Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Binan Koukou Chikyuu Boueibu LOVE!


Alternative Titles

English: Cute High Earth Defense Club LOVE!
Japanese: 美男高校地球防衛部LOVE!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2015 to Mar 25, 2015
Premiered: Winter 2015
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:40 (JST)
Producers: Sotsu, Pony Canyon
Licensors: Ponycan USA
Studios: Diomedea
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.001 (scored by 22,930 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #37962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1590
Members: 61,882
Favorites: 496

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2015
somaisbatman (All reviews)
I've noticed a trend with myanimelist. Works of anime that act as parodies of genres are often taken way too seriously and get poor overall ratings. Binan, which we will henceforth refer to as Magical Boys, suffered this treatment as well. Up until the final episode aired, this show was stuck with a 6.7 rating. Does it really deserve this little? Nope, it's actually one of the best things that aired this winter.

Story: 7/10
Magical Boys is very cyclical up until the very end, and I think that's why it turned a lot of people off initially. For the most part, it uses a fight-of-the-week setup, read more
Mar 24, 2015
swirrlix (All reviews)
"The Magical Boy Anime." I remember seeing the announcement for this show on my Tumblr dashboard and thinking, "This show is going to be a mess, I want to see how bad this show is." Spoiler alert: it wasn't bad at all, actually pretty great in fact.

STORY:
The story revolves around a very set pattern, every episode the bad guys create a new monster, the Battle Lovers have some sort of conflict within themselves, and they solve it while defeating the monster "with love!" While this may seem like it would get boring after the first couple episodes, I found myself enticed every week. I knew read more
Mar 27, 2015
rampao (All reviews)
I don't always write a review, but when I do, it's for THE Magical Boys anime, Binan Kokou Chikyuu Bouei-bu! Love! (Handsome High Earth Defense Club! Love!)

I first saw this anime as a recommendation to another anime that I've recently watched, and I was aghast upon seeing bishounens wearing frilly clothes and magic wands. Then my heart skipped a beat. Could it be? Yes! It is! Finally, a Mahou (Bi)Shounen anime! I quickly went to Youtube and searched for their transformations, and for the next few minutes, I found myself laughing and shaking my head at the ridiculous scene that followed.

At first, I was read more
Mar 24, 2015
chesudesu (All reviews)
Cute High Earth Defense Club LOVE! is a parody on the mahou shoujo genre. The elements it mocks are obvious and the characters actually acknowledge it - unlikely heroes flashily transforming into their ridiculous costumes with out-of-this-world powers battling monsters-of-the-week while upholding their valiant virtues of love and friendship. As a quirky deconstruction of the style, the series manages to pull it off with as few hitches as possible.

Even the construction of the episodes is a parody. It is all in the episodic nature of the monster-of-the-week ploy, leaving a few hints of the over-all plot until unveiling it, albeit slowly, in last few episodes, read more
Jun 12, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu LOVE!, contrary to its name, showcases a lot of hate, or at the minimum, dislike. Be it those around you or a pair of chopsticks, the show demonstrates that people often have those aspects of life that somehow seem to rub us the wrong way. Personally speaking, I’m not too fond of the Beatles’ music. Their style just doesn’t do anything for me. But where negative emotions are found, there is always positive thinking just around the corner. That is, if nothing else, the show provides us with the message that “all read more
Mar 26, 2015
Crez (All reviews)
Are you sick of the magical girls formula?
Have you asked the obvious questions like "Why doesn't anyone recognize them?" while watching Sailor moon?

If you have then THIS is the best possible anime you could watch!

(Something went wrong when I posted this and it cut off midway, this is the edited and completed version ^^)

Story:
5 fairly bored guys go to Binan high school and have club together called the "Earth defense club "lol"" where they do practically nothing. One day when two of the guys are taking a bath at a local bath house they regularly visit, when a pink fluffy animal that looks like read more
Mar 29, 2015
KingKestrel (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show really experimented with everything...Animation, story telling, how much it could get away with in terms of inappropriate.

There was really only one stand out charcter and even then I don't rember the names but that doesn't really matter too much (to me anyway) One thing i did like about the characters was......

I'm sorry this is too difficult to keep serous so i'm just going to list what this show has to offer.

Fourth wall breaks, Mechs, Wombats, Gay undertones, cheesy attack names that just get worse as the show goes along, forgettable characters and some of the strangest monsters I have ever seen. read more
Jun 25, 2015
daidaiyu (All reviews)
Just as what everyone has said about Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu LOVE!, it is a parody of Mahou Shoujo or Majokko anime. However, if you think that you have already watch a lot of this things that you think Binan Koukou will only bore you out, chances are, you are very wrong.

Story:
The story has the normal plot that every Mahou Shoujo has, except that the "Magical Girls" that are acting it are actually boys. Every episode has the 'Typical life of the characters and introduction of enemy (+Fanservice)-Transformation-Battle-Conclusion' pattern, however this anime succeeds in letting the viewers be hooked until the end by well-thought-out enemies, read more
Apr 7, 2015
BlobbertMcN (All reviews)
There are great anime, there are bad anime, and there is Binan. There are anime with great twists, anime with contrived plots, and there is Binan. There are anime with well developed characters, boring one dimensional characters, and there is Binan.
Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu LOVE! (Or Binan, if you haven't gotten that already) is an amazing anime. I don't mean amazing as in 'good', I mean amazing as in that you will be amazed. However this anime was possibly spawned, whatever stars aligned to get us here today, I am very VERY happy that I watched this. This is certainly a polarizing anime, everyone I've read more
Mar 24, 2015
PhantomL (All reviews)
I mostly started watching this show as it looked cute with the nice magical boys and I need something fun amongst some of the more serious shows I was watching that season.
The show was mostly great fun and almost 'parodied' the whole magical girl genre throughout due to fourth-wall breaking statements and running gags in the show. While it isn't a show with a great story, it is really good if you need something cute, fun and wacky

Story: 5
I gave it this as there isn't really much of a story. The story was mostly every week the 'battle lovers' would face a wacky villain which read more
Jan 19, 2016
Lunalun (All reviews)
Binan - or Magical Boy anime - whatever name you may prefer, something where we can actually say it's "new"...kind of. Still Binan turned out to be very different from what I was initially expecting, which is a good thing.

