Junketsu no Maria
Maria the Virgin Witch
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Maria the Virgin Witch
Synonyms: Junketsu no Maria: Sorcière de gré, pucelle de force
Japanese: 純潔のマリア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2015 to Mar 29, 2015
Premiered: Winter 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, HistoricalHistorical, MagicMagic, RomanceRomance, FantasyFantasy, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.201 (scored by 4993249,932 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #27902
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #990
Members: 116,954
Favorites: 204

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 11, 2015
TitanAnteus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do not shy away from this title because it has the word Virgin in it's title.

This anime is not about sexual themes, however; sexual themes are relevant. When it comes to telling a cohesive story, many anime fail. They don't have underlying themes, and character motivations are vague for the most part. This is NOT the case for Maria the Virgin Witch. The cast is quite large, but they are introduced in a sensible way and slowly. Each and every character has a reason to exist, and they're motivations make sense. They all contribute to the big picture read more
Mar 30, 2015
Lancehot (All reviews)
TL;DR: An enjoyable fantasy adventure that suffers from an increasingly bad clash between theme & tone as it tries to go from bawdy comedy, to a more serious drama, to a Disney happy ending in the space of twelve episodes. Worth watching, none the less.

Maria the Virgin Witch is an interesting little show. A ecchi, bawdy sex comedy set in France during the 100 Years War that explores issues of war, morality, theology, gender politics, societal values & other quite heavy topics, all through the prism of a teenage girl who wears a swimsuit crossed with a blacksmith apron. That it tries to do so read more
Apr 13, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
I always feel like I’m stepping into gangster territory whenever I bring up my opinions on fictional products about soldiers and anti-war themes. Yeah I know that not even the fans like everything about Full Metal Jacket, but that doesn’t change the feeling that if I ever admitted that it was the film that cemented my hatred for the genre in public, I’ll have more holes put into me than Sergeant Hartman did after he realized that being an asshole can backfire on you massively. Not to mention, what can one possibly say about the products from that genre even if you are a fan? read more
Mar 29, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Junketsu no Maria (Maria the Virgin Witch) is a rather peculiarly interesting show. Whenever the word ‘virgin’ tends to be mentioned, you may think a show is about concentrates on a character with focus on their relationship or perhaps even their journey to be deflowered. But in this series, it’s a whole lot more than that. Junketsu no Maria takes on a set of refreshing concepts with a thought provoking premise to craft a surprisingly deft story.

I have to admit that my expectations coming into this series weren’t high. The manga doesn’t have many chapters while the author’s other works are virtually unknown; read more
Mar 29, 2015
Somebody101 (All reviews)
Maria the Virgin Witch turned out a lot better then I expected it to be despite it being the POV of a female character. This anime was one of my most liked for this season and here's why.
Story: 10
The story takes place around a blonde, stubborn, peace-loving witch who tries to stop any fights that happen near to where she lives, which is in thw middle of a secluded forest. Despite being a stubborn girl, she shows kindness to her few closest friends which encompass a little girl, her summons, and a few others. The story progresses as the Heavens above don't like her meddling read more
Apr 18, 2015
Jane_Kenshin (All reviews)
Why you should watch Junketsu no Maria

So the series started very promising as a fanservice – action packed mahou shoujo one of a kind and I’m fairly happy to say that it disappointed…by NOT being just that. First of all, magical powers aren’t the main topic here and they’re not wildly used like you often see in series of the same genre and it also comes with a price, or rather with a condition which makes things sooo much more interesting.

Maria fights to maintain peace (I know how stupid that sounds) during The Hundred Years' War (1337 – 1453) without actually read more
Jul 14, 2015
ReanSchwarzer (All reviews)
Hello. My name is Naoto, and I will be writing a review for this show. I have come across this show in my forum post, in which I asked for recommendations of anime whose setting takes place in medieval times, preferably with a female main character. I was recommended this anime series, and thus, I watched it in my free time. I am glad that I did, as it is very likely that this is the best series that I have watched, despite the ratings that I have given. This is my very first review so, please, do not hesitate to give me any constructive read more
Mar 28, 2015
Lord_Rutsah (All reviews)
One of the things I hate most is when media decides to give a happy ending to complete tragedies. Honestly I find it disappointing and almost treacherous to the good writing that led to it.

Maria is a pacifist witch, who lives in medieval times, when countless wars are done in the name of the (green) god. Using her magic and her succubus servant, she keeps interrupting skirmishes, battles, campaigns, and pretty much pisses off EVERYONE, including angels who want to see souls heading to Valhalla. In the end Archangel Michael beats her and puts a curse on her, so that when she loses her virginity read more
Jan 16, 2016
Goukeban (All reviews)
When analyzing any given work, how much of ourselves is it okay to insert in a review? Like many who enjoy judging works of fiction, I don’t believe a 100% objective review is possible, but I stand by the idea that a certain degree of objectivity is possible and desirable, otherwise reviews would just be a matter of “I don’t like this” or “I prefer that way”.

