Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Great Teacher Onizuka


Alternative Titles

English: Great Teacher Onizuka
Synonyms: GTO
Japanese: グレート・ティーチャー・オニヅカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 43
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 30, 1999 to Sep 17, 2000
Premiered: Summer 1999
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 19:30 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Fuji TV
Licensors: Discotek Media, Tokyopop
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.731 (scored by 203,841 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #155
Members: 399,887
Favorites: 15,295

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 1, 2007
amaity (All reviews)
I was a little skeptical at first about this anime. I usually avoid the comedy/slice-of-life genre, but this anime came highly recommended by an old friend and boy am I glad I listened to him. GTO has to be one of the most well made anime package of its time.

The story is somewhat cliche: troublesome high school students with peculiar skills or traits trying to rid a teacher who's trying hard to to teach them a lesson in life. However, there are some very clever surprises and plot devices to keep the viewer poised for more. My only complaint is the read more
Jul 31, 2013
Polyphemus (All reviews)
Great Teacher Onizuka had some potential, but all of the humor is repetitive and juvenile, while unrealistic dramatic scenes dominate the plot more and more as the series drags on. It basically fails on both fronts. Plot points and devices are reused to the point where they become dull, and they get increasingly ridiculous as the series progresses. Not in a good way, of course. Holy melodrama, batman! This anime is chock full of bullshit backstories that are supposed to make us go “awwwwww, they’re not a bad guy/girl after all!” by the way. Yeah, it’s definitely as irritating and ineffective as it sounds.


Character read more
Sep 20, 2009
Rakuen42 (All reviews)
Eikichi Onizuka. 22 years old. Even as Japan keeps turning out more new anime, there’s still perfectly good series out there from the past, and that’s especially true for people who might have been introduced to anime just recently. It’s hard to believe that GTO will be 10 years old this June, but age has nothing to do with a good anime. So I’ve devoted the last few days of my life to this series.

The premise is simple, if not a bit cracked out, and the first episode serves to illustrate. Onizuka is a former Yakuza who always had a dream of becoming a teacher, read more
Jun 16, 2009
yusuke116 (All reviews)
I finished this series a while back but i was bored so i decided to write this..

What happens when you take a situation comedy, a schoolyard farce, and a stiff shot of hard-hitting commentary on modern youth and the issues facing the Japanese educational system, mix them together in one anime series, and shake vigorously? You get something wonderful, and that something is called GTO. The series tempers itself with a grounding in reality and addresses serious social issues, but by mixing raunchy humor with a bit of an edge, Onizuka's lovable-loser-with-attitude persona, and a collection of wild situations that any prime-time comedy would be read more
Sep 2, 2007
Polaris (All reviews)
Great Teacher Onizuka... heheh and what a great teacher he is. A really original and good anime filled with comedy, action, and a few serious moments, an animation that has given life to one of the most memorable characters i've seen, Onizuka Eichi.

The animation is good, different from what you see elswhere but fits just right with the mood the show aims to give you, the funny faces Onizuka or Uchiyamada make are a real blast of comedy, ones i can always remember and still laugh about.

The sound is great, great voice acting from everybody and a really cool soundtrack. Just watch the OP theme read more
Jul 16, 2007
altras (All reviews)
_|_ Yoroshiku _|_
hahah xD When you complete the series you\'ll understand the humour ^^
First of all let\'s go backwards in reviewing.
It\'s NOT a waste of your time to watch this title...really! Don\'t read stupid reviews, like mine. Just go there,buy the DVD set and start watching it!
Overall-> oustanding! why ? hehe, yosh! I\'ll explain...
I\'ve just completed the TV episodes and the enjoyment afterall is great. A superb comedy plotline -> not-ordinary guy(a former Gang member) who\'s teaching hard-time kids as their Homeroom Teacher. Well it\'s nothing special about the \'set\', but it\'s just perfect for comedy plotline. And when i say comedy read more
Jan 26, 2008
DGC1808 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Heh, I didn't even know whether to bother with this anime or not. It seemed like it would be reli dull. But an old friend of mine told me that it was one of his faves. after watching 28 episodes of this anime i have one word to discribe that friend of mine and the makers of this anime, "Brilliant". GTO is by far one of the best anime's and definatly one of my favorites so far. Not much story to it after the first 3 episode, after those its basically more like a slice of life anime. but some amazing and entertaining things happen read more
Jan 7, 2009
noteDhero (All reviews)
Animation - 7
Ehh, not much to say, for a show that is as action-packed as Great Teacher Onizuka is, it relies heavily on terrible CG anachronistic for its time, and flashes of still frames with speed lines and directional slashes galore. The character design is kind of uninspired, yet executed very well. The most interesting thing visually about this show is the fantastically conceived opening.
Sound - 6
The same goes for the sound in this show. Out of the entire cast, only two voices stand out as well done, that being of Onizuka, and his student, Kunio. The read more
Oct 5, 2014
Yotsubafanfan (All reviews)
While I usually steer away from ecchi anime, this an anime I will ALWAYS make an exception for. Yeah, the art is dated, and the dubbing is so bad it's good. It's the story and the characters that shine though. the jokes are spot on, the running gags are spot on, and the lessons he teaches his students are just amazing! I love the idea of student and teacher relationships (I mean the idea of being trapped in a room with a stranger that you don't know on the first day and gradually either love or hate them yet either way you're forced read more
Jul 29, 2014
HappyHarryHardOn (All reviews)
If I had a teacher like Onizuka I would actually have enjoyed school and looked forward to attending every day. The show itself is good but he makes it great. For those of you who have yet to watch it, please let me try and convince you with a short review to give it a try. This is my review.

