Tsubasa: Tokyo Revelations


Tsubasa RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE: Tokyo Revelations

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Tsubasa RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE: Tokyo Revelations
Synonyms: Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle OVA, Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle: Tokyo Revelations
Japanese: ツバサ TOKYO REVELATIONS

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 3
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 16, 2007 to Mar 17, 2008
Producers: Kodansha
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy, RomanceRomance
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 30 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.301 (scored by 4180241,802 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2362
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1793
Members: 86,364
Favorites: 801

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 23, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
The continuation of the ever-so-great series Tsubasa Chronicle, this OVA (Original Video Animation) series was as good as expected, maybe even better. The group we are familiar with has now entered a Tokyo in which all but two buildings has been destroyed by acid rain. They encounter new people, and as the title suggests, there's some revelations waiting for them as well as anyone who watch this.

I really enjoyed the story. Albeit too rushed: I had trouble understanding at times, though everything's clear now. I think it could've been twice the length it was without really being any worse. Anyway, it was really great, from read more
Jan 23, 2008
Meatbag42 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I actually stumbled on this series by accident. After only watching the first OVA i was enthralled. The characters seemed to be extremely developed and have quite a lot of emotion infused into them, the animation was fluid and believable, the sound was above average, and it definitely kept me entertained.

After finishing what OVAs were out I decided to watch the previous two seasons. This was a bit of a mistake I am sad to say. The TV series is slow and painfully full of filler. Read the manga instead.

The good news is that these OVAs return to the source read more
Jul 1, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
Tsubasa Chronicle's anime experience has been a very rocky one. In spite of staying true to the manga to an extent, the original TV series was shameless in it's amateur art styl, jilted animation, and wholly uneven pacing. Fans got a brief look at something amazing when the short movie came out and wondered, "what if Production I.G. did the canon story of Tsubasa?"

Wonder no more.

Tsubasa Chronicle: Tokyo Revelations is quite literally a godsend, not only for the poor souls that suffered through the uninspired Bee Train adaptation, but also those (myself included) who felt the artwork and pacing for the manga chapters the OVA read more
Mar 20, 2008
GoldenLink (All reviews)
Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles was a great series in and of itself. It was portrayed in the anime in a very hit or miss fashion with the quality and editting. The way Bee Train hurt Tsubasa is the equivalent of what 4kids does to anime here. Be that as it may, we're not talking about the original 2 seasons, i'm here to recommend to you.

Tsubasa Chronicle: Tokyo Revelations

This OAV is astounding. The characters have more development then they did throughout the first two seasons. The art style was more defined, more "Mature" in the scope that Tsubasa truely is. Syaoran simply looked taller, more defined read more
Dec 2, 2008
ShadowBlazer3000 (All reviews)
Let me start off by saying I am among a minority of critics that feels the Anime series is a work of misunderstood genius and I'm probably the only one who's tired of the Bee Train haterz because OCD CLAMP fans can't stand anything that's different from the Manga. That's not to say I don't recognize the flaws in Bee Train's TV anime series, but nothing is with out it's flaws. With Tokyo Revelations being picked up by Production I.G from BEE TRAIN I wasn't sure what to really expect.

That being said I've always been a long Tsubasa fan more so because read more
Jul 16, 2008
brass2themax (All reviews)
Tsubasa Chronicle: Tokyo Revelations did what the rest of the anime series failed to do: be interesting. While the art style is more or less the same, it is obvious in the first few minutes that it has been supplemented with greater detail, some additional special effects here and there, and the animation seems to move more smoothly and remain more "active", versus the all-too-boring and sluggish feel of Tsubasa Chronicle and Tsubasa Chronicle 2nd Season.

