Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gankutsuou


Alternative Titles

English: Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo
Synonyms: The King of the Cavern
Japanese: 巌窟王

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2004 to Mar 30, 2005
Premiered: Fall 2004
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 02:12 (JST)
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.171 (scored by 49,953 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #670
Members: 163,479
Favorites: 3,158

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 10, 2009
Zyro (All reviews)
When I first browsed through my friends shelf of anime I didn’t pay Gankutsuou much mind, he had told me how good it was and that I would like it but I thought I had better things to do than watch it. As it turns out, I was completely wrong. I eventually picked it up and began watching it and at the end of the first episode I was hooked on it. It was like a drug that I needed to continue pumping into my system, and even now that it is over I crave for more. So now I shall take an in depth read more
May 10, 2011
sen_mcgrath (All reviews)
A nineteenth century classic French novel, in the future, in space with aliens, space ships, giant robots and evil spirits? Surprisingly, it works! I am not sure what Monsieur Dumas would think of his classic 'The Count of Monte Christo' being turned into a galactic drama, but I like many other anime fans certainly enjoyed it!

Those familiar with the novel will know the basics of who the characters are and what the general outcome of the story will be, much like how anyone who knew the basic plot of Romeo and Juliet could easily predict what fate would befall the title read more
Sep 24, 2007
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo

Manga/Anime/Both: Anime series, 24 episodes, ran from October 5th, 2004 to March 29th, 2005 in Japan, licenced by Geneon, with six of six volumes released. A manga is currently running in Japan in Kodansha's magazine Afternoon, and has yet to be licenced over here.

Story: And now, the hard part... There is no simple way to sum up Gankutsuou's story, although I'll try.

Gankutsuou is based off of Alexandre Dumas' The Count of Monte Cristo. I say "based off of," because in the later part of the series (Episode 18 and thereabouts), the series takes a read more
Sep 16, 2007
Washi (All reviews)
Gankutsuou is one of those few series that I actually watched first on DVD. I started watching it when my friend decided to collect it on DVD as it was released, but before I had actually experienced the show, I already had high expectations, having heard so many people praising it as a masterpiece and the artistic style (which I had glimpsed in a number of promotional images) of the show promised innovation and quality. I try to avoid having expectations for a show before I start it, but sometimes they just cannot be quashed, and so I sat down to the first episode hoping read more
Jan 6, 2019
AndoCommando (All reviews)
Ambition. An earnest desire for achievement or distinction and the willingness to strive for such is often fundamental in success. It produces action, bringing forth moods of passion, emotion and a yearning love for the endeavour. This is especially so with art, where the skill and craftmanship of creators are beared on display, readily available for consumers to take in and experience for themselves. However, in recent times one could argue that such craftmanship seems to have dwindled overtime, instead reverting to complacency in one’s ability to prosper. No longer when writing a story is a high level of skill required when accompanied with breath-taking read more
Jul 13, 2009
Chelle (All reviews)
The story of "The Count of Monte Cristo" has always been one of my favorites. So, I went into this anime with just a little bit of trepidation. I wondered if I should watch it, because I had heard that it veered so much from the original story. But, because of my love for the story, I had to try. And I was very pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed it.

Story: Yes, it is an "adaptation." It strays way, far away from the original work. But the basic premises remains the same. Friendship. Love. read more
Aug 2, 2009
AironicallyHuman (All reviews)
"My friend once muttered to me, 'Death is nothing but a release.'
I asked: If death is a release, what is it that you wish to give them?
My friend answered me succinctly: 'I will give them eternal suffering and remorse.' "

There will never be another series quite like Gankutsuou. And that is why it depresses me to see the loosest yet greatest adaptation ever conceived, of *THE* quintessential tale of crime and punishment vengeance (as well as one of the most influential, contemporary classics of literature), so neglected by the anime fandom. Gonzo's masterpiece - complete with stunning CG-layered-on-2D clothing designs by Anna Sui - and read more
Sep 13, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overview:

I like classical literature. My screen name is literature nerd. I also love anime. So when I heard that there was an anime adaptation of one of my favorite classic novels I got PUMPED! This wouldn't just be an anime that took a subplot or a character largely based on a classic like Monster borrowed from Les Misrables and The Demons or Elfen Lied borrowed from Phantom of the Opera and Crime and Punishment. This would be an honest to God full adaptation that tries to bring an old classic to a modern audience. The result...unfortunately there have been MANY better adaptations of The Count read more
Oct 12, 2008
Somiboo (All reviews)
When I decided to watch Gankutsuo, I didn't know what to expect. I've read Le Comte de Monte-Cristo (the novel it's loosely based on), but I wasn't going to presume that it would stick to the original material - after all, this series was done by Gonzo, the same studio that brought us Romeo X Juliet, which didn't turn out to be much like the actual Romeo and Juliet. Anyway, so I picked it up, hoping to at least be entertained....and man am I ever glad that I did.

