Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji


Alternative Titles

English: Wolf Girl & Black Prince
Synonyms: Ookami Shoujo to Kuroouji, Wolf Girl & Black Prince
Japanese: オオカミ少女と黒王子

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2014 to Dec 21, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: TYO Animations
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.431 (scored by 103,946 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #18822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #339
Members: 189,163
Favorites: 1,120

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 18, 2015
MAND4 (All reviews)
Before watching this show, I'd recommend you Wiki-up on the term known as "Stockholm syndrome". It will help you understand the ultimate wrong aspect of this anime far better, but, unfortunately, it still won't ease the fact that this anime is completely and utterly average.

The story is really simple and there isn't much to it: the girl joins high school, wants to make friends, lies to them about having a boyfriend, turns out that her made-up boyfriend goes to same school with her and is quite popular, he for some reason agrees to go along with her charade and then their adventures begin. I read more
Dec 21, 2014
henyome (All reviews)
A desire for acceptance is something that most of us can relate to, and at times that can drive us to certain extremes. It's a premise that is not necessarily unique, but for a shoujo series it actually is. The cliched trope of a spineless heroine and her tsundere love interest is all too common. However this series provides us with a slight variant; our main character is a compulsive liar with a penchant for emotional punishment (read: she's a masochist) that happens to, in a series of poor decisions and bad judgment, land herself a two-faced jerk who is content to treat her like read more
May 26, 2015
justwatchme (All reviews)
To begin, you should all know that I hate anime where the female protagonist bends over backwards to gather whatever crumbs of affection a cold, asshole of a male lead deigns to toss her way (I'm looking at you Itazura na Kiss).

That being said, there are exceptions to every rule; and I guess I found mine in Ookami Shoujo to Kuroouji. Part of my fondness for this anime could be that there seems to be a shoujo anime drought going on. But I digress, so without further ado, let me review.

Ookami Shoujo to Kuroouji is a twelve episode romcom and a predictably predictable shoujo formula. read more
Dec 22, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Ever heard of the phrase ‘don’t bite off more than you can chew?’ Figuratively speaking, if you get a plain girl aiming for that dream guy, then that’s more than what they can ask for. Meet Erika, the main female protagonist of this series who is exactly the plain girl. Then, we have the dream guy named Kyouya Sata. With those princely like looks, it’s no wonder every girl wants to be his girlfriend. However, this show isn’t about a perfect romantic get-away with these two. No, it’s far from that. Wolf Girl (Erika) and Black Prince (Sata) unites two characters in a story of read more
Dec 29, 2015
Nunnally03 (All reviews)
I read the manga version few years ago but dropped it eventually because of how annoying the characters are - especially Erika.
I was actually surprised that it was adapted into anime. One day, I saw a video on youtube for "top best shoujo anime of all time" and this anime was included, so I decided to give it a try, which I regretted A LOT.
Before you watch this anime, please search and read the difference between S&M relationship and an abusive relationship - because there is a big difference.

Story: 1/10
What does this anime even want us to learn?
That it's okay to lie and let yourself read more
Feb 16, 2015
Kevvy-san (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wolf Girl & Black Prince is a really sad excuse for a romance anime, doing for romantic comedy what Twilight did for teenage relationships and taking it a step further to S&M.

Wolf Girl & Black Prince is about Erika Shinohara, a 16-year-old girl who finds herself starting a new year of school, but is alienated from the other students because they have all formed their own cliques. In order to befriend two girls, she tells them about her romantic exploits with her boyfriend, despite the fact she has no boyfriend.

She claims that a handsome boy in a candid photo is her boyfriend, unaware that read more
Dec 23, 2014
stosphia (All reviews)
Spoiler warning, just in case you didn't realize this was a shoujo anime:

Kyoya is an asshole. BUT ERIKA FALLS IN LOVE WITH HIM ANYWAY!!! I guess you figured this was coming, since it's a shoujo anime.

I know that there's a cross-cultural divide between myself (American) and the story (Japanese), but in no way is it romantic to allow yourself to be abused the way Kyoya abuses Erika. Not to mention that even if he's only treating her badly because he doesn't care about her, what's to say that he'll stop treating her badly when he actually comes to love her. He basically doesn't stop treating read more
Dec 21, 2014
TokyoSanchez (All reviews)
Demographics can be tricky thing to talk about when talking about anime. They aren't specific genres, but are more used for targeting specific groups of people. However, just because they are targeting a certain age group and/or gender doesn't mean those shows are limited to that group of people alone. But in Ookami Shoujo's case, I firmly believe it the vast majority of people who enjoy this show will be in the shoujo demographic, which is primarily why I found this show mediocre at best.

The shows first problem for me was came right off the bat. The basic premise of the show is Erika trying read more
Mar 6, 2015
jenchan (All reviews)
1/10 I was on episode 7 or 8, and I was ready to drop it. I just finished it up today, and to be honest, I didn't enjoy it one bit. It was really a difficult watch. I'm not too fond of the abusive nature of the main male character Kyouya, and the weak-willed personality of the female main, Erika. Actually, I didn't care for any of the characters in this show. The "teaching moments" in this show felt really forced.

Kyouya was made be Tsundere character, but, really, this guys shows no change at all - he's just a jerk, and I don't think read more
Dec 22, 2014
Omfgakitten (All reviews)
Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji was a very up and down experience for me. It is, to some degree, a story about romance and acceptance, presented in a more comedic manner.

