Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Digimon Adventure tri. 1: Saikai


Alternative Titles

English: Digimon Adventure tri. Reunion
Synonyms: Digimon tri. 1
Japanese: デジモンアドベンチャーtri.(トライ)第1章「再会」

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 21, 2015
Producers: Bandai, Ai Addiction
Licensors: Shout! Factory
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 29 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.561 (scored by 45,196 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1211
Members: 87,156
Favorites: 311

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 20, 2015
Defunctional (All reviews)
I can't express my disappointment in this. Maybe my expectations were too high coming into this, although I lowered it after hearing some bad things about the studio that produced this, but it's unbelievable how some aspects seem to be WORSE than the show from ~15 years ago.

The story is interesting so far. We start out with the re-introduction of our characters excluding the Digimon 02 characters. (What happened to them anyways? What were those scenes in the beginning supposed to mean? We still have a few more parts left so I won't comment on it for now) Anyways there's also this secret agent read more
Nov 20, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Ah Digimon. Almost anyone who grew up watching anime will heard of this from somewhere. Even if you haven’t, Digimon is a series that was well-known when it first debuted. (and still is!) The franchise was introduced to the world that focuses on entities, known as Digital Monsters. These creatures are made of data that exists in their own parallel world known as the Digital World. However, their universe also crosses over the real world where chosen humans (known as Digidestined) are partnered with certain Digimon to fight against evil.

First things out of the way, this movie takes place after the second season also read more
Nov 20, 2015
iasonhohoho (All reviews)
Minor Spoiler Alert:

I enjoy watching the first movie(episode 1-4),because I get to watch my childhood heroes again. I loved the character design and the sound track is very nostalgic. (love the new digivolving sequence, and didn't get tired of it at all). One of the things that I don't like about the first movie was that the story and character development is very lacking in terms of dynamic. There wasn't a moment in the whole movie where I was like, yep, this is what it meant to be. I love the fact they trying to emphasized on my favorite main character Tai, but I read more
Nov 20, 2015
Poetul (All reviews)
Get on the hype train because the first chapter has been released and there are more to come(Six in total)

Story /10

Well we can't give a mark because this is the initial fragment and i tend to judge the hole story.This chapter reunites us with the Digimon Masters(or Digidestined) from the first series that appeared in 1999.
In this story the gates between the human and the digital world are opening where "mass data concentrates" are found.From these gates the so called "Infected Digimon's" appear and they go on a rampage.It's up to our heroes the Digidestined to save the read more
Nov 21, 2015
Tacas (All reviews)
In Summer 2014, Toei Animation surprised the Digimon Fanbase by announcing a sequel to the original Digimon TV series. Digimon Adventure, as it is officially called, aired in 1999 and became an internationally well-known anime that spawned several films and spin-offs with the latest being Digimon Xros Wars in 2010. Other than Digimon Adventure and its direct sequel, Digimon Adventure 02, all Digimon series take place in separate universes. This new film, however, plays three years after the events of 02.

Some time after its initial announcement, Digimon Adventure tri was revealed to be a six-part film series rather than a TV anime. Moreover, its release read more
Nov 20, 2015
TsukineHime (All reviews)
Maybe I was expecting too much, but the truth is that I'm pretty disapointed. I think by now we all know that Toei animation has been doing a very mediocre job with their animation, but this time they managed to hit a new low. Digimon seems to be suffering from a worse fate than Sailor Moon Crystal and Dragon Ball Super.

SPOILERS AHEAD, IF YOU HAVEN'T WATCHED THE MOVIE THEN STOP READING NOW. Unless you don't care about spoilers, that's fine too.

So lets start this and see why.

Story: 7

Seems pretty average so far and I was actually disapointed with some scenes, said scenes should have made read more
Nov 20, 2015
sushiisawesome (All reviews)
It's hard to describe the sheer awe and wonder that many children had with Digimon as they grew up. If I were to describe it, it was an amazing adventure that had an endearing cast of characters, a fascinating world, relatively good animation (in comparison to other children's shows) and most importantly, an alternative to Pokemon that many children found easier to get attached to. This was because the characters came off as children just like the viewers, with their fair share of sympathetic traits and quirks.

While all I'm saying may sound strange to someone who may not have experienced Digimon in their childhood, Digimon read more
Dec 16, 2015
Digiswag (All reviews)
If you like Digimon Adventure 01 and 02, this is not for you. It spends a large amount of time doing absolutely nothing. The first episode has maybe 5 minutes of plot, at most, and it continues along this plodding pace for most of the movie. Even the action seems slow.

This is apparent in the characters as well, where it builds artificial tension by portraying Tai as having PTSD without actually explaining why other than still shots of destroyed buildings. I think I know what they were trying to go for, but they executed this TERRIBLY.

This laziness in storytelling carries over into the read more
Nov 21, 2015
fodderchara18 (All reviews)
OHHHH MYYYYY LOVEEEEEE

I must admit. When Butter-fly started playing, i really felt like crying. It's been like what, 15 years? Damn, to think that the me from that time would stop whatever he was doing just to sit in front of the TV and watch the new Digimon episode with a smile the size of this world and the next...

