Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Piano no Mori


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The Perfect World of Kai, Piano Forest
Japanese: ピアノの森 The Perfect World of Kai

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 21, 2007
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 40 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.771 (scored by 17,456 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9632
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1930
Members: 44,202
Favorites: 113

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 8, 2008
Archaeon (All reviews)
When I first heard of Piano no Mori I thought it was a bit of an odd concept. I expected something fantasy based, and while there are some nudges in that direction they mainly stem from the imagination of the characters. The film itself remains rooted in reality.

The story takes place in a small town in the countryside, and revolves around the friendship and rivalry between Amamiya Shuuhei and Ichinose Kai. Shuuhei is an accomplished child pianist, and has studied hard for years to uphold the family tradition of producing outstanding musical talent. He and his family move to the countryside for a short time read more
Jul 3, 2011
ellenmelon13 (All reviews)
Well, today, I was radomly scrolling through watchanimeon.com looking for an anime that would catch my interest. I came across Piano no Mori thinking, "Oh, I have a piano lesson in two days, maybe it will motivate me to practice." And it sure did. Piano no Mori, although unrealistic and strange at many times, is a very touching and pleasurable story. I think this movie is really a movie made for musicians. As a music LOVER, I saw a lot of myself in these characters. I am a vocalist over a pianist. When I sing, I have fun. It comes naturally. Kai, the young prodigy read more
May 10, 2012
kajia (All reviews)
Ever since I watched "Nodame Cantabile", I can't help but compare all anime about classical music with it - it's insightful in its explorations of the topic, yet remained remarkably accessible and entertaining to those not into it. In an admittedly small sub-genre, it has become the benchmark for greatness, and as a result has an unfortunate eclipsing effect over lesser but otherwise good shows like "Kiniro no Corda" that shares its domain.

To be honest, I hadn't really expected to find other classical music anime that could compare to "Nodame Cantabile", but enter "Piano no Mori", a quiet film that, in less than two hours, read more
Jul 13, 2008
deunan (All reviews)
First of all: i cannot judge who was played well or badly - i do not know Musics well enough. As well i do not know how (un)realistic the explanations on "virtuoso piano playing" were. To me it seems unrealistic, but not impossible, tha Kai - never having had lessons - can play the piano very well. That he cannot even read notes looks like an allusion to Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart who was said to be able to replay a composition from his hearing.
The whol drama about the "little children of prodigy", who nearly were defeated by a natural, competition and stage fright - and read more
Sep 4, 2009
amiyusoku (All reviews)

Well, to be honest, my sis bought the DVD...
lol, I have this urge to buy it but kinda afraid if the story isn't worth buying.
So, I postponed my desire to have it.
The next time I go out with my sis, she willingly buy it since she loves piano... and obviously, a piano and an anime... she would never let that dvd stay in the store when she walk out from it LOL.

The story is really nice.
The plot is somewhat unique.

Obviously, when you want to become a professional pianist, having your friend, whom you think has a great talent for piano... you should feel envious and read more
Apr 8, 2018
SamStudying (All reviews)
I am not someone who writes reviews nor did i intend to write this one until i realized how low this movie was ranked in comparison with some others which i find a shame. While the believability of a prodigy being nurtured by the forest is suspect, that is not why we watch anime. It is a beautiful story with lovely music that needs no sort of formal training to enjoy. Any complaints i have would purely stem from the fact that the characters weren't developed enough as they were in the manga by the end of the movie, but considering time constraints, it was read more
Oct 18, 2012
aznmagic29 (All reviews)
I have been reading the manga before the movie even came out so I have a general idea of what was to come but watching the movie without knowing too much about piano was really something. The movie was everything I pictured it would be it had most of the major parts that was in the manga. The movie does not stray from the manga. The movie is about boys name Ichinose Kai and Amamiya Shuuhei friendship through their love for the piano. Kai is portrayed as a piano prodigy because he can play the piano without having taken any lesson and can play a read more