Story: 8 - Very Good

We all know the story of Tsubasa Chronicle from the manga, because chances are, if you are not a manga reader, you have not seen this read more
Aug 5, 2008
HeartsDesire (All reviews)
I believe that Tsubasa Chronicle Tokyo Revelations was a fabulous continuation, giving us a clearer insight into the background of all the characters and the plot. For those who are slightly confused while having watched Tsubasa so far, these OVA's are of an extreme help in painting a more 'clearer' picture of the story in general. It explains so much, while still providing us with even MORE surprises to keep our minds wheeling with excitement and curiosity. Compared to the seasons before, the artwork is exceptionally better and I also believe that the climax of the story still has yet to reach its peak. The read more
Apr 7, 2018
OminousWrex (All reviews)
"Be a sadist. No matter how sweet and innocent your leading characters, make awful things happen to them — in order that the reader may see what they are made of".
— Kurt Vonnegut, "Eight Rules for Writing Fiction"

Many might have wondered why Bee Train and NHK failed to adapt the glorious game-changing story arc that is Tokyo in the Tsubasa TV series. But even if you didn't look it up on TVTropes the reason behind this, it's not difficult to tell why NHK (producer of the fluffy and romantic Cardcaptor Sakura) refused to adapt the arc... after you have watched this OVA series. Disclaimer for read more
Mar 2, 2020
RyanSpring (All reviews)
ONLY for those who are already familiar with Tsubasa and even then probably only for those who have read the manga or have done some looking into outside of just watching the anime. Otherwise, you'll have little to no clue what is going on.

It's hard to get plot specific without major spoilers, so I'll keep it generalized. Basically, since this anime was very clearly intended to have a third season and never did, I appreciate CLAMP going ahead and making these to try to compensate. They attack to resolve plot points, they reference characters and concepts hinted at earlier in the anime but never read more
Jun 24, 2010
BabyLuvs2Write (All reviews)
This OVA was absolutely... AMAZING!

It will leave you feeling breathless after seeing everything the characters have to go through.You will have your jaw hanging open, like a fish out of water. And the suspense will have you gripping your seat, wanting to know what happens after. You will be pulling out your hair from frustration by the ending of this. And you WILL be feeling... something after you see some of the revelations found out here.

I didn't expect it to be this good. The first and second season had some slow moments sometimes, and after watching the Tsubasa movie i thought this OVA would be read more
Apr 29, 2015
Kefka1134 (All reviews)
Tsubasa: Tokyo Revelations was pretty special at times, it had the kind of CLAMP magic that you see in various other media by them, such as Magic Knight Rayearth, Cardcaptor Sakura, or even Code Geass.

The kind of annoying thing is it has this spark of imagination that is so often underpowered because it ends up being poured into a conventional kind of gooey cheesy romance.

Moreover, there is a grating sense of disconnectedness fueled by the anime's bizzare relationship to the previous anime, the manga itself, and events in the future, as well as current events, which all do not ever really feel that read more
Jul 20, 2008
Raisheru (All reviews)
Tsubasa Chronicles: Tokyo Revelations is a three part movie
(3 episodes) by CLAMP. It continues the series of tsubasa
chronicles.
Tokyo Revelations reveal many secrets and questions about
the series. Some of it are: The truth behind the other syaoran;
Fye's feelings abou his friends, and what he's willing to sacrifice.
Fei wong Reed's dream, the vampire twins that Seisshiro is hunting
and many more. Avid fans of tsubasa chronicles musn't skip this
movie, you wouldn't understand the root of all this happenings if you
don't watch this. This is where the real story starts.
The movie's episodes are:"The Magician's Message", "The Boy's
Right Eye" and "The Princess' Dream".
I already have a spoiler about this movie read more
Aug 8, 2012
Rianoa (All reviews)
We're not in Kansas anymore.

Pretty much sums up Tokyo Revelations in a sentence, A few minutes in it shows a pile of corpses riddled with arrows and lots of blood stained clothes and Syaoran gets shot through the leg with an arrow. Which is quite a culture shock from the rest of the anime which I don't recall there being any blood in. It's like watching Sesame Street and all of a sudden Big Bird murders everyone and steals their clothes, It's not a gradual transition it changes from family friendly adventure to Macbeth.

