Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Detective Conan


Alternative Titles

English: Case Closed
Synonyms: Meitantei Conan
Japanese: 名探偵コナン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 1996 to ?
Premiered: Winter 1996
Broadcast: Saturdays at 18:00 (JST)
Source: Manga
Duration: 25 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.251 (scored by 64,429 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2572
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #487
Members: 124,692
Favorites: 6,433

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 25, 2006
MeitanteiShakura (All reviews)
It's funny. I'm not the type of person that would sit in front of the TV all day, watching CSI series, but somehow, "Detective Conan" really changed that outlook.

'Detective Conan" is about a teen detective by the name of Shin'ichi Kudo (known in the dub as Jimmy), who has a charismatic skill of solving crimes that leave the police force and its leading investigators baffled and astounded. One night, when Shin'ichi is at the amusement park with his childhood friend Ran Mouri, he whitnesses two strange men dressed in black carrying out an illegal trade. While watching, he's read more
May 16, 2011
amukid08 (All reviews)
Detective Conan is beyond your average detective anime. What i mean "beyond your average" is that it definitely got "everything" in it. Likely said, it has the funny moments (Humors), it got also Love story (Romance),the Drama, silce of life they do have the very unique plots of stories some are based on the Mysteries (we have know of) and that you will soon know through watching the series, It will give you the thrills and chills because its more than just the crime scene or solving crime since there are storyline which people called arcs. It also let us know more of japan's culture read more
Jun 13, 2013
Dubowner (All reviews)
"I'm not a fan of detective themed shows." Psh. What the hell do you think this is? Scooby Doo? CSI? Law and Order? Get out. Detective Conan is entirely different. And at the same time, it is the mystery/detective genre at its BEST.

Gosho Aoyama's most well known creation tells the story of 16 year old Kudo Shinichi; genius high school detective who one day witnessed illegal trade while on a date at a theme park with his childhood friend Mouri Ran. He is then struck from behind the back of the head with a metal bat by mysterious men wearing all black, and is forced read more
Jan 24, 2008
zeru02 (All reviews)
At first glance you'd think its your typical CSI-themed anime, however Detective Conan dishes out much more than that. If you're a fan of sherlock holmes, agatha christie or simply likes a challenging and entertaining series to watch, then you must not miss this. Each cases shows different clever, cunning, and even devilishly simple ways of committing a crime! The solutions are well-explained, and teaches readers the logic behind each reasoning. The cases are varied, ranging from simple to sometimes gruesome murders. The characters are pretty effective, and I'm sure people will like them more with each episodes they watch. There's plenty of comedy, as read more
Jul 22, 2009
Nalio (All reviews)
I'm writing this, facing the fact that I've never written one, simply because this outstanding Anime deserves more and better reviews.


Detective Conan, or Case Closed in the United States, is first and foremost a mystery Anime. Elements of action, adventure, romance, and comedy are all thrown into the mix, making DC quite an entertaining anime.

At the time of writing this, Conan is at it's 542nd episode aired, and around 700th Manga chapter released. That's over 10 years of content, still going strong, quite a feat to me.

Synopsis: Kudou Shinichi is an ace high-school detective. One day he runs into trouble with some shady men while read more
Nov 25, 2015
WonderlandBeat (All reviews)
If you aren't into extremely long series then stop now because when this review was written there were nearly 798 episodes and 19 movies to the series. However, if you're okay with long series that have quite a bit of a repeat in patterns than you'll be just fine.

Detective Conan is about an High School Ace Detective that was well-known for solving cases but one day he "up and vanished" only to be replaced by a pint-sized shrimp known as Conan Edogawa. He stays with a family friend, Mouri Kogoro, who was a detective as well but unfortunately not so well-known...

Time ticks on... Conan digging read more
Dec 3, 2015
iam21 (All reviews)
Ah...Detective Conan..one of the longest running anime series...
I was browsing through anime episodes when I encountered this anime in some 700-s episodes. I thought "How the hell can something be running for 700 episodes and still be going strong??"(One Piece had not reached 700 episodes then and I didn't know about Sazae -san) When I watched the first episode, I knew why. It's one of the most logic-applying anime out there. Sure, I've watched Death Note, but Detective Conan does not have any supernatural beings or things. Also, Conan/Shinichi solves most of the cases on the scene itself.
But enough. On the story now. Shinichi Kudo read more
May 1, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Today I am going to be looking at a series that has been going strong since the 1990s with very little change in its art or storytelling. No, I'm not talking about One Piece! I'm talking about the OTHER anime that fits that description. Today, it is time to appreciate the sheer awesomeness of Detective Conan!


