Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hajime no Ippo


Alternative Titles

English: Fighting Spirit
Synonyms: The First Step, Hajime no Ippo: The Fighting
Japanese: はじめの一歩 THE FIGHTING!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 75
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2000 to Mar 27, 2002
Premiered: Fall 2000
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 00:50 (JST)
Producers: VAP
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.811 (scored by 106,463 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #309
Members: 205,982
Favorites: 10,049

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 8, 2006
Xinil (All reviews)
First, let me say that I\'m not a fan of boxing. In fact, I pretty much hate the sport. Honestly, who likes seeing people getting their head beat in every day?

With that being said, this series is brilliantly done. There\'s comedy, romance, and plenty, plenty, plenty of plot. Follow Ippo as he grows as a person and as a professional boxer. You\'ll laugh, and you\'ll probably cry here or there. The fact that I don\'t even like boxing never came in to play. You\'ll probably find yourself doing some jabs here and there while watching the show too. It\'s that captivating.

The supporting characters are awesome. read more
Nov 7, 2010
FauxAzn (All reviews)
"What? 76 episodes of… boxing? 76 episodes set in a small square ring? Yeah, right."

I had no idea.

What makes this anime special is undoubtedly the characters. How each character is so likeable, so original, and so fully developed that you end up understanding, caring, and rooting for them in the end. How even the ones that only last an episode, even Ippo's opponents can be given such plausible and staggering backstories that you might actually find yourself siding against the main hero for a match or two. And how these characters are just so serious with their lives read more
Aug 24, 2016
Caliph (All reviews)
Hajime no ippo based on boxing manga written and illustrated by George Morikawa. A 75 episode anime adaptation titled Hajime no Ippo: The Fighting! was produced by Madhouse, Nippon Television and VAP, directed by Satoshi Nishimura and ran on the Nippon Television Network from October 2000 to March 2002

The story itself has two main parts. Part one which Ippo is chasing the eastern feather weight championship and part two which Ippo decides to continue his career as a boxer. In the first arc which is the best arc, the story processing and the character development are done in absolute best way that a show can read more
Jul 23, 2008
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
The anime makes use of every character it introduces and develops them very convincingly and you can really connect to them. Such as Ippo in gaining more confidence and motivation, Takamura in wanting to become a champion and a hero, and Miyata wanting to prove that his father’s boxing style is the best. The characters all have back-stories of why they became fighters but they still live lives in certain ways you can still relate to them and they all have every day issues as real boxers would have such as Takamura’s weight control. As for the pacing, yes, the anime is long and the read more
Jun 2, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Hajime no Ippo (Fighting Spirit) is a fantastic Shounen, Sports, Comedy, Action anime produced by one of the greatest studios ever (Madhouse). Even though it doesn’t tell the entire story, the story it does tell is truly amazing, with all its manliness.

It’s about your classic teenage underdog (Ippo Makunoichi) who’s pretty shy and gets bullied and looked down upon, by some of his peers. Then one fateful day he comes across a boxing gym, with a great pro boxer, and soon attains the desire to become a boxer. Sure this set-up sounds very typical for a shounen sports drama but I personally enjoyed this story read more
Dec 29, 2013
Zeptinn (All reviews)
Hajime no Ippo.

It's a name that sets it mark after you finish watching it.

A friend of mine recommended this anime and I just couldn't understand what would be so great... about boxing. And even more so how it could stay interesting for 75 episodes. I decided to give it a go after seeing such positive reviews and the scores this anime was given and I must say this was one of the best animes I have seen. There are few animes where you end up actually physically rooting for the main character, but even so I often found myself screaming at the screen and throwing read more
Aug 20, 2007
lowell (All reviews)
This is probably the best sports anime I've seen (and I've seen a bunch of them). It isn't gorgeous visually and it isn't original and it isn't unpredictable... and I don't even like boxing. But it's still really really entertaining to watch anyway. And doesn't that say something?

Yeah, yeah, it's got the standard "work hard, have confidence/courage and you'll overcome each seemingly-impossible hurdle one by one" type feel that a lot of anime does (see everything from DBZ, Naruto, Bleach, and to practically every sports anime out there...). And I'm sure there's people out there who are going to find the read more
Jan 16, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Hajime no Ippo is widely considered one the greatest if not the greatest sports anime ever made! The manga has been running since the 1980s, but it has managed to avoid feeling too stale or repetitive. Everyone simply can't get enough of this series! I will now try to explain what makes Hajime no Ippo so special to so many.

Hajime no Ippo (which I will now refer to as HNI) starts off using the generic sports movie formula. It is about a troubled kid named Ippo, who is always getting bullied and is considered a loser and outcast at school. He comes from a poor read more
Aug 23, 2013
GreyFoxIndy (All reviews)
Fantastic, Excellent, Superb! - Do not judge by its cover or genre. 10/10!

My review will be kept spoiler free.

Okay, so I know what most of you are probably thinking, "an Anime about Boxing/Sports?! Ugh! Not for me". This would be an extremely bad judgement and you'd miss out on one of the greater Anime's of our time. Whether you are or are not a sports fan, this shouldn't be missed.

I myself am definitely NOT a sports fan, I am however a fight fan, in the respect of video games. For me, Boxing has always been a questionable sport. Its a sport where we as read more
Aug 20, 2013
NavyCherub (All reviews)
There are plenty of stories about a young man finding some sort of passion and following it to some sort of logical conclusion, and Hajime no Ippo chooses not to stray from that basic idea very far. Luckily for original creator Morikawa George, not straying far from this premise seems to be the recipe for a successful comic that has lasted more than 1000 chapters week after week since its original Shounen Magazine publishing in 1989. This adaptation by Madhouse and director Nishimura Satoshi is longer than your usual TV anime run, at 75 episodes, but it doesn't quite cover the incredible length of Nishimura's read more
Apr 21, 2014
HappyHarryHardOn (All reviews)
“There’s nothing to be scared of, because your penis is of heavyweight class.” – Takamura Mamoru

Oops, sorry, wrong quote.

