Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

DRAMAtical Murder


Alternative Titles

English: DRAMAtical Murder
Synonyms: DMMd
Japanese: ドラマティカル マーダー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 7, 2014 to Sep 22, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: NAZ
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.291 (scored by 37,210 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #62402
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #815
Members: 94,005
Favorites: 536

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 26, 2014
emptyemptyempty0 (All reviews)
May it be said that this horror of an adapted anime has forever ruined my picture of DMMD. Anyone who gives this anime a decent score is just going easy on it. This anime is not a ten, not a seven or even the lowest score to ever be conceived of on MAL, a six. No, this is far worse.

What I was hoping for was, alas, too much. I feel sorry for previous fans of the series, as this does no justice to the original VN. Honestly, I think you should never remove the "L" from "BL", as the original read more
Feb 2, 2015
Blska1441 (All reviews)
Why are you all hating?

The plot may be difficult to follow, but when it all finally clicks into place you end up sitting there like "HOW COULD I HAVE MISSED THIS?" Don't give up on Dramatical Murder just because you don't understand what is going on in the first episode. Or the second...Or third...Or...Well you get the point (Amnesia fans understand the struggle).

Each time I clicked 'next episode', I felt as if someone rammed something into my brain and started picking on it : "Oh look..You've seen this character before. Haven't you? Ohhhh he seemed suspicious! I knew it! I knew it!". In read more
Sep 21, 2014
Asfaria (All reviews)
DRAMAtical Murder is an anime adapted from a BL visual novel originally created by the company Nitro+ who also made things like Steins;Gate and Chaos Head. Similarly to those and other stories done by Nitro+, it has a very sci-fi and futuristic feeling to it. And despite the original material involving gay rape sex scenes (though I haven't played the original game so I can't compare them more than this), this is tuned down to a PG-13 rating which never delves farther in the shounen-ai element than a simple kiss and gay sexual innuendos galore.

DMMd begins with Seragaki Aoba, a man of around 20 years read more
Sep 22, 2014
Verria-Nichole (All reviews)
"DRAMAtical Murder" was a train wreck of an anime, sullying the video game's name.


When I first heard that "DRAMAtical Murder" was becoming an anime, I was so excited, I couldn't stop thinking about it. What I was met with, however, was a show consisting of average animation, bland plot lines, and no romance whatsoever.

Voicing Aoba is Kisaichi, Atsushi, known for his role of Aizawa, Yuuichi (Kanon). He is not very popular in the anime world, but his voice is pretty nice. He did a wonderful job of voicing Aoba regularly, and then digging deep to bring out Aoba's "dark" side. Most of the voices read more
Jul 14, 2015
LolliGo (All reviews)
As a fan of the original DRAMAtical Murder games, I had some high hopes for the anime adaptation of them. The trailer looked nice, the characters were all there, and even though there wouldn't be any of the fanservice and sex that made the games what they were, everyone was rejoicing at the announcement of this anime. And then all of our hopes were crushed after the first few episodes. Our beloved DRAMAtical Murder was turned into a trainwreck.

STORY: 6
I won't really go into the actual story since there's a synopsis already written, but basically the protagonist and his "friends" have to beat the bad read more
Jul 2, 2015
Luzy779 (All reviews)
Forgive me for the bad English, i am spanish.
Dramatical murder, is a visual novel that contains a lot of yaoi and explicit scenes.
I played all the visual novel, with all the routes and bad and good endings and i simply love it. I am one of the fandom of Dmmd and when i saw the announcement of the anime i was happy and also scared. Why? Because i have seen what they did to Togainu no chi. But i was expecting that nitro+chiral realized about the quality of their last anime and they would fixed it, i was wrong... VERY WRONG.

Story: (3)
I have one question, read more
Oct 9, 2014
Animeted_love7 (All reviews)
Some Spoilers Ensue:

Before I begin let me just say that the low scores are for the anime only. For those of you who don't know, this show was derived from an explicit yaoi dating simulator. The visual novel featured 12 different endings. There was usually a good, and at least one bad for every character. There was also a specific ending for Virus and Trip as well. The true end to the game was meant to be the true end to the anime. If you haven't played the game and don't mind gorgeous and explicit yaoi boy sex, I recommend you forget about what you read more
Nov 21, 2015
PersonaTexas (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is way to "Fabulous" for my blood, it's something ZooLander would watch, and that guy is a Fictional Movie Character. To be real, it's something a Gay Person would watch. (I mean that with respect, so if you are Gay then this show is for you.) There is so much emphases with the Gay Struggle, and the Interpersonal Relationships the Main character has with his male counterparts. With this in mind, It doesn't surprise me that this show has very little views in comparison to other shows. Oh, and also, this show has a late 80's-early 90's feel to it, it's as if read more
Jan 6, 2017
JustmeLuiza (All reviews)
NO SPOILERS (Many people take this anime as a bad one because is an adaptation of the game, and they compare them, but for me, that I have not played the game, this anime was a great one.

Story: 9/10
I think the story was very unique. At the beginning I was a little confused, but things got cleared in the end.

Art: 10/10
I liked the art, a lot.

Sound: 6/10
The sound lacked a little, it was different, but not very special.

Character: 10/10
I liked all the characters, they were very different and had quite some good contribution on the story.

Enjoyment: 10/10
Yes, I enjoyed watching it. Very addicting.

Overall: 9/10

In read more
Oct 20, 2014
Nikoleta-Chika (All reviews)
DRAMAtical murder is a masterpiece.
Despite the fact that this anime is based on a BL game, it was completely normal, without BL scenes, and i'm glad about it.
As a 12-episode anime, i expected that it would not have a completed plot, that it would not give importance to the characters and it would just be in hurry. But no, everything was in a perfect quantity and quality.

