Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Princess Sara


Alternative Titles

English: A Little Princess Sara
Synonyms: Sekai Meisaku Gekijou, Princess Sara, Little Princess Sarah, Shoukoujo Sara
Japanese: 小公女セーラ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 46
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 1985 to Dec 29, 1985
Premiered: Winter 1985
Broadcast: Sundays at 19:30 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Nippon Animation
Source: Novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.751 (scored by 6,354 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3891
Members: 12,772
Favorites: 71

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 4, 2014
hao10 (All reviews)
If only Sara were here, she would have written an awesome review for the series. She would have probably written it in French as well. It's not that writing anime reviews is a part of Miss Minchin's seminary curriculum, it's just about me, a barely literate otaku boy, even a hundred years later, still having little chance to do it better.

`Princess Sara' is based on a novel by Frances Hodgson Burnett, `A Little Princess' (1905), with quite a history of rewrites and adaptations, and this particular anime belongs to a bigger project known as `World Masterpiece Theater', which gathers adaptations of classical western books and read more
Jul 17, 2015
Maffy (All reviews)
Shoukoujo Sara, or A Little Princess Sara, is based upon the world’s classic book, A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett and is part of the World Masterpiece Theater. As per usual when it comes to this collection, this work has the distinct traits of the main character(s) being played by the vicissitudes of fate and having to overcome multiple obstacles until finally a reward is at the end of their difficult journey.

The story revolves around Sara who was raised as a proper young lady by her father and later, being entrusted to a famous boarding school to obtain education of a higher level/quality. Soon, read more
Nov 14, 2009
Naruchan (All reviews)
Preliminary
The art and animation isn't the best, as it was made in the 80s, but it is very quaint and fits in well with the story and adds to the feel of the show.

The music is pretty good from what I was able to hear. It is mostly classical music for the background and again fits in well.

I'm not sure how well they have portrayed the characters from the book, having only seen a small amount. They seem to have made Sera more of an average girl and downplayed her intelligence. I was annoyed at this, as she makes a couple of speeches demonstrating her read more
Jul 7, 2015
Rampant (All reviews)
This anime is basically the slowest something could be in the first place, and the plot after the first 10 episodes of everyone jizzing over the mc is her being tortured after that. The plot is mostly the other workers telling them (the 2 poor tortured girls) to work hard as those other workers slack off and large amounts of time being spent for the other characters to say yes to working harder even though they were already working hard, or the headmistress making some unreasonably bitchy complaint accusing someone of doing something they did not do that the headmistress knows that other person did read more
Jan 13, 2017
celeceravian (All reviews)
Absolutely awful. Let me start off first by saying that I've read the book several times and watched several of the other more popular versions. They are some of my favorites. There is so much wrong with this adaptation that I could go on and on but I'll keep it short. The characters are characterized as weak and stupid. Sara herself is basically purity sue. She is perfect and all the others either lover or hate her. Aside from that, she is an incredibly passive version of her book self. She spends much of the series crying, read more
Dec 3, 2019
Rayaxe (All reviews)
[Spoiler free review]
I'm going to keep this review short, because there's not a lot to say about this show. It starts off pretty weak with more than 10 episodes of build up before the actual premise is reached and then it suddenly gets good. The thing about it though is you could always see where the plot was taking you well in advance, and it just turned into an observation of a constant cycle. It was a loop of witnessing the main character's unconditional kindness, followed by a harsh dose of cruelty and finally a few tears shed and determined vows are made before the read more
Sep 18, 2016
AmberAmethyst (All reviews)
I love the novel A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett, so upon finding an anime for that story I had to watch it. For the most part I found it enjoyable and faithful to the original source material.

Story (8):

The story follows Sara Crewe, the young daughter of a rich widower, who enrolls in an English boarding school. For the first fourth of the anime, Sara is praised by everyone both in the school and outside for her manners, kindness, and how pretty she looks in her fine clothes. By episode eleven she receives the news that her father has died bankrupt making her lose read more
Apr 11, 2016
doc_awesome (All reviews)
"Princess Sara" is, according to a list someone posted to Reddit, the least popular top 1000 rated anime on My Anime List. It is a 46-episode 1980s shoujo without any adventure themes, and much of the content concerns the depressing mistreatment of the protagonist, who falls from wealth and into the hands of a cruel boarding school headmistress. It's no accident that this anime isn't very popular with modern audiences, but its ranking is actually a bit lower than I think it deserves, and I think many modern viewers might enjoy this.

The biggest complaints from the reviews seem to be that the protagonist is too read more
Jul 7, 2019
Kriptionite (All reviews)
This is going to be my first ever review so it’ll probably be a bit confusing, but I’ll try my best.


Story 10/10
Well, this was obvious. This anime is one of the most saddest and heart-warning things I’ve ever watched! From when Sara’s father died to all the cruel things the people at the academy did to her, she was still strong and continued to be kind hearted. Even before losing everything she was still extremely kind. I love how this anime didn’t just jump straight into tragedy but actually let us see the rich but kind girl Sara is.

Art 6/10
This one was a bit read more
Jul 16, 2018
Nate515 (All reviews)
You can cut this anime series down to 30 episodes (mostly from the middle of the series) and STILL display enough of Sara's suffering to make a point - that it's a hard-knock life, for .... uh, ahem...that song does stick doesn't it?

It's dragged out way too long and I ended up skipping through part of several episodes just to get to the conclusion.

It started out as something interesting, but became something rather painful and aggravating to watch. The balance is off. Extremely cold-hearted, evil people all congregated under one building and supportive characters that lacked voice and power to make much of a read more