Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo


Alternative Titles

English: Cross Ange: Rondo of Angel and Dragon
Japanese: クロスアンジュ 天使と竜の輪舞〈ロンド〉

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2014 to Mar 29, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Mecha, Sci-Fi
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.481 (scored by 52,977 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #17442
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #827
Members: 125,529
Favorites: 1,146

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 28, 2015
jim1914 (All reviews)
Cross ange...I started this anime when it was ongoing. That was a big mistake because every single episode was outstanding and always i wanted to see the next one. If i could watch the whole series in a day i would definitely do it. This anime is the absolute ecchi,mecha, sci-fi experience which every fan of this genres would enjoy it the most but let's be more specific
Story: well the main character of this anime is a teenage girl named Angelise. She lives in a world that lives by using "mana"
Everything is only controlable by this kind of magic. But some girls can't use read more
Mar 31, 2015
loonix200 (All reviews)
This is my second review, after I've watched the last episode, I will say everything fairly with reasons for my views. Cross Ange is one of those anime that 'HAD' potential to be a mind-breaker but the staff didn't realize that and ruined it with ecchi moments, unnecessary romance,etc.. Here's why:

Plot/Story (10): The plot is the best part of the series. Once you've passed through the first 6-7 episodes, the show starts revealing the history. I know you might feel that the first few episodes were disappointing, but 'I' think they just meant to make you understand each character properly. For example, Hilda's character is read more
Mar 30, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Think about something that you did within the past few minutes. Maybe it was clicking a link to read this review or making a phone call to a friend of yours. Now, why did you perform this action? Was it a preordained happenstance that you had no control over? Or did you feel compelled in some way to act accordingly? The long and short of it is, did you make such a decision of your own free will? The idea of will, that you make the choices that govern your life, is something that has been read more
Aug 12, 2015
SentiOnikawa (All reviews)
I would be lying if I didn't say this series was dreadful; in fact, it's garbage. I want to get one thing out of the way before we continue, and that's that I don't think the characters themselves are horrible, but that all the effort that did go into this series was clearly from the VA's and nobody else. How does one sit by and watch a trainwreck? Well, aren't you in for a ride.

Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo is what you get when you mix Gundam with the magical girl genre and toss in some bad writing and worse animation. The series read more
Apr 24, 2019
Songokussj2 (All reviews)
Lets start my first ever review on MAL. I wanted to write this review because of how much underrated this show is...

Some people might argue it has some Evangelion or whatsoever Mecha anime cliche, it might has the general concept or idea, but the delivery and the uniqueness of the story is what captivated me.

There might be small spoilers down the line so, bear with me.

Story: 9/10
We get a very unique about that amazing princess who seeks peace and everyone looks up to, she has everything a girl could dream of. Yet all of the sudden all is gone. This might some read more
Feb 26, 2019
Caroline98 (All reviews)
The one thing I appreciate the most about this, what I think to be very underrated anime, is the fact that you start off by disliking/hating the protagonist, Ange.

We are introduced when Ange is Princess of Misurugi, and right from the get-go we see how sheltered she is, when she witnesses a child being ripped away from its mother for being a Norma (a human incapable of using Mana). The mother is furious at her behaviour, about how she tells her to just let her daughter go and that it is the best for the country.

The mother's hatred is immediately projected unto the read more
Aug 29, 2016
Phantasmafloria (All reviews)
Before i even begin reviewing this, let's get one thing out of the way -

This anime at best looks something Clamp would draw on a bad day and at worst, looks like the Gundam animators were trying to draw with toothpicks.

Sunrise really gutted this one in terms of production values; But what you sacrifice in budget, you gain in artistic integrity and auteur-ship.

There's no other anime that's been as daring with it's plot, it's characters and it's sound design as this. The entire anime is almost composed by Akiko Shikata, who honestly should have equal credit with the director considering how much of this anime read more
Mar 29, 2015
QueenHeiwa (All reviews)
Yes, yes. We all know Cross Ange totally SUCKED at the beginning and all of us had our jaws dropped at the ending of the first episode, but let me say this. When I thought this show wouldn't get better, it DID.

8 - Story: Yes, when we first heard about Cross Ange, it seemed this show was going to be awesome, but did we get what we were expecting in the first episode? Heck no, that ending scene was jaw dropping, but as the story progressed, it became better and had very good plot twist. Some plot twist weren't even anything you would expect either. read more
Mar 29, 2015
dariken (All reviews)
STORY & CHARACTERS (8/10 and 9/10)
This is a story about rebellion, growing up, friendship, love... and dragons, magic, mad scientists, science fantasy, princess and parallel universes with mecha action! You won't get bored with this one. Certainly quite unique mix. Surprisingly, story works and is actually good and really hard to not spoil it by telling about it, which just underscores my point. Notably, story works so well because characters develop so well. Which is what really surprised me. And by well I mean they grow to new situations and surroundings like, well, normal non-mental people would do.

Story also takes tragic turns and characters read more
Apr 8, 2015
AnizeJGLover (All reviews)
You have to keep an open mind when you watch this anime, and what the director did, was perfect. This anime is actually pretty good, I think what they did at the beginning with the characters was a good idea. This way, we can see the greater good of the development, and I'll say one thing they did well in this anime.

