Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Texhnolyze


Alternative Titles

English: Texhnolyze
Synonyms: Technolyze
Japanese: TEXHNOLYZE

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 17, 2003 to Sep 25, 2003
Premiered: Spring 2003
Broadcast: Thursdays at 03:28 (JST)
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.781 (scored by 27,339 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9142
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #633
Members: 114,283
Favorites: 2,302

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 31, 2015
aikaflip (All reviews)
Texhnolyze is a show about heavy breathing, grunting, and a pissing contest between a group of gun and sword wielding alpha males in suits who speak in bad mob movie cliches. If you force your imagination enough, you may be able to find something deep in the recesses of this art, but the same could be done if you stared long enough at the textures on a rusty frying pan.

There's a subplot about "texhnolyzation", a procedure to repair or upgrade a person using technologies such as mechanical limbs. The transhumanist ideas herein, which have potential, are unfortunately enveloped in a lot of empty atmosphere. Most read more
Apr 30, 2009
walla (All reviews)
Okay, I'm going to repeat what many others have said and state that Texhnolyze is NOT a series for everyone. The pace is slow and punishing, and if your main squeeze is the straightforward action side of anime you will probably hate this.

However rather than bore me, I personally found the pace to be a breath of fresh air. This slow and steady treatment of the story is more realistic and true-to-life for me, and while it might not be as instantly gratifying as some other series it's truly enveloping and convincing. The plot itself is highly complex, and as with Lain, Texhnolyze's spiritual predecessor, read more
Jun 14, 2013
Zergneedsfood (All reviews)
I’ve been meaning to describe my experience with Texhnolyze since I last rewatched it, but just like the ending to the show I found myself a bit lost for words and a little empty inside. I’ve since found that it’s very easy to write about things I don’t like in anime, but it’s difficult for me to give praise to fantastic shows in a way that gives them the respect they deserve.

Story - 10/10

Texhnolyze's story stands out because of the power of its narrative. The story of the Texhnolyzed Ichise is not one that progresses very rapidly, but the complexities of the world of Lux read more
Apr 26, 2008
Olire (All reviews)
Texhnolyze is an adult show.
You may happen to witness homosexuality, SM, pedophilia,incest, blood sheds, meaningless violence and utter despair while watching it.
This is a pitch black cyber-punk tale of High Quality -Abe Yoshitoshi- in all regards : entrancing music, beautyfull art, bright direction and mind-blowing plot.

The pacing is slow, and the naration often resorts to visual communication and minimalist dialogues as you follow the taciturn (yet so hot) Ichise in the turmoil-city of Lux. You have to think of it as a highly symbolic and esthetic tale questioning civilisation, progress, evolution, survival, violence, loneliness and their conflicts with morality and sanity.

Story: Due to the slow, read more
Nov 10, 2014
eImpulse (All reviews)
Humans have always been captivated by the idea of reaching a greater purpose. Whether its physical adaptation, or enlightenment through the mysteries of our own mind. Its an arduous journey for either. Within the world of Lux theres a glimpse of both. What you forfeit by the end will depend truly on how deep your willing to look. I would not recommend this as a light or easy watch. This is a show to be viewed multiple times and picked apart due to its immense detail.

The plot progress’s sequentially giving the story a realistic tone. It follows a linear path using flashbacks and precognition read more
Dec 14, 2015
Rqt (All reviews)
What it offers is certainly not something everyone is going to desire. It is an extremely dystopian narrative that ultimately takes an even extremer standpoint when it comes to its nihilistic undertones. In a truly soul-crushing way Texhnolyze offers very little hope, cementing itself as the bleakest dystopian rendering I have been exposed to, or rather, endured to date. That isn’t to say it doesn’t have its tender moments because it does in a sense, yet they are few and far between; largely being overshadowed by the 'negatives'. But is that really such a bad thing? For some that answer will be yes. For those read more
May 29, 2017
Konakana (All reviews)
This is not exactly a review in the conventional sense, as it mostly focuses on analyzing the series as a whole rather than exploring the technicalities of each aspect which makes up the series.

