Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Show By Rock!!


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: SB69
Japanese: SHOW BY ROCK!!(ショウ・バイ・ロック!!)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2015 to Jun 21, 2015
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Game
Genres: Comedy, Music
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.121 (scored by 16,529 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32652
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1717
Members: 52,309
Favorites: 279

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 21, 2015
Veronin (All reviews)
Man, I really wanted to like Show By Rock.

There was something quite special about it for a short time. It strayed very much on the 'simple' side of entertainment, confident more in the cuteness of its cast than anything else, but damn, it worked. It brought me the same sort of joy I felt back in the Middle Ages when K-ON first started airing. But, as seems to be the trend with most anime, it decided to abandon everything it did well and instead shoehorn in a cheesy, boring action story that the characters were obviously not meant to be a part of. Great. read more
Jun 21, 2015
Joel-Baxter (All reviews)
This anime season has given us many great anime to choose from Show by rock has not really been discussed at all or if it has then very little as the season is shortening and alot of the anime in the season are ending it is only right to say I believe show by rock!! is one of the most underrated anime of the entire season.

The story is kinda weird in the beginning but then everything else is something you probably cannot predict it is fun, super nutty and a really easy watch that is worth it. Girl tries to join a band but with read more
Jun 26, 2015
KimchiHydralisk (All reviews)
Edit: Some changes have been made to the score now that the show has been finished. When reading this review, expect to see a few spoilers.

After 12 episodes of good ol' rock, I can confidently say that Show By Rock has been a very good watch this season. To show an example of what kind of anime it's like, imagine a quirky moe anime that turned out surprisingly fun to watch despite being a bit weirder than other shows of the same category. It's as if you're watching a bizarre fairy tale incorporating catchy rock and cute girls without becoming read more
Aug 11, 2015
Vampirizian (All reviews)
Hey!

I picked up Show By Rock!! on accident.
I decided, after the very first episode, that it was an extremely happy accident, not to be ignored in the least.
Show By Rock!! is a quirky, wacky, sometimes just plain silly anime about a girl who gets trapped in a magical, musical world with the goal of exterminating the "shadow monsters". Leaving out the talking guitar, cat ears, alien sheep, and the music, you might think you should take this anime seriously.
Don't.
I warned you.
Even the first episode has an alternate theme song animation that tricks you into thinking it's a K-ON clone. It really isn't.

My Reactions To read more
Jun 21, 2015
SkyNoHoshi (All reviews)
Rock and roll, it is always a genre that lots of people get excited about. But what if I were to mash rock and moe? We probably have some anime that got this kind of crossover, one example being the famous K-On series. This season has one anime covered for this crossover, and you may like it a lot if you are into both things.

Show By Rock!! is based of a rhythmic video game aimed for the male audience. Its anime is produced by Bones, which was honestly shocking when I researched on its production staff months ago. I never thought that Bones has done read more
Jul 19, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

There’s this game series that is pretty popular, or at least, it was during its heyday. This video game is called “Guitar Hero.” I was never a music guy myself – I couldn’t play brass instruments, the “cool” drums, or jam out on an acoustic. But I had “Guitar Hero,” where playing was simpler, screw-ups were okay, and I got to have fun with a whammy bar. I got so good at the game that I managed to beat “Through the Fire and Flames,” considered one of the best “boss battles” in gaming history. I was read more
Jun 23, 2015
sinsoo (All reviews)
I am honestly not sure how to describe this series. It's like magical girl idols, meet cyberpunk setting, plus a decent amount of fan service. It's definitely unique and it could of been wonderful, but I felt as if the series fell short of all expectations I had.

To put it simply, there was no way the writers could of adequately fit in everything they wanted to cover in twelve episodes. There were many plot twists that made zero sense, and had very little explanation. I found a lot of it to be shallow and not well developed. The series' ending was bland and only made read more
Jun 21, 2015
somaisbatman (All reviews)
You gotta be careful with animes based off of Android phone games, and Show By Rock is one of them. I've never played the game, so I went into this show blind. Did it live up to its potential? Well, I don't really know its potential, so the real question is, was it any good? The answer: eh.

Story: 6
Stop me if you've heard this one: some nerd girl is too beta to join her school's band, and then her phone absorbs her and transports her to musical furry hell, where she's a lolita catgirl. She joins a band with some other furries, and they read more
Jun 22, 2015
Duztie (All reviews)
Now, when you first look at this anime you'll think how is this different than any other "Music animes" Well here let me tell you a little story.


When i first started watching this series my thoughts were, how can this compete with for example Love Live! School idol project, since that was the first "Music Anime" i watched, (i think?) Well let me tell you something, I was wrong. I can't compare it.

Show by rock is about a girl named Cyan, who is terrified of everything and everyone, her self-confidence is -10, what we get in this anime is the character development of Cyan read more
Sep 12, 2018
Timz0r (All reviews)
Studio Bones, known for One Punch Man, Boku No Hero Academia, Wolf's Rain, Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood and many more well known anime titles, gave us in Spring 2015 us diabetes for your ears and your eyes in the form of a cute anime show called 'Show By Rock!!'

