Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nanatsu no Taizai


Alternative Titles

English: The Seven Deadly Sins
Synonyms: Nanatsu no Taizai
Japanese: 七つの大罪

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2014 to Mar 29, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.221 (scored by 513,747 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3092
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #43
Members: 835,209
Favorites: 17,640

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 21, 2015
Zalty (All reviews)
My experience of this anime can be summed up by the word "meh". I went into it hoping for a nice twist on the seven deadly sins being the good guys, and some awesome fight scenes, and ended up sorely disappointed. Sure, the characters are known by their sins, but rather than be actual embodiments of said sins, they were simply granted them as derogatory titles, so they fail to stand out as shounen manga characters in that department.

The characters don't undergo any sort of development across the series, and for the most part are bland and boring. Ban is pretty fun because of his read more
Apr 17, 2015
animesthabomb (All reviews)
“Seven Deadly Sins: Lion’s sin of pride, Serpent’s sin of envy, Boar’s sin of gluttony, Goat’s sin of lust, Grizzly’s sin of sloth, Fox’s sin of greed and Dragon’s sin of wrath.”

Action without reason or thought is just a testosterone-trip; complete with flashy powers and fights that drag on for way too long. So, it’s interesting to see an anime that suffers from these clichés and more – but also utilizes them to their fullest extent, giving rhyme and reason to them; which makes the show a whole lot more fun and meaningful than was expected.

[STORY]
------------
The core plot is simply the adventures (and misadventures) read more
Mar 29, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
The funny thing about sins is that we all have it. As some part of us, there’s a sin in everyone. It’s simple really because they are natural human instincts. That’s hardly what Nanatsu no Taizai is about though. On the surface, the show seems to talk about the sins in their variety. But really, this series is more about a journey, one that has our heroes find those lost Sins. Like a classic adventure, Nanatsu no Taizai (The Seven Deadly Sins) crafts the extraordinary portrait of how a journey should be in such a fantasy world.

Let’s get something over with first. This series has read more
Mar 29, 2015
keragamming (All reviews)
I just wrote a long ass review on this series, and I accidentally drop my laptap and it shut off before I even submitted it. -_- sigh, I'll make this one shorter then. if this review felt lacking, its probably because I'm kinda burn out, after putting so much effort in the previous Nanatsu no Taizai review. So let's begin for a second time now.

In late 2013, I read about 23 chapters of the manga and I wasn't impress, don't know if I was not in a good mood or not. fast forward in 2015, and the anime came, I wasn't excited at all, read more
Jun 14, 2017
vanburu0 (All reviews)
[First review] [bad english]

Story: 1/10
Like every cliché shounen, The Seven Deadly Sins has a mediocre and linear story, that is only used to justify fanservice and nonsense fights. The plot follows Meliodas, a very dumb and innocent dude (despite he always abuse his friend Elizabeth and, sometimes, turns into a demon), who is unjustifiably determined to help the princess that he knew 2 seconds ago.
It's basically a generic copy of Fullmetal Alchemist, but one thousand times worse.

Art: 5/10
The animation is fine, but the trait is just terrible, and the character design is so badly done.

Sound: 5/10
The sound composition is, ultimately, just okay. It's fundamentally read more
Dec 29, 2015
Z_Tetriminos (All reviews)
I've always wanted to review Nanatsu, but I just couldn't give myself energy to do it. There's a lot of wrong things in this piece, and to flesh out each of them is gonna take time - but I really need to. A lot of reviews on MAL just didn't get to these points, so I'll have to talk about them myself.

Nanatsu is your average shonen, with ALL the cliches you can expect to see (overpowered characters, tits, superpowers, power of friendship and shit). But not only shonen cliches, also medieval story cliches: unbelievably unbreakable swords, giant monsters everywhere, kingdoms and knights, games of power read more
Mar 14, 2016
Sangss (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

I don't know why many people find this anime so good when it's really not.
The anime gives us first the introduction of the characters. It was ok, I guess...Still, I was annoyed at the character of Meliodas. Why? Because he is a fucking sexual harasser with the girl who joins him: Elizabeth. Touching her boobs and ass and looking at her panties... Is that supposed to be funny? Because I'd find it rather disgusting than something for laughs. Besides that, the other characters were very neutral for me, but this Gowther guy who appears almost at the last which had a mysterious aura was read more
Mar 29, 2015
MangakaNotlora (All reviews)
Shounen is a tricky genre. Too often, plot is abandoned for the sake of showcasing all of the powers and techniques of the hero, and knowing this, I was very reluctant to get into Nanatsu no Taizai. Having taken the plunge several weeks after the show's original premier, I am incredibly pleased with what I ended up with.

Nanatsu no Taizai does follow the same basic shounen formula: one powerful force butts heads against another, everyone is naming their attacks before they use them, a useless female companion appears--yet, these rough edges are given their time to develop into something likable and actually compelling to watch.

The read more
Nov 16, 2015
Animayham (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show has all the makings of something great but never delivers. You have good quality animation, a group of characters with various skills and personalities that you will surely find your favorite. Action and abilities, and even some twist on historical and mythical figures in place. Even has some fan service and good humor and starts off with a captivating first episode.Yet it all feels like a whole bunch on stuff thrown together with no clear direction.

The universe isn't explained well enough or provides clarity. You have giants, humans, demons, fairies, immortals, holy knights, talking pigs etc etc. It's as if any creature read more
Apr 22, 2015
Namhur (All reviews)
The story of how I came into watching Nanatsu no Taizai (or Seven Deadly Sins, whichever do you prefer to call it) is rather an odd one. The series isn't exactly on my anime watchlist back when it aired on Fall 2014, and I only watched it when I noticed Animax channel in my region began airing the series during winter. Considering the series seems like a good harmless shonen fun, I decided to finally watch it since I don't watch that much anime in that season. And it is quite good fun shonen, although it takes a while to get there.

