Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Glass no Hana to Kowasu Sekai


Alternative Titles

English: Garakowa -Restore the World-
Synonyms: Garasu no Hana to Kowasu Sekai, D.backup, Vitreous Flower Destroy the World
Japanese: ガラスの花と壊す世界

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2016
Licensors: Ponycan USA
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Original
Genres: Sci-Fi
Duration: 1 hr. 7 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.821 (scored by 10,018 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #44992
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2795
Members: 25,406
Favorites: 74

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 16, 2016
Spira (All reviews)
Asuka, Yukinon, and Menma become cyberpunk mahou shoujos and fight viruses in a speculative fiction setting under the supervision of Shin Sekai Yori's director, Masashi Ishihama, and Nozaki-kun's head writer and script composer, Yoshiko Nakamura. While this sounds like it has all the potential of being fucking great, all it turned into was an emotionally detached snorefest, trying to cram too much into too little and not doing anything with its assets.

Not to say that it isn't without its highlights: it's certainly pretty, with some set pieces being actually gorgeous, making use of its movie sized budget to make sure shots read more
Jan 19, 2016
BakaKuro (All reviews)
Story
Glass no Hana to Kowasu Sekai in my opinion 'Daily Life of an Anti-Virus Software' and takes place in a setting where the human race has become extinct. The story grabs your attention in the first 10 minutes as Dual deletes her best friend Sumire and then the sudden apperence of Remo. The story flows through out the anime making it really easy to understand.
9/10

Art
The art was very good it wasn't very detailed like other A-1 animes but all was written off by the excellent story. The background CG is very vivid in colors which bring out the artist's emotions. (Good Job Naoko Fusako)
8/10

Sound
Glass no read more
Jan 17, 2016
TheOnlyKami (All reviews)
I just finished the movie about 20 minutes ago, and I've just spent the last 20 minutes trying to figure out what the hell happened in the movie. To no avail.

Story: 4
Sad to say, I didn't understand what the heck was going on throughout the movie, especially the more hectic part towards the end. The height of my sadness of a cute girl was dying was as great as I was in my 'wtf is going on' mode. It was not coherent at all, and I'm left from start to finish just going 'yep, this just happened, and no one is going to tell read more
Jan 16, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Taking for granted, this film is 60+ minutes of mind twisty fantasy. Combine that with a bit of sci-fi, cute girls, adventure, and mysterious worlds and you get Glass no Hana to Kowasu Sekai. Now, I have to admit, watching this film for the first time felt like taking a chemistry course. It’s like all sorts of ideas thrown together at once. For such a product, it would have been better off as a TV series. However, Glass no Hana to Kowasu Sekai has something to offer and that’s a world of strange wonders.

The film is directed by Masashi Ishihama. Anyone familiar with sci-fi thrillers read more
Jan 17, 2016
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Before anyone asks, yes I went into Garakowa, or Glass no Sekai no Who Gives A Shit if you want to be a weeaboo about it, fully expecting to hate it. When I saw that A-1 was producing the thing, that they teamed up the director of Shin Sekai Yori and the writer of Golden Time for the project, and that the cast would consist of nothing but little girls, I knew right away that there was no chance I was going to get any enjoyment out of the film. The synopsis itself wasn't helping matters either. You remember how the second season of Higurashi read more
Sep 25, 2019
DesiSkorm (All reviews)
Well, this is one way to learn what goes on in my laptop whenever there are viruses :D
On a more serious note, in terms of art the anime is simply wonderful. The beautiful art style will surely enhance your experience from the story. I didn’t understand some aspects of the anime completely, but I did get the general idea. I cried at one point, that’s how much the anime touched me. The idea behind the anime is very nice and original, the art is gorgeous to say the least, the characters are pleasant to watch, the background music is great throughout the whole thing, read more
Aug 3, 2019
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Glass no Hana to Kowasu Sekai is a 2016 A1 original film. The script was by Shimo Fumihiko who also worked on Air, Bakuretsu Tenshi & Non Non Biyori. I honestly don't know what to expect because the output there is a bit mixed and the same is true for A1 themselves. They've put out some great anime like Uchuu Kyoudai and absolute rubbish like Sword Art Online. I guess I'll have to dive into this one and see where it lands. 

