Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

The iDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls


Alternative Titles

English: THE IDOLM@STER CINDERELLA GIRLS
Synonyms: The Idolmaster Cinderella Girls
Japanese: アイドルマスター シンデレラガールズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2015 to Apr 11, 2015
Premiered: Winter 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Game
Genres: Comedy, Drama, Music
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.201 (scored by 20,603 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #29502
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1704
Members: 53,423
Favorites: 442

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 10, 2015
MisterImouto (All reviews)
The iDOLM@STER: Cinderella Girls is like the party of the most popular kid in class you get invited to even though you’ve never really talked to them before. When you arrive you realize, oh wait, you don’t actually know anyone there and everyone’s already talking to each other. So you start filling a plate with carefully picked food before walking over to lean on the wall that’s not too close yet not too far from the crowd to have people think you’re a loner while you begin slowly chewing away, trying to look busy.

As a big fan of the original iDOLM@STER who’s seen the read more
Sep 3, 2015
Van_DarkhoIme (All reviews)
(Some spoilers might be in here)


As one of those clueless idol anime fans out there, I'll be honest here. I watched Cinderella Girls before I bothered to watch the original. Now, I was reluctant to watch the original after watching this because I thought to myself "wow, look at all these unique characters and great songs in Cinderella Girls", now that I look back at myself for thinking that, I want to slap myself as hard as I can this instant.
So some people are probably wondering what the huge hate on Cinderella Girls is compared to the original iDOLM@STER, now I'll put this example as read more
Sep 30, 2015
Ohayousoro (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's difficult to view The iDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls in a vacuum. For a story existing in the same universe as the original iDOLM@STER series, it seems only natural that it should be judged against it. The formula is a bit different this time, but an idol anime is an anime; at the end of the day, there are going to be things that I want from it.

Unfortunately, however, it may in this comparison against the original series where Cinderella Girls falls the most. There are differences and similarities both: 765 Pro was a small agency, whereas 346 is a massive one; 765 was already together read more
May 1, 2019
captjoe213 (All reviews)
Hi! Another Robert's Too Late Reviews to be had here! Get it while it's hot! This entry is interesting as its a continuation of the Idolmaster series, which, if you missed my evaluation of the first round, was a fairly pleasant ride through watching a group of girls blossom as idols. This time we go down this similar path, but instead with a few new wrinkles thrown into the mix. While rated overall the same for me, Cinderella Girls is the inferior of the two groups, but nevertheless is an entertaining ride. I do recommend giving the girls a try if you like this genre, read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
Story

My experience with the idol genre of anime can be summed up with “Love Live”. Based on that being the most popular entry in the genre, I didn’t hold out much hope that Cinderella Girls would blow me away. That being said, despite some preconceived notions upon starting, Cinderella Girls proved to me that the idol genre is basically a giant game of best girl and the only reason anyone watches anime of this type is to bitch about the crappy characters and gush over the good ones. So, in other words, Cinderella Girls cemented what Love Live had already taught me.

But Cinderella Girls is read more
Mar 26, 2017
RiverRode (All reviews)
The iDOLM@STER: Cinderella Girls is a follow-up to the 2011 iDOLM@STER anime that is set in the same universe, though with no returning characters. That said, I make frequent comparisons between the two. If you have no interest in seeing how Cinderella Girls measures up to its parent story, and want a review of it as a standalone work, read elsewhere.

Story
Cinderella Girls tells the story of the girls at 346 Productions, and the hurdles that they overcome on their paths to becoming professional idols. Every episode, some hurdle will appear, and one of the characters will have to grow as a person to overcome it. read more
Jan 10, 2019
Metsuryu (All reviews)
If you immediately look at the poster and think, “That’s too many girls,” then know that this show is not for you. There are a lot of girls and not all of them are equally developed. However, if you’re able to look at the ones that do—and even look at the messages the show delivers using the wide variety of characters—then I believe that you may find some value in this series.

I formed an incredibly personal connection to one of the characters in the series; I had never seen her issues portrayed and solved on screen like I did here. Among the other characters, read more
Oct 26, 2016
WariReku (All reviews)
TL;DR: 6/10. It's OK, but could be a whole lot better. I am disappointed even though I didn't hype or over-expected anything aside from naturally comparing it with the original. The songs are awesome though.

LONG VERSION:
(Introduction)
Wow, I must thank myself for not believing hype from others. This show's OK, but could have been better. It really could. And please don't think I'm writing this because I'm a hater. I'm writing this because the iDOLM@STER was, so far, the only anime series that I seriously took my time writing a review to express how glad I was to stumble upon the show, and how much I read more
Sep 26, 2017
Akito_Kinomoto (All reviews)
Once upon a time I watched an anime called The iDOLM@STER. It was a likable if unremarkable show, its enclave of characters not standing out, its absence of story robbing their chance to shine, and only the gift of music and concerts to look forward to. The lack of a resonant tale on this first chapter would close the book on this series for many years. But one day, the clock started ticking, the pumpkin carriage was set, and a new generation of idols was ready to take the stage with sparkling glass slippers. This is The iDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls

With no relation to the first read more
Dec 20, 2015
iiMAS (All reviews)
Preliminary
Having watched iDOLM@STER and Love Live!
This is a very wonderful entry.
The girls are unique in their own ways.
Not only that, but it combines the depth of connection from the original iDOLM@STER and mixes it with cute girls to produce an enjoyable and memorable experience.
Each girl has been produced extremely well including their personality, looks, etc.
The songs in this are truly eargasmic and superb! Especially Ranko's one :3
The plot is very well done as well, as it goes through friendships and the barriers that may appear causing distress, and discovering ways to overcome these is presented well.

IMO, this series is highly under-rated read more
Feb 1, 2018
PoDH (All reviews)
For me Cinderella girls is a big disappointment for me. The first Idolmaster was one of my favourite anime because it's unique. And the second installment just scrap everything that make the first one unique.

The first installment doesn't have cute/beautiful character models, hell I might say the model choice is pretty weird. But one of thing that really impress me is the story. It have pretty realistic story and timeline, you start as a very small idol but you can see their growth. And you can see each character have their own personal problem and their strength.

Anndd Cinderella Girls just nuke all of it. I read more
Oct 11, 2016
bananapotato (All reviews)
I finished the entire season in order to give the show a chance but it's just not good.

The Story:
It's about a shit ton of girls trying to become an idol. There's really not much to go on except for that.

The Characters:
Probably the majority of the reason why I didn't like the show was because of the poor characters. Seriously, a big cast like that and all of them are very one dimensional. These girls had poor personality, unmemorable and over all not relatable. The problem with a 12-episode show with a huge cast is that not everyone will be developed by the end read more