Hellsing
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Hellsing
Japanese: Hellsing [ヘルシング]

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 11, 2001 to Jan 17, 2002
Premiered: Fall 2001
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Fuji TV, Pioneer LDC
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, HorrorHorror, SupernaturalSupernatural, VampireVampire, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.531 (scored by 253734253,734 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #15552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #159
Members: 470,913
Favorites: 5,383

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 9, 2009
thekindamad (All reviews)
Hellsing is my favorite manga of all time. It combines a fun story, memorable characters, quirky humor, stylish art, and unrelenting gore and brutality all into one little paper back graphic novel.
So naturally, you'd think that the manga would make an awesome anime. Well, Chiaki J. Konaka and Umanosuke Iida thought so too and took it upon themselves to make an anime based off the popular series. In many ways, they succeeded. But they also failed...

The anime was released in 2001, long before the manga series would be complete. So they were forced to come up with their own story, completely unrelated to the read more
Oct 21, 2008
Maur (All reviews)
DISCLAIMER:
If you are a "Hellsing fanboy", ignore this review as it will probably fill you with murderous rage. That being said... Hellsing is the kind of series not meant to be taken seriously, at all. If you like stories about vampires and find random violence cool and fun then this may be right up your alley. If you enjoy effortless entertainment with no real depth and no thought required, then stop here and just skip my review. However if you know what kind of anime you like, and are curious to see if Hellsing may or may not be for you, the following criticisms may read more
Jun 24, 2009
JesuOtaku_ (All reviews)
On the technical side of things, Hellsing has major major issues. Gonzo is famous for prioritizing its projects from lavish budgets to zippo budget. Guess which one Hellsing got? Character designs are hideous outside of the main cast, backgrounds are so bland and unappealing that it’s almost impossible to tell where you are at any given moment, I could go on but just know that Hellsing is often painful to watch, color choice being its largest detriment. The palette in Hellsing produces a plastic, bile-colored result with skin tones on some characters that makes humans look less vivid than the undead.

The folksy rock-metal music read more
Feb 19, 2007
Gendo (All reviews)
Heavy on style and very dark, the devilishly cool Hellsing is one of the hippest animes I've seen in the past half-decade. Oozing coolness, it's excellent musical score and characters hook you in, and the story keeps you interested enough to watch all the way through.

The characters look fantastic....some times. The animation ranges from flawless to sub-standard and is wildly incosistent, which is sad considering the character designs are amazing. The entire look of a character will change from frame to frame, which can be really jarring, but the big fight scenes all look great.

Music is always important to an anime (or at least read more
Aug 24, 2008
Solivonyx (All reviews)
Story - 6

Hellsing could have done so much more with the material it was working with. Not to say that the story was bad, far from it, but it failed to elaborate and strengthen its plotline enough to really be immersed into it. There was even a setup for a huge conflict between the vatican and the Hellsing corp., that was reduced to almost nothing. I suppose with only 13 episodes you can only expect so much. The story score for Hellsing is a 6.

Art - 8

The art in hellsing is just dark enough just red enough to give it a very vampiric feel. Considering read more
Apr 7, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
My friends... it has often been said that I like war. My friends, I like-wait, what do you mean the Major isn't in Hellsing? Oh wait, this is the 2001 version that doesn't follow the manga. You know, I'm not a huge fan of Hellsing 2001. It's not because I think that Hellsing 2001 is bad, but rather it's just so painfully mediocre (even for its time). Yes, Hellsing 2001 has a certain charm to it but it has NOT aged well at all and in comparison to Hellsing Ultimate, you'd have to be a madman to even want to consider giving this a shot.

Let's read more
Oct 31, 2014
HelghastKillzone (All reviews)
Years ago, before I seriously got into anime and kept up with shows on a weekly basis, I had little knowledge of anime outside of Sailor Moon, Gundam Wing and whatever FOXKids decided to show. There was a program called WINAMP which served as the basis for my media needs and also had a neat little function for internet streaming. Among the various streams, was an anime channel that had, you guessed it, Hellsing playing on repeat and that's how I got into this little show. Produced by Studio Gonzo in 2001, Hellsing would be the darkest and edgiest show that I have watched read more
Sep 23, 2009
SamFury (All reviews)
Super-Freak

London is burning. The metaphorical mouth of hell has yawned open letting Vampires run amok on the streets to desecrate the sanctity of humans. They pillage and plunder about in the wake of blood, bathing in the high it gives them. Sometimes all one can do is let the Vampire's dagger-like fangs penetrate his or her rosy flesh, letting their souls and bodies become twisted images of man, ghouls, the mindless servants of the children of the night.

London is burning... is there no one to protect us from the darkness? Hellsing follows the story of Nosferatu Alucard and Seras Victoria, his newly minted vampire slave read more
Nov 15, 2007
Phill-z (All reviews)
Ah Hellsing. The 13 episode anime that REALLY needs to be 24 episodes. Usually I find 24 episode plots to be kind of boring, they need to go somewhere and their storylines kind of sag. 12-14 episode long ones need to have good stories, and they usually accomplish this. Hellsing unfortunately, does not. Hellsing was the second anime I ever watched, right after Elfen Lied, and it was the first one that I actually bought. When I first watched it I was blown away at how awsome it is, was. But when I watched it again I was slightly read more
Feb 24, 2011
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
When I think of "Hellsing", the word "stylish" and "badass" come to mind. With its music, its characters and its animation, "Hellsing" is a series that oozes style and badassery from its every pore. Ok, the story may not be incredible (to be frank, the story telling is a bit of a mess), but hey, if you've come "Hellsing" expecting to served up a great story, then someone must have grossly misinformed you of the nature of the show. "Hellsing" is all about kicking ass, vampires, vampires kicking ass, and er, vampires getting their ass kicked. What it lacks in story, it makes up for read more
Jan 30, 2007
engelmetzger (All reviews)
I was very excited about Hellsing before I even watched it. I had seen a preview for the series on the Armitage dvd, which had me pscyhed up from all the blood and carnage that was advertised. Then...I saw the series. My initial response was "Wow this is really really good. Not the best, not the worst. But definately a solid series." This was my attitude regarding Hellsing all the way up until the last several episodes. It was at this point that my interest in the series took somewhat of a plunge. I love vampires. And I love vampire hunters. But this series introduced read more
Oct 4, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

There are rare times when the anime is actually better than the original manga. This is NOT one of those times.