Art
I can't review this series without first mentioning the art.
Firstly, I must admit that this didn't make read more
Mar 8, 2011
DirtyMidnighter (All reviews)
While I will admit that I have not read of the classic revenge novel, The Count of Monte Cristo, Gankutsuo certainly appears to be a more interesting entry into the ever-growing heap of remakes of this tale. However, it failed to make a real impression. It certainly has some commendable qualities, but in the end, its jumbled and inconsistent visuals, stilted dialogue and murderously slow pace ruin any chance of redemption.
The most immediately striking thing about this series in the visual style. Let me make this clear- there is a difference between visual style and animation. The show's visual style is rather stunning. It's main read more
Jul 12, 2009
danceljoy (All reviews)
Anime version of The Count of Monte Cristo with an additional title "Gankutsuou?" Interesting. the opinions of this review come from a person who never read the book nor the novel adaptation but has researched enough.But this is a review written without a comparison to other pieces of work.I watched the anime thrice. But a phrase to summarize this review; simply the most artistic anime I have seen in my life.

My rating for this anime is so high that I can't believe it.

Story: 9

It's a creative adaptation of the original novel with a lot of changes, but the core is recognizable nonetheless. Gankutsuou's story itself read more
Sep 16, 2007
Anomalous (All reviews)
Based on a classic novel, Gankutsuou tells the story of a man bent on revenge and the boy he changes the life of. The first episode of the series introduces the Count of Monte Cristo, a man with power, influence, and a real sense of danger about him. Albert, a teenager who has his share of power and influence, although not much knowledge of who he really is or can be. At its core, the story is a rite of passage for Franz as he learns about life, people, and what it means to be an adult. In addition, though, many other topics are covered: read more
Mar 21, 2008
lowell (All reviews)
I've been intending to watch this show for over a year and I just could not get past the first episode. The animation just was... too much. But I kept on watching the first one over again every few months and eventually, I guess I just got used to it. The other thing is that I don't particularly care for the story of the Count of Monte Cristo, so the idea of watching a retelling -- even in this fantasy space backdrop -- even with a twist -- didn't really make me try any harder to get used to the animation.

[Note: read more
Jun 9, 2010
Lindle (All reviews)
Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo is a rare thing in anime: Unique. This is perhaps expected is an adaptation of a 19th century French novel, updated to a Space-age setting, but nonetheless, it's something you're unlikely to find a decent parallel to. Which is a shame, because the world could use more shows like this one.

The show begins on the moon-based city of Luna, a culturally-rich metropolis, where our protagonist, Albert de Morcerf, meets a strange man calling himself The Count Of Monte Cristo. After he winds up owing his life to The Count, he helps him to integrate into Parisian society in return. read more
Dec 1, 2018
Necriptos (All reviews)
To be honest this is an insult to Alexandre Dumas' genius and his masterpiece.
this review contain slight spoilers.

let's get into it:

Story 1/10:
First of all they start the anime by the middle of the books, and put the start of the books at the end of the anime, they then took an insignificant character from the book and turned him into the main protagonist, then they took the protagonist of the book and made him the main vilain/antagonist of the story. They took random names of characters from the book and put them here and there, created new characters out of thin air instead of read more
Apr 29, 2008
godlikeng (All reviews)
This show can simply be described using two words. "Beautiful" and "Masterpiece".

Story

Based of the novel The Count of Monte Cristo, you can expect the story to be well put together. The setting used however, is a futuristic era where man has already set off into space. Despite that, it is very well molded into the story and does not come off as too outrageous.

The pacing of the episodes was also very well done and made full use of the 26 episodes without being too quick-paced or dragged on.


Visuals

To be honest, this art style will not suit everyone. I however, found it to be particularly enjoyable read more
Dec 12, 2013
TheNamelessOne (All reviews)
A gripping story of relationships, growth, revenge and redemption, Gankutsuou never fails to captivate and draw in an audience deeper into the story as secrets are unraveled, past uncovered and truth brought to light. Several key elements hold the story together, though one might be more apparent than the others, it soon becomes clear that all of them are key to connecting everything together. Though lacking flair, or rather due to the lack of it, Gankutsuou manages to channel a powerful story as well as the emotions behind the various characters actions to the viewers, creating what could truly be considered a masterpiece.

[POTENTIAL SPOILERS BELOW: read more
Jul 10, 2014
Caleb_Marvell (All reviews)
I feel obligated to write a review about this anime immediately after finishing it just moments ago so I can keep it fresh in my mind...

Le Comte de Monte-Cristo, or, as they know him in the anime, Gankutsuou. Even with it fresh in my mind, it'll be difficult to write a review about this series, for it's hard to find the right words to describe something that should belong in an art museum. Yes, this anime is truly a work of art. The Count of Monte Cristo, roughly based on the original novel written by Alexandre Dumas, which had been turned into a movie back read more
Jun 1, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
"Revenge is a dish best served cold."

No doubt I'm not the first person to use this cliche in a "Gankutsuou" review... probably not even the first person to open the review with that line, but it's excruciatingly hard not to use it. While some might say this is because of my limited imagination and questionable writing ability, I'd like to think that the real reason is because out of the plethora of works that the overused phrase has been applied to in the past, very few if any has done it justice the way "Gankutsuou" has. It is a show that the phrase seems to read more
Aug 13, 2014
VictorX (All reviews)
Gankutsuou is a rare hybrid that is ambitious in what it is trying to accomplish. What is even more rare is that Gankutsuou perfectly executes what it seeks to be.

Story: 10/10

Gankutsuou is based upon the Count of Monte Cristo, the classic novel by Alexandre Dumas. The classic French novel has the story told from the perspective of The Count, but the anime shifts the perspective to Albert de Morcerf. This fundamental change shifts the tone of the story as a whole. It grants The Count and air of mystery, since instead of the narrative following him, it now follows a third party who views him read more