Detective Conan is one of the longest running anime of all time as of 2015. Next year it celebrates 20 consecutive years without ever being taken off the air. What has been its secret to success? In order to understand this, it is important to realize just how much people read more
Feb 11, 2016
Bentokey (All reviews)
I’d just like to start this review stating that Detective Conan is mainly a series for lovers of the mystery/Detective genre. While it does have a very compelling overarching plot, some great comedy, characters, music and other mechanics that I will be mentioning later on; the series has a main focus on the many cases that it has and I do feel like anyone not completely locked in and trying to solve the various cases through the episodes… won’t be able to appreciate the series as much as those that do. Now, that being said, Detective Conan is a brilliant long running anime & manga read more
Dec 24, 2007
binarycloud (All reviews)
Detective Conan, a.k.a Case Closed


Story: 9
Well this series is mainly about Crime Scene Investigation. If you're a crime-investigator oriented person, you would definitely like it. The series depicts the cases of a young private detective who was inadvertently turned into a prepubescent boy by a certain criminal organization. Although his body has been shrunk, he continues to solve many cases and is struggling to solve the mysteries of the criminal organization responsible in order to return to his normal body. You will really find it quite interesting and curious. If you think you're smarter than Conan, try to solve the case before he does.
The only read more
Sep 19, 2011
cthulhuplush (All reviews)
I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with Detective Conan. At it's core it's a very clever and fun show, with writing that is both amazingly good and amazingly bad. It offers some of the most creative and interesting murder mysteries available anywhere, that are always amazing in how much insane bullshit they pull off. I've been keeping up with the series, and it's well over 600 episodes at this point. Sadly it's not able to keep up in quality, and all the promise of it's earlier episodes is slowly fading away. For quite a while now it's ran read more
Dec 9, 2016
CriticalZ47 (All reviews)
Detective Conan is an on-going mystery show with more than 840 episodes. It is, with no doubt, my favorite anime of all time so I thought why not write a review on it.

-Story: 10
- Many of you have seen this show on TV when you were younger so it's no surprise that a lot of people assume it to be a kids show and if you think that way, let me tell you you're absolutely wrong. It has murder, blood and violence in almost every episode but what I feel makes this anime more mature is it's story. Detective Conan is an episodic show so read more
Oct 14, 2009
kkslider5552000 (All reviews)
I have been a huge fan of shonen since the original Dragonball was on Cartoon Network about..I dunno...maybe 7 years ago? At times, I could almost say I am somewhat easily amused by the typical shonen anime, filled with action and adventure with tons of character development and dialogue to explain every single thing that is going on. You know the type I'm talking about. As at least some of us know, shonen is not just those type of anime. It's a word to describe the target audience: young boys. It is surprising to see how many unexpectedly different types of anime and manga have read more
Dec 5, 2015
himitsuX (All reviews)
you know, if anything I just need to say this, if you want to ask me to give you one strong reason why this must be watched, I will say: BLACK ORGANIZATION
look I love this anime for countless reasons, but what is most special about it so that it wouldn't be like ANY detective and investigation stuff whether it was an anime, manga, show, novel, or whatever is because of this organization
if you love the criminal group stuff that are ultimately powerful, then you won't ever find an organization with such well made rules, characters, objects, methods, specialties that can match this one, and read more
Mar 22, 2009
Yamato-Takeru (All reviews)
Shinichi Kudo(Jimmy Kudo) is highly famous for being the best teen detective of East Japan. His knowledge on mystery novels & soccer skills has made him a modern Sherlock Holmes. And has helped out the police on the toughest cases. Life was going smooth with Shinichi. On one night however, he was at the wrong place at the wrong time. Where 2 men in black clothes were about to get their cover blown by Shinichi. One of them knocked him out cold and forced a poison pill that was meant to end his life. However instead of killing him. It made him shrink from a read more
Jul 29, 2015
Ashiang07 (All reviews)
This is my first time to write a review, so bear with me.

DC is and will always be my most favorite anime. It has a little bit of everything and you will always be attracted to how complicated yet amazing the episodes are.

Unlike other anime, you need not watch them chronologically (except those episodes about the Black Organization), because every case in the episode differs from the other. It's funny, heartbreaking (at times), thrilling and fall in love with characters as well!

Overall, I will grade it as 10.

Thanks!
Aug 25, 2016
Heliotropic84 (All reviews)
While this may be a "biased" review, it is in my opinion that this anime/manga is a masterpiece... that is, at least up to a certain point.
As someone who picked up the series nearly 15 years ago, I am still attached to it, but that is not without my complaints, and I am not able to ignore the poor writing decisions that are present throughout the series. Though for the sake of avoiding spoilers, I will leave most of that out in this review!

Also, prepare for a long-winded review... but I feel that it's necessary to do this anime justice.

Do I recommend that you read more
May 8, 2013
TheGreatBruno (All reviews)
Become smarter and learn from Conan. Kid’s a genius. From knowing every mathematical equations (he knows quantum physics too), to solving murder cases with Detective skills, to catching criminals with a soccer ball, kid Conan can do it all. If you haven’t watched Detective Conan yet, start watching so you can become smart too.
May 19, 2016
Fukuoka1999 (All reviews)
Detective Conan kept me up many nights as I did not wish to stop watching. The episodes are well thought out with genius ideas for tricks. We had a wide array of cast with some showing up once in a blue moon to others that were there in most episodes. This anime gave me lots of enjoyment and I do not regret watching a single episode.


When thinking about the art, we have to remind ourselves when the anime first came out. An anime that first began airing in 1996 will obviously start off with art quality that is not the best. The sound was not read more
Sep 4, 2009
pastafiend (All reviews)
Warning: Inconsequential Spoilers

Detective Conan is a hard series to review because with 500+ episodes, anything one might say about it can be disputed. If you expect a show that reveals itself to you in a timely manner you may as well look somewhere else, this show is composed almost exclusively of episodic and semi-episodic mysteries.

You'll come to the table with a few expectations and if your viewing hinges on them you will be displeased. The tension between Ran and Shinichi will probably never be fully played out. The mysteries of the Black Organization probably will be played out, but they are in no hurry. read more