Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Devilman: Tanjou-hen


Alternative Titles

English: Devilman: The Birth
Japanese: デビルマン 誕生編

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 1, 1987
Studios: Oh! Production
Source: Manga
Duration: 51 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.191 (scored by 8,068 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #28772
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3275
Members: 14,774
Favorites: 169

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 19, 2009
Sig15 (All reviews)
Devilman is just ridiculous. There is some horribly cheesy dialogue and a lot of people think its retarded, but i find it both funny AND awesome.
Jan 31, 2018
bibi-fan (All reviews)
For any fan of the recent Anime Devilman Crybaby and wondered if you should give this OVA a try, this review is for you. At this point, you’ve probably seen a couple “Devilman dub is gold” or “Devilman dub is a treasure.” The sheer quirkiness of some of the dialogue has made these videos become incredibly popular. After it being brought to your attention, you might wonder is Devilman: Tanjou-hen worth watching?

Story (5/10)

The story of Devilman: Tanjou-hen (also known as Devilman: The Birth) is much the same of the devilman you already know. Akira, young weak boy meets up with his good friend Ryo. Ryo read more
Mar 20, 2012
Donwun (All reviews)
This is one of the first animes i ever saw and considering it’s themes it’s clear to me now that when I began my anime journey this anime in particular probably had a profound effect on my young mind for both good and bad reasons.

Storyline

Akira Fudou is your typical kind hearted high school student. He looks after cute little bunny rabbits while at school and has a nice girl friend (not dating) that he lives with since his parents are away on an excavation in the South Pole.

One day while walking home from school Ryo, an old friend from Akira’s childhood turns up out of read more
Jan 9, 2018
piogloogy (All reviews)
If you are a tad bit cracked in the head and you are a fervent Go Nagai fan like me, this film may be the most faithful interpretation of his work that you will ever see. While the film adds and subtracts
a tad bit of scenes, it is as if many of the panels and dialogue from the first volume of Devilman are literally animated onto the screen. The animation is a little wonky at times but is overall, very good for 1987. And true to Go "My Father Died" Nagai's work the film is sort of awkward and the dialogue is down right read more
Nov 1, 2013
Shura-shurato (All reviews)
well....i´ll guess it was COMPLETLY my mistake that i took this anime quite ´lightly´ back in 1999,as a 13 year old to find this kind of anime in a bargain bin on vhs and at first it din´t look that scared, till i watched it afterwards, in those days it was like `anime´s forbidden fruit´ to younger kids .
The ´anime master of horror´ Go Nagai ( with respect ofc)
seemed already made a t.v series of devilman in the 1970´s and a movie called Devilman v.s Mazinger Z wich both i never saw aired and over the decades made short horrorstorie´s or ova´s like read more
Jan 3, 2018
k-nain (All reviews)
In my opinion the anime was magnificent. (9/10)
Story:
Without spoiling i can tell you that the plot is very interesting.Its plot is something similar to Berserk's eclipse but in a good way for the main characters. Undoubtedly if you don't like the gore genre its not for you.
There is a bit of romance which continues in the other ovas.
Art/Sound:
It was published more than 30 years ago so the art/sound isn't that good but for its time it was normal.
While watching it you will feel like you are in the 80-s or you are watching Michael Jackson's music video.
Character
There is big character development in this ova and read more
Feb 13, 2016
Cooltaff12 (All reviews)
For a more visual version of this review, check out this Youtube video: /watch?v=zwiD1Eyk5kk

Back when the original TV series was airing, there wasn't any real adaptation of Devilman. Sure the original TV series existed, but it went on a different path than the manga. However in 1987, we finally saw an OVA that promised us to follow more closely to the manga.