Contains Minor Spoilers

Story
The story of GTO concerns Eikichi Onizuka, a reformed biker gang leader that strives to be a great teacher and meet chicks. The story of the teacher that reforms delinquents has been done countless times but the story of GTO feels fresh. For one, read more
Jan 7, 2015
Dav115 (All reviews)
**SPOLER ALERT**

What can I say?
After I readed the manga I was i couldn't wait to see the Anime.
It was really good since the 10 episode.
Then, continuing with the episodes it went bad.
The anime stops at the 6 volume of the manga, the finale sucks.
In the manga he became the best teacher in japan, meanwhile in the Anime,
Aizawa kills an ex-teacher and for not causing any mistakes , he takes the blame instead of Aizawa, then he runs away in America.
WHAT THE FUCK?
ARE YOU SERIOUS??
This changed too much my rate..

In a nutshell = Manga > Anime.
Again.
Jun 7, 2014
Flexicute (All reviews)
Let me start off by saying I'm a huge fan of GTO's manga, the source of all its zany, raunchy material. It's easily my favorite manga of all time, and because it is such, I have high expectations for the anime. Perhaps my expectations were unreasonably high, but regardless, I wasn't nearly as happy with the anime as I was with the manga.

Story: 5
The anime did a somewhat good job at adapting some of the earlier chapters of GTO. They were definitely outstanding in the episode where Onizuka dresses up as Doraemon (and that's as far as I'll go for spoilers). However, it all read more
Jul 12, 2015
showandAG (All reviews)
"A brat who is afraid to be hurt isn't qualified to love someone." - Eikichi Onizuka

Going into this I was a little unsure of what to expect. I was looking for something funny to watch, and the synopsis of GTO as well as the MAL score caught my attention.

GTO did not disappoint.

It wasn't exactly what I was expecting, but nonetheless I was so glad I found Great Teacher Onizuka.

By the way, this reviiew is for the dub, which I think was very well done.

After watching the first episode, I was immediately hooked. It was very funny, but it also brought me to realize read more
Aug 16, 2010
SunSage (All reviews)
Great Teacher Onizuka is a heart-warming show, it's one of my personal favorites, but I will sincerely try not to be a biased reviewer. That being said, Great Teacher Onizuka is a hilarious, laughable roller-coaster ride centering around a perverse ex-motor-bike gang-leader gone teacher who teaches life-lessons to his students.

GTO maintains an awesome balance between establishing morals such as owning up to your personal mistakes and being more self-confident with humor, which, to me is why it's one of my favorites; one of the shows that I always seem to come back to every other year or so.

While the show read more
Jun 26, 2017
Asztal (All reviews)
This show was enjoyable, but weird. Not weird in the sense of story, characters, premise, but weird because of it's production. There's definitely a lot to talk about.

Great Teacher Onizuka is one of the highest rated shows here on MAL, and has been for, well, as long as I've been on the site if I remember correctly. So naturally I, and some of my closer friends were interested in GTO for quite a while now, but that interest remained only that, an interest. It wasn't localised where we live and didn't become popular even when the internet became more widely used. And thus we didn't read more
Jan 23, 2008
JeremyC (All reviews)
GTO is one of the funniest and most touching anime I've ever seen. Onizuka is one of my favorite anime characters. He may be a pervert, but he has a big heart and it shows in every episode as he shows his students how to enjoy school again (even though they are all trying to bring him down). We get to know a lot about the students in his class over the course of the anime. As each of their problems are solved, there is a visible change in their attitude. There are just enough episodes for us to get to know and care about read more
Jun 11, 2013
sometim3s (All reviews)
For the past few decades, schools have been plagued with higher student dropout rates, increased juvenile delinquency, and child disobedience. Increasing numbers of students care less for their future and education, resorting to violence, gangs, drugs, and sex. Things that degrade society.

What is the purpose of an education then?
To excel in the academics, attend a prestigious university, and find a well-paying job.

But what happens to other students who are not capable of achieving the expectations that society has placed on them?
Simple. They are left behind. They become subjected to delinquency and are frowned upon by the upper class of the read more
Mar 28, 2018
shayed__ (All reviews)
*Minor Spoilers*


First of all i have to say that Slice of Life and Comedy are by no means my favorite genres. Not even close. In fact, its the exact opposite.


I knew this anime was going to be mostly focusing on comedy. But I was hoping for a good mixture of drama and comedy.

That is exactly what we got but the drama was executed extremely poorly. Not once did i feel emotional for what was happening.


Story (6.5/10):

There's not much to say about the story. Its mostly Episodic anyway. It's about a former bike gang-leader which has set beside his old life and is now read more
Aug 29, 2011
Wolf48 (All reviews)
This is my first review.

To begin with the title doesnt lie at all. You may not understand it form the first episodes but when you watch the final episode everything will become clear. GTO has everything - comedy, action, romance, drama, and some pervert characters. I enjoyed every single minute of it and its now one of my favourite animes. At first it looks like a shounen comedy, but after 10-15 episodes it shows some important social problems. There are a lot of things that wont be clear to you until you see the last episode but you will definitely enjoy it. Its really read more
Feb 18, 2010
Octavanius (All reviews)
Firstly, this is my first review from this site so don't expect much.

Story: 10
In a nutshell, it's about a biker gang leader who becomes a teacher and transforms problematic students that are self-centered, bullies and delinquents that are trying to get rid of him, into a more friendly and mellow young students. Eikichi's class is the most problematic class in school because his predecessors all quit due to the students unprecedented behaviors which drives them out.
Sound: Fantastic voice actors really suited the characters and also the music/sounds for all scenes were superb in terms of for example scary situations, it would have an eerie-like read more