Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Akatsuki no Yona


Alternative Titles

English: Yona of the Dawn
Synonyms: Yona: The girl standing in the blush of dawn
Japanese: 暁のヨナ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2014 to Mar 24, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.181 (scored by 175,793 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3312
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #168
Members: 358,518
Favorites: 8,494

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 11, 2015
Chizuki (All reviews)
This is my first review :D

First of all , Akatsuki no yona where have you been all this time? Where have you been HIDING dammit!

Sound : Im specifically starting with this , because lets face it , the soundtrack is absolutely amazing in this anime. Starting with the opening , Its only instrumental! ( How much time has it been since we got AN INSTRUMENTAL OPENING?)and yet you don't skip it and listen to it every damn time. The second opening isnt as great but is still awesome!
( seriously it gives you chills everytime there's a fight/emotional moment and the traditional music goes in).

Story read more
Mar 25, 2015
JKinky88 (All reviews)
By the end of this show, you will love it, its really something worth your time. Out of many shows airing today this show is really something to look forward to each week, now it can be enjoyed in its full glory even though the show does need a second season, dammit. Akatsuki no Yona is definitly a show you won't forget.

At first, this show seems like your average run of the mill shoujo reverse harem, but by the end of the first episode as the story goes on, it seems to be more than that, its really a well written story which focuses on read more
Mar 27, 2015
AceLe (All reviews)
At some point in the show, Yona mentioned something about escaping from her bubble of a spoiled princess, learning about the difficulties of life and such. Ironically, this show never managed to escape from its bubble of a shoujo-pandering, unbearably sappy, politically shallow, purposeless mess of tropes and forced superficial development.

Beware of spoilers used as discussion points

Featuring a middle ages Korea kingdom apparently in turmoil; Yona stars as a completely clueless princess with already 2 incredibly hot young men who can’t resist to “protect” her. A coup occurred, for reasons still unclear after 24 episodes, killing the king and forcing Yona to take flight read more
Jan 6, 2015
macaroniparty (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm a female and I usually watch shounen/seinen animes, not because I'm a tomboy or whatever that is called, I'm just not into animes that focus too much on cute little love stories, which is, probably, most shoujo animes? I mean, really? REALLY?
Anyway let's talk about this shit. Not shit in a bad way - I found Akatsuki no Yona THE shit. So far.

Story:
I dig the story. It sounds a bit like Nanatsu no Taizai's but here we have the four dragons instead of the seven sins, and Yona is not stupid and cliché as Elizabeth, in my opinion.

Art:
The art is pretty and classic. read more
Mar 24, 2015
henyome (All reviews)
What would you do if you lost everything to the one person you thought you cared about the most? Trust is easily extended when you live a sheltered life, and it makes the betrayal all that much more bitter of a pill to swallow. Yet it is not revenge that spurs on our heroine ultimately – for the line between love and hate is thin and the subsequent balancing act is, in the end, a chaotic mess of feelings too tangled and difficult to boil down to one simple word.

Rare is the series that introduces a seemingly weak and sheltered female lead, who undergoes great read more
Mar 24, 2015
Kaaviken (All reviews)
Akatsuki no Yona (Yona of the Dawn), an anime that will leave you in chills after every single episode. This is what an anime should be all about, forcing its way to your heart and really making the watcher feel emotion after emotion. THIS is a true masterpiece.

Story: 10
There is absolutely no flaws in the story what so ever, the amount of creativity put into this anime is nothing but pure gold. Not leaving a single detail behind, making sure that the watcher fully understands and appreciate a work of art when he sees it. It truly sends shivers down my spine.

Art: 10
I can hardly read more
Jan 24, 2015
enaikelt (All reviews)
Preliminary
I came to this anime having been a huge fan of the manga beforehand, and to tell the truth the first few episodes felt a little choppy for me... plenty of places where I thought that the flow could have been better, that weird "forward flash" thing in the first couple episodes, and so on. It felt like they were so impatient to get to the good bits that they tried to fit too many flashbacks into the first hour and a half, spoiling the future events of the series instead of slowly revealing them as time went on.