The series story are read more
Apr 3, 2019
Sharur (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of my friends recommended me to watch this anime and he said it's gonna be heart-melting . but unfortunately all i saw was a nonsense show .

It could be a better anime if they just removed Elizabeth from it . I mean she is so unbearable for viewers , i mean the whole show is suppose to express around her but the only things you can see from her is crying and being soulless when someone important for her dies, and the funny thing is, they called it being strong .

The story is decent but as i said the pathetic characters made it read more
Mar 30, 2015
Shiruet (All reviews)
A group of knights have overthrown the kingdom and started an uproar, dubbed as the "Seven Deadly Sins." Soon, they all suddenly disappeared and the people rejoiced over their supposed defeat. Ten years later, the kingdom is overflowing with pride, yet a hidden darkness lies within as a girl comes up to a bar...

"Nanatsu no Taizai" or "The Seven Deadly Sins" is a recent anime released by A-1 Pictures that illustrate the adventures of a certain group against a kingdom deemed corrupt. That's basically it in a nutshell, so here is my review of this series!

Story: 8/10

The story basically follows a young girl named read more
May 28, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Everybody sins. You and me, friends and family, neighbors and strangers; nobody is averse to acting sinful. The severity, though, changes depending on the circumstance: a rogue thought doesn’t do much harm nor does a little bit of desire. But other, more malicious movements can harbor emotions with greater intent to maim. This is where atonement comes into play. For while sinning is bad, it’s the good we do to make up for our grievances that truly matters. Nanatsu no Taizai takes this idea to heart, crafting an anime that needs no forgiveness.


STORY

Taizai begins innocently enough. read more
Oct 16, 2017
Johan_Liebert_ (All reviews)
Garbage anime. The plot was looking good in the first few episodes but by the end of the show it turned into a parody of itself.
The characters are nothing special, none of them get any development, except Ban and King, all the other characters feel bland with little to no depth to them.
Meloidas, "captain" of the "seven deadly sins" is a pervert and that's pretty much all we get to know about him. The main characters are called sins, because, hey it sounds cool!

TL;DR

This is just another mediocre anime with fanservice to hide the terrible writing and "cool" character names to conceal the read more
Mar 31, 2015
realkonnie (All reviews)
Nanatsu no Taizai is one of those shonen type story for teens that is actually quite enjoyable to watch. I'm not fond of shonen's in general, I love One Piece and some classics but my interest for the genre stops there.

Story: Nothing amazing or original there.
Long story short, the kingdom has been overuled by Holy Knights, the princess is looking for those called the Seven Deadly Sins to help her save her country. 5/10

Art: SHOUNENNNN, I mean, the art doesn't make the anime, i thought the action scene animation was quite poor too. 6/10

Sound: None of these terrible OP/ED, decent soundtrack, nothing I'll listen to read more
Nov 24, 2015
chip5620 (All reviews)
I have never seen an anime that I liked this much, with so many plot holes. I HATE plot holes and its the only thing that always gets me with anime. Usually if there's one plot hole, I drop it, but this one some how managed to make me want to keep watching despite the plot holes. I don't understand.
+points for the anime:
I do like the main concept and story idea. The main character is intriguing, and overall the cast was good. And there was a descent amount of romance in the plot. The fighting scenes were well done read more
Mar 30, 2015
Haiju (All reviews)
No Spoiler.

Plot( 9/10):
I think that is important to look at the tags of the anime. Talking about Nanatsu, I can see this tags: Action, Adventure, Fantasy,Shounen, Supernatural.
Seeing this tags, one question crossed my mind: What means a “good adventure”?
The word “adventure” originates from the latim “ad venture”, which means literally “what lies ahead”. Putting this in a anime plot perspective, adventure will be the problems, conflicts, battles, etc… that the characters have to pass by to reach one determined goal.
Answer my own question, what means a “good adventure” ?
A “good adventure” in a plot means one multiplicity of conflicts, battles, problems. Conflicts, battles, read more
Mar 31, 2015
Rasmusdras (All reviews)
Nanatsu no Taizai is an epic adventure of the main character, Meliodas trying to get into a young girls pants, you could consider Meliodas a pedofile, since he is over 3000 years old, anyway the animes pretty good, its got some unqiue characters to say the least. The animation lacking to be honest, theres alot of animation derps and farts. If you are looking for a shonen anime to clench your thirst of that sweet innocent butt of action, i guess you would enjoy this animu.
PS Diane best waifu
Oct 29, 2018
AnimatheTrue (All reviews)
This anime did some things well and some...not so well. Let's break it down.

Starting with the things that were done well, I want to point out the lore and a few characters. Actually, now that I think about it, most of the things done well were rarely shown on screen, such as the backgrounds of the characters. Both Ban and Meliodas had interesting backgrounds, and even King and Diane had some cool stories. On the other hand, the lore was amusing enough to make me want to keep watching it. Who were the Seven Deadly Sins, really? What was going on in the Demon read more
May 13, 2015
GranReySombro (All reviews)
The Seven Deadly Sins.
I first saw the manga of this show and then forgot all about it.
But then one of my friends gave the first five episodes to me.
I am still thanking him for that.

To the review,
The one thing I really love about this anime are the characters. The personalities are just amazing and they make the show even better. Here you have adventure, comedy and all other shounen-like genres packaged in a single show. And packaged well.

There were also some awesome battles and epic moments that make you go "hohoho" . The show should have been longer as they were some unanswered questions, but read more