Character Development

I understood in the beginning when I watch this while others insult it, it was for the sake of character development. This truly deserve to be one of the best for 2014.
They kept all the side characters involve, and we get to read more
Apr 23, 2016
ZachM (All reviews)
I haven't written a review in a long while. Mainly due to the fact that MAL got rid of the "Not Helpful" option for reviews, but I digress. Watching this fucking show enraged me so much that I couldn't hold back from throwing all of my pure, unadulterated hatred at it by writing a review. So sit back and enjoy my review of this shitty Sunrise show from 2014 called Cross Ange.

Hope I'm not too rusty.

[There's spoilers all over this review]

I went into this with whatever can be considered less than no expectations. Really I can't even remember why I wanted to watch it read more
Mar 27, 2018
sxrrxw (All reviews)
I base everything on the music and characters of an anime. I know its a bad way of rating or writing a review of anime about but that's how i like it. Well enough of that this anime is so amazing it would be in my top 5 recommended to watch Because the anime had great ost and singing. To the point in might re watch the whole anime again and again. The only problem is remembering what happens its the sad part about anime and the brain is that once you do something you start to remember things that happened in the anime read more
May 1, 2016
Joby05 (All reviews)
Summary: Giving the caveat that I could not get into the Gundam series... this is the best mech anime series I have ever seen. It is absolutely brilliant and I recommend it to anyone, mech fan or not.

Story: 10/10
The story is absolutely amazing. Ange starts off as a sheltered Princess and her evolution is ridiculous. This story covers her complete transformation into a badass, has tons of side arcs and character development, covering SO many deep emotional and philosophical topics. Everything you know about the universe changes... at least 3 times! The whole concept of the world and everyone's motivations are spun on their heads read more
Mar 29, 2015
DedPanda (All reviews)
Alright, call me a fanboy if you want but I gotta say it: Cross Ange is by far one of the greatest anime from 2014 going into 2015. I mean people may think it is just a yuri fest of ecchiness but here is why you should watch it.

Cross Ange is filled with unpredictable plot twists, and I do mean unpredictable, great character progression, a unique story, and quite possibly one of the most interesting anime that pushes the borders of the status quo of anime that I have ever seen.

Story - 10

The story is a huge round-up of modern day societal problems read more
Mar 29, 2015
djtremix (All reviews)
(Before i write my review Im going to try my best to not type any spoiler but if i do i will warn you.)

The anime Cross ange is a straight mecha style anime. at first i thought is was just one of those Fan services anime with a lot of girls ( cant really blame me on that if you seen the OP video of the anime). But it turn out there was more to it than meets the eye and its reason.

The anime is one of those few that goes really intense on certain subject and one of the biggest one you will read more
Jun 5, 2015
colonelpanic (All reviews)
A friend of mine once told me that if asked to describe Pacific Rim, he could sum it up as “a perfectly good stupid movie.” I enjoyed Pacific Rim. I also enjoyed Cross Ange.

Most of this show falls clearly into the realm of self-parody. The fanservice in particular made me laugh almost every time, and by itself would make Cross Ange the best new anime I've found in a long time. Further, when an episode ended, I actually cared what happened next. Usually I stop watching for a while and do something that feels like work before resuming a show, because nothing holds my read more
Feb 10, 2019
Ghosty-Senpai (All reviews)
Let's just get this out of the way: many elements of Cross Ange are garbage. The animation quality makes frequent, noticeable dips. The plot throws so many disparate things at the viewer, regardless of whether or not they make sense, until it eventually goes off the rails and straight into crazytown. Hardly a scene goes by without the show trying to shoehorn in copious amounts of fan service.

And yet I loved every minute of it.

This really is an example of the sum being greater than its parts, and I think one of the biggest reasons for this is the characters themselves. Most of the girls read more
Jul 12, 2015
eien_kiseki (All reviews)
Cross Ange is one of those anime i was eager to watch yet dreading at the same time. Eager because I've always loved Sunrise mecha anime that comes with a original storyline, Escaflowne and Code Geass being prime examples of greatness that was achieved in the past. Dreading it also due to negative comments from my friends who watched it and said it was full of fanservice, ecchi and only worthwhile to watch if your into Yuri. I have nothing against any of those things but in high dosage they can be off-putting, and so finally with lots of mixed feelings I began to watch read more
Jun 7, 2016
idreamofdragons (All reviews)
This anime is underrated. It was leagues above my initial expectations. The storyline started out a little slow for the first 3 episodes or so but the succeeding episodes later on reveal a absorbing plot that is a refreshing change from a lot of boiler plate anime storylines that is common place nowadays. If you are into strong willed female protagonists then this anime is for you. Ange shows great resolve without being annoyingly pigheaded and her journey from pampered princess to kick-ass warrior! The character development for this anime is awesome, the animation is great and the soundtrack is amazing.
Apr 18, 2015
Simos16 (All reviews)
First of all if you want a flawless mecha action anime please leave this page and go watch something else (code geass). Now, if you feel like witnessing an undesestimated anime and enjoying some unexpectedly good content that the mainstream anime community still ignores fear not: Cross Ange can provide you plenty.
The story contains some mecha, yuri, action and ecchi elements.If you are not very much into those dont rush to drop this anime as, even though they sometimes feel very forced, they do not adulterate the anime to a point that will significantly hurt your read more