Though I did like the darker tone I felt as if it read more
May 26, 2011
shoujokiss7 (All reviews)
As a fan Tsubasa, this was a little too irresistible to keep from picking up. I was pretty happy in the end. If you haven't watched Tsubasa before, or if you don't know much about it (even just having seen the first season), I strongly recommend you don't watch this. There would be very little sense to it, and a lot of piecing together scraps of information.

If you've decided you've seen, or even read, enough Tsubasa, go ahead and keep reading.

The quality of the art is the same as always. While it bothers a few of my friends, I've always gone head over heels read more
Aug 10, 2011
BBHood22 (All reviews)
How can something so simple become so complicated? This will be my first thought while watching Tokyo Revelations...

Main Characters: Sakura, Syaoran, Fai, Kurogane and Mokona

I've finished the 1st and 2nd seasons of TC a very long time ago so it took me a while to recall and to catch up with what the heck is going on here...

Enjoyment - 7/10

Why? There was too much drama... I cannot even decide if this is an X OVA or a Tsubasa Chronicles OVA... it was quite original, yes... since characters from Clamp were shown in every possible way... kinda makes you feel nostalgic but it sometimes steers read more
Mar 28, 2008
Kelpion (All reviews)
In my mind, the animation was better than in the first seasons. I have to admit, that some scenes were unfortunately not able to keep up with the rest (third OVA: Fay looked like a fish desperately longing for air O.o). Nonetheless the storyline was very interesting and not so easy to understand, which I find very exciting.
All in all "Tsubasa Chronicles - Tokyo Revelation" is something, fans should watch while keeping the manga in mind, in which the emotion and drama is portrayed much more intensively. =)
Jun 30, 2014
KurokawaAoi (All reviews)
*CLAP CLAP CLAP, Tsubasa Tokyo Revelations (TTR) Is a masterpiece, this OVA is Dark, mysterious, fucking amazing and something that makes your mind gone insane for some events, fucking events. . .

***Guys, i was trying to not spoil for those who will read this but. . . ALAS! It's verrry hard


Story : it was based of the animation of the MAJOR PLOT TWIST of The whole manga, so hands down for making it go near to the manga itself. The writing style is GREAT

animation : hands down to the animation so awesome, TTR's animation literally knocked down the animation of the anime itself, read more
Dec 9, 2012
mrsKWON (All reviews)
Finally, it is here! The anime adaptation of Tsubasa Chronicle where the first huge revelations of the main plot unfolded.

There’s a long review coming…….

About the STORY
From the title itself, this OVA focuses with some of the important revelations from the original story. When the previous seasons were more on introduction and the adventure part of the story, this sequel was way even greater. In season one and two, there were very few hints about the main plot but not enough to have a clear understanding of the amazing plots of the story. This time, though not all are being revealed, it was the first huge read more
Aug 13, 2009
lorddoomXD (All reviews)
Tsubasa Chronicles: Tokyo Revelations, the continue of one of my absolute FAVOURITE animes of all time. It's also where CLAMP unleashes a "mind-blowing" plot that kicks you in the ass, saying to watch it over and over again.

Story: (10/10)
From the masters of CLAMP, this moved at a slow, but "musical" and beautiful rate. From the OVA however, CLAMP's mind blowing plot came, shocking everyone. It's unmatched story plot, simply unmatched.

Art: (10/10)
Beautiful art, which is entirely copied from the manga. As expected from CLAMP.

Sound: (9/10)
Very unique songs which fit scenes almost flawlessly. They really do play with your emotions, and get you "hyped" up!

Character: (10/10)
Characters are read more
Dec 10, 2008
jayafj (All reviews)
Tokyo Revelations made the two whole season of an already fantastic show seem childish. The story is darker, bloodier and fight scenes even better. Sakura even seemed to have matured and is getting a bit more independent also the four main characters bonds seem to be even deeper than before.

In my opinion Superb!! Plus the crossover characters were an added bonus!