Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo


Cross Ange: Rondo of Angel and Dragon

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: クロスアンジュ 天使と竜の輪舞〈ロンド〉
English: Cross Ange: Rondo of Angel and Dragon
German: CROSS ANGE Rondo of Angel and Dragon
Spanish: Cross Ange Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo
French: CROSS ANGE Rondo of Angel and Dragon
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2014 to Mar 29, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Theme: MechaMecha
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.391 (scored by 7763177,631 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #20922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1068
Members: 182,294
Favorites: 1,537

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2015
Nyron (All reviews)
Cross Ange is a travesty. It's a horrible, stupid, illogical trainwreck of a show with shoddy production values that relies almost entirely on pandering to the lowest forms of human life and waving shallow moments of shock value all over the screen. The series has a narcissistic sense of self-awareness, and in each episode you can nearly hear a subtle narration by the director and other Sunrise execs laughing at how much of a moron you are for watching this garbage that they've put in front of you.

"Ha, I bet those glass-eyed imbeciles are getting bored, let's put in another lesbian threesome."

"No, not yet. Only read more
Mar 30, 2015
L0G0S (All reviews)
The last episode came, many people watched it and at the end one thought was strongly resonating in their brain: "Why did we underestimate this anime so much?". The beginning of this anime may be the biggest hoax in the anime history. Not only it made no sense, but it was like in the middle of night while you were sleeping someone blew up your roof, killed your family and then told you that it was your fault and you should be punished. No sense right? Still, slowly but surely this anime showed that it was a lot more than that. Sometimes surprising read more
Mar 30, 2015
JustMayonnaise (All reviews)
This is possibly one of the most underrated animes from the fall season.

You can read my overall + my final thoughts/notes at the very bottom of the review if you're feeling lazy and just want some quick feedback on the anime.

I can't lie the first 5 episodes was extremely hard to get through for many which lead to the anime being dropped early on, and also given a poor rating due to its evaluation being solely based off of these first 5 episodes. It is now one of the animes I look forward to watching every week, almost as much as "Your Lie in read more
Jan 19, 2015
Death-Counter (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be honest, this was one of the anime I've been looking forward to during the fall season. It looks and sounds interesting but its overall presentation is just so bad.
As I watched this I realized I saw a lot of plot holes by watching it once. Usually I would watch an anime three times to notice anything but every problem is just so provoking that it's noticeable.
I won't be talking about rape, fanservice, or morality problems as other reviews I've seen have, unless they're problematic in some other way. They're problems in their own right but I'm not one to judge an anime based read more
Nov 15, 2021
audioxtc (All reviews)
It’s hard to describe shows like Cross Ange. A serious show you shouldn’t take too serious, an emotional comedy, or an action filled drama. Whatever genre you want to put it in, it can most likely fit; however, it will also contain elements of exactly the opposite genre. This is to say that I can’t pin Cross Ange down with a spoiler free summary other than hot girls fly mecha’s to fight dragons. Now yes, that is an appealing description in my eyes, but the show has much more to offer. 

There’s a lot I liked about this series, and a few minor things I didn’t. read more
Jul 6, 2015
Kergen (All reviews)
Disclaimer: This review is my own opinion, take it for what its worth. I will be breaking this down into the stages MAL uses for rankings as there is a lot to cover with this one. As normal I will do my best not to spoil and keep it to the broad strokes. In addition I will worn you now. Watching this with friends is a no no. YES it is a bit risque, YES there are some very confronting things about this show, but that is not what I am talking about. There are a lot of girls in this one, to the point read more
Apr 14, 2015
agentwash6 (All reviews)
I can say with great confidence that Cross Ange is one of the trashiest, garbage series I have watched in quite a while. Its ridiculous amounts of over the top fan service and emphasis on shock and awe scenes are legitimate lunacy. However, after the travesty that is the first few episodes a compelling story begins to rise from the muck that is Cross Ange and give people a legitmate reason to keep watching besides the fanservice and some some good mecha action.

The story begins by introducing us to our main heroine Ange, who lives in a world where magic is a used daily, read more
Mar 31, 2015
Adesi (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Are you a fan of anime?
A fan of well-written and intricate plots which leave you completely speechless?
How about stories which are completely dark and riveting, while completely obscuring the moral boundaries which define human society?
Are you searching for a gem that will change how you view the world and force you to question the value a human life has?
Then look no further - as the masterpiece entitled 'Cross Ange' is the story you've been looking for!" - said no one ever (at least at the time of writing).

Then do you like Sunrise? (taken both ways, since you'll be seeing a lot of both)
If you answered read more
Sep 3, 2020
robert788 (All reviews)
Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo (2014)

What a ride from such a hidden gem since here we have mecha, action, adventure, great story progression and plenty of ecchi.

The plotline for this is similar to a few shows with the mastermind of evil who had good intentions at one point gone crazy with a people rejected for being different by those living in a false peace. I can honestly say that it is a pretty good show throughout. Aside from plenty of Yuri and dragon girls, we have a pretty great cast to add.

The show progresses through the 25 episodes to a great read more
Feb 20, 2020
fettes11 (All reviews)
I wrote this (as a joke) when I was on 500mg of caffeine during a study session break. Oh yeah, it spoils the whole thing but that doesn't really matter with this show. This is for those who are rewatching and want a deeper understanding of this masterpiece.