Story: In the beginning it uses a "every week a new enemy/mission" style. Later there is more story development and it actually does get a little bit deeper. Also it uses parody elements, which you can already see in episode 1 (if you just want to try watching it)

Art: The art is...well...normal, I guess? It is nothing special but also not bad. The colours are read more
May 17, 2015
allegrotime (All reviews)
The concept of this show is that it is a parody of the magical girl genre. To anime fans familiar with all of the common tropes found in the genre, this show really did an excellent job with its outlandish, wonderfully wacky and accurate satire. It proved to be very entertaining in a silly way, and the hilarious comedic delivery was great. If you aren't familiar with the tropes of magical girl shows I would skip this one, as the jokes and over-the-top occurrences may fall flat for some viewers. I think this show very successfully did what it set out to do- and that read more
May 24, 2015
BirdBird (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Why did Gora-san... He was standing there quietly all this time. Why did he decide to start moving again now?"
"That's the kabuki rule! When the camera's rolling, everyone else stops moving. Until the speaker's done with their lines, they must stand quietly. More precisely, they're incapable of moving!"

Now that's what I call an accurate parody of all action anime, not just the magical girl genre!
---

'Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu LOVE!' pokes fun at a lot of tropes: anime character 'types', inexplicable shounen-ai shenanigans, talking animals, pointless slice-of-life dialogue, and, obviously, the magical girl genre (including the obligatory speeches about love, as well as silly attack and read more
Jul 31, 2015
Ferria (All reviews)
This was a masterpiece, simply put.. lol

The first episode left me gleefully giggling from one end to the other; the moment you see pretty boys transforming in fluffy frilly costumes with magical powers, sparkles and hearts, yes.. I just couldn't stop laughing.

12 Episodes was just perfect. A second season wouldn't be needed, each episode was put in flawlessly. This is not your typical mahou shoujo anime. Mahou shounen? It has a few cute fluffy moments with very minor shounen ai, but nothing intimate. Simply enjoyable.

It teaches quite a lot of morale values. Friendship, forgiveness etc, the whole package. So this is definitely something you read more
Jun 24, 2015
7sheryl7 (All reviews)
First review! Thought I'd like to do this anime some justice :)

Story: 8/10
The story was fairly engaging and kept me hooked through all 12 episodes. Boueibu follows a general "Monster of the Week" kind of idea, no different from the 'stereotypical' type of mahou shoujo anime. Each episode and each monster defeated provides a lesson to be learnt by the audience.(Though it's a REAL STRETCH sometimes (the other characters point it out and all too)) However, it also has a running plot which i guess centers around the friendship they have with each other. Especially Kinshiro and Atsushi of course. So yeah, nothing too special read more
May 26, 2015
BAMitzEvil (All reviews)
Okay, so with this anime I had a lot of hype going in. I had seen many magical Girl animes, from Madoka Magica to Tokyo Mew Mew, so I was excited to see what they would bring with a magical boys twist.

I was extremely disappointed.

The story is a the same as any magical girl anime, they just change it to that they're boys and everyone freaks out saying it's revolutionary, which ticks me off a little as the writing is a side walk from Sailor Moon.

The characters were bland and mediocre and sure they would have their odd moment here and read more
Aug 7, 2015
mayo134 (All reviews)
I want to note that the humor used for the most part in this show, is meta humor a.k.a. meta-joke, it is not just a simple parody. Meta humor is a lot less known then a lot of other humor. These are either jokes and a joke or jokes within a joke. As it is less known and not as "mainstream", I can see why the jokes are under-appreciated. If you don't like the meta humor concept, then this shows humor may not appeal to you. As, it does seem to be self-referential and like a typical magical girl series with how color coded and read more
Mar 4, 2018
LeaOotori (All reviews)
Before you get any ideas, I will tell you this: THIS SHOW IS A PARODY.

This is meant to poke fun at magical girl shows, but not in a mean way, so I don't see a point in getting riled up about it.

The story is episodical and has a different villain/fight every episode, all of which basically go down the same way. It all seems very stupid until the plot twist at the end of the series. There's also a great deal of other plot surrounding the main fight plot, so you can always indulge in that. It's laid out very similarly to Miraculous Ladybug, read more
Mar 13, 2016
whiteteeth (All reviews)
I started watching this expecting a male version of the pretty cure series. I was in the humor for cliches and silly jokes, and a not very deep story... and i did get that, and so much more. I wasn't expecting to enjoy this as much as i did.

This show isn't advertised as such, but no matter what they tell you it IS an spoof/parody of magical girl and shounen ai genres, and fanservice for ladies. That doesn't make it less enjoyable, it actually make it become really refreshing.

The five main characters are a bunch of highschoolers with different stereotypical genre personality traits (the cute read more
Mar 19, 2016
SairasKR (All reviews)
I was excited to see this anime the first time I've heard of it, and honestly I wasn't disappointed. This isn't an anime that's supposed to be taken seriously, and to be honest I don't know why so many people reviewed this badly when all the anime does is to make fun of the cliches prevalent in anime, and that they could not see it.

It is a satirical parody of the magical girl genre. I get that parodies aren't for everyone, but for me, if well done, they are a hit for me, and I couldn't stop laughing watching this one. It contains a lot read more