Zombie-Loan

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Zombie-Loan
Japanese: ZOMBIE-LOAN ゾンビローン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2007 to Sep 12, 2007
Premiered: Summer 2007
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 02:40 (JST)
Producers: Xebec, Nihon Ad Systems
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: XEBEC M2
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, HorrorHorror, ShounenShounen, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.871 (scored by 5777957,779 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #42372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1288
Members: 128,289
Favorites: 308

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 21, 2008
Ranivus (All reviews)
I have noticed that I haven't written any reviews on bad anime lately so I'm definitely going to try.

Zombie Loan is quite a lame excuse for a zombie anime that contains more plot holes and inconsistencies than a George Romero movie (look him up)




Story (Poor)
The story is quite laughable in every sense of the word. It is a mix of fan service, action, and comedy. Of course there are ways to execute a combo like this well, but it doesn't pull it off at all. They do well to suck you into the show with the first few episodes, but further down the road, read more
Dec 22, 2007
Monkey_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Story
Quite a unique storyline, much different than most out there. Although the story could have probably developed even more and a lot better if there were more than 11 episodes. That just cut the story too short, which was kinda disappointing.

Art
Personally, I don't like this type of art style that was used in Z-Loan too much. Usually I'd prefer artwork more like that of Death Note. However, I think the art fit this particular series well, however it isn't the best art out there.

Sound
Usually I like loud songs and metal songs, but the opening song was just horrendous. I couldn't stand listening to it. The read more
Sep 16, 2007
Bondius (All reviews)
Zombie-Loan was quite a fun anime even though it was too short for my liking. Eleven episodes is just too short for a series, considering most have at least 12 episodes.

Story
It's an interesting story, very original if you ask me, and it has it's good and bad parts. It's somewhat predictable from time to time and there aren't many plot-twists that could surprise you. Plus, I really would have liked more action in it, sometimes it just takes too long for the fighting to start even though it would look like an action anime first. Aside from that, it was pretty good. The worst read more
Dec 9, 2007
asch (All reviews)
First,this anime is way better than I thought.It's very funny and bloody (good combination) but it's too short 11 episodes.So it's seems that the manga is needed to read.

Story
It has a good story.Zombies having they're organization for chasing an killing other bad zombies.A spooky story with zombies,death gods,reapers other related things.For this too short it had a nice plot but it changed a lot it rather seemed like the episode were all mini stories.But it's tooo funny really it had some awesome moments on which I laughed a lot.It didn't failed action beside the last episode where the producers clearly wanted to stop the anime.Just read more
Feb 9, 2009
Tsira (All reviews)
Story:
The basics of the story were actually not to bad. Two boys who are bound to each other, a girl with some special powers who starts to help them. Nothing I wouldn't like there.
The story is short, but though I like short, this one was just too short. There is a big open ending, and when you are finished you have the feeling you still don't know anything.

Art:
The series are drawn pretty good. I thought the boys where a bit to skinny, but overall the drawings never annoyed me.

Sound:
The opening and ending theme never appealed me, but I guess that especially the opening read more
May 6, 2009
Silent_Follower (All reviews)
Everything that you've borrowed must be paid back properly; that includes human life. If you loaned your life to extend it, then you have to pay for it, no matter how long it takes. And that's what Zombie-Loan is about.

Story: (8/10)
Not a lot of people see it, but this anime has a thick plot and has a lot of substantial themes. It's really interesting. It tackles upon complex issues such as the value of human life, the nature of life and death, the circle of life and even the value of friendship. Those aside, the story development wasn't so bad either. It's downfall lies read more
Oct 29, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Keep in mind, this review covers the main series and two episode special.

Welcome, My Friends, to the final review of horror anime month. Zombie Loan was a manga written by the duo, Peach-Pit, also responsible for Shugo Chara, Rozen Maiden, DearS and some other stuff I have never seen nor read. It was published by Square Enix. The anime version was handled by Xebec in 2007 with eleven episodes airing two more being released only on the DVD. Let's delve into the series and see what awaits us.

Story:

Kita Michiru can see something that no one else can when she takes off her glasses, read more
Aug 30, 2008
digiboy123 (All reviews)
Anyone out there like horror, comedy and action? If so, I believe you'll enjoy this series.

Story:
Zombie-Loan's story... well, to be honest, I haven't seen any animes that really focus on zombies, so this was definitely a first for me, so if anyone says this is a rip-off, don't believe them. The story centers mainly around 3 people, Michiru, who has Shinigami eyes, and can see if someone will do soon by seeing a black ring around their neck; and then Chika and Shito. I won't go into detail about their story, because it could spoil everyone, but let's just say that they hunt for zombies read more
May 21, 2008
Reira_chan (All reviews)
Zombie Loan is the first zombie anime I've seen and I don't know if that's a good thing or not. I highly doubt it is though. I overall liked this anime but it did lack some good qualities.

For starters, Zombie Loan is only 11 episodes long so the storyline lacks depth and moves way too fast. The concept is a good but really you need more episodes in order for it to work.

The animation was good. I'm a sucker for hot anime guys and this anime gave me 2 more. XD I also like that they brought a little read more
Jan 20, 2012
randompadley (All reviews)
Well, having just finished this series, I can actually say that I found this to be a really enjoyable short series (IMO too short but I will mention this as I go through the review)

Story: Well my whole reason for starting the show was because I thought the plot was so unique and instantly grabbed me from the few lines, the idea of somebody being able to know when someone is about to die was an instant appeal, throw in some already dead zombies and I was set. Unfortunately as i stated, the show was only 11 episodes long, and for me that was just read more
Jun 27, 2011
digitaldude999 (All reviews)

What drew me to this anime was the fact that it was a zombie anime, I mean you dont see an anime with zombies too often usualy its just demons and vampires.the zombies are not the typical zombies you see in movies, they are quite intelligent and capable and arn't rotting corpses which puts some originality to this anime.

