Gakkougurashi!
School-Live!
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: School-Live!
Synonyms: Gakkou Gurashi!
Japanese: がっこうぐらし!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2015 to Sep 24, 2015
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Thursdays at 21:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Lerche
Source: Manga
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, PsychologicalPsychological, SchoolSchool, HorrorHorror, MysteryMystery
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.661 (scored by 135399135,399 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #11552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #362
Members: 284,068
Favorites: 3,686

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 24, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Gakkougurashi! (School-Live!) was a surprise for many viewers of the 2015 summer season lineup. With a 1st episode that threw all convention out the window, it didn't take long for it to garner buzz within the anime community. While I entered with some second-hand knowledge of the involvement of zombies in the show's plot—due to the inescapable whispers coming down the grapevine—I assumed that the subject matter would have merely been treated as a backdrop for cute girls to get involved in silly, tension-less slapstick; with the overbearingly cutesy aesthetic that it was sporting on its cover photo being used as my basis for assessment. read more
Sep 24, 2015
Caelidesu (All reviews)
If you have no idea what this show is about, you’re one of the lucky few that can still dive into this quirky ‘slice of life at school’ show blind. It’s mostly centred on antics and club events thought up by Yuki, guided by the athletic Kurumi and motherly Yuuri. You’ll either love Yuki, (she’s so crazy~) or empathise with Miki’s level-headed reactions to her; Miki acts as a foil to Yuki, providing some gravitas to the show. After one episode you will likely either want to drop it or watch the rest. If you don’t know anything about it, watch an episode before you read more
Sep 24, 2015
still-a-fan (All reviews)
Out of most of the anime of summer 2015, the one that keeps popping up time to time is the one and only "Gakkou Gurashi". I don't usually watch anime that is currently airing and most of the time I would watch it in English Dub, the reason why is because I would like to see the animation instead of the subtitles (however, some anime series, I do watch in English Sub such as this particular one). However, one of my friends recommended me this anime "without any research" (which I usually do) and after watching the first episode, I was completely glued to the read more
Sep 24, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Some people like school. Some people dreads it. Then, there are some others that just goes there to get an education and nothing more. What about Takeya Yuki, a petite girl who just happens to be in love with school? If you think about it, there’s nothing really wrong with liking school. What’s wrong about this show is that the school Yuki is attending isn’t exactly what it seems. Welcome to Gakkou Gurashi (School-Live!), a show that comes with a bizarre twist. And by all means, it’s not exactly what it looks like…

Or maybe it does at first. The animated series adapted by Lerche comes read more
Nov 29, 2015
MagicalCadet (All reviews)
First things first. If you haven't watched this, Don't read any reviews, don't read the synopsis, don't read the genre tags. Don't read any more of this review. Just watch it! At least the first episode. Twice. Now! BEGONE! No questions, go just watch it!

OK!

...Are they gone? Ok.

Story:
I was hooked after episode one. Weren't we all? It's not my typical anime, at. all! But I couldn't not watch it. Even when I got a bit freaked out by the library scene in episode 2. Usually I can guess the twists and turns but maybe since I was so scared out of my wits, I read more
Sep 24, 2015
Xenocrisi (All reviews)
I am not english, so i apologize if i make mistakes.


Gakkou Gurashi is surely not your typical Slice of Life anime. The first thing that you can think after seeing its genres will be: "Slice of Life + Horror? What's that troll?", and it's here that you are wrong, my friend; Gurashi Gakkou is probably the second anime (Puella Magi Madoka Magica the first one) that manages to use 2 genres completely different so well. It could be called Slice of Horror. The new generation of anime has begun! ╰༼=ಠਊಠ=༽╯
That is why i like this anime so much, unique genres and characters. Don't get fooled read more
Sep 25, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
The idea of having cute girls in dark settings is nothing new to the world of anime, but especially after the record-breaking commercial success of Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica way back in 2011, there has been a particularly big outbreak of new anime trying to ride the same wave and get a good bang for their buck. But the problem with that is that it generally only results in the final product feeling similar yet inferior in comparison to earlier works following the same idea, as was made evident in shows like Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru and Genei wo Kakeru Taiyou for example.

Gakkou Gurashi read more
Nov 22, 2015
LittleTwilight (All reviews)
(FIRST REVIEW)
(ALSO SPOILERS)

Gakkou Gurashi (School-Live!) is an interesting anime that blew up in the Summer 2015 season. Many people praised it for being unique, dark, and a fresh new take on the zombie genre. It has moe girls and zombies. 2 things to bait the anime community in. So how does this "masterpiece" hold up?

Story: 4/10

The story in this is so average. The story changes in tone shift from being a cute, moeshit, slice of life show from a dark and depressing Madoka Magica take. However, it does it horribly. There's no weight to either of these sides to the anime and it just read more
Oct 28, 2015
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
After Watching School Live, I noticed that in terms of story and characters, it's just like watching a cute, less violent & graphic, less erotic, but most importantly, more annoying version of High school of the dead. In addition to that with the story, it's sort of like School Live borrowed lots of the shock and suspense elements from High School of the Dead and dulled it down a few levels to make it easier to watch. I think it was done that way so everything is not all in your face at once. School live takes things one step at a time and that's read more
Jan 25, 2016
RafaelDB (All reviews)
Is this suppose to be a Joke? I'm sorry but this anime was a gigantic waste of time! when it comes to Thriller, I'm not a big fan of it. the only animes i watched in the Thriller setting we're Another and Tokyo Ghoul.
so let's rip this crap apart before i have a Goddamn Mental breakdown

Story:
It's premise was the Reason to why i wanted to watch the Anime. it tells the Story about 4 Girls and a little Dog who are living on a School and at the First Episode you don't know why but at the end of the 1st Episode, it read more
Feb 5, 2020
HerwinDanchou (All reviews)
Spoiler Free Review for all Episode:

This is one of those incredible anime that you rarely come across when you ran out of mainstream series to watch. It completely attaches you to it's world and characters then leaves you hanging and feeling broken and empty right at the end because there's no season 2.