One thing I believe can be taken into consideration is perspective. Many analyses I’ve seen made me think “Well, I don’t agree with any of that, but those are some pretty good arguments”. This happens when the author constructed read more
Mar 2, 2015
Noto0803 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Maria: witch whom play god


this review is spoiler free and comprehensively judging from my stand point

this story set out based on war between England and France, the church ploy and also the involvement of Witches hired by several Lords to help them win the war. Maria, slightly different from another witches, she hates war. So she stopped them using her magic.

from story point of view, it is quite intriguing because well the tense between British and French is like never ending problem until now, and this Anime Series emphasizing on the war between them. So yeah, quite intriguing if i may said so. The story read more
May 22, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Something that’s hard to do, no matter who you are, is change your way of thinking. It sounds simple enough, though, especially given the context. If you were raised to learn that one plus one equals three, it’s mathematically possible to prove you incorrectly and move your thinking from wrong to right. But what if it was something more esoteric? Perhaps you’ve always known that after dinner you should have three cookies, but somebody comes along and says no; that you should have four, not three, to whet your appetite. Are you right, or is the read more
May 25, 2015
Joel-Baxter (All reviews)
I watched this about a week ago when i should have reviewed it then but im gonna review it now since i remember the key things. Im not very good with keeping promises about spoilers so bare with me. Im going to be reviewing Junketsu no Maria also called Maria the virgin witch

Story- The synopsis is already available for it but im giving a run down basically the main character Maria is the most powerful witch she hates any kind of conflict and her powers go away when she loses her virginity aka the name of the anime.

To tell you i was interested in the read more
Dec 21, 2015
spartakiss (All reviews)
I went into this anime expecting some mindless trash (I was in the mood for mindless trash, to be perfectly honest), but what I found instead was a surprisingly heartfelt gem. There are pervy moments to be sure, with Maria's incubus and succubus familiars providing some raunchy laughs, but this solidly takes backseat to a character-driven medieval drama with some complex questions about religion and love. Go figure.

I powered through this show in a day, and wound up rooting for all of the characters despite their starkly clashing objectives (with some heartbreaking consequences for me, let me tell you). Maria's straightforward and read more
Jan 27, 2017
AkatsukigirlTy (All reviews)
Brief synopsis
Set during the 100 years war, this show follows a young witch called Maria, who is determined to put a stop to the fighting and bring peace to the land. The catch? Should she lose her virginity, she will also lose her magical powers.

Story
No prior knowledge of the 100 years war is needed to watch this show. Maybe this is for the best, as I suspect that this show is not at all historically accurate, given the attire of the witches and their familiars. I know that this is nit-picky, but no woman during that time period would dress in what amounts to little read more
Oct 10, 2015
AmbiguousMonster (All reviews)
Maria the Virgin Witch is a competently handled, historically astute and thematically rich anime that stands among the best titles to have aired in 2015.

The story of Maria, which starts when she begins her valiant crusade to end all war between France and England, is a relatively fast paced story that isn’t bogged down by unimaginative exposition or flashbacks, instead respecting the audience’s intelligence enough to allow them to determine character motivations and attitudes through engrossing dialogue. In the earlier parts of the story, which are devoted heavily to establishing the world and characters, the story may seem slightly meandering, with conversations about intentions and read more
Mar 30, 2015
BaptizED (All reviews)
"This was back in the days when the battle against England was still ongoing. There was a witch living on the village who hated wars. That witch would not curse people nor do evil deeds...but instead use her powers to put a stop to the fighting. Her name was Maria. She held the same name as the Blessed Virgin... and was herself a virgin, too."

An outstanding anime which can be compared to the old but never getting old classics, Junketsu no Maria is an anime that has great expectations yet it makes use of it's own medium for good. The combination of historical, ecchi, comedy, read more
Jul 14, 2015
jeeyi345 (All reviews)
1-9 were great, 10, 11, 12 totally ruined them.
It discuss some moral topics between a girl trires to do the right thing and the world's reacts of it.
But somehow it come to a end of conventional "love solves anything" .
I'd say it's the episodes screenwriters to blame. You can even judge by the episode title, 10,11,12 is all about love while the rest is about Faith, war, Death.
I'd give episode 1-9 9/10 and the rest 3/10.
May 12, 2015
TheZephy (All reviews)
JUNKETSU NO MARIA: recommendation

So I just got around to finishing “Junektsu no Maria” Or “Maria the virgin witch” which aired this winter season 2015. And I really have nothing to complain about. It was just good, not too much else to say~ Unfortunately its English name sounds like a weird porno so most people wont take it seriously but its very rare that you have an anime in a medieval setting, that is not an action show.

If you like history you will enjoy the alternate history setting (France at war with England). If you like mythology you will love all the references to Greek/roman, read more
Feb 28, 2016
TrashDax (All reviews)
Who would have thought that an anime about war, rape and inquisition could be this charming?

Story:
The way this anime tries to teach us that "the church is EVUL!" is a little bland, but as far as I can judge, the portrayal of catholizism in the middle ages is pretty realistic. I mean, everybody should know what messed up things happened in the name of god back in the days, but I wish Maria would be a little more subtle about it. This includes the way Michael acts. Criticising the church is one thing, but the actual religion? But putting all that aside, this anime is read more
Dec 25, 2016
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Before I cover this review, I have to admit I'm somewhat amused about the timing of watching this series considering its themes would be a touchy subject for more religious viewers in spite of the fact I completed it over Christmas weekend of all times. Getting that ironic moment out of the way, let us get to the focus of this review on Maria the Virgin Witch, a fantasy comedy-drama focused on witch Maria defying the forces of heaven to halt ongoing battles waging in the Hundred Years' War escalating between England and France.

First impressions of the series can be a bit misleading. At first read more