Fan service in Cross Ange is integral part of the plot. (for those who don’t know, fan service means naked girls, and the plot of the show is that Princess Ange is sent to prison because she can’t use magic and is viewed as hated by God) Yes, there is a graphic rape scene in the first read more
Dec 12, 2015
Ruggadablessed (All reviews)
Simply put, Cross Ange is a masterpiece in my eyes. Many will say "But Ruggarell, just HOW? CROSS ANGE? MASTERPIECE? WHAT?". Let me explain.

Before Cross Ange aired last year, I saw it on the upcoming list of Anime that was coming out in the fall and being a fan of Ecchi it seemed like it would have a decent amount, so I gave it a go. I thought that I would have most likely would have dropped it anyway if the Ecchi segments weren't strong, but boy I got something entirely different. From the first 15 minutes of the Anime, it was blowing my mind. read more
Jan 4, 2018
Vizic (All reviews)
I initially got into Cross Ange because of the fanservice and Yuri themes, episode one took me by surprise. It had me hating the main character and enjoying some of the negative things happening to her. However that feeling blew over and soon I started feeling bad for her and enjoying watching her grow, become stronger, and overtake the many obstacles she's had thrown at her. The show also started getting into some of the other main characters, letting a little focus off of Ange, this was also fantastic as the other characters (some you may find yourself hating at first) turn out to be read more
Mar 14, 2016
LoverofAngst (All reviews)
This show is so horrible I am visibly impressed. Every other reviewer will have commented on the synopsis (or you may have wondered here due to the debate surrounding this show), so I'll skip straight to judgement.

Sex, Nudity and the like.
Unlike most other reviewers who rated this show horribly, I do not have (many) problems with the portrayal of nudity, yuri elements and rape in this show. The first episode isn't the problem, it is the structure, backbone and texture of the show which got to me. Also, blatant nudity and/or rape scenes do NOT make a show edgy. Read Punpun if you want read more
Feb 8, 2020
ismichi (All reviews)
The plethora of unnecessary fanservice aren't actually as big an issue as some folk will allude to. HOWEVER, if you're uncomfortable being seen watching a highly-fanservice show... you might need to watch by yourself.

For those not as comfortable of needless fanservice shots, tho, rest assured that practically in spite of it, it's actually so little the focus that it can be overlooked without much effort. Some cheesy effects to cover nudity is a lot more irksome.

Oh, and for the overall theme of the story, it's undeniably forcing viewers to acknowledge that humanity cannot be sugarcoated regardless what you try to do.

--

.:STORY:. read more
Apr 2, 2015
-ShadowClaw- (All reviews)
Oh boy this is going to be quite the controversial review to make, The main reason because of how much the show has really made the people who watched it so divided by those who think its good and those who think its bad. Il try to go into detail as to explain what are the pros and cons of this show and maybe dwell why so many people either hate it or dislike it.

The series is either a hit or a miss…it is a hit because it focuses a lot of how society functions especially towards the discrimination of others which are different and read more
Nov 8, 2015
HaGaoFongZhao (All reviews)
Came to watch thinking it'd be like infinite stratos, stayed because of the story.

Let's cut to the chase. ignore the ecchi, ignore the asspulls, ignore the budget on the animation, and you have an amazing anime. The plot was well thought out and good job to the writers. Never have I watched an anime where the characters seem to have more than one dimensional thinking and actually developed like decent human beings.

Story? 10/10
Loved the unique storyline. It put a real twist on mecha series.

Art? 9/10
I thought the art was amazing at times. Animation was also great with fluid motions. Only downfall was some budgeted read more
May 28, 2015
jim1914 (All reviews)
Cross ange...I started this anime when it was ongoing. That was a big mistake because every single episode was outstanding and always i wanted to see the next one. If i could watch the whole series in a day i would definitely do it. This anime is the absolute ecchi,mecha, sci-fi experience which every fan of this genres would enjoy it the most but let's be more specific
Story: well the main character of this anime is a teenage girl named Angelise. She lives in a world that lives by using "mana"
Everything is only controlable by this kind of magic. But some girls can't use read more
Aug 2, 2015
_Sprak (All reviews)
Hey guys! This is my very first review so I hope it being long doesn't bother you guys too much but I'll try my best to explain each category and why I absoutely loved this show. I'm not really into mecha, but ironically Code Geass is one of my favorite shows of all time. A few days ago, I stumbled upon Cross Ange and the first thing that caught me was the female lead, no not in a sexual way, what I meant was it's refreshing to see a main female lead, especially in action shows. So I decided to watch (binge watched the whole read more
Sep 15, 2020
JoeEagar (All reviews)
Cross Ange is one of my favorite mecha animes and one of the most underrated. It has great art and great characters. If you love the Amazon trope you'll love this show (and if you don't you might hate it). I really like how the mechas are portrayed; it actually kind of makes sense how they transform between a kind of hoverbike and a giant humanoid robot. Probably a lot more energy efficient.

The characters are portrayed realistically, from the womanizing fighter jock lesbian captain to the main character to the rest. It's awesome. The villain is an intriguing take read more
Mar 31, 2015
98T4nk (All reviews)
*May contain minor spoilers
Cross Ange is one really good anime that alot of people dropped cuz of the first 4 episodes and i think its not fair to dislike it because of that i hated it as well even though opinions swayed me into thinking that i got around to watching it and i was really interested....it def isn't for everyone its kind of all over the place though.

Story- very good to say the least once it hits episodes 5 and onwards it really depends on your preference the early part will make you dislike the main character like to the point where you wanna read more