The anime itself is imperfect but the execution of it is impeccable and that in itself is deserving of a masterpiece title. I am one of the lucky viewers that went in blind and was just searching for something decent and light hearted but got something else.

Seriously if you have no idea read more
Sep 25, 2015
0207xander (All reviews)
I am extremely disappointed with the way this show ended. Seeing as that is the case, this review will basically be all spoilers, so read at your own risk.

I'm gonna admit, this was one of the more enjoyable shows for me this season. I rate heavily on personal enjoyment, so for the most part, this series was high up on my seasonal watch queue. No, I did not like the characters although I do understand that they were meant as a contrast of the world they were living in. No, I didn't like the sudden, out of the blue tone shifts that the show presented. read more
Sep 24, 2015
malikkkk27_ (All reviews)
"Anime is for kids" they say...
Ask them to watch this anime. They say "okay"...
Looks at Gakkou Gurashi Poster "Another Moeblob Slice Of Life Anime" they say..
Watches the first OP "Why do they put Horror tag?! For sure it’s for kids again" they say...
Well, this is Madoka Magica version 2.0, where Promotional Posters and OPs will mislead you.

Anyway, here is the review what I’m thinking about. *MINOR to MAJOR SPOILERS ahead

I also feel the same way, thinking that this anime is just going to talk about slice of life and moeness at a world where people are infected and gone, but I was wrong, read more
Sep 24, 2015
Wasshio (All reviews)
"Moe and Dark cannot mix" -- This is pretty much the same old line I see every time in anime series like these.

The shows that have a cutesy looking artstyle yet it turns into a dark tone series where you have never expected to become, is a common excuse for the community at times where at times it seems people don't get how these can be used in anime format. For this case, the zombie apocalypse setting is rarely used in the anime format, and the only anime I can remember using this aspect is Highschool of the Dead. This year we got Gakkou Gurashi!, read more
Feb 8, 2016
deathline (All reviews)
Gakkougurashi! (School-Live!) is not your average Slice of Life style anime. Following the life of Yuki Takeya, it seems that this would appear to be your average anime of a cheerful girl who enjoys school. However, this is but an illusion. In reality, society and humanity has fallen due to a zombie apocalypse. Four girls have banded together in their school to survive this ongoing nightmare, while trying to maintain their daily lives of being students. As the story progresses, each episode will mess with your thoughts and emotions gradually until the very end where it destroys you. The art is graphic in some scenes, read more
Aug 11, 2018
Super_Recoder (All reviews)
** WARNING : Contains Spoilers **


One of the best Zombie Apocalypse Anime I have ever seen. It is about a group of girls, trying to live off in the world affected by zombie Apocalypse.

This Anime starts off as a Moe Anime, but gets dark in the First Episode itself. It isn't the zombies that make it dark.

The only thing that sets it different from other Animes, is Yuki (Main Character) who refuses the accept the zombie Apocalypse and pretends everything is fine.
She talks to her friends as if they are present, alive, and attending school just like she is. Unfortunately, they have all turned to read more
Sep 25, 2015
123smile (All reviews)
i stumble upon this anime because of the hype. i must say this type anime is not what i usually watch, and i cringe for 90% of the first episode, until BAM it hits me in the end.. such plot twist, much wow.. and the curiosity just wont stop.. it's like watching the kawaii version of the walking dead to be simplified.. i havent read the manga but from the 12 eps, the story can be finished like this and i can be satisfied enough.

some eps can stir up your emotions; it has many moments of thrill, sad, funny, and relieve..
the opening and ending read more
Sep 28, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
To the reader:
-~- I feel it's absolutely best to go into this show with no prior knowledge. The synopsis here is vague for a reason. Go in with an open mind and no expectations, and I think the viewer will have a much better experience. -~-


I first encountered Gakkou Gurashi about 6 months ago- when it was announced as a Summer series anime. Reading the description, I got absolutely nothing from it- but a little more digging led to the discovery that it was a cross between moe and post apocalytpic with some emphasis on psychological narrative. I was immediately interested- as I'd never read more
Aug 14, 2018
Spoonmaster12 (All reviews)
The most Moe but terrifying thing you will ever see! For this review I will be focusing on story, Characters and my enjoyment. [In order for me to write this review, I will have to give out a spoiler since a major plot twist happens in the first episode]

Story:
The story of gakkougurashi is fairly simple. A zombie apocalypse takes place and traps a group of students in a school house. However the twist is that the protagonist sees the world as if everything around her is normal. I loved this show! the story telling was remarkable and some moments were so effective that I was read more
Nov 21, 2015
Malarkey (All reviews)
Gakkougurashi is an anime that takes two aspects from opposite spectra and juxtaposes them side-by-side, hoping to blend them together well. The two aspects being zombies and moe.

However, in just the first episode, it shows how hard it is to coalesce moe and zombies together. Heavy symbolism and foreshadowing come into play to show just that. The star character, Takeya Yuki, cracks jokes and makes a fool. The other characters laugh at her as if they aren't in their current condition. In fact, the entirety of the cast doesn't show realistic reactions to their situations until late read more