Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gravitation


Alternative Titles

English: Gravitation
Japanese: グラビテーション

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2000 to Jan 10, 2001
Premiered: Fall 2000
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Aniplex
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.241 (scored by 42,002 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #25582
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #930
Members: 71,751
Favorites: 1,192

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 7, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
I used to be such a fangirl for this series. Looking back, I can still see why I loved it so much, but I feel like I evaluate it with a more objective perspective now.

STORY - I would venture to say that Gravitation was probably one of the first of its kind. Certainly, this was the title that opened the floodgates for hundreds of other shounen-ai titles at the turn of the century. Sure, if you pick through the music and ignore the gay pairing, you leave yourself with a simple, old-fashioned love story about one person pursuing another's love while a troubled past stands read more
Oct 16, 2009
-Naami- (All reviews)
The truth of the matter is that most shounen ai anime just isn't good; be it because of the crappy story, obvious fan service or bad direction. However, Gravitation doesn’t just pull it off as a shounen ai but as an anime in general.

The story follows Shuichi Shindou, a 19 year old vocalist trying to make it big in the music industry and Eiri Yuki, a young, cool and cold romance novelist and pretty much revolves around the couple’s careers, love life and past. Nothing complicated or confusing neither is it plot less or pointless. The series is short, only 13 episodes long but read more
Apr 12, 2009
lolwutwhatever (All reviews)
It’s been a while since I watched this anime, and I know that I don’t want to see it ever again. Back then, I was looking for some yaoi or shounen-ai to watch. Going through various forums and reviews I found Gravitation, downloaded it and started watching.

With every episode I hoped that the next one will be better, but unfortunately they all were at the same low level. An over-emotional immature kid who’s able to sing only one or two sings through all the 13 episodes, with huge eyes and pink hair, dressed in some funny coat and shorts. Thanks, I’ll pass.

Instead of funny, read more
Sep 8, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
5 WORDS OR LESS REVIEW: Cute, funny and good enough.

Like your typical shonen-ai anime, Gravitation focuses more on boy-boy love and thus the other plot elements are forgotten. Other than being a shonen-ai anime, Gravitation was supposed to be an anime about making it big in the music industry. Sometimes, I think that aspect is overlooked. I think if the shonen-ai and music making aspects were balanced, Gravitation would have been better.

The cast, as expected, were full of gorgeous male characters. My favorites would be Hiro and Yuki – I like the mysterious, tall and handsome types. Shuichi was okay, he gets on my nerves read more
Oct 26, 2009
BlackButlerBR (All reviews)
Second Review. (I think I might make this a hobby)

To be honest I thought the anime of Gravitation, was just poor. It was obnoxious, and way too irritating. I barely got through it. Thirteen episodes was more than enough for me. And although most of my friends tell me to watch the OVA’s.. I have no motivation to do so, that is how bad the anime was.

The characters had very little development, they stayed the same throughout. For example the main one remained obnoxious and kind of naïve. It’s a very typical shounen-ai. Cheesy, with no twists, and absolutely no real plot development. Most fans read more
Aug 19, 2007
Winry (All reviews)
General, this is my second favourite anime, really good indeed. I don't think that many boys would like it though, because I suppose only we, girls, love shounen-ai :P I could be wrong of course. The story is very good and original in my opinion, it shows how someone who is really in love could fight with all prejudices (and there are trurly many of them). The art is really one of my favourte tipes, though there are a bit too more chibis, but I like it :) Since you're watching about musical groups in this anime too, the sound is outstanding, really good read more
Jul 12, 2015
Regggaaaa (All reviews)
Gravitation is one of many shounen ai anime that i enjoyed so much.Shounen ai usually contain numerous of fan-service and lovey-dovey moment. While Gravitation have this drama kind of aspect which differentiated the story from the others.

STORY- 9/10
I gave the story a high score because it absolutely deverse it, here some simple sypnopsis:
Shuchi is a determined-singer who fall in love with a writer named Yuki Eiri. Throughout the story , shuuichi struglling in order to pursue his dream as singer and to pursue his love with Yuki. Lot of drama in this anime, this anime is the one and only shounen ai that made read more
Oct 13, 2008
Bishounen_Hunter (All reviews)
There is little that can be said of Gravitation that has not already been said. Gravitation has been the "shounen ai" flagship for many years, and it is well deserved. While other anime series lose themselves with complex storylines and characters, this one dazzles you with it's over-simplicity.

The story of a boy who longs to be a famous singer [who hasn't dreamt of that?] and equally longs to be loved by the person of his dreams [and who has not dreamt of this either?] the story barely deviates from this idea and therefore lacks the need to embellish or exaggerate the overall theme. If Jem read more
Dec 5, 2014
AnimeLoverAAA (All reviews)
******this is a slight spoiler free******
This anime is quite horrible .

Story - 5
The story is somehow about being idols . Then there's a novelist and 1 of the idol is GAY . And that idol dated a novelist has some black past . Then they overcome it . And HAPPY END ~

Art- 3
I wanted to give a 2 but since its a old anime i wont be so fussy . However being 2 or 3 it makes no different . Its horrible . The art is so horrible that makes me wanna drop the anime but luckily i survived read more
Feb 17, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Hello, Everyone. We had Valentine's earlier this week. So, let's look at something romance-oriented. This series is based on a manga by Murakami Maki. In 2000, 2001 it was adapted into an anime by Studio Deen with help from Production Reed. Without further ado, let's look at Gravitation.