**This “review” is SPOILER-HEAVY and is recommended for those who have already seen the series.**

**This “review” is also FAR from complete and I will be continually updating it in the future as I better collect more of my thoughts.**

This analysis may be somewhat messily written or seem to lack any sort of overarching structure. It is merely my personal thoughts and things I've realized while watching the series.

Texhnolyze, taking place in read more
Jan 21, 2016
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
To call Texhnolyze one of the most predictable stories is an understatement. The only expectation it defied was the exepctation to be worthwhile. Other than that, this is your typical artsy anime. It beats you over the head with how artsy it is, using techniques that distinguishes it from mainstream anime. None of these techniques distinguishes it from the many ‘artistic’ stories out there. It often looks like an immature, more angsty little brother of Blade Runner or Eraserhead.

Is there a more redundant way to inform your audience that your story is serious by having grey colours and serious characters? Nolan used the same technique read more
Jun 22, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
Prepare to indulge yourself for a depressing ride with a painfully slow pacing in a dystopian setting. I am of course talking about Texhnolyze, which is a psychological, sci-fi anime enriched with mystery and drama, that treats one topic humanity always pondered about: Existentialism. I believe this to be one of the best anime I have watched to date, leaving me with a great impression. Be warned though, this anime is downright depressing and is very hard to get into, and is not suited for mainstream watchers.

~Story~

The narrative of Texhnolyze is definitely one of the most outstanding parts of it. This is done subtlety in read more
Jun 24, 2009
kurodayuchi (All reviews)
From the same creators of Serial Experiments Lain, Haibane Renmei and Hellsing, this series stands out as a whole, having one of the most complex plots I’ve ever seen, a great and original art style (Abe!), dark color, good opening, ending, OST and a really alternative development. It’s the kind of series that if you don’t actually pay attention and put your brain to work, you’ll end up with a ? stamped on your face.

There are a lot of little references through the episodes, from books to folklore. One major thing we can mention is how you cannot avoid thinking on Dante’s Commedia when read more
Mar 20, 2010
Yuvie (All reviews)
Texhnolyze has a special place in my collection, if I really had to choose my favourite anime, in the end, I'd probably go with this. It ticks all the boxes for me. I'm in my 20's and I think this series would appeal more to those around that kind of age group. It's a dark, mature, brooding and brutal series. I can completely empathise with those who don't get along with this series because as most other fans of the show have said, it's not for everyone.

I'm a fan of a good dark series and that sums it up. I don't find it read more
Jun 13, 2015
gedata (All reviews)
I'm going to be honest starting this review, Texhnolyze is a hard show to watch and, as a result, is just as hard to recommend. The reason why I say this is because the series tasks itself with presenting a complex world and cast as simply as it possibly can script-wise. No long bouts of exposition to clue the viewer in on how the world works and a near complete lack of dialogue in the earlier episodes make getting into Texhnolyze somewhat of a sink or swim experience. Those who are curious to properly know the context behind the strange, unexplained imagery of the 1st read more
Jul 12, 2015
cgcgcg (All reviews)
[No spoilers. This review is for people who are considering whether to view this title.]

Story/Setting/Style:
- Do not watch if you dislike slower, cerebral anime (e.g., Ergo Proxy, Serial Experiments Lain, Casshern Sins). Texhnolyze moves slowly, but by the time you finish the series, you'll realize that a lot has happened. The writing is plot-driven, rather than character-driven.
- Do not watch if you have a strong preference for sappy, feel-good stories.
- Do not watch if you do not want to think. The dialogue can be sparse, and nothing is spelled out for the viewer.
- If you like sci-fi, this anime does a marvelous job depicting a read more
Apr 7, 2016
TheRefractingOne (All reviews)
Texhnolyze is an unparelled masterpiece in the exploration of themes that I find incredibly grandiose (and novel, within the anime medium). So many (often great, mind you) anime titles may go to impressive lengths to explore the psychology and philosophy regarding our individual struggles (like say, in Utena or Evangelion), but it's rare to find an anime which tackles such a massive topic like existentialism and applies it to the whole of humanity at it's end of days, and in masterful fashion at that.