But it settles down later and really read more
Apr 4, 2015
KD7BWB (All reviews)
Lion Tamers Rejoice!

I have found a good one. "Akatsuki no Yona", a 24-episode masterpiece, with a flair for political entanglements, and the stress of personal loss; makes for a great watch in almost every category.

First I wish to make some comments about this show, in the historical sense. While this anime, like many; places itself in an alternate universe, it still manages to stay fairly accurate to Feudal China. I find this quirk, very interesting in the light that the entire production is mainly Japanese origin.

After all, all the weapons used are Chinese (straight swords versus the curve Katana Blade, etc), and the costumes might read more
Mar 24, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Betrayal. That’s a word I’m sure that evoke a lot of feelings. In these days, betrayal is a word that destroys friends, alliances, and in worst cases, relationships. For a young girl named Yona, she personally finds out the meaning of that word. Make no mistake. Akatsuki no Yona (Yona of the Dawn) doesn’t just revolve around the betrayal of someone (Soo-Won) that is close to Yona. It also chronicles the journey of this girl and the timeless efforts she goes to recreate the life she once had lost; figuratively speaking of course.

Akatsuki no Yona (Yona of the Dawn) adapts the manga of the same read more
Nov 12, 2014
Revanants (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review so I hope I can convince some people and give a reasonable, accurate review on this anime. Lets jump right in. (Contains a spoiler of the first episode)

Story: The story is about three childhood friends who have grown up. One, a young princess named Yona. Second, a young man who later becomes the bodyguard of Yona and a general in the army, Hak, and a handsome man named Su-won who Yona is madly in love with. Yona has arguments with her father, the king, about Su-won and her desire to marry him, but her father rejects the idea while Hak read more
Dec 26, 2014
Social_Elitist (All reviews)
Preliminary
YONA IS NOT AN EPIC BONAZA:

Utterly unepic because it feels like a typical action adventure fantasy story that viewers felt like they've already seen. Yet anime like Full Metal Alchemist have done it better beyond comparison but do we need a revenge story, dragon binging and some cringe-worthy comedy and not be mediocrity play? Not really recommended.

You guessed it: 80% of these characters are often defined by two dimensions but mostly consisting of boy scouts with an additional trait that makes them “slightly” shine towards the others. Exclude the 80% and that antagonists that caused that anarchy are simply pseudo one dimensional douche bags because read more
Jul 30, 2015
AvatarKorra (All reviews)
WOW. This anime just BLEW my expectations out of the water. Writing this review doesn't give it justice...if you are wondering whether or not it is worth to watch this anime, trust me. IT IS. So go now.

Story 9.58/10
So supposedly this is a "Reverse harem" anime. But I didn't quite see it as that...in fact, I saw it as so much more. This anime goes far beyond any average romance anime. It has truly deep moments of sadness, hilarious moments of comedy, beautiful romance (between the two characters that I think are actually going to get together), it has GREAT action and actually has read more
Mar 26, 2015
TheDeadServ (All reviews)
The seasoned viewer review: Not terribad. But NOT WORTH IT.
The seasoned viewer alternative: Go rewatch Juuni Kokuki (12 Kingdoms).

DISCLAIMER:
This review is aimed STRICTLY at seasoned/mature anime viewers; those of us who have seen it all and are no longer satisfied by the yearly cookie cutter dose of gen pop anime.
If you're new/recent to anime, this isn't the review for you.

Greetings SEASONED ANIME VIEWER!

If you're wondering why it has such a high score... it's because the other animes this season are so sucky they make this look good. This is one of those animes that in a year will be scoring 7.5 at best.

