Baby Steps 2nd Season
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Baby Steps Second Season
Japanese: ベイビーステップ 第2シリーズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2015 to Sep 20, 2015
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:30 (JST)
Producers: NHK
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Genres: SportsSports, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.121 (scored by 3886638,866 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #3942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1623
Members: 66,068
Favorites: 287

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 17, 2015
ittou_shura (All reviews)
"I used to think Maruo was the insecure type who isn't capable of having big dreams. But that's not right. He's the type to have countless smaller dreams that he can achieve perfectly, one by one. They may be small individually, but as they keep coming true, they quickly become one huge dream."

Baby Steps is a realistic, mentally engaging sports anime. It's well paced and subtle in its delivery of drama and romance, preferring to focus on the physical and mental aspects of playing tennis. The show has a good use of inner-monologues to display realistic and intriguing thought processes of each character throughout the read more
Jan 27, 2016
MAND4 (All reviews)
Baby Steps oftentimes gets praised for being one of the most realistic sport anime out there. This point stems from the fact that all the moves MC pulls out are thought out and explained in a rather elaborate manner, and we see everyone, not just main character, struggle to get better match after match. Yet, everyone seems to forget that Eichiro - as talented and as gifted as he may be - has only been playing tennis for so long. If you wish to thread the line of realism, it's impossible for him to beat people who have been playing tennis their whole lives.

On read more
Sep 20, 2015
Revenir (All reviews)
I've only done review for poor shows so now here's a good one. After the experiencing the incredibly strange and very disappointing Prince of Tennis, I was hesitant to pick up another tennis series. But after marathoning a slightly slow but promising first season, I continue into the even better second season of Baby Steps

Story and Characters:
Maruo Eiichiro continues on his path to professional tennis, having only just started playing 2 years previously. Maruo goes to THE LAND OF THE FREE, to do some training and improve. The show keeps things interesting and continues to show how he grows and improves at the sport. In read more
Oct 20, 2015
Shiro_shi (All reviews)
An Almost Too Deep Vision of Tennis Hinders Character Development.

Story - 8
Story and characters go hand in hand. What helps or hurts one can also help or hurt the other. This story follows a "I must get better to win" concept that is at the competitive heart of most sports anime.

What it tries to do, it does well, but it doesn't try to do enough. The knowledge of tennis I gained from watching is really incredible. I went from knowing almost nothing to really understanding on a deep level what actual pros might think about during a match.

There are enough surprises and changes of pace read more
Sep 24, 2015
treebornkettlgrl (All reviews)
First time review, and I'm only doing this to get something off my chest, really.

Baby Steps really pulled me in during the first season. It was great to see a sports anime that had a more realistic vibe to it, unlike some I've seen. The characters are all likeable; protagonist, antagonists, supporting characters. The plot is clear, and easy to follow without it getting too convoluted by sub-plots and the like. A very solid story. The reason I'm giving it an overall score of 7 is because it left me feeling like more needed to happen.

Story: 9
The story gets a solid 9 from me. Mauro read more
Nov 15, 2015
NelsonFerreira19 (All reviews)
I am not a native english, but i will try my best to express my thoughts.

To be honest, I thought I wasn't going to like this anime as much as i did. If you have seen some sports anime, you know that generically the MC is overpower from the start or maybe he has a great capacity of growth, and eventually he will accomplish his main goal in a near future. Don´t get me wrong, it doesn´t make them bad, and some of them are really amazing. However, baby steps´s main character, is weak and loses frequently, which makes this series REALISTIC. Besides, it isn´t read more
Dec 18, 2015
FurankuSan (All reviews)
There are some things in my Baby Step's 1st Season that I am not going to mention again here. If you haven't seen this show, I recommend you read my first season's review here:
http://myanimelist.net/reviews.php?id=205243


This season is way better. Comparing this season to it's previous season, you can see a vast improvement in terms of story and character development. The beginning of this season shows the start of Maruo's training in Florida. It starts of slow, but the thrill of tennis kicks in this season.

The first season tennis matches weren't that thrilling, but the thrill is really found on this season. I am impressed on how read more
Feb 6, 2020
Flameling (All reviews)
Paced quickly, nothing ever lingers or over stays its welcome. This season maximizes the set-up and progression of the main characters to it's fullest, putting them in situations where they bounce off nicely each other or where they can show growth that feels earned after season one. It's everything a second season should be.

But apart from how it relates to the first season, it's own achievements are worth mention. For a 25 episode show, characters never looked off model and animation remained smooth in most all moments. The season introduces many new characters, some that feel like are set up for a third season. read more
Mar 7, 2016
IndexXx (All reviews)
Yoshi!... Is what I like to say but I can't. The second series is a total fiasco in my opinion considering how good the first series was. So what made me decide that the anime is a letdown? First of all, a lot of things happened in this series that you wish they didn't do through out the story. They gave short back story to all the supporting characters except for the female MC which I find very boring since they decided to put romance on it. They should at least put an episode for the character instead of giving them all to the male read more
Sep 24, 2015
walker6 (All reviews)
Baby Steps is my favorite pure sports anime.

I really do not write reviews ever (this is my first time writing a review on MAL as well) so I am just going to do a short write up talking about why this is my favorite one.

Baby Steps is about big payoffs, watching the show you start slowly. With each step of progress the main character (Maruo) makes you can feel the weight of that step immensely because of the time and buildup leading up to that moment. The title speaks for itself, it's about Maruo's journey from being a novice at tennis to getting better through read more
Oct 20, 2017
Widdall (All reviews)
Who knew tennis could be so riveting? The first season of Baby Steps was pretty good but I found season two even better. Ei-chan has a great character progression from a boring reserved teenager into a passionate tennis player and we really see the fruition of it in this season.

The side characters are also endearing and I found myself rooting for man. The tennis battles are fantastic and created tension in me I haven't felt since I last watched Kaiji and the almost every player Maruo faces is well developed and feels like a real character with their own goals. Perhaps the strongest aspect read more