Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo


Alternative Titles

English: Cross Ange: Rondo of Angel and Dragon
Japanese: クロスアンジュ 天使と竜の輪舞〈ロンド〉

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2014 to Mar 29, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Mecha
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.481 (scored by 48,476 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16862
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #797
Members: 113,847
Favorites: 999

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2015
Nyron (All reviews)
Cross Ange is a travesty. It's a horrible, stupid, illogical trainwreck of a show with shoddy production values that relies almost entirely on pandering to the lowest forms of human life and waving shallow moments of shock value all over the screen. The series has a narcissistic sense of self-awareness, and in each episode you can nearly hear a subtle narration by the director and other Sunrise execs laughing at how much of a moron you are for watching this garbage that they've put in front of you.

"Ha, I bet those glass-eyed imbeciles are getting bored, let's put in another lesbian threesome."

"No, not yet. Only read more
Mar 30, 2015
clowred (All reviews)
The last episode came, many people watched it and at the end one thought was strongly resonating in their brain: "Why did we underestimate this anime so much?". The beginning of this anime may be the biggest hoax in the anime history. Not only it made no sense, but it was like in the middle of night while you were sleeping someone blew up your roof, killed your family and then told you that it was your fault and you should be punished. No sense right? Still, slowly but surely this anime showed that it was a lot more than that. Sometimes surprising read more
Jan 19, 2015
Death-Counter (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be honest, this was one of the anime I've been looking forward to during the fall season. It looks and sounds interesting but its overall presentation is just so bad.
As I watched this I realized I saw a lot of plot holes by watching it once. Usually I would watch an anime three times to notice anything but every problem is just so provoking that it's noticeable.
I won't be talking about rape, fanservice, or morality problems as other reviews I've seen have, unless they're problematic in some other way. They're problems in their own right but I'm not one to judge an anime based read more
Mar 30, 2015
JustMayonnaise (All reviews)
This is possibly one of the most underrated animes from the fall season.

You can read my overall + my final thoughts/notes at the very bottom of the review if you're feeling lazy and just want some quick feedback on the anime.

I can't lie the first 5 episodes was extremely hard to get through for many which lead to the anime being dropped early on, and also given a poor rating due to its evaluation being solely based off of these first 5 episodes. It is now one of the animes I look forward to watching every week, almost as much as "Your Lie in read more
Mar 29, 2015
RLinksoul (All reviews)
Cross Ange is the very definition of exploitation. It exploits the viewers in virtually every way possible. It has an all-star voice cast, constantly bombards the viewers with the most pandering fanservice it can, all while failing to deliver any worthwhile material in its BD releases other than a Nana Mizuki concert ticket.

[ Story ]

The story is deceptively simple, a world where mankind has developed a magitech ability known as "Mana" that is used in their daily lives as if it were the most common thing in the world. However, there are a handful of people in the world who are incapable of using read more
Mar 29, 2015
aerolyt (All reviews)
Cross Ange is a bizarre anime. On the surface, it seems to have all the tools it needs to be successful, compelling, and dare I say even thought-provoking.

Unfortunately, that's not what we end up with. Not even close. This realization came over me, not all at once, but very slowly as the series went on. By midseason, I was so utterly confused by what the show had become that I couldn't even begin to take it seriously as a creative work. Now that it's over I think it's time to really explore just what went wrong with Cross Ange.

Story: 3/10
It's difficult to pin down where read more
Mar 31, 2015
Adesi (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Are you a fan of anime?
A fan of well-written and intricate plots which leave you completely speechless?
How about stories which are completely dark and riveting, while completely obscuring the moral boundaries which define human society?
Are you searching for a gem that will change how you view the world and force you to question the value a human life has?
Then look no further - as the masterpiece entitled 'Cross Ange' is the story you've been looking for!" - said no one ever (at least at the time of writing).

Then do you like Sunrise? (taken both ways, since you'll be seeing a lot of both)
If you answered read more
Apr 14, 2015
agentwash6 (All reviews)
I can say with great confidence that Cross Ange is one of the trashiest, garbage series I have watched in quite a while. Its ridiculous amounts of over the top fan service and emphasis on shock and awe scenes are legitimate lunacy. However, after the travesty that is the first few episodes a compelling story begins to rise from the muck that is Cross Ange and give people a legitmate reason to keep watching besides the fanservice and some some good mecha action.

The story begins by introducing us to our main heroine Ange, who lives in a world where magic is a used daily, read more
Jan 4, 2018
Vizic (All reviews)
I initially got into Cross Ange because of the fanservice and Yuri themes, episode one took me by surprise. It had me hating the main character and enjoying some of the negative things happening to her. However that feeling blew over and soon I started feeling bad for her and enjoying watching her grow, become stronger, and overtake the many obstacles she's had thrown at her. The show also started getting into some of the other main characters, letting a little focus off of Ange, this was also fantastic as the other characters (some you may find yourself hating at first) turn out to be read more
Jul 6, 2015
Kergen (All reviews)
Disclaimer: This review is my own opinion, take it for what its worth. I will be breaking this down into the stages MAL uses for rankings as there is a lot to cover with this one. As normal I will do my best not to spoil and keep it to the broad strokes. In addition I will worn you now. Watching this with friends is a no no. YES it is a bit risque, YES there are some very confronting things about this show, but that is not what I am talking about. There are a lot of girls in this one, to the point read more
Apr 2, 2015
-ShadowClaw- (All reviews)
Oh boy this is going to be quite the controversial review to make, The main reason because of how much the show has really made the people who watched it so divided by those who think its good and those who think its bad. Il try to go into detail as to explain what are the pros and cons of this show and maybe dwell why so many people either hate it or dislike it.