This anime is an anime adaptation of the rhythm video game developed and published by Geechs for iOS and Android devices and is basicly a show filled with music and fanservice in the form of moe diabetes level from Plasmagica and manliness from ShinganCrimsonZ. We have our main character; Cyan that BECOMES a catgirl in Gothic Lolita fashion read more
Mar 27, 2018
Banyana (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is such a blessing, I can't believe I'd never heard of it before spotting it on some 'top ten X' list.

Pro Tip: It doesn't take itself seriously, and neither should you.

This is an anime where one band has a member described as 'the only sane one' (an understatement) and another band with two 'aliens'. Both bands are managed by an egg in a suit, who can only be calmed by being 'whipped' by his well-endowed assistant. Together, they must save the world through the power of music, friendship, and cliched plot devices reworked to be charmingly insane and goofy.

SbR! makes read more
Oct 27, 2015
theinternetloner (All reviews)
I gave this show 7.8/10, which is about a C. I liked this show. It reminded me a bit of K-On!, as both were centered around a band and the friendships within the band that grow overtime. This show, of course, has a lot shorter of a run time than K-On!, so it was not able to get in nearly as much as character and relationship development, which is unfourtuneate, but not necessary. The show's ending felt complete; it didn't feel like the main plot needed to go further or that it was cut short. However, I though there was a lot of things that read more
Jul 19, 2015
xgreeneyednekox (All reviews)
When this show aired, I must be sincere, I thought it was too cute and "stupid" for my liking; I generally thought that it would be a waste of time, yet I heard some of the music of the show and I decided to give it a try nonethless since I never really watched any idol based anime. Well, I was not exactly disappointed, but I'm going to develop it further below.

Story: 6

It was nothing breathtaking, quite linear and simple, though slightly deep; it had something that just made me come back to watch more. It was cute, fun and easy to follow. read more
Jul 4, 2015
xana_lee (All reviews)
Better than most of the music anime I've seen. 12 episodes usually make for a good short and sweet story instead of a stretched out, prolonged one.

I went into watching the first episode of this anime blind. I didn't know it was based off a game so I was pretty confused why there were cgi scenes out of nowhere. I had no prior knowledge of this series so I also didn't know the characters would be turned into these miniature furry chibis. But they were pretty cute. Visually the cgi scenes were the best.

I felt the pacing was kind of slow sometimes and really only read more
Sep 29, 2016
Kyubey2016 (All reviews)
Preliminary
when i try to watch a anime,i want to see a 2d characters,not a dreamworks 3d kids garbage,its really innesesary to put the goddamn 3d characters,the girls are ok,the desing of the city is good,but the problem,is the "yaoi" male jrock band who i dont remenber these names sorry there are so looking gay and their voices makes me ears bleeding when starts singing,its so ugly! irritating! these guys and the 3d moments makes this anime unwatchable,and the story.....a girl who enter in a unknown world of music who everyday its nightime,sounds cool,but the last two thing who i has mentioned,makes him to go to read more
Jun 28, 2015
BeatlesPkmnFan42 (All reviews)
As a fan of the game, I was very excited for this anime to air. I got into the game not too long ago, in February, but in the two months from when I started playing and the anime's first episode, I was hyped.

Only to be disappointed. It's a good series overall, but as a game fan it let me down several times. The AU plot was okay, but my god, did they rush it. 12 episodes was not enough time to give all the characters the development they needed, and many plot points were rushed. Chuchu's in particular comes to mind, I had been read more
Jun 3, 2016
Areeta9 (All reviews)
Okay, Show By Rock!!....What do I say about this anime....

I have to say, it's a bit of a disappointment. I picked up this show because one day out of the blue I had an extreme craving for an idol anime and lo and behold I found this. It also has people with animal traits so at the time, it was a bonus.

Let's start with the story. Girl who loves music ,but is too shy to join the school band gets sucked into another world which allows her for the chance to get into a band. Being sucked into another world has been done plenty of read more
Jul 3, 2015
Jun98 (All reviews)
what?
What just happened?
That was it???
no, no, no, no, no , NO!

The songs that were played were nice and the characters were nice (Although it is the typical nonsense kind of personalities)
The decisions they made really didn't make any sense; I mean it suits the series but it kind of makes the viewers do a faceplam sometimes when watching the show.....

It is defiantly for people who wanted to listen to the music cause the storyline was rushed and it feels like a big faceplam....

The music I must say was great tho!
Aug 29, 2015
Firechick12012 (All reviews)
Ever since K-On's success, there have been a huge surge in both slice-of-life anime featuring cute girls doing mundane things and anime where boys or girls try to get into the music scene. They say imitation is the greatest form of flattery. However, this isn't always a good thing, as there's a lot that can go wrong, such as companies making rip-offs or copies of said show, focusing too much on fanservice and doing what K-On did rather than actually having a decent story, characters, and conflict, or standing out on its own merits. If creators try too hard to copy other works, they won't read more
Mar 1, 2016
InnocentFujoshi (All reviews)
WARNING: MIGHT CONTAIN SPOILERS
I mostly give animes a 10/10 because i could easily enjoy any anime and this is one of them.
I must says, this was really cute, I haven't seen any moe-moe animes in a awhile and this was the one that got me. I usually wouldn't cosplay something I don't like, however I'm planning to cosplay Cyan from this show. I cringed when Cyan went back to her place, to which I really hope that there will be a second season, and it seems it will!
The story was cute. Like any normal Magical Girl anime, they start with a clumsy or 'usagi-like'(sailor read more