Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Genshiken


Alternative Titles

English: Genshiken
Synonyms: The Society for the Study of Modern Visual Culture
Japanese: げんしけん

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 10, 2004 to Dec 26, 2004
Premiered: Fall 2004
Broadcast: Sundays at Unknown
Licensors: Media Blasters
Studios: Palm Studio
Source: Manga
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.731 (scored by 52,156 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10172
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #641
Members: 116,049
Favorites: 1,124

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 5, 2008
Psychonaut (All reviews)
If you were ever sitting around with your friends one day talking about anime, munching on pocky, sifting eagerly through the plunder and spoils after a grueling day at your favorite convention, wishing you could find a date, dreaming about selling your own Japanese animation idea, and wondering about your future, well then, my fellow otaku, a show has been made about you.

Genshiken, adapted from the manga by Kio Shimoku, is about a college club for otaku who never quite grew out of the doujinshi, cosplay, and resin-kit building phase of their lives, and how the members of the club find support and acceptance in read more
Jan 20, 2007
OtakuFreak (All reviews)
Well, when I first herd of this anime from my friend, I was thinking "An anime about anime fans? This is gotta be some kind of joke". My friend lent me Genshiken, and like I said it was a joke, but not in a bad way. This anime is supposed to be a drama kind of thing but in reallity it's more comedy then drama. It pretty much sums out ever Otaku's life and interests. For those who have friends (and so forth) that don't understand anime and the Otaku world this is the perfect anime to introduce them too.

The story begins in Tokyo University, read more
Apr 23, 2009
shinigamidono (All reviews)
NOTE: This is a review of the entire Genshiken anime series including both seasons and the three-episode OVA.

The first question on your mind might be the same one that was on mine when I first heard about Genshiken; so I think it might be appropriate to answer it right away. What exactly is a genshiken? Genshiken is an abbreviation. This anime revolves around a university club called [GEN]dai [SHI]kaku Bunka [KEN]kyūkai which translates to “The society for the study of modern visual culture”. The club was, as it is explained in the anime, originally formed ten years prior in order to bridge the gap between read more
Jun 28, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
I think that this is one important anime in an Otaku\'s life. This shows how we as Otakus live and try to mingle with people like us. Some few things that I learned are that male otakus like cat ears, maid outfits, childhood friend or little sister like characters. Two, real Otakus take everything anime/manga related seriously.

This is the anime that got me back into being an Otaku. It brought back so many memories that I decided to live my old life and spend all my money on anime memorabilia once again. The anime made me wish I could go to the Comiket (?). I\'m read more
Jan 3, 2014
QuietDiscourse (All reviews)
College slices of life are rare in a medium prolific with high school romances, 15-year-old pilots in mecha, gargantuan harems, and everything inbetween. In comes Genshiken, one of the most laidback and down to earth shows I've ever seen. The heavy amount of realism is almost shocking, and the college club slice of life elements are fantastic. Picturing a life in an otaku club can't get anymore immersible than this, with a solid lead character that's relatable (much like Yuuta from Honey & Clover), and an all-around fantastic ensemble. You know you're in for a ride when your appreciation for Genshiken's comedy is directly proportional read more
Jan 3, 2008
Voddas (All reviews)
I stumbled onto this anime when talking in the Anime UK News forums. I wasn't sure if I'd like it at first but I was greaty mistaken.

Genshiken is a story about an anime Club in Shiiou University. It starts by following Sasahara, a new student just about to begin his first year. He joins the club to be with fellow otaku (obsessed interest in anime/manga). The series then follows the club over the next four years, pritty much covering all aspects of an anime obsessors dream. I won't go to deep into the story but surficed to say that mini read more
Feb 16, 2011
Otaku-Paradise (All reviews)
~This is a club review. It is a compilation of the opinions of Otaku Paradise club members put together by trzr23, geno93n0, systemkrash, Kaito-chan and LadyBolet. We hope you enjoy the review and visit our club sometime. Thank you for your time.~

We, as otaku, find happiness by watching a myriad of anime genres. One of the genres that anime, in particular, has been famous for is Slice of Life- a genre where we got a glimpse into the lives of the characters. It was fun, but there was always a hollow feeling in our heart because those characters were nothing like us and it was read more
Aug 4, 2010
Rampant (All reviews)
Preliminary
Rating an anime highly just because it discusses that being an otaku is okay? Give me a break.

This series, first of all, has terrible art and animation. The character art is that kind of lumpy facial style that seems to be the default shabbiest "acceptable" anime art form for people. It is completely lacking in style, substance, or detail. I am not just lashing out at random or trying to claim authority, this is seriously true; for instance, characters nearly never have elbows if their arms are straight (e.g. episode 3, near the end Kousaka randomly loses his elbows when he is crouched over, and read more
Nov 10, 2008
Karisma (All reviews)
Whoa.... My first review :D
So let`s begin.

Genshiken is a slice of life, college life anime to put it simply.

Story revolves around a university club Genshiken, that focuses on "the study of modern visual arts" (manga, anime and games in short) . It has a certain timeline, chronologically following characters through their university life. The episodes are divided episodically, mainly concentrated around happenings in the club.They managed to avoid repeating the same stories, which is some of the problems with anime who doesn`t have a solid story to follow, so you won`t be bored with the same things, although two years pass in read more
Feb 22, 2010
zoddtheimmortal (All reviews)
BANG POW CRASH SMUSH , Genshiken avoids the cliches and focuses instead on the reality, this isn't a series about spectacular super human ninjas that were injected with magical fox semen, it's about the otaku subculture in Japan, it's about the people that are the otaku's and the choices they make , there goals ambitions lifestyles failures and successes. Watching this series, which is hard to get into unless you've read the manga ( Doujin Work ) you really start rooting for the characters, when things happen you hold your mouth in shock, you feel the jealousy and taste the dislike in the back read more
Jul 21, 2008
verayo (All reviews)
The title Genshiken doesn't say much. It's a title that most people would just overlook. I'm one of those people who wasn't interested at all but since the dattebayo group subbed its second season, I tried to check it out. To my surprise, Genshiken is a pretty darn good show. It depicts otakus in a simple yet very fun manner. It's definitely a MUST WATCH specially for anime fans.

Genshiken doesn't have much of a story. It's pretty much just killing time with the Genshiken Club of Suioh University. That would sound uninteresting again, but, the time you kill with this club is worth it. This read more
Jun 11, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
For any anime viewer, there comes a point in their life, when Genshiken simply HAS to be watched. At least Once. Yes, that's right, I'm advocating that everyone who's seen enough anime (or read enough manga... or played enough geeky games for that matter) should have this down on their essential "to watch" list.

"Genshiken" is a slice of life anime, focusing on the daily comings and goings of the members of a university society, which, funnily enough, is called "Genshiken". The term "Genshiken" is shortened from some long Japanese phrase that translates roughly into English as "Society for the Study of Modern Visual Culture". If read more
Nov 27, 2016
sizest300 (All reviews)
Unknown studio and an unknown director were involved in the making of Genshiken. Unfortunately, this was basically the only thing made by Studio Palm and pretty much the only directing job for Takashi Ikehata. Genshiken is a shortened version of the club’s name “The Society for the Study of Modern Visual Culture. It means: Are you an otaku? Are you an anime fan? Do you like manga? Do you like ‘naughty’ anime and/or manga? If there was a yes in any of those questions, then Genshiken could be a series worth watching.

This anime is about the college club itself and how each member of the read more
Jun 23, 2013
angelsreview (All reviews)
Oh dear me. When you have an anime based on Otaku life, its not going to always be pretty. Still, the show is rather good for its own right. It was odd because the very first episode actually felt like my group of friends just sitting and talking anime like the podcast. Also, for those that want to learn a little bit, I should say you should watch all the way through the credits because after, they sometimes have little facts. I even learned from them even though I watch tons of anime.

The main character is really a bland guy, but I feel that they read more
Sep 4, 2008
Rhaineleen (All reviews)
Otaku- is a japanese term used to refer to people with obsessive interests, particularly anime, manga, and video games.
Before I watched this series, I first thought that it is somehow like N.H.K. but after watching it I saw the difference.
N.H.K. focuses on Hikikomori lifestyle and conspiracy theories , while Genshiken focuses on the world of Otakus. It's as simple as that...
If you want an anime with funny jabs, hilarious parody, ridiculous situations, and serious-over-the-line jokes.
Then Genshiken is a must!
In short you will laugh-out-loud throughout the series, there is never a boring episode... You can relate on everything the characters talk about and read more
Nov 23, 2010
Atharil (All reviews)
Ahh.. The life of an Otaku. Apart from NHK Ni Youkoso, this must be the best Otaku-related anime out there. So yes, Genshiken is basically an anime, which tells the story of a group of different otakus. These people share a few things in common, including a passion for anime & manga, a perverted mind and a school club called Genshiken, which stands for "The Society for the Study of Modern Visual Culture".

Story:

Basically this anime has no ultimate plot or story. It mainly tells about the daily events, adventures and struggles in an otaku's life. There are arcs which last for a few episodes, but read more
Oct 22, 2014
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Note: This "review" covers Genshiken in general.

If you’re one of those newcomers to the genre who refuse to watch anime that came out pre-Haruhi, aside from Cowboy Bebop obviously, let me fill you in. Genshiken is a manga-turned-anime centered on a college club consisting of a bunch of otaku and their lives inside and outside the clubroom. Unlike most of the otaku-centric stuff we get nowadays, Genshiken is acclaimed by a majority of the fans due to its deep insight into a specific sub-culture, balancing the pros and cons of the otaku lifestyle whilst providing good character drama centered on relationships, the future, and how read more
Aug 5, 2009
Junipermouse (All reviews)
If you are an Otaku, then you should probably watch this series. You'll definitely find yourself identifying with one of the characters, if not most of them. And wish that you had such an inclusive club to develop your inner otaku. Its a wonderful study of Japanese culture featuring anime, plamos, games, cosplay, manga, and dōjinshi. I recommend watching a good fansub that includes definitions of various otaku slang, if you aren't familiar with them. As a fairly new otaku, I found myself learning alot of new things about the culture. So yeah this anime doesn't have magical girls, aliens, or giant robots, it does read more
Sep 28, 2008
integra31 (All reviews)
This anime highlights the otaku culture that is very predominant nowadays in Japan. In this anime, we are introduced to so many otaku-related elements. There are names and terms used in relation with this sub-culture such as plamo, cosplay, hentai, and the list goes on.

Unlike most anime, this show is extremely realistic (similar to Honey And Clover). It focuses on the members of a student activity club at a University that is situated in the outskirts of Tokyo. The club is a group of slackers whose sole activity is appreciating anime, manga, hentai, cosplay and other pastimes normally associated with otaku (it's actually 'geek' if read more
Jul 26, 2009
Ri-chan (All reviews)
This series was one I watched because I was bored, but after only a few episodes, it had become one of my all time favorites. It is a series that has literally been written "by fans for fans" and it is impossible not to connect with this series on a personal level.

Story:
The story has relatively simple set up. It starts out as the story of a shy otaku who is unable to admit to his own nerdy self. That is only the set up of he first episode. After that more characters are introduced and the club room, which has served as a retreat for read more