Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru


Alternative Titles

English: Yuki Yuna is a Hero
Synonyms: Yuki Yuna wa Yusha de Aru, Yuuki Yuuna is a Hero
Japanese: 結城友奈は勇者である

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 17, 2014 to Dec 26, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Fridays at 02:19 (JST)
Licensors: Ponycan USA
Studios: Studio Gokumi
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.481 (scored by 27,335 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16712
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #982
Members: 71,867
Favorites: 735

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 15, 2016
Th334 (All reviews)
--- INTRODUCTION ---
I decided to watch Yuki Yuna is a Hero after thoroughly enjoying Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, which opened my mind to what the magic girl genre could be and is one of the best series I've seen. In a nutshell, Yuki Yuna spectacularly failed at almost everything that I loved about Madoka Magica, but it had nothing to do with superficial similarities between the two shows, and everything to do with... well, a whole list of things right below:

--- THE BAD ---
(story, world building, characters, battles)

(1) The story is the worst part. It has numerous plot holes towards the climax of the show read more
Dec 25, 2014
Paulo27 (All reviews)
**NOTE: This anime is a sequel to the LN 'Washio Sumi wa Yuusha de Aru', it's highly recommended that you do NOT read it before this, don't even look at its synopsis as it contains spoilers, it's recommended however that you read it after finishing this anime as it gives good backstory for some of the characters and works well as a tissue burner.**

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru (Yuyuyu henceforth to avoid confusion with the character) was one of the least anticipated tiles for Fall 2014, but as a fan of both the SoL and mahou shoujo genres I figured it'd be a decent read more
Nov 8, 2014
WingKing (All reviews)
I did not know what to expect when I began watching Yuuki Yuuna is a Hero. The previews teased that it was going to be another slice-of-life series, but looks were deceptive. While it has some SOL elements, at its core it's a magical girl show, and a pretty serious one, too. Here’s my final review of the entire series, as of 12/26/2014. If you just want an overall recommendation without any other details, feel free to skip to the tl;dr section at the very bottom.

The Plot In a Nutshell:
Middle school girls in a "Hero Club" perform small everyday acts of heroism in the normal read more
Dec 25, 2014
MarlyTT (All reviews)
The brilliant minds behind Angel Beats and Akame ga Kill joined forces in an attempt to capitalize on their respective "talents" and made what some people call "one of the most underrated masterpieces of the season" without an ounce of irony. This series is pretty much everything wrong with modern anime, and there are plenty of reasons as to why. It's just so up its own ass pretending to be not a grimdark show in a vain attempt to fake out the audience for so long that it ends up boring, and when it actually gets to the grimdark it was leading up to, it read more
Dec 26, 2014
Anon028 (All reviews)
Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru is part of a multimedia project of LN, VN, videogame, manga and anime. And despite of it, the anime is completely able to stand on its own.

The story is one of the strongest points, but for you to understand this you need to watch the series from the right point of view. As a Slice of Life the story is about the characters, sure world building is important, but ultimately the story focuses on the 5 main protagonists, it makes you care about them, their lives and it gives a proper conclusion to them.

The art is pretty good for read more
Dec 26, 2014
Hawk2 (All reviews)
Can you hold it in your heart to believe in yourself to be a hero? Can you do that while knowing that while you carry out your promise to protect the world, you have to watch as you feel like you're failing that same promise to your friends? Are you truly capable of being a hero knowing what sacrifices have to be made and what you can lose along the way? Do you have the willpower to be the spark that lights the candle of hope surround by a shroud of despair?

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru (YuYuYu for short) is an anime that read more
Dec 23, 2014
Social_Elitist (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Yuuki Yuna is the hero for wasting your time: (p.s not even a Madoka clone!)

Happy time killer Slice Of Life bore, when the main the promo for the show were the battles, 85% of the show was filler. How on Earth will we care?

Why is this a madoka clone? It's not. First impressions suggest an interesting thing with the fight royale magicka, but it was binned 8.5/10 times and it had to be a Slice Of Life monotony! And, most of the time, the girls are just screwing about as “Heroes” by being girl scouts, but its even stupider considering that they read more
Jul 23, 2015
ChristopherKClaw (All reviews)
Yuuki Yuuna is a Horribly Boring Character. She's relatively one-dimensional, oblivious, airheaded, naive and childish in her ideals, which isn't inherently boring, but the world she lives in RESPECTS that allowing her simple and repetitive nature to prevail against any and all problems to the point where you begin to wonder if there's any point in growing up at all.

I, like many others, stumbled upon the show "Yuuki Yuuna is a Hero" after hearing it compared to the illustrious Madoka Magica and were drawn to it by people saying that it was "better than Madoka". As a massive fan of Madoka Magica, I was read more
Dec 26, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

When it comes to helping others, some do it for the joy it brings to others while some do so to bring happiness to oneself. It doesn't matter the reason; just being there for someone in his or her time of need makes all the difference in the world. It also doesn't matter the scope, either. Whether it's working at a soup kitchen, babysitting the neighbor's kid, or saving an animal from a burning building, it's not the grandness of the act, but the act itself that means everything. And more often than not, these people are bestowed read more
Dec 29, 2014
emberreviews (All reviews)
In an age where a single idea can be copied, transmuted, inverted, and manipulated in millions of possible ways, the phrase "That's just a rip-off of ______" has become increasingly more common. For example, I've heard many arguments that Nagi no Asukara is just a rip-off of From the New World, and while there certainly are similarities between the two, it's quiet a stretch to say that a romance drama is just a rip-off of a dystopian horror series. However, there are times where the degree to which something is copied is so severe that read more
May 10, 2015
Vanschia (All reviews)
It's my first review on MAL, and I decided to give it to one of this unpopular anime..