Was it any good? Well, it depends on how you watch it. If you watch it with knowing what Devilman is about, then you have an interesting and entertaining adaptation. But if you watch it as an introduction to Devilman, it might just read more
Apr 20, 2008
Kain (All reviews)
Its a very dark and weird anime. This is the first one of the movies. Its where you see how he becomes devilman. Its not really that good of an anime but its ok to watch if your a little bored. You should have watched this one before seeing the next two movies because you see how hw gets to know his girlfriend. Defintely see this one if you want to see the sequels which have some good action scenes and a ok story;)
Mar 6, 2018
iBlewupthemoon (All reviews)
So, you've probably seen Crybaby if you found out about this. The big question is "How's the OVA's?" The answer? "Eh?"

This OVA takes basically the first part of the manga where our wimpy hero becomes the hero that Japan deserves, Devilman, and drags it out ad nauseum. Crybaby had the right idea condensing the part this OVA adapts to a single 20 minute episode, because its littered with boring exposition and flashbacks that you are likely to skip. Despite the lengthy runtime, we don't get a whole lot of development from our main characters, much less side characters like Miki, who were absolutely spoiled in read more
Mar 24, 2014
ArnoldTsukasa (All reviews)
Starting out as a weak teen, Fudou Akira learns a terrible secret from his friend Asuka Ryou. After being attacked by demons, there is only one thing to do. To fight demons, you must become a demon. This is the birth of the Devilman.

Art - it is horror, straight into the face of a demon.

Sound - there are monsters at every turn, voices from every shadow.

Character - you'll find fear turn into insanity.

Thoughts - this anime is scary as hell. Don't get caught by the monsters.
May 19, 2014
Remand (All reviews)
First it takes place in the modern world, then it takes you to the forest. Ryo brings news the demons are awakening. Fudou Akira is your terrified guy. Ryo is obsessed with something grand. He takes Akira to the forest. The timing of the demons were terrific though. It's a well-balanced mix of horror and demons. Underpopular, but not worth much.
Mar 26, 2014
devilfatbear (All reviews)
I noticed there are a lot of Devilman reviews that don't get a passing grade. So I'm going to attempt to be the one that break past the marks.

Devilman is similar to other anime. There is one driving plot and characters have common traits, but Devilman has a special predicament that makes it irresistible. It has the scary demon theme, the insertion and deletion of fear, the cold hard sweat of anticipation and excitement. There are demons planning to take over the world. One man's normal life is shattered and there is no return. After pushed by his friend, he has to accept the job read more
Mar 7, 2014
DanshiDan (All reviews)
This review may contain spoilers. I will now do a review on the only decent movie in the Devilman series.

After being disappointed with the Devilman sequels, I've come back to write a review for Birth, the only good movie in the series. This movie had great concepts and shock factor. Akira was just a normal guy, but with his friend Ryou, they discovered the demons. Together, they have to evade the attack of the demons while finding the chance for Akira to do the ritual to become Devilman and fight them. It's like one of those scary movies. The demon attacks are scary, you run read more
Aug 5, 2012
barcaman101 (All reviews)
I'v heard a lot about the devilman title over the years,some good ,some bad needless to say after this ova ill be watching a lot more of it in the future.

Akira is your typical high school teen,one day after recieving a beating from thugs he gets an unexpected visit from his old friend Ryo who seems visibly on edge and insist that akira comes with him . Ryu tell akira about how his father commited suicide when he was driven to madness due to a strange demonic artifact and his research into the demonic realm.

Akira then learns about the demons past and how they read more
Dec 18, 2012
shinigami1987 (All reviews)
STORY:

Pretty good origin of the character. Though it can seem a little long-winded and you can't help but feel that there should be a little more of Devilman himself in it.

ART:

Gory as hell...if you like that sort of thing. I personally do, but it may not be to everybody's taste.

SOUND:

What you'd really expect for it's time. You'll either love or hate Devilman's voice.

CHARACTER:

Some depth there. Main character's human form and his love interest pretty typical for the genre in it's time.

ENJOYMENT:

Loved it. Love the backstory. The concept. The Protaganist. Everything. Started to get a little impatient from waiting to see the 'hero' in action though.....but read more