Story - 6/10.
The story presented to us is a simple one. Our main character gets herself into a bit of a mess due to her compulsion to lie to gain friends, and this and that happens and she winds up with a frankly abhorrent guy who is essentially her 'owner'. A simple concept for a romance anime relatively well-executed, especially in the comedy aspect. Nothing ground-breaking, there was no real depth to the story, and read more
May 22, 2015
Lolitroy (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have to admit I have a certain something against shoujo, and this show reminds me why. It's so... generic. So generic in fact I have difficulty thinking what exactly to review. Unpopular, average girl is paired up with the school idol due to certain circumstances... what's not to love...?

The main character, Erika, is easily dismissed as another generic female lead. She has absolutely nothing to distinguish her--save her tendencies to lie, and I got to admit she has a sort of talent to it if she can keep up with the other two girls she hangs out with. I find her to be fairly read more
Mar 14, 2015
Cryptic-senpai (All reviews)
A pretty common complaint about romance anime is that the romance aspect – that is, the main attraction of the show – is slow to develop and the characters take an eternity to get together. Oftentimes, we have drama and comedy taking up screen time of what could be couples fawning over one another and going out on dates. To some people, that means that the bulk of a romance anime is filler, with the characters only getting together or confessing in the last few episodes – and sometimes, not even then! (Kimi ni Todoke, anyone?) Then came along Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji, where read more
Oct 19, 2016
Raggadish (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, after watching 7 episodes of this show I dropped it in pure disgust. For some reason I had the idea that "Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji" would be simiular to "Class president is a Maid!" (which I loved), but boy was wrong. Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji made me feel at such unease that I felt compelled to write a review about why I disliked it so much. This review may contain minor spoliers to exemplify my grave distaste of the show. So let´s begin.

Story: 1/10
The storyline of "Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji" are how the girl Erika is trying to fit in read more
Dec 30, 2014
Malighos (All reviews)
Damn I gotta say this anime surprised me.

So today I decided to take a break from hajime no ippo and my rewatch of eyeshield 21 and watch a short anime that would be you know easy to watch and enjoyable. And one of the best animes for that in my oppinion are slice of life / school / comedy animes. So while searching for a comedy anime I randomly came across Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji...and I gotta say I really enjoyed it more than I expected to as it was very easy to watch. But enough small talk let's jump into the review.

Art read more
Dec 22, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

Society can often exert pressures on everyday people, causing them to behave or act in a certain way. These may be small in scale, such as deciding what restaurant to eat at, or more grand, such as who to vote for in the next election. It's something that many people often experience, that inkling feeling of wanting to "fit in." This is just as true in relation to love. People love others for fun, while some may find solace in establishing a meaningful connection. In Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji, these societal pressures and loving ideas are tested, read more
Dec 27, 2014
Amitte_Sukku (All reviews)
~generous note about how it's my first review and English isn't my native language~

I'm not really good with writing this kind of things, so let's see how will it go.

"Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji", also known as "Wolf Girl and Black Prince".

The story was told greatly. Nothing was missing. The great thing about it was that it isn't your typical shoujo/romance anime - it wasn't predictable and that's really what comes to liking. Although at the beginning I had problems with the romance/comedy that position has to offer - it's also not your usual humor (and romance) after all. The ending really satisfied me though.

As read more
Nov 28, 2015
Kecchan (All reviews)
Cliche. Average. Mediocre. Maybe even annoying.
It works if you like the typical shoujo where the female protagonist is a happy-go-lucky pushover and her main love interest is a complete jerk who always treats her like a subordinate toy he can order around- and let's not forget that she actually *likes* him for his sexist, jerk ways and bends over backwards to do whatever he wants.

I've never been a fan of such umbalanced relationships where the guy totally dominates over the girl.
The girl is your average shoujo heroine, the guy is a carbon copy of the extremely overdone, in-every-romance-anime "cold, bad boy who read more
Apr 3, 2017
krzywasabi (All reviews)
TLDR; Your standard romance shoujo. Which means it takes place in a high school, where the average, not so popular girl falls for the super popular guy, who has a tragic backstory! Gasp! Such drama! Much wow!

...not.

Story 3/10

How disappointing. The first episode, while seemingly cliche, made the show appear to be pretty interesting. A girl who has the terrible trait of lying. A sadist and a masochist! But once Erika falls for Kyouya... siiighh.
Also, Erika isn't a masochist. A masochist is someone who actually enjoys pain and torment. She does not.

Art and Animation 8/10

Pretty damn good, if I have to say. It's nice and read more
Dec 30, 2014
Dragon-san (All reviews)
Preliminary
Only one phrase has been going through my mind in these last few episodes: "S&M."

We have a sadistic prince and a masochistic dog. What's not to love? Everything, apparently. Once again I run into a show that abuses cliches to no end. Another show whose potential was wasted with convenient plot devices and little to no character development. I swear to god, the main heroine is a fucking shallow piece of shit. I don't know much about her other than the fact that she falls in love with anyone who does a nice thing to her. As a guy, I hope no girls are like read more
May 20, 2015
randomchickita (All reviews)
This show is now one of my favourites! Great characters, great story and funny!
I really loved the characters and how they all seemed to play of each other and complement each other. I found the female lead to be really relate-able with some realistic flaws. Overall that is something I enjoyed about the show, all of the characters had their flaws and it made them seem more believable.
On the romance side it is a kinda slow build especially if you're use to watching shows where one person falls instantly in love with other) but you can see when the characters start to change which read more