Story:

Our main heroines, Dual & Dorothy, are anti-virus programs inside a device known as the "Box of Wisdom." Which I thought was the nickname read more
Jan 21, 2016
BohemianRhapsody (All reviews)
Glass no Hana to Kowasu Sekai is a 60-minute long animated film directed by Masashi Ishihama and produced by A-1 Pictures. Frankly, what made me watch this film was its relatively short length, so I'll describe its positive and negative aspects.

Positive:
(+) The art and animation
I guess this is the section most of the budget went to. The backgrounds of this anime were simply gorgeous. The colors and details were amazing. The animation was also smooth and high quality. I didn't especially like the character designs, mostly because I dislike anime with little girls, but objectively speaking, there was nothing wrong with that either.

(+) The soundtrack
The read more
Sep 7, 2017
Temmu503 (All reviews)
I really enjoyed this movie, however, there are better

Story 7
I gave this a 7, because I felt absorbed in to the story (probably because it was my first anime after 2 years) and, despite how confusing parts get, some bits stay with me to this very day

Art 9
The art was very pretty, and I loved the style the artists were going for. The colours didn't clash, and the visuals were nice to look at

Music 8
Music was beautifully composed (songs like Sendan Life) and are very catchy too! It was not the best I had heard tho, anime ,such as Higurashi, did it better (songs like read more
Feb 10, 2016
yanderes_anime (All reviews)
Ok this won't be a spoiler free review but I will try and condense it as quick and short as possible to save face. This is also my second review so bear with me.

The overall is that the world is run by a system and there are two programmes which help keep the system in tact which are represented as girls of the system in truth they're anti viruses for the system. This system help to keep social balance and social order in a peaceful world however like most things there are more that meets the eye.

Story: 6
I found even though this had major potential read more
Mar 1, 2016
Ksaraf23 (All reviews)
Garakowa is a very interesting movie, to say the least. It’s not really about anything; just a collection of the most precious moments of life, and the three girls most connected to them. In this blogger’s opinion, this is truly a story worth taking a glance at.

The film takes place primarily within an advanced OS capable of actually recording data of all periods of time and space, including the people who lived there. Two anti-virus programs, Dual and Dorothy are entrusted with destroying the corrupted data. Known as viruses, they infect the artificial worlds as well as the data of the people who once lived read more
Jan 17, 2016
TheArchangel (All reviews)
After watching this movie with a really long and elaborate name, I like to think that my anti virus software is actually a collection of cute girls duking it out against viruses mahou shoujo style. The previously mentioned movie with a really long and elaborate name, Glass no Hana to Kowasu Sekai, also known as Garakowa -Restore the World-, and also *breathes* Vitreous Flower Destroy the World Backup, is a strange sci-fi adventure following Dual and Dorothy, 2 anti virus programs that eventually find an anomaly in the system that they cannot figure out. This anomaly, which calls itself "Remo," is also a cute girl read more
Feb 13, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Virtual Magical Girls deleting viruses!...

Glass no Hana to Kowasu Sekai has an interesting concept all things considered, our main protagonists Dual voiced by Risa Taneda and Dorothy voiced by Ayane Sakura being anti-virus programs fighting and deleting viruses until they stumble upon Remo voiced by Yumiri Hanamori and from there they find out what their jobs are TRULY about in the process of Dual and Dorothy finding "empathy" as well.

Glass no Hana to Kowasu Sekai being a 60 minute movie has ALOT to unpack yet waits until the last half to spill all of it.

What LA means is that for the first half of the read more
Sep 7, 2017
catsighs (All reviews)
I'd like to keep this review brief in order to allow people to come to their own conclusions about Garakowa.

there are aspects of this movie that I really liked, and really enjoyed the handling of. the first few minutes are like being taken on a stunning, surreal ride through absolutely beautiful environment design.

however, the writing of the characters really let it down for me. given that a central theme of Garakowa is how reality and sentience/humanity can arise from AI, the girls were not at all compelling human beings. it's an incredibly interesting theme, but if you can't write a compelling and realistic sentient human read more