Before continuing, I'd like to make a statement of forewarning to some viewers: Texhnolyze is a veeery dry experience. This read more
Mar 31, 2017
Yuni (All reviews)
Texhnolyze joins Neon Genesis Evangelion, Serial Experiments Lain, and Ergo Proxy as another supposedly thematically heavy sci-fi show that has a massive split between those who think it’s a masterpiece and those who think it’s pretentious garbage, and the reasons behind the split are similar to these shows as well. When determining a show’s quality, people take different things into consideration and order their priorities differently, such as a show’s viewing experience and a show’s substance. Texhnolyze falls into the category of having a fairly difficult viewing experience as a result of being packed to the brim with psychological aspects and themes, yet it is read more
May 18, 2015
isomorphiccode (All reviews)
There is no finer embodiment to the shattering melancholy and bracing affirmation of hopelessness than the 22 episodes that make up Texhnolyze.
I want to admit that this anime has overwhelmed me immensely for years. My efforts at writing a review before didn't ensue because if written, it would have been nothing but babble. I wonder if this will even be close to a lucid appraisal..

How do I classify Texhnolyze? This is the sort of anime that people will either think is brilliant or terrible.
It is brutal, confusing and minimal. It has a lot of violent imagery and cruel messages, a complex storyline and read more
Jul 19, 2016
MDG31ST (All reviews)
I'm only writing this review to counter the idiocy of theBrainJar below, a fine example of one of the body pillow clutching human embodiments of everything that keeps more anime from being worth watching.

Okay, if you have a neckbeard and/or an adult acne problem (or maybe even psychological disorder) that keeps you in a perpetual state of adolescence because you can't face a world that has rejected you, and therefor all you expect to take in from art is fan service, no, this isn't your anime. No giant sweat drops. No exaggerated faces. No women written by guys who evidently have never talked to them read more
Feb 25, 2016
Paraturtle (All reviews)
Texhnolyze manages to flatline across the scoreboard. Although there are slight variations, it's as though the show itself pursued a 7/10 in every category. That said, let's jump right into things.


Story:
Ichise is a personified existential philosophy which works properly with the constant barrage of philosophy expressed both audibly and symbolically. However, his pursuit for reason is not by constantly asking the other lead characters, but by silently observing as they advance in their personal goals. The biggest antagonist to his questioning nature is the very essence of Lux itself. Very early we are introduced to the nature of change – both in setting and characters. read more
Nov 18, 2012
SchrodingersMatt (All reviews)
First, let's talk about the animation for Texhnolyze: it's Madhouse, so if nothing else you can expect it to deliver visually. This show was animated in 2003 (the same year another, much more famous anime character first lost his arm and leg) and it still holds up surprisingly well even by today's standards. The movements are clean and fluid, colors are surprisingly vibrant and expressive, and the use of off-kilter camera angles and clever cinematography always serves the story well. The characters' faces are refreshingly earthy compared to the exaggerated and cartoonish styles you're probably used to, and when they do become disconcertingly stiff or read more
Oct 17, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
First of this anime is not for everyone, it has a slow pace which i don't mind myself but other people won't; With a complex thoughtful provoking story and a heavy ending, which is not suitable for those who expect a happy ending but keep in mind that the anime itself makes you see this is not happy at all, this anime is Nihilist, that means everything is lost, negativity at is best.

Story *May contain spoilers that could explain things that you could miss*
A complex story, really difficult to keep with, i really had to pay attention to it but when i did catch up, read more