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts”. – Winston Churchill

The English name for Hajime no Ippo is Fighting Spirit, and that’s what the show is about: Fighting spirit and the courage to keep on going. Hajime no Ippo was the first anime I discovered when I finally knew what anime was. It set a standard for the sports genre (which is in my opinion criminally underrated) in character development and pure enjoyment. This is my review.

Contains Minor read more
Dec 13, 2016
xNinjo (All reviews)
Synopsis:

Ippo Makunouchi is nice gentle kid who always get bullied because he smells like fish from working at his family’s fishing boat rental business, with no father at home Ippo tries his to help his mom. One day a middleweight boxer saves Ippo from the bullies and takes him to Kamogawa boxing gym where he realizes that all the manual labor he did made him stronger than he thought. With this Ippo sets his goal on becoming a professional boxer.

Pros:

The fight scenes are amazing, they are filled with good strategy and have intense drama that keep you at the edge of your seat.

The show is read more
Dec 15, 2015
Maleficent1996 (All reviews)
Warning: A very long review.

~Story~ 10

The story of this show is about a typical guy by the name of Ippo that works for his only living parent, his mother, in the fishing shop that they own to help since she's becoming old and his father died out at sea when he was very young. One day, while being bullied, he was saved by his future-senpai, Takamura, and began to walk down the road of being a famous boxer. I'm not going to go into a whole lot detail about the storyline, because there's a LOT of things taking place. But, you know what? That's just read more
Jan 23, 2015
Nibmeister (All reviews)
Ippo Makunouchi... the most evil villain who ever lived.

This anime is perfect. If not perfect, then damn near close. It's easy to be skeptical, sounds ridiculous, I know. Over 70 episodes and still gets straight tens? Well believe it, it's real. The sounds and music are epic, memorable, and perfectly on point. The art mixed with the sounds gives real weight to the punches. The characters are nearly all unforgettable and unique. Lastly, the story is so well put together and balanced that I frequently reminisce about the first episode, decide to watch it, and the next thing I know I've re-watched the whole series. read more
Aug 15, 2015
Blarey (All reviews)
I recently stumbled across Hajime no Ippo while looking for a good sports anime not too long ago. It was either Ippo or Slam Dunk, and not trying to put down Slam Dunk, (because I haven't seen it yet) but boy am I glad I went with Hajime no Ippo. I will first tell you what you may already know from reading around, but you do not, by any means, have to be a fan of sports to enjoy this anime. It blows you away at every chance it gets. Seriously, some of the fights were so explosive, I could hardly sit still at some read more
Jan 17, 2009
SilentNovA (All reviews)
Hajime no Ippo is a series that was very inspiring to me.

The plot begins with a regular, average high school student that's just trying to get through with life and school while trying to help out his mom with their family-owned business. Almost everyday, punks in school always bullies him after school. That changed one day when a pro-boxer came and saved him from receiving more punches and kicks from these punks. From that, Ippo (the main character) strives to become a pro-boxer just like that guy. He suddenly becomes motivated to be a boxer in the future. Throughout this series, he constantly trains and read more
May 19, 2016
RiriloveEreri (All reviews)
Preliminary
Have you wonder what to watch next?
I have, I been ignoring this anime for so long, you can say that I`m not really a type person who can enjoy boxing and how can a anime be so joyful when there just in a ring? I was an idiot, you must watch this anime because I wasted my whole life ignoring it and there are 76 episode and you think it weird, but you will get hooked on it without a doubt and the character is so likeable (even if some of them are rival) it so originally and you can tell the character read more
Dec 6, 2008
noteDhero (All reviews)
Animation - 5
I absolutely hate the character design of this show. So unappealing, Hajime no Ippo was an eyesore, and honestly painful to watch the faces of the characters speak, cry, get excited or display any type of emotion. However I will give credit to the rendering of bodies and musculature and especially differentiating characters body types. The quality of animation clearly increases as the episodes go by so that, by the end there was much more polish overall in the quality. This is most notable in boxing matches.
Sound - 7
Hajime no Ippo had a passable foley effects and music. The first opening to the read more
Jul 31, 2009
Rampant (All reviews)
Rather than try to review a ton of aspects of a 76 episode show, I want to give a few specific criticisms.

My biggest criticism is on sound, or specifically the obvious replication of Trigun's drippy, dramatic, and perfectly fitting music in a place that it does not belong at all and is utterly disruptive, leaving any scene with it utterly bereft of its intended impact. The music in this series is fine when it is just bitchin' guitar solos, and at its best when it reinterprets the Rocky theme, but it is at its absolute worse when it mistakenly transplants Trigun's music.

My second criticism iis read more
Feb 20, 2016
ItIsIDio (All reviews)
I'll just mention this for the sake of mentioning this, but I also include the 76th episode, which was a special and has a separate entry for it on MAL, as part of this review. That episode is Takamura's backstory and is basically what you would expect. It doesn't really affect the review in either way, so I won't be talking about it, but the reason I'm mentioning it is because it's a canon (From my understanding, nothing Ippo got released is filler) and you should watch it too, don't assume that it's an anime special where they wanted to throw an extra story that read more