To be more exact:

PLOT:10
The plot is interesting and enought to fill these 12 episodes of perfection.

CHARACTERS:10
The best part of the anime. All of the characters have something special, as special as their past. Each of read more
Dec 7, 2014
min1230 (All reviews)
Firstly, this is a pretty short anime- only 12 episodes. It only took me one day to finish it, but to be honest, I don't know what I just watched;;

Story: 6
The story itself isn't that bad. Aoba's special ability was quite original (correct me if I'm wrong please- this is just based on the anime I've watched). However, the story was quite big. Although the idea was decent, I felt like 12 episodes wasn't enough to go into enough detail.
Even after I finished watching it, it just felt like a storm passed super quickly- too much to process in only 12 episodes.

OH! and I really read more
Jan 4, 2015
Lady_Xepher (All reviews)
I'n my opinion, I believe this is one of the best anime I've seen by far in a very long time. Great story line, excellent character development throughout the series, and an interesting bunch of personalities all around.
The only thing disappointing is I believe this anime would of been better with 25 episodes instead.
I feel that things were slightly rushed since originally this was a game before the anime and manga adaptation.
The game is a lot darker, touchy-feely, and longer than the anime, but I can appreciate that since it's suppose to appeal to a wider audience than just BL/or Yaoi fan-girl.
Overall, read more
Sep 2, 2016
Veleca (All reviews)
this is not a good adaptation,don't watch the anime.......ok fine here is the actual review

Aoba our main protagonist with blue hair and a talking gay robo dog live in a city full with gangs and robots,then one day a really bad gang comes and fucks shit up.
now aoba and his friends must stop these bad peeps,on this quest are:
Noiz,the gay supermodel who eats pizza everyday and is a kinky fuck who likes being bitten on his dick cus he can't feel things.
Koujaku, aoba's childhood friend who cuts hair and gets a nosebleed when they first fucked (oops spoilers)
Clear, the robot jellyfish with a gasmask thing
Mink, read more
Oct 28, 2015
Darkskies (All reviews)
An easy review of DRAMAtical Murder-- SPOILER FREE for your enjoyment!

OVERALL--
DRAMAtical Murder is adapted from a visual novel. As is the case with many VN to anime adaptions, the anime rushes as it tries to incorporate information from all of the various VN routes. With only 12 episodes, DRAMAtical Murder struggles in its development of both characters and the overall world. This leads to a slightly lackluster ending, with characters you really wish you could have known better. Still, I found it fairly enjoyable overall and would say it's worth watching since it's a quick 12 episodes. It's not amazing, but it's not as terrible read more
Jan 12, 2015
hydrascarlet (All reviews)
I played the game and I watched the anime.
DRAMAtical Murder has an outstanding plot and the anime portrays this plot really well so, if you want to watch without playing the game, you can do it. Even though the anime gets pretty rushed on the first episode, making it confusing to whoever never played the game. I've heard some people who only watched the anime saying it's easy to pick up the plot a few episodes later, so there isn't much of a problem.
This anime is getting really negative feedback for two things - the lack of yaoi and the art. Yes, the art is read more
Oct 19, 2014
greatyu (All reviews)
Let's get logged into a futuristic cyber world where gangs and mind controllers control the universe along with the "Blue Fox" : "Aoba Seragaki" and his friends as he saves his homeland(island) from an incoming cyber attack.

Story: Frankly this type of a futuristic story is very hard to combine no doubt that the mangaka and the producers succeeded on that. You see this blue haired cute dude in a futuristic pair of boots, on the first impression he looks strong and a lone wolf but not essentially. He works in a Junk Shop to fair for his grandma and himself. Little did he know read more
Sep 21, 2014
AnAnimeNarwhal (All reviews)
This is my first review ever, so be warned I'm new to this stuff

As a person who has played the Visual Novel and is a fan of it, when I heard DRAMAtical Murder (DMMD) was getting an anime adaptation I was quite excited. Well I'm just gonna get straight to the review

Story:
I am a huge sucker for mystery/game anime and DMMD definitely caught my interest. I've also never quite seen a concept as interesting has this in a while. Though by the end of the show, anime-only watchers are pretty much guaranteed to be confused and would have to go to the source material read more
Dec 16, 2014
3MeowMix3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've played both of the DMMD games, and the game series alone is fabulous. I stopped watching the anime mid-way because I didn't want my love of the games to be soiled by an anime adaption that basically gave an episode per character and stripped them down of most of their characteristics. The animation was sometimes laughably bad, but hey what do you expect. I've mainly given up on BL game anime adaptions (Togainu no Chi, and now this), since I feel like they never have the budget they really deserve to actually make it good. If you're new to DMMD and like the general read more
Nov 3, 2014
supernovae (All reviews)
So, my overall thought (after playing the game and watching countless of letplays and reviews on Youtube) was that this Anime had so much potential and the producers took a crap on that chance.

I'm a very big fan of Yaoi and Yuri in general, but after watching the first few episodes I kind of lost interest in the Anime. But, after months of procrastinating I finally finished it and I must say; It was kind of mediocre.

I give this Anime: A six.
Because of the lack of good animation, the mediocre work put into it and some of the art in the anime looks really strange. read more
Apr 4, 2017
Rima_Amano (All reviews)
I have been a DIE HARD DRAMAtical Murder fan for a couple of years now, and as someone who has played through the games, analyzed the characters, read all the critiques and all of the reviews, I will say this:

THE ANIME IS GARBAGE

Seriously, and it's such a tragedy because the story of DRAMAtical Murder and the setting, even without the blatant BL and yaoi, is phenomenal. The anime was a letdown, and it didn't pay tribute to the original story. That's obvious. But it upsets me because VN's aren't as popular or accessible as anime, and there are so many people who will miss out read more