Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

School Rumble


Alternative Titles

English: School Rumble
Japanese: スクールランブル

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2004 to Mar 29, 2005
Premiered: Fall 2004
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Comet
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.001 (scored by 110,523 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5862
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #402
Members: 240,337
Favorites: 4,790

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 13, 2006
AngelIvory (All reviews)
Hate watching those anime that drag on for too long with boring storylines? Then try School Rumble, each episode is totally random, even though it does try to follow a main storyline.

As the story goes on, it becomes more and more hilarious! I wished my high school was as fun as this. It portrays as guys being very pathetic and always going after girls, this makes them very funny to watch! The jokes are very humorous; some is just silly.

The animation is very beautiful, although it has more beautiful girls and the boys are all very weird. The read more
Mar 15, 2009
shinigamidono (All reviews)
This review is for the entire School Rumble series.That includes both seasons and all of the OVAs. I don’t believe in dividing up series by seasons and I firmly believe series should be treated as a whole and therefore rated and reviewed, and judged in the same manner.

School Rumble is basically the story of a love triangle. The hyper, slow-witted, dense and yet extremely nice and lovable character Tsukamoto Tenma is in love with her strange and seemingly dull classmate Karasuma Oji and at the same time the misunderstood delinquent Harima Kenji is madly in love with Tsukamoto Tenma to the point that he has read more
Jan 29, 2015
AnimatedGuru (All reviews)
School Rumble is a romantic comedy that you should watch if you don't want to pay attention to any plot details or you just in it for a good laugh. Meaning school rumble is a show that has virtually no main plot and gets nowhere in 26 episodes.

STORY:7/10
Now i did say that there was not plot but that doesn't mean that the show does nothing but corny humor for the entire 26 episodes(even though its all it really needs to do for the genre). They introduce a variety of characters throughout and give them most at least some back story, character development, and even some read more
Dec 31, 2007
Sabaa (All reviews)
School Rumble is my all time favorite anime series therefore my high score for it and because it actually deserves it.

Story - Basically, School Rumble has no real storyline besides Tenma going after Karasuma and Harima going after Tenma, thats basically it. But the thing about School Rumble is, even if it barely has a storyline it still appeals to many many people, which is something i believe is unique.

Art - I adore School Rumble's beautiful design of characters. Even though its a 2004 anime, it still has considerable good graphic maybe even better then some animes in the year 2007. Also one thing i read more
Oct 15, 2007
my_chocol8 (All reviews)
I have loved OURAN HOST CLUB and upon looking for another High School anime, I stumbled upon School Rumble. Well, at first look, it really did look like a nice enjoyable anime...

... but I was dead wrong. I'm sorry but it was really dreadful, and the fact that there was really no particular character development at the least. The story was in shambles. Yes, it did follow this sort of story outline, but did anybody notice that the main story-- whatever happened to Karasuma-kun in the middle of the story? he seemed totally forgotten..what the heck? After all those what happened, the conclusion was very read more
Feb 4, 2008
bleached (All reviews)
This show is awesome. After a long day at school,college, work etc this is the anime to watch. No heavy mood in there. Although I must say the manga is better than the anime. I adored the story, a not so typical high school story. The only downside to the story was the final episode. It was a bit confusing considering they were jumping back and forth between events. Thankfully the previous episodes made up for it.

The art is wonderful. In anime you often see that some aspects of the images are astonishing whereas some other aspects look horrible (for example the lips). None read more
Jun 24, 2009
JesuOtaku_ (All reviews)
This series makes me wonder if they've cloystered off this small region of Japan where they put all the nation's socially inept kids, kind of like what Britain did with Australia except instead of shipping out monstrous deviants like Jack the Ripper, the Japanese would use their packing peanuts on annoyances like that kid you'd invite to your birthday party only because your mom made you. Actually, that's not entirely true. Part of what makes this series work so well is that the characters, for as thick as they are, are also incredibly likable. The other part is just how insanely hilarious this show is, read more
Feb 24, 2010
AstuteOtaku (All reviews)
Story: 9
On first appearance, School Rumble doesn't have a story, but this slice of life actually does and it is; 'everyone is in love with the wrong person and they are all a raving pack of morons.' There you go, that is the plot. This show is simply one gag after another with drama that's really just getting you ready for another gag. Many story elements make no sense, so don't even try. The purpose of the show is fun, nothing more. Now how did a slice of life, with such a simple premise, and a just-for-fun attitude get a read more
Nov 30, 2014
Sorrow (All reviews)
School Rumble is one of the most wackiest but enjoyable and funniest anime I've ever seen. A pure school comedy-romance anime that had me smiling the entire time with it's hilarious jokes and animations of unrealistic character acts/facial expressions. If you want to just watch an anime that's not anything you have to pay attention to, but just sit back, and get a good laugh out of, then School Rumble is the perfect anime for you. No real plot. Just an episodic series that does build up the character's relationships throughout, but the show is purely comedy. What makes it better is that it doesn't read more
May 10, 2015
Lunkanlunker (All reviews)
I tried! I TRIED!!!!!!!

I tried to like this anime but I really couldn't, I tried to laugh I couldn't,

I love romance/comedies but school rumble was just to zany and random for me.Even though I finished the first season I felt like I was forcing myself to watch it from the beginning. The plot goes no where and I know that's not the main purpose THE MAIN PURPOSE IS TO LUAGH but I never got one good chuckle from my self and it came to a point where I was trying to force myself to laugh.