Story:

Our narrative opens with Bad Luck, a musical duo with singer Shindou Shuuichi & guitarist Nakano Hiroshi. The two are being berated by their manager for their failure at coming up with new songs and with the deadlines rapidly approaching too. Which happens. Art isn't easy, you've got to put it together bit by bit. That evening, Shuuichi read more
Apr 30, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
To fans of shounen-ai/ yaoi anime, Gravitation was the anime that helped popularize the launch of later "boys love" TV anime titles that would pop up now and then like Junjou Romantica and Loveless. However beyond the latter and Antique Bakery, much of my exposure to "boys love" titles have consisted of subpar and angsty melodramas focused on "dominant" and "submissive" types of attractive male characters that made me not survive any further than the first few minutes of a show's first episode. Sadly, Gravitation follows this same mold to a great extent in its focus on Eiri and Shuiichi's developing relationship with each following read more
Mar 11, 2010
FuriBaka (All reviews)
When I first read about Gravitation, it was like gay anime? Never, ever... So I didn't take a second look. After a while I forgot the name and by coincidence still downloaded it. I started the first episode and at the beginning it seemed like a totaly normal Anime, no gayness whatever. Well, ok soon it begins to develop, but it's not tasteless. No in fact, you even forget the gay-theme for a second as Suichi seems to be more a girl then a boy...

The Story is great, yes it is. A boy who wants to become a famous musican and gets into the big read more
Apr 7, 2017
rachelcharis (All reviews)
Recently, I came to love the shounen ai and yaoi genres, and Gravitation is an excellent example of why.

To speak on simple terms, the relationship between the two main characters is quite like what you would find in most other shounen ai shows - the cheerful, bubbly one sticks around the more mature and stoic one until the stoic one realizes he loves the cheerful one (or vice versa for other shows). What makes Gravitation a little different is the addition of music. To me, I really enjoyed that the anime wasn’t primarily focused on romance itself. We see Shuichi’s relationship with Eiri grow as read more
Jan 11, 2017
Scarlettpink (All reviews)
I decided to write (a partial) review after seeing the mediocre score Gravitation has been given.
I am bestowing an overall 10 to redeem it.

Story 9

I've just finished watching Guilty Crown and three words. Underwhelming af. It reeled me in with a fresh and fantastic introductory plot but meandered on without much substance, then sugar coated with tonnes of fan service. I mean, I like fan service but its a cheap way to win over your audience when its used like that. Anyway I rambled on about a completely irrelevant anime to tell you that this is not what Gravitation does. It has a lot read more
Feb 6, 2008
LuckyWolf (All reviews)
This is a funny, and romantic history of Shindo Shuichi`s life.
He was a normal school kid, who is a singer in his little band called Bad Luck, with his best friend and life partner Hiroshi.
His life went on a turn when he met the great novelist Eiri Yuki.
He fellt in love with Yuki, but Yuki plays a lot with Shuichi-kun.
Shuichi and Hiro starts to grov with they`re music, and soon they reach the top.
It`s a cute love-love story, with beautiful music, strong lines, funny characters and on the anime there are just awesome music:D
Aug 23, 2009
ycart59 (All reviews)
Oh, Gravitation. What can I say about you in this small review that can express my feelings about you? Let us see:

Honestly, I don't understand why people don't enjoy this like I do. I can't expect everyone to like everything I do, but this one seemed like it could reach out to a lot of different people. I mean, it has a whole lot of comedy, but it still has its serious moments. My friends that like anime have read the manga and watched the anime, and we all LOVED it.

Gravitation is, in my mind, one of the greatest things ever made. It's about a read more
Mar 23, 2010
Lamyisme (All reviews)
Love romance animes? Then gravitation is for you, This romance makes you swoon and cry along with it. The anime had no flaws and its got characters that you fall inlove with from the first minutes into the very first episode. To the lovable main character who is so cute and has got tons of talent To the handsom, serious and badass Yuki there isent a thing in this anime that you wont love with hot guys, killer music and tons of comedy and romance plus amazing art and story line you will absolutly fall for this anime before you can say Gravitation. Just like read more
Aug 28, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
This is so CUTE! Ok, now that my fan girl love has been squeezed out, I’m sorry but I can’t help it! This show has everything a yoai girl would fall in love with. Cute guys, drama, romance between a cute little brother character and a hot older male.

Shuichi is like a little brother, always acting out on his feelings even when it might get him into trouble. He also is known to put people in front of himself. He doesn’t care what happens to him as long as everyone else around him is happy.

I love Hiro! His design is really cute and read more
Jan 5, 2009
LottieHottie19 (All reviews)
Gravitation was probably the only anime which really made me appreciate Yaoi, because the whole story was just amazing. The whole series shows a typical relationship between two guys, one being older than the other. Even though it seems as if it will be predictable, there's still a dark past and secrets which are un-known. Gravitation is probably one of the most well known Yaoi's because it was the first of it's time. There's quite a bit of comedy throughout the series, and every character has a side which you'll love about them. What really gripped me in this anime though was how the relationship read more
Aug 1, 2008
VampireLio (All reviews)
Although it's kinda shonen-ai, i think everyone might enjoy this anime. It's not too dramatic... and has quite funny scenes.
It's kind of a musical anime, there are a few songs of the bands which are quite good. you can enjoy the music in the background as well.
the plot is simple, easy to follow, and exciting i must say.

It's one of the best animes i've ever seen. personally i had fun watching it and i hope that others who seen it had fun as well.
this anime is warmly recommended for everyone.