This is the first anime that makes me scream, "OH GOD, PEOPLE SHOULD WATCH THIS!"
I've rewatched this series for 4times now, so I decided to give it a review.
I'll avoid any spoiler as I write.

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru, or Yuuki Yuuna is a Hero. (YuYuYu for short)

Story: 8.5/10
In post-apocalyptic age where humans are in near of extinction, humans still live each other peacefully.
The story focused on a group of middle-school girls in a club called Hero Club.
A Club that has a purpose to help other people read more
Apr 21, 2016
Yuni (All reviews)
YuYuYu is a Madoka Clone!!!!!!

Just kidding.

Yuuki Yuuna is a Filthy Casual is but another magical girl anime, a genre that has a huge soft spot right here in my kokoro. I'm a man, a manly man at that. BELIEVE ME!

But the cute transformations, pet sidekicks, and flashy dresses always get to me, ya know? I'm sure you understand. I'm not a weaboo, I promise...

Yuuki Yuuna is a Filthy Casual is an adorable magical girls anime. And I'm not even kidding! Well, I'm only half kidding...

This show uses a lot of moe slice of life! Being the moefag and slice of life fan that I am, read more
Dec 25, 2014
MangakaNotlora (All reviews)
Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru was another member of the new-age magical girl genre--a collective of teen girls with your basic set of personalities (smart one, shy one, large breasted one, etc.) receive superhuman powers and moe outfits to fight some villain, the new age aspect being that there is some horrible catch to it.
Unfortunately, since Madoka Magica, it has become a nightmare to build hype for any new shows falling into these guidelines. Understandably, it is very hard to compete with a show that got not only its twelve episodes, but its drama CDs and several movies. Yuuki Yuuna just seems something of read more
Dec 26, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
A show that might be overlooked for its frontal advertisement. Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha (Yuuki Yuuna is a Hero) isn’t your typical ‘cute girls doing cute things’ type of show. Well, it is for some parts or at least the first 10 or so minutes of the pilot episode. Then, we realize the show is a lot more after a strange message on a cell phone that transports the girls into a world of the unknown. If ‘magical girl’ is something you’re familiar with and find enjoyable, then this show may be a treat.

To trace back a bit, the show is an original work read more
Dec 12, 2015
jc9622 (All reviews)
Every time I see an anime cover with a cute magical girl/s, I always get the feeling that it's going to be similar to Madoka Magica. I tried the show out just to confirm my curiosity and what do you know, it is similar to Madoka but do not think the show is a Madoka rip-off because it's not.

(There will be SPOILERS in my review)

[Story]: (8.8/10) (SPOILERS)
The story takes place in the era of the gods, Year 300. Yuuna Yukki lives an ordinary life as a second year middle school but she's also a member of the "Hero Club", where club activities involve dealing read more
Jun 2, 2015
Tozzy (All reviews)
How far will you push yourself for the sake of others even when you know every step you take may hurt you? Welcome to the world of Yuki Yuna is a Hero where hope is sometimes all that’s left to stand on, but it might just be enough to get you over the line. A story following a school hero club thrust into an unexpected fight, Yuki Yuna starts slow but finishes with a bang to make for a magical girl experience that ranged from frustrating to thrilling.

Story

This is probably the first show I’ve watched where the enjoyment I got out of it was hampered read more
Dec 25, 2014
Kenji_The_Engi (All reviews)
"To be really great in little things, to be truly noble and heroic in the insipid details of everyday life, is a virtue so rare as to be worthy of canonization."

-Harriet Beecher Stowe

Story: 8/10

The story of Yuuki Yuuna revolves around a school club called the Hero Club which preforms tasks that help the community such as putting on puppet shows for little kids and trying to find owners for stray cats, but one day the members learn the true nature of the club: an organization that must fight creatures called vertexes in an alternate universe to protect the earth, if any of the vertexes read more
Dec 6, 2015
Arcanon (All reviews)
A very enjoyable, well-rounded show that wonderfully tells a story through emotions, color and flowers.

Imagine an anime being born from the visual appeal of No Game No Life, the moe from YuruYuri, and the plot of Madoka Magica having a threesome.
Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru is that anime.

The art is so crisp and clean, flaunting all those magnificient colors and oftentimes showing the beautiful contrast between hope and despair.

The music is really lovable. It's lively, yet ominous at the same time.

There were also these subtle references that I always find entertaining and interesting to spot. Just knowing that something is a reference to something read more
Jul 23, 2015
MeowPower (All reviews)
Yuki Yuna is a Hero, for now on being called Yuyu, is a magical girl series that surprised me. Being a seemly dark magical girl anime released after Madoka, and with another show making that a negative thing, (Daybreak Illusion), I really didn't go into the show with much expectation. Though Yuki Yuna is a Hero is a title worthy of being a stand alone anime that shouldn't be seen as a madoka rip off.
In a world ruled by a being named, Shinju-sama, Yuki Yuna and the Hero club help out the community. The Hero Club is chose by read more
Mar 12, 2015
TheAzureSky (All reviews)
Good emotional payoff but not worth suffering through its mind-numbingly boring plotting.

★☆☆☆

Spoilers from here on, because this is less of a review and more analysis.

- SPOILERS -

I was told this show was going to be like Madoka Magica, and they were partially right. Except Madoka was great all 12 episodes, even the first three slow ones have replay value once you understand the full context. Madoka Magica is pitched as a magical girl show with dark tones and little cute girls suffering. Yuki Yuna attempts the same except I’m the one that’s suffering because it’s so boring. The emotional payoff—while fantastic—is NOT worth it.

Look, there’s read more