Rental Magica

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Rental Magica
Japanese: レンタルマギカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2007 to Mar 24, 2008
Premiered: Fall 2007
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Studios: Zexcs
Source: Light novel
Genres: MysteryMystery, SupernaturalSupernatural, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.081 (scored by 1732017,320 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #32312
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2029
Members: 52,890
Favorites: 109
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 25, 2008
Archaeon (All reviews)
Rental Magica is a bit of an odd anime. It's mainly a series of one shot episodes relating the exploits of Iba Itsuki, the 2nd president of Astral, and his various employees as they combat evil spirits, demons, rogue mages, magical pollution, etc.

What makes the show a bit odd is the fact that it initially can't decide if it wants to be a combat anime, or a highschool romance, a purely supernatural thriller, or a comedy. It literally has a bit of all those genres. Because of this, many people may be put off watching the show after a few episodes. Bear with it read more
Mar 22, 2008
Mijare (All reviews)
Preliminary
Since I'm almost done with the series (just waiting on Eclipse for the last episode), I thought I'd write my take on the whole thing.

Story: What story? While we end up seeing background story for all of the characters, the feel of it all remains the same. The over-all driving plot point is a bit thin, and by the end, I found myself wishing there had been more.

Art: The animation is great. There are a few jerky moments - most noticeable when Itsuki starts using martial arts - but the majority is clean.

Sound: I love the opening theme to this. Otherwise, I hardly noticed read more
Apr 9, 2008
kickass331 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show's story makes no sense and is boring. The art is typical and mundane. The sound is fine but the opening and ending are typical Anime junk. The characters don't stand out and are average. The show is one of the thousands of Harems with average video quality, stereotypical characters, lame plot twists, and cheesy production values. Overall, I had to drop this series because it was so unpleasant to watch. If you're really into Harry Potter, then I guess you could love this series though.
Apr 5, 2008
HardToName (All reviews)
Preliminary
Although this was a great series, there is much to criticize about. For one, the chief character, Itsuki, does nominal developing, and is not once thought of as “Most Powerful” as you would anticipate from other series’. Instead, the series relies on the supporting characters for that feeling of triumph over the opponent. Also, the series talks much about the preceding generation of Astral mages, but not once decides to go into detail about it, which is not a good plot hole in my outlook. On top of that, it takes about half of the entire series to start getting the true experience of read more
Feb 6, 2010
chingstah (All reviews)
it's a cool magic anime.yeah and i loved it really.there is romance,magic,action,comedy

The plot centers around the magician dispatch service and Mage's Society: Astral. The main protagonist of the story is Astral's second President: Itsuki Iba, who, while being young and inexperienced ironically isn't even a Mage. Central to the story are Astral's many adventures with magical spirits and creatures, competing with rival company Goetia, rogue members, taboos and the Dark Magician's Society: Ophion, all while trying to complete enough jobs to pay the bills and fill The Association's quota and evade abolition. Each story arc is written as an incident in which the Astral read more
Dec 31, 2011
jkalyana (All reviews)
Preliminary
OK, so what is Rental Magica. A company that rents you magicians if you need them. It tries to follow Ghost Hunt. Well how does it compare to it, don't do or else you'll just feel terrible.

The main character Itsuki Iba inherits the Rental Magica after his father disappears. Now as any story would have, there is a girl with past connected to him and of course likes him, there is another girl who likes him. All different magic concepts and mythologies are randomly thrown in between. Nothing is properly explained. They just randomly throw in magic terms, rituals; try to compare different magic and read more
Sep 20, 2013
Redd396 (All reviews)
Now this anime is a very interesting one. I have a lot to say about this anime and I'm having a hard time deciding where to begin.
Well it seems only fitting to start at the one thing that makes this anime stand out for me above all animes in its category, the magic. Generally anime magic is much like, well anything else animes use, as powerful and versatile as the writers want it to be. However this anime has the best magic in any anime I've ever seen. The magic just seems so real, the way they use it the way they talk about it, read more
Jan 7, 2020
DracoBorne (All reviews)
This anime takes a lot of risks by relying so heavily on exposition. It has such a rich index of lore and backstory that it ends up having to explain so many aspects in such a short time that it doesn't really do a great job of explaining them all. For example, one of my biggest questions was "does the number of legions a Solomon demon rules an indicator of how strong it is?" Or even "what's the difference between Glam Sight and Glam Sight +" (you know what I mean in EP 23.) The design on the magics and especially the Solomon demons read more
Dec 10, 2019
mushimk (All reviews)
Preliminary
Such a disappointment. But truth to be told, this is as much a disappointment as this anime had potential, a real potential. The story is enticing, with a carefully crafted scenario toward magic that gives something almost new to consider.
Unfortunately, the anime in its whole is lacking in its execution : the characters are undevelopped (quite boring, in fact), the art is just average but the worst of it comes with the rhythm : This anime is absolutely unable to reach a peak, or reaching a climax for the most spectacular scenes and situations that its story provides, which crush every bit of excitement read more
Aug 24, 2011
Blackstar_aria (All reviews)
I liked this anime, it had elements of magic in it (a lot of them actually) but you understood what everyone’s function was and what their tools were. Mainly a comedy, but with light romance, Rental Magica uses witches, priests, demons, sprits and ghosts in really dark situations.
Itsuki is the main character and as such he’s everything you love in your hero. He’s not as skilled as the other characters but he’s cute, kind hearted, accepts others who are different, hardworking, and has no idea that he’s in the middle of a harem. Lol. I didn’t like how the first 7 episodes seemed out of read more