Well, lets start with the characters Kita Michiru is a girl who has the gift of shinigami eyes, but starts to hate it when she sees black rings on her parents, when they die she starts using glasses to negate the effect of the shinigami eyes. she read more
Feb 3, 2016
Kid2daKrazx (All reviews)
It had what I expected for a series that was around since like early 2000's.

I was kind of expecting a buttload of fanservice and an arrogant protagonist (two things I don't like in anything I watch) but in the case of this series. I didn't have too much of that.

Shito seems to throw off that air of arrogance but since he gets an equal amount of punishment in the series, it seems balanced.

The story was a tad confusing but the arcs are pretty easy to figure out, from what I can understand it's about two dead guys that have to kill zombies in order to read more
Dec 14, 2008
hannechan (All reviews)
Zombie-Loan.. EEH?
It is a really great Anime.

StoryThe story is good, and it kind of keeps you laughing and smiling, and it makes you wanna watch a few more episodes..Character[b/] I like the way the use Shito as the "prince" type in school, but when he is out he actually gets annoyed pretty fast. And Chito, who is the lively little "kid". And when you put those together, it is just funny all the way.Enjoyment, I enjoy this anime. It is really funny and has kind of a serious plot.

OVERALL is this a great anime, and I recommend this to every one who likes a read more
Dec 11, 2008
lolz123 (All reviews)
Zombie Loan was a very short anime, but partly I think that's a good thing. If it had continued for an extra 50 episodes it probably would have become a series full of fillers and other rubbish things still managing to cut a lot of things from the manga. But as the manga is still ongoing I think hope for a second series is good, but it will probably be short too (a lot like Vampire Knight and Vampire Knight Guilty).

Overall it is a good anime and you should watch it if you have a day spare.
Aug 7, 2016
Hambelino (All reviews)
Is the worst Anime i ever saw i hope that the creator cut his hands after doing this shit.
The story has no sense and is very poor, the character personalities are just horrible and the designs are even worst.
Menwhile i was watching this Anime i was waiting to the episodes end because it were very boring.
Even the naruto filler episodes are better than this Anime.
I hope that no one has to watch this Anime again because he will suffer a lot.
Don't Watch This Anime.
Don't Watch This Anime.
Don't Watch This Anime.
Don't Watch This Anime.
Don't Watch This Anime.
Don't Watch This Anime.
Don't Watch This Anime.
Don't Watch This read more
Mar 8, 2008
unforgetableme (All reviews)
Hmm... Overall, I thought this was a pretty good anime. It had a well developed storyline, but I was hoping that it'd be longer, because of its outstanding and creative characters. It's kind of like the other animes, where theres a kiddsh guy and a cold guy and a girl in the middle, but it's a little different, too. I mean each character has their own kind of way to react in a different situation. Like, all the characters in this anime are different from each other, yet the are similar, too. I just like it, because it's a lot of personalities and action all read more
Apr 20, 2021
wasabipumpkin (All reviews)
Zombie-Loan is easily one of the most unorthodox zombie shows, I've ever watched, and trust me, I've seen a lot. (cap)

------NO SPOILERS-----

PLOT 6.5/10

So basically, Michiru Kita (the main character) has the ability to take notice of these invisible rings on certain people, if the ring is darker it indicates that the person is closer to death or already dead(a zombie obviously). The ability is "totally original" because it is titled the name Shinigami Eyes. Long story short, she quickly makes friends and discovers a Loan agency that allows the person who pays a certain amount of money to come back to life and basically read more
Mar 27, 2009
docalion (All reviews)
Zombie Loan doesn't have any new things to offer. Well, I guess just like any other animes because their stories had just been recycled over and over again. But, as an otaku, you never get bored watching them especially if you're really massively entertained!

Well, of course, the heroes here save lives and benefit from it. And because there are two male leads here, you cannot avoid some Uhmmm..moments here and there..well, good thing there's no special Uhmmm between them. Kinda cute the petty fightings here and there but i'm kinda not into Uhmmm moments between two maleszz..Hek Hek. ^_^ Especially with the Uhmmmm moments between read more
Nov 24, 2009
Aysel (All reviews)
Zombie Loan is a fantastic, albeit short, anime that revolves around Tachibana Shito (Boy A) and Akatsuki Chika (Boy B) who were rumoured to have died in an accident six months before the story begins. Thanks to one of seven ferrymen (Bekko) from the World Fate Organization, the boys have been "brought back to life" through a contract known as a Zombie-Loan. Bekko runs a business (also known as Zombie-Loan, or Z-Loan for short) based on these contracts. Tachibana and Shito are now indebted to the ferryman and they must hunt zombies to earn the funds to pay off their debt within a year, or read more
Jun 13, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
It's a bit of a shame that Zombie-Loan had to end as abruptly as it did considering I did find it quite entertaining to look into. The premise itself was quite original where Chika and Shito are being loaned life as zombies in exchange for hunting evil "illegal" zombies. The show effectively mixes serious and comedic moments as it looks into the various dealings that Shito, Chika and the other members of Zombie Loan deal with, particularly the chemistry between Shito and Chika as they don't exactly get along much of the time in the series. The show does do well enough in fleshing out read more