantic dramedy with a sci-fi coat of paint, and it's a damn good one at that.

Story: 8
The story is nothing entirely new, it takes a lot from other sources, but what it does that is new is pretty interesting. The concept of androids with a limited lifespan is interesting, and the way that they leave the read more
Nov 28, 2016
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"There's one thing about this job you need to remember: doing this job never feels rewarding." -Isla

Well thanks for that, Isla. Sometimes that's the reviewer's life too.

Onto Plastic Memories-


The Good Stuff:

Sound and Voice Acting: 7

So, we've got some super veterans like the awesome Megumi Toyoguchi (Revy, Black Lagoon, Winry, FMA/B) as the underutilized, but funny psycho boss, Kazuki. Sora Amamiya (Touka, Tokyo Ghoul) also heads up as Isla, and does a good job playing the airhead, naive character. There's also Mr. "Screw The Rules" Seto Kaiba himself, Kenjirou Tsuda. The OST is a bit underwhelming, and during some key moments is actually silent. Very forgettable. read more
Jun 27, 2015
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Memories are the thing that we all impact us in different ways. Pleasant memories give us a feeling of warmth and comfort. Traumatic memories give us sadness and despair. And the memories of people that have long disappeared are the ones that cause us to have both kinds all at once. So when you lose the ones you cherish so much, how exactly would you react? Here, a review of Plastic Memories, an anime that deals with such a hard question with relative success.

Story (7.33/10): Plastic Memories, or Plamemo in the shorthanded version of the name, features a technologically advanced read more
May 15, 2017
Kyoshiro_ (All reviews)
This is my first review. I tried my best to keep this as spoiler-free as possible. I felt compelled to write this because Pla-Memo is my favourite anime and I found it underrated, and the current reviews are also degrading its reputation. I watched Pla-Memo for the first time 3 months ago and after re-watching now I decided to write this review, I haven't changed my mind that this is my overall favourite anime.

Story: 10/10. First of all, the anime perfectly complies with its genres stated. The drama is really great, one can feel it even in the very first episode. Later on, the romance read more
Jan 15, 2021
ha_thats_a_fact (All reviews)
This show was beautiful. I loved it. Nothing was wrong with it. The art was pretty, the story was creative, and amazing, the characters were so sweet, and strong, etc. Nothing was bad, everything was perfect. It was funny at some parts, and very sad at some parts. Im so glad I watched this, and you guys should watch it too. I was a big crybaby when I watched it. Its a 10/10 for me, this show was an inspiration. Please guys, check this show out, you will fall in love with it, because it is one of the best romances ever.
Oct 26, 2019
20DollarBJ (All reviews)
I'm going to be short and to the point: It's entertaining and gut-wrenching at the same time, like a rollercoaster ride that actually ends properly instead of throwing you off a cliff and slap a 'to be continued' arrow sign on top of the freeze-frame.

If you want to immerse yourself into a short and bittersweet lovestory, this is it. There's no contradicting plot points nor convoluted character developement. Although there are some inappropriate jokes here and there, I see them as tension breakers that reminds you "this ain't some School Days trash, we aren't gonna stab your heart til it's mush... yet"

Predictable story? No shit read more
May 13, 2015
ziroks (All reviews)
Preliminary
I had high hopes for anime with this idea, but seeing how things are going its not looking good.
the company that our main character is working for is completely incompetent and would never work in real life what so ever. My case in point is their lack of a manual, a lack of a tour and explanation of their product and how things work to the new employes.
I can forgive the main character for not knowing anything about the giftia but for a company to not even have a manual for its new employes to read and find out how the giftia function and what read more
Jan 18, 2020
Reapercodbo3 (All reviews)
I feel like this is a rather underrated anime. People watch the first episode of this and do away with it because they feel like they already know how it’s going to end. I believe that despite this, it should still be watched through completely because this anime is filled with a lot of emotion and doesn’t have a bad or bull sh*t ending. Anyone who rated it a 7 or below should probably rewatch it and see that it’s not as flawed as they believe.

Story: (9.5/10)
I found the story of this anime rather interesting and unique. Imagine knowing the exact time that a loved read more
Jun 28, 2015
MangakaNotlora (All reviews)
Often times, anime becomes an effective outlet for limitless fictional worlds, ones that reach out far beyond the norm to accurately portray the original vision of the worlds' creators. Often times, these worlds suffer from being too complicated, too busy and too cluttered with the many ideas that have no place in a twelve or thirteen episode run. Often times, these twelve or thirteen episodes are the cause to many, many headaches of mine.
And yet, Plastic Memories has me missing those headaches, the ones spawned from such an expansive world, because this is something Plastic Memories has failed to explore.

While the anime provides an interesting read more