Plot: 3/10

Even the vastly superior Hellsing Ultimate had a VERY stupid plot and is not exactly a literary masterpiece. It is Count Dracula fighting Nazi vampires and an insane Catholic military force. The reason it is a great show is that it does NOT take itself seriously. It is balls to the wall action and insanity that is supposed to be so stupid its awesome. The writer and mangaka of Hellsing, Kouta Hirano, has never read a classic book in his life. He is an read more
Jan 21, 2011
RAMsonab (All reviews)
The anime Hellsing, while based off the manga (of the same name) by Hirano Kouta, is without a doubt to be viewed in its own right. The manga itself I have only recently started, and from first impressions, the two have very different atmospheres. I however will be talking about the original Hellsing anime from 2001, and not the manga (thus why you, the reader have found this here).

To start, this is quite an enjoyable anime, and while it has many down points, it is not something to pass up. It is directed by Iida Umanosuke and Ono Manabu, as It says in the information read more
Jul 1, 2009
Gekkido (All reviews)
I own both Hellsing's first DVD, Impure Souls as well as the collectors edition which contains the first and the rest of the DVDs. I had no idea what I was going to watch when I purchased both and to be honest, I couldn't be more disappointed.

There is no plot! Yes! That's right! There is no direction as to where the anime is going! Incredible, isn't it? There are characters, which I will talk about later, all of them have a background story which intertwines somehow eventually, there is unquestionably a past which is slowly unveiled (and poorly done, may I add) but the sequences read more
Nov 9, 2009
Sandileina (All reviews)
Now, I actually started this yeeeaaaars ago, shortly after it first came out in, what... 2002, or something? I dropped it after about 5 episodes. I think this had a lot to do with the anime quality, which is typically nineties in animation style and somewhat inconsistent from episode to episode; most notably, the face of Sir Intergra Wingates Hellsing looked different for about a third of the series. That and the fact that I was roughly eleven or twelve at the time, and didn't have the attention span needed to bear with Seras Victoria as she progressed as a character. However, I just rewatched read more
Jul 15, 2014
myronator (All reviews)
Going into a well known vampire anime, my expectations were to see some nice action, decent characters, dark themes and a decent plot. What I ended up seeing was a series that began fulfilling these expectations before completely destroying them.

Hellsing's story is interesting for the first six episodes. The show manages to create a world that is believable and worth investing yourself in. Seras is the new girl learning to find her way, Alucard is the mysterious hero/antihero, Integra is the strongwilled leader and Walter is the butler with many secrets and they're all fighting unknown enemies that appear to be related in some way. read more
Feb 13, 2009
touchmysword (All reviews)
Hellsing is a decent anime, but if you go into it with high expectations, like I did, you might be disappointed.
The first episode starts off pretty promising, but it pretty much goes downhill from there. There are some pretty cool fight scenes throughout, but sometimes they seem to get a bit repetitive. Other than that, I personally, found this series to be dry and boring for the most part. I could empathize with some of the characters to an extant, but I never felt any real connection, and never really got into the story.
I liked the overall concept, but I think a lot more read more
Oct 19, 2007
Darvus_Laan (All reviews)
Ok, imagine if (Vampire Hunter) D were a full-blooded vampire. Now imagine he decided to let go and embrace his dark side. Now, add a small dash of Vash for style (the red suit, yellow glasses, HUGE guns, and unholy accuracy), and you get Alucard, the sadistic anti-hero. His penchant for appearing out of nowhere, creepy laughter, occasional disembodied voice, and ungodly powers make him one of the most terrifying characters in anime. The music the use to introduce him in any particular scene only adds to this...it's almost like discordant ragtime, yet it suits him absolutely perfectly (kinda reminds me of the music used read more
Jun 7, 2012
HonestlyIronic56 (All reviews)
This anime receives an incredible amount of praise for what really isn't that good.

Now let me say, the Hellsing manga is one of the best I've ever read, up there with FMA, Death Note, and Deadman Wonderland.

But this anime is AWFUL.

Story-There are a lot of vampire anime out now (R+V, Blood+, etc.,) but the idea was somewhat new when the series premiered. However, the story in the anime is so drastically different than the manga it's disgusting. It's bland, uninteresting, and is all around unenjoyable. And don't get me STARTED on that ending. It's the worst I've ever seen in an anime.

Art-I like the character read more
Jun 21, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
Taking place in England, an organization named Hellsing which is commanded by Sir Integra Wingates Hellsing, is responsible for protecting the country from supernatural creatures. These creatures happen to be vampires and ghouls. The Hellsing Organization's best weapon is a vampire named Alucard. He battles using supernatural abilities, high powered guns with blessed ammo, and he appears to be immortal. This vampire shows the undead absolutely no mercy when dishing out justice for his master Integra.-summary

There have been numerous stories featuring vampires hunting vampires. I believe Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust told a very good and better story; but Hellsing is unique in its on way, read more