The 8+ score read more
May 4, 2016
Oppai_Defender (All reviews)
Akatsuki no Yona Ramble Review

Like all pieces of media that we use to distract ourselves before the inevitable, there are always some genres you try to steer clear of, like you would social responsibility or German scat porn. One genre that gets this abusive treatment from me is the shoujo genre. But before we continue, the shoujo genre is kinda garbage. Hopefully my negative propensity towards the genre isn’t showing. But in all seriousness, it’s a genre targeted towards teenage girls. The real reason I hold such distaste to this particular genre is due to it consisting of characters that are written by people that read more
Jan 6, 2015
WindAngel959 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I rarely give anime a '10' especially the ones who is still ongoing and Akatsuki no Yona really surprised me and took '10' outta me with such a pleasant way of anime watching experience

Story : 9
=======
The basic story isn't anything new or special but it really delivers how the awesome development will be happened really well. Each episode has a fresh funny cute moments and there are moments for romance,the timing for action is also hit on the spot

Art : 10
=======
I like the character's design,they are all handsome and beauty and each design can pictures each characters' personalities well,the art for actions and comedies aren't read more
Jan 11, 2017
texascutie9 (All reviews)

Story: The point of view is mostly through the eyes of the main character Yona, but it switches to that of Hak or the four dragon warriors occasionally.
I feel it was an easy story line to follow, however I believe if you have any history with watching anime, then you have seen this particular plot before (main character is a witness to a tragic event, and sets out on an adventure for vengeance and gains strength and an impressive following on the way). Sound familiar?
I thought the pacing was quite well. There were moments, especially at the end, that I thought it was read more
Mar 24, 2015
AironicallyHuman (All reviews)
"Yes, King Il. Nobody has said that the princess' hair is strange. But if I may be so bold to say, there is definitely something wrong with her head."
- Hak, Akatsuki no Yona

After considering at length how best to begin reviewing Akatsuki no Yona (Yona of the Dawn), I decided to quote the series squirrel mascot: "PUK KYUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU~!"

I WILL explain the squirrel hilarity behind "puk kyu", but first of all: What - beyond untranslated Japanese - is Akatsuki no Yona?
The answer is a period piece with a HEAVY ancient China / Korea influence, set in the fictional kingdom of Kouka--a nation held together by read more
Mar 9, 2015
stopthat (All reviews)
Preliminary
With only three more episodes left, I feel like I can safely write a review on how I feel about this anime.

Phenomenal.

Story: 10
It starts off as a cute, rom-com type of anime, but we're thrusted into the fray after an episode of happy-go-lucky character types are introduced. We, as viewers, are given so much background information- each supporting character has a flashback or two (or a full on episode) of why they're the way they are. Plus, the plot is refreshingly original, only loosely reminiscent of other reverse harems. All in all, totally enthralled with the story.

Art: 8
No qualms here with the art. The opening read more
Jul 16, 2015
novaxy (All reviews)
First Review, any criticism is welcome!


Akatsuki no Yona, the anime that aired along the big guns such as Parasyte and Your Lie in April,Nanatsu no Tanzai,(and even to an extent Shirobako)
It's no surprise that this anime was not on the radar for many.But for those who are watching this series, it was a surprisingly enjoyable ride.


Story:7

So fleeing the palace with the best friend and exploring the lands,looking for people to join the party ,how many times have we seen that story-line?and
Fulfill-your-destiny-MC type of stories are not rare either,and Akatsuki no Yona is no exception, however being cliched is not necessarily a read more
Mar 11, 2015
AkaneKuromi (All reviews)
Akatsuki no Yona, I was very reluctant to watch. Shojo, all those men, I was all to sure it was something along the awfulness of Tokyo Mew Mew. But boredom got the better of me and my thumb pressed the play button.

Introduced by an instrumental opening cleared my doubts and I was hooked on this, along with Inou Battle and Legend of Korra.

Everyone says its slow and not for those more acquaintanced with One Piece or Bleach. ITS NOT TRUE! Unlike FMA, it doesn't try to use a pen to outline how all characters behave.Unlike Naruto, it doesn't waterball you into all the things you read more