The series is either a hit or a miss…it is a hit because it focuses a lot of how society functions especially towards the discrimination of others which are different and read more
Mar 14, 2016
LoverofAngst (All reviews)
This show is so horrible I am visibly impressed. Every other reviewer will have commented on the synopsis (or you may have wondered here due to the debate surrounding this show), so I'll skip straight to judgement.

Sex, Nudity and the like.
Unlike most other reviewers who rated this show horribly, I do not have (many) problems with the portrayal of nudity, yuri elements and rape in this show. The first episode isn't the problem, it is the structure, backbone and texture of the show which got to me. Also, blatant nudity and/or rape scenes do NOT make a show edgy. Read Punpun if you want read more
Dec 12, 2015
Ruggarell (All reviews)
Simply put, Cross Ange is a masterpiece in my eyes. Many will say "But Ruggarell, just HOW? CROSS ANGE? MASTERPIECE? WHAT?". Let me explain.

Before Cross Ange aired last year, I saw it on the upcoming list of Anime that was coming out in the fall and being a fan of Ecchi it seemed like it would have a decent amount, so I gave it a go. I thought that I would have most likely would have dropped it anyway if the Ecchi segments weren't strong, but boy I got something entirely different. From the first 15 minutes of the Anime, it was blowing my mind. read more
Aug 21, 2018
Ingrid (All reviews)
Thirteen years ago, Fukuda Mitsuo was a name that became taboo across the lips of Gundam lovers far and wide for his hand in the creation of Gundam Seed Destiny and the much-maligned character of Shinn Asuka. Ten years on, he creates Cross Ange, a work with many underlying similarities to Destiny, however, infinitely superior due to certain tweaks and adjustments. Cross Ange centres around Ange, a royal princess who at her coming of age ceremony is uncovered to be a Norma, a term for those who cannot use magic and are treated as monsters by society. At its fundamental core, it explores the idea read more
Mar 31, 2015
Idunnolol (All reviews)
Preliminary
"What a boring plot." - Embryo, 2015.

And I couldnt agree more.

I really looked forward to this anime, and when I saw all the good reviews, I was certain it was going to be good, but boy was I wrong! I will go through why I gave this anime as low as a 3, which I very rarely do.

Story: 2.
The story sounded very interesting on paper, but when you actually watch it, you notice that its filled with plotholes, and a massive amount of stupid fanservice. If you're into hentai, go watch that shit and not regular anime.

Art: 5.
Its not good, but its not bad either. read more
Apr 11, 2015
CatPrince (All reviews)
Right well let's get to it, Cross Ange was a trainwreck from a start, it starts off happy like "Oh yay i'm the next heir to the throne of a massive futuristic city!" To "Holy shit I am the most hated human being in the entire city." in just one mere episode. I only decided to watch it because the the site I watch said anime on had tagged it with comedy.

The first few episodes were a little weird, some being filler and some having blatant lesbians fucking but I honestly can't say it's bad the art is pretty decent, the soundtrack is pretty amazing read more
Aug 29, 2016
Phantasmafloria (All reviews)
Before i even begin reviewing this, let's get one thing out of the way -

This anime at best looks something Clamp would draw on a bad day and at worst, looks like the Gundam animators were trying to draw with toothpicks.

Sunrise really gutted this one in terms of production values; But what you sacrifice in budget, you gain in artistic integrity and auteur-ship.

There's no other anime that's been as daring with it's plot, it's characters and it's sound design as this. The entire anime is almost composed by Akiko Shikata, who honestly should have equal credit with the director considering how much of this anime read more
Jul 3, 2015
Ahmed43 (All reviews)
Cross Ange is garbage. Simple and short - garbage.

It panders to otakus, giving your loads of fanservice, girl-on-girl, but lets the bland self-insert OC win in the end, just what teenage shut-in boys want.

The animation and sound are its strongest sides and even those are garbage.

Plot is trash and doesn't even try to take itself seriously. Anyone who does take this series seriously and loves it for its plot or characters... please go and check your brain.

Don't watch it. Unless you want to waste your time and brain cells.
Nov 8, 2015
dpanglas (All reviews)
Came to watch thinking it'd be like infinite stratos, stayed because of the story.

Let's cut to the chase. ignore the ecchi, ignore the asspulls, ignore the budget on the animation, and you have an amazing anime. The plot was well thought out and good job to the writers. Never have I watched an anime where the characters seem to have more than one dimensional thinking and actually developed like decent human beings.

Story? 10/10
Loved the unique storyline. It put a real twist on mecha series.

Art? 9/10
I thought the art was amazing at times. Animation was also great with fluid motions. Only downfall was some budgeted read more
Mar 31, 2015
Joel-Baxter (All reviews)
*May contain minor spoilers
Cross Ange is one really good anime that alot of people dropped cuz of the first 4 episodes and i think its not fair to dislike it because of that i hated it as well even though opinions swayed me into thinking that i got around to watching it and i was really interested....it def isn't for everyone its kind of all over the place though.

Story- very good to say the least once it hits episodes 5 and onwards it really depends on your preference the early part will make you dislike the main character like to the point where you wanna read more