... well, it's certainly a tremendous trip down memory lane, in more ways than one. And one that i end up cherishing a lot since it connects me to a period of great happiness in my life. That's what childhood is or at least that's read more
Aug 27, 2018
zimmercj (All reviews)
I was putting off watching this until all the films were out (which is still a long ways away), but Wal*Mart had the DVD/Blu-Ray for a price I couldn't pass up. Too bad the internet already spoiled quite a bit of the future story events for me. :(

Let's start with what I didn't like because the list is much shorter ;). I liked the opening theme as much as any of the US/English openings, but wish they would have used Butter-Fly since they used other songs (in Japanese) from the Japanese series in the English release, and it would have been a nice tribute to read more
Nov 21, 2015
jpenobagel (All reviews)
Like others, I was pretty hyped up about the new Digimon and anticipating how it would turn out. Suffice to say, although the look is different, the feel is still there.

I think there are more people familiar with Digimon than not. But for those who aren't, what's always separated Digimon from the often compared-to Pokemon is how they approach their material. Aside from the fact that Digimon has approached darker and more complex themes across its seasons, part of its appeal has also been its focus on the characters. Battles and character quirks are perhaps done better in Pokemon, but for Digimon, much of read more
May 16, 2019
Piesacc (All reviews)

I'm so nostalgic about the digimon series
And this was a good return. I'm not disappointed
Seeing again this characters grown make me feel happy, digimons too.
Antagonist is same as before
This was really fun to watch i recommend if you want to have fun watching
watch this movie , cause its so nostalgic . There is new remake of opening that i love and you’ll be familiar with my near constant questioning of where the hell they’ve been this whole time.

Well this movie finally answers that question and, like every other “resolution” it doesn’t feel earned, it’s lackluster, asks more questions than it answers, and read more
Dec 11, 2015
shast007 (All reviews)

before i watch this digimon movie, i re watch several episode of digimon adventures because its been a year since i last watch a digimon, well digimon is my good childhood memories cause every morning i waiting for this anime.

story:

its been 15 years ( i think ) since the last episode of digimon adventures 01/02, although the story is same from digimon adventure 2, but its incomplete or lack of explanation, yah i know its movie and it will give more explanation on future episode thats why i putting it on this review, i gonna put a score as 7/10 for now cause i enjoy read more
Feb 21, 2016
Banana_Pancakes (All reviews)
I am by no means a snob about any aspects of anime (evident by my average score) , and I loved Digimon as a kid. Watched every episode and movie, and had all the cards. And I am all for blinding myself with nostalgia, but this is a monstrosity of epic proportions, even going into it with zero expectations.

From the start we have Tai. Yes he looks like Tai, but apparently in the 6 year hiatus he has encountered some, as of yet unknown, tragic event that caused all aspects of his personality to shrivel into nothingness.

And this goes for all of the characters. read more
Nov 21, 2015
artist-retired (All reviews)
I'm going to be perfectly honest, as children television shows go, particularly anime, Digimon is one of the best examples of going well beyond just selling the audience a silly toy or other apparels. In comparison to the obvious "inspiration" that is Pokemon, it was clear Digimon's story had far more thought put into it, but there are reasons to why Pokemon is more relevant than Digimon in today's pop culture, but this isn't the place to talk about that.

In a "surprising" announcement made over a year ago, Toei animation confirmed another Digimon series in the works. The real surprise, however, was that this new read more
Jun 4, 2016
Lax_Caux (All reviews)
Warning: minor spoilers ahead

Digimon was one of my favorite TV shows when I was younger, and as huge fan of the series I was in the opposite side from my collegues, Pokemon and Dragon Ball fans. Adventure is an amazing show, with very mature themes in the plot and great characters. The sequel, Adventure 02 was not so good, with lame new characters and an awful ending. Tamers was so called Digimon 3 by TV marketing, but is a spin--off (a great one to be fair), so Digimon Adventure has ended with a bitter taste in the fans mouth.

So I received the news of read more
Nov 20, 2015
JessAPancake (All reviews)
Considering this would be the biggest thing I've been waiting for...
It feels some what a disappointment with the lack of detail on the characters and the overall art the episodes...
Even though the Art is a let down, I couldn't be more happier to see this..
From watching it as a kid and having a digivice, i was extremely happy to watch it.

Truthfully the only disappointment that I really feel besides the lack of detail in the art, is the fact that we have to wait next year for the second part...
It felt too short to be honest and needed a read more
Nov 22, 2015
NaxxN (All reviews)
Where do I even start with this, just watched the first film of this series and man do I love it!

The Story is superb in my opinion the first film is called "reunion" or Saikai in Japanese if you will, and it is just that, the reunion of friends who haven't seen each other in many years, the story takes you back to the days you were just a kid and watching Digimon Adventure on the TV. They made such an amazing job on the story and gave everyone their deserved time, and wow, have they changed growing up, I'm not a crier but some read more
Nov 27, 2015
trippnessa (All reviews)
Pros:

While many people seem to disagree with me, I really enjoyed the new art style. There are a few scenes with strangely drawn faces, I'll admit that, but for the most part it's fantastic. I love how fluid it is and how the colors look. It reminds me of the animation from the previous movies (Diablomon).

The characters and voices are great. All the same actors as before, and I'm also okay with their decision to make Taichi hesitant to get involved in all of this again. Bringing back his old reservations from the first season could be fun to work with, as long as they read more
Nov 21, 2015
cognite (All reviews)
Hated the human characters designs and story. Humans lack any real design to them, with them being the low quality standard that anime seem to favor these days. Hated the rookie digimin's voices, they all sound like squeaky school children.

The character development seems to have reversed. Some seems to have regressed in their maturity and some have progressed into adulthood. It seems that only one character will see any type of character advancement with the plot playing out as it has in these 4 episodes.

Story so far seems to be an alternate or modified version of another Digimon season's plot. It has already read more