Some episodes left me dumbfounded on how random the events read more
Jan 16, 2014
Nolifeking13 (All reviews)
There are only two kinds who watched School rumble one are the people who loved the series and others who hated the whole series. From my rating you can see I'm the latter.

I fell for the ratings of 10 and the ranking 298 and started watching but had worst experience. There are plenty of other mediocre series way far better than this.

There is no plot, I hated the heroin most annoying lead, hero is more like one of the background images popped as a character once in while and the delinquent comic relief.

I completed whole 1st, 2nd and 3rd terms still I hate the read more
Aug 28, 2014
punkertz (All reviews)
in my opinion it is one of the best series for the romantic comedy genre.

the series is set in a high school setting, it may seem a bit boring to some people, however the strength of the series is from the individual character. each of them have unique traits and when mix together the series became interesting and funny. simple setting is sometimes is the best way to make a good series

the jumble up love triangle and crushes between the characters made me laugh. however in the second season, the writer seems to have lot some creativity and the plot is a bit "choppy", but read more
Apr 5, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
If you're looking for a documentary to sate your curiosity about the obscure phenomenon of rumbling schools, look elsewhere. Unfortunately, School Rumble is NOT a show about a school that rumbles. Thankfully, it's a damn good romantic comedy that's actually funny! Don't let the word "romantic" fool you into thinking that it'll be anything like Clannad or Chu2 either. There's no annoying melodrama to be found anywhere, no teenage angst to put a damper on your good mood, or any of that bullshit. There's also no overarching story that forces you to sit through every episode either. This is the kind of show that you read more
Jan 23, 2015
Otaku_Buster (All reviews)
School Rumble is a romantic comedy anime about a delinquent boy who loves a normal looking girl but that girl loves someone else, pretty typical looking plot huh. But if you mix that typical plot with hilarious misunderstanding scenarios, unexpected turn of events, and a vast amount of character development in one show; the result: satisfying experience.


The good
- Character driven anime. You will care more about the main characters as you watch, even the minor characters have proper screen time to get to know them.
- Each episode can make you laugh.
- While each episode has random scenarios, the story still moves forward.
- For a Comedy anime, it shows read more
Aug 13, 2014
Area51 (All reviews)
“To effectively communicate, we must realize that we are all different in the way we perceive the world and use this understanding as a guide to our communication with others.”
-Tony Robbins

Miscommunication happens often in our everyday lives. When we miscommunicate with each other there are several outcomes that can happen. People may laugh, they may cry, or they may become angry and unhappy. Now what do you get when those miscommunications mixed with high school crushes? Well you end up with the insanity that is School Rumble. This comedy anime is one built around the two main characters, Harima and Tenma, as they attempt to read more
Jan 8, 2017
Voidgangsta (All reviews)
This anime angered me enough to write this short review:
If you're looking for a romance anime don't even bother here. This is literally Blueballs the Anime. There was so much potential for a good ending yet they just keep letting this game of cat and mouse go on. Misunderstanding after misunderstanding. Was honestly a pain to sit through.
Story was pretty episodic but they still managed to have some story progress little by little. Isn't really that impressive either.
Art was normal for that year. Nothing fancy.
Sound could have been better. They re-use the soundtrack a lot but you won't notice it since it's pretty decent and read more
May 29, 2010
BloodyKittens (All reviews)
This anime is great, its sorta just about a bunch of highschoolers lives and random funny things that happen. The main story basicly revolves around kenji harima (one of the main charecters) and his "love" for a girl at school named tenma. He is always getting annoyed(not at her) when she go's all crazy over her major crush karasima (which just happens to be one of the wierdest guys in school.) I highly recommend this anime and really wish they could have made a season 3 (they couldnt because the manga ended.) I think i became sorta attached to it because it was one read more
Oct 18, 2012
usaking (All reviews)
School Rumble is an anime that comes by every so often that has the ability to make you laugh out loud. This can't be accomplished easily by most since comedy is a hard thing to do. Yet, School Rumble is able to successfully accomplish such.

PROS

The best thing about School Rumble is the comedy. It contains some of the funniest jokes that you will ever come upon in any anime. Tenma, the main girl in the story, is the one who seems to be the funniest out of all the characters. She has a dimwitted charm to her that is interesting, yet questionable. Other moments read more
May 28, 2015
NiCL (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now, I need to make this clear. I did not finish School Rumble. I tried to watch it a year or two ago, but had to drop it as it didn't hold my interest. I was, however, more into the action side of things back then, so I do plan on giving it another go.

It started off strong, and I was a fan, but I soon, as I stated in the paragraph above, lost interest. It was a very sweet anime, and fun for some, but if you're not into this genre, then I would suggest you think twice before starting this.

Once I read more
Sep 12, 2008
Alderban (All reviews)
You all must understand that I cant stand most Romance animes actually I cant stand any (except for this one), for some reason School rumble defied all logic and immediately became… yes it immediately became my favorite anime of all time.This anime is unique compared to others, it doesn’t fallow a set linear storyline rather its very random, you could say its formula used for success was to endlessly surprise fans like any good comedy should. This is by far the funniest anime I’ve ever seen but to be fair I will point out the good